Determination of Weight for Duty Purposes of Fresh Fruits and Vegetables
Memorandum D10-14-18

Ottawa,March 3, 2014

This document is also available in PDF (49 Kb) [help with PDF files]

In Brief

The editing revisions made in this memorandum do not affect or change any of the existing policies or procedures.

This memorandum outlines the manner in which the weight of fresh fruits and vegetables will be determined for the purpose of establishing the amount of duty payable.

Legislation

Section 7 of the Customs Tariff provides that:

"For the purposes of this Act, if a rate of custom duty is based in whole or in part on the weight of goods, the customs duties imposed on the goods are, unless otherwise provided, to be calculated on the basis of the net weight of the goods."

The manner in which the weight for duty of fresh fruits and vegetables is to be determined is "otherwise provided" in Supplementary Note 1 of both Chapters 7 and 8, in the Customs Tariff Schedule: this other manner is set forth as follows.

Supplementary Note 1 to Chapter 7

"The weight of the packages must be included in the weight of the goods for the purpose of calculating the customs duties on the goods classified under heading 07.02, 07.03, 07.04, 07.05, 07.06, 07.07, 07.08 or 07.09."

Supplementary Note 1 to Chapter 8

"The weight of the packages must be included in the weight of the goods for the purpose of calculating the customs duties on the goods classified under heading 08.06, 08.08, 08.09 or 08.10."

Guidelines and General Information

1. Subject to paragraph 4, the railway billing weight may be taken as prima facie evidence of the weight for duty of fresh fruits and vegetables when transported by railway. Unless the Canada Border Services Agency (CBSA) has good reason to believe that it is not a fair average weight, the railway billing weight will be taken as the weight for duty and also as the weight for valuation purposes.

2. If the CBSA does not believe that the railway billing weight is a fair average weight, then the weight must be ascertained by weighing a sufficient number of packages and duty must be collected on the basis of the weight as ascertained, and the importer/owner must be notified of the decision at the time of weighing. The same weight must be taken as the basis of value and for the payment of duty.

3. Supplementary Note 1 to Chapters 7 and 8 provide that, for certain subheadings, the weight of the packages shall be included in the weight for duty. In cases where the fruits and vegetables are packed in small containers, several of which are shipped in one case or transportation package, the weight of such outside case or transportation package is not to be included in the weight for duty.

4. While paragraphs 1 through 3 of this memorandum admit the use of railway billing weights as prima facie evidence of the weight to be used for duty purposes of fresh fruits and vegetables, it has been determined that such weights do not always represent the true weights of the products. Therefore, the billing weight will be accepted only when the CBSA is satisfied that such weight is a fair weight for assessment purposes.

5. In the case of shipments by truck, if highway scale weight slips are not available or there is reason to believe the slips do not accurately reflect the weight of the shipments, a weight check will be made. When fruits and vegetables are duty free or subject to ad valorem duty only, weighing is not required and the weight shown on shipping documents may be accepted for statistical purposes.

Additional Information

6. For more information, within Canada call the Border Information Service at 1-800-461-9999. From outside Canada call 204-983-3500 or 506-636-5064. Long distance charges will apply. Agents are available Monday to Friday (08:00 – 16:00 local time/except holidays). TTY is also available within Canada: 1-866-335-3237.

References

Issuing office:
Trade Programs Directorate
Headquarters file:
 
Legislative references:
Customs Tariff
Other references:
 
Superseded memorandum D:
D10-14-18 dated December 5, 2002
Date modified:

Détermination du poids des fruits et des légumes frais à des fins de droits
Mémorandum D10-14-18

Ottawa, le 03 mars 2014

Ce document est disponible en format PDF (49 Ko) [aide sur les fichiers PDF]

En résumé

Les modifications supplémentaires liées à la révision du texte qui ont été apportées ne modifient aucunement les politiques ou procédures existantes comprises dans le présent mémorandum.

Le présent mémorandum décrit la façon dont le poids des fruits et des légumes frais sera déterminé pour établir le montant des droits payables.

Législation

L'article 7 du Tarif des douanes stipule que :

« Pour l'application de la présente Loi, les taux calculés en tout ou en partie sur le poids des marchandises le sont, sauf indication contraire, sur le poids net de celles-ci. »

La façon dont le poids des fruits et des légumes frais est déterminé aux fins des droits est « indiquée autrement » dans la Note supplémentaire 1 des Chapitres 7 et 8 de l'annexe du Tarif des douanes. Cette autre façon est formulée comme suit.

Note supplémentaire 1 du Chapitre 7

« Le poids de l'emballage doit être compris dans le poids des marchandises aux fins du calcul des droits de douane des marchandises classées dans les positions nos 07.02, 07.03, 07.04, 07.05, 07.06, 07.07, 07.08 ou 07.09. »

Note supplémentaire 1 du Chapitre 8

« Le poids de l'emballage doit être compris dans le poids des marchandises aux fins du calcul des droits de douane des marchandises classées dans les positions nos 08.06, 08.08, 08.09 ou 08.10. »

Lignes directrices et renseignements généraux

1. Sous réserve du paragraphe 4, le poids facturé par la compagnie de chemin de fer peut, de prime abord, être admis comme étant le poids imposable des fruits et des légumes frais transportés par chemin de fer. À moins que l'Agence des services frontaliers (ASFC) n'ait de bonnes raisons de croire que ce poids ne représente pas une moyenne raisonnable, le poids facturé par la compagnie de chemin de fer sera considéré comme étant le poids imposable et aussi comme étant le poids servant à l'établissement de la valeur.

2. Si l'ASFC ne croit pas que le poids facturé par la compagnie de chemin de fer représente une moyenne raisonnable, il doit alors déterminer le poids en pesant un nombre suffisant de paquets et percevoir les droits sur la base du poids ainsi établi. L'importateur ou le propriétaire doit être informé de la décision prise au moment du pesage. Le même poids doit servir de base pour l'établissement de la valeur et le paiement des droits.

3. La Note supplémentaire 1 des Chapitres 7 et 8 spécifie que le poids imposable doit comprendre le poids de l'emballage pour certaines sous-positions. Dans les cas où les fruits et les légumes sont empaquetés dans de petits récipients, dont plusieurs sont expédiés dans une caisse ou un autre contenant, le poids de cette caisse ou de ce contenant ne doit pas être compris dans le poids imposable.

4. Même si les paragraphes 1 à 3 du présent mémorandum permettent l'utilisation du poids facturé par la compagnie de chemin de fer comme étant le poids imposable (de prime abord) des fruits et des légumes frais, il a été déterminé que ce poids ne représente pas toujours le poids réel des produits. Par conséquent, le poids facturé sera accepté seulement lorsque l'ASFC sera satisfaite que ce poids est raisonnable aux fins de la cotisation.

5. Dans le cas d'expéditions par camion, s'il n'y a pas de feuilles de pesée des balances de grand-route, ou s'il y a lieu de croire que ces feuilles ne correspondent pas exactement aux poids des expéditions, une vérification des poids sera effectuée. Lorsque des fruits et des légumes sont importés en franchise de droits ou assujettis seulement aux droits ad valorem, il n'est pas nécessaire de les peser, et le poids indiqué sur les documents d'expédition peut être accepté à des fins statistiques.

Renseignements supplémentaires

6. Pour plus d'information, si vous êtes au Canada, communiquez avec le Service d'information sur la frontière au 1-800-461-9999. De l'extérieur du Canada, composez le 204-983-3500 ou le 506-636-5064. Des frais d'interurbain seront facturés. Les agents sont disponibles durant les heures normales d'ouverture des bureaux (8 h à 16 h, heure locale), du lundi au vendredi (sauf les jours fériés). Un ATS est aussi disponible pour les appels provenant du Canada : 1-866-335-3237.

Références

Bureau de diffusion :
Direction des programmes commerciaux
Dossier de l'administration centrale :
 
Références légales :
Tarif des douanes
Autres références :
 
Ceci annule le mémorandum D :
D10-14-18 daté le 5 décembre 2002
Date de modification :