Duty-free Shops

The Canada Border Services Agency (CBSA) licenses duty-free operators, which sell goods to travellers leaving Canada. Duty-free shops are located at 53 land border and international airport locations across Canada. They sell goods free of certain duty and taxes normally levied on goods sold in Canada.

Duty-free shops at international airports have been in existence since the 1960s followed by the expansion to land border locations in 1986.

How they work

Duty-free shops are intended only for customers who are about to leave Canada. Goods purchased at a duty-free shop must be immediately exported. Apart from selling duty- and tax-free goods, these shops also provide information on duty-free exemption limits to travellers to the United States and to returning residents of Canada.

The CBSA oversees the licensing of duty-free shops, primarily to ensure duty-free goods are properly accounted for and exported. The CBSA also monitors duty-free shops to ensure they comply with government requirements, and modifies related regulations and policies.

Boutiques hors taxes

L'Agence des services frontaliers du Canada (ASFC) concède des licences aux exploitants de boutiques hors taxes, lesquels vendent des marchandises à des voyageurs qui quittent le Canada. Les boutiques hors taxes sont situées dans 53 postes frontaliers terrestres et aéroports internationaux de l'ensemble du Canada. On y vend des marchandises en franchise de certains droits et taxes qui s'appliquent normalement aux marchandises vendues au Canada.  

Les boutiques hors taxes situées dans les aéroports internationaux sont en place depuis les années 1960. En 1986, d'autres boutiques hors taxes ont été ajoutées dans les postes frontaliers terrestres.

Fonctionnement

Les boutiques hors taxes ne s'adressent qu'aux clients sur le point de quitter le Canada, car les marchandises achetées dans ces boutiques doivent être exportées immédiatement. En plus de vendre des marchandises en franchise de droits et taxes, ces boutiques offrent des renseignements sur les limites en matière d'exemption de droits de douane aux voyageurs qui se rendent aux États-Unis et aux résidents du Canada qui reviennent au pays.

L'ASFC veille à l'octroi et au renouvellement des agréments de boutiques hors taxes, principalement pour assurer que les marchandises en franchise de droits de douane sont bien comptabilisées et exportées. L'ASFC surveille également les boutiques hors taxes afin d'assurer leur conformité aux exigences du gouvernement et modifie les règlements et politiques connexes.  

Date de modification :