Bath Preparations, Shower Gels, and Other Preparations for Use in Washing the Skin
Memorandum D10-14-28

Ottawa, January 17, 2014

This document is also available in PDF (58 Kb) [help with PDF files]

In Brief

  1. The editing revisions made in this memorandum do not affect or change any of the existing policies or procedures.

This memorandum explains the Canada Border Services Agency's (CBSA) administrative policy with respect to products such as shower gels, bath preparations and other preparations for use in washing the skin.

Table of Contents

Legislation

Customs Tariff

33.05      Preparations for use on the hair.

33.07      Pre-shave, shaving or after-shave preparations, personal deodorants, bath preparations, depilatories and other perfumery, cosmetic or toilet preparations, not elsewhere specified or included; prepared room deodorizers, whether or not perfumed or having disinfectant properties.

34.01      Soap; organic surface-active products and preparations for use as soap, in the form of bars, cakes, moulded pieces or shapes, whether or not containing soap; organic surface-active products and preparations for washing the skin, in the form of liquid or cream and put up for retail sale, whether or not containing soap; paper, wadding, felt and nonwovens, impregnated, coated or covered with soap or detergent.

34.02      Organic surface-active agents (other than soap); surface-active preparations, washing preparations (including auxiliary washing preparations) and cleaning preparations, whether or not containing soap, other than those of heading 34.01.

Guidelines and General Information

Administrative Policy

1. This administrative policy was originally developed as a result of a Canadian International Trade Tribunal (CITT) decision rendered on October 28, 1999, in Reha Enterprises Ltd and Cosmetic Import Co. Limited versus the Deputy Minister of National Revenue, Appeal Nos. AP-98-053 and AP-98-054. The goods at issue were a body wash and a shower gel, both in various fragrances. They were further described as organic surface-active preparations in the form of liquid, for washing the skin. The CITT determined that the goods were not bath preparations or toilet preparations of heading 33.07, but rather were more appropriately classified under 3402.20.90 as surface-active preparations put up for retail sale. Note that prior to January 2002, there was no provision in either heading 34.01 or 34.02 for organic surface-active products, in the form of liquid or cream, for washing the skin.

2. The classification of products, such as shower gels and body washes, was greatly simplified in January, 2002, when the World Customs Organization (WCO) amended heading 34.01 to include "Organic surface-active products and preparations for washing the skin, in the form of liquid or cream and put up for retail sale, whether or not containing soap". Products imported into Canada that meet all the terms of the heading are classified under tariff item 3401.30.00.

3. With regard to "bath preparations", the CBSA's long-standing position has been to interpret this phrase to mean those products such as perfumed bath salts and foam bath mixtures that are actually added to the bath water for the preparation of the bath. The phrase "bath preparations" is not to include those products that are applied directly to various parts of the human body for washing the skin. This is supported by the Explanatory Notes to heading 33.07, paragraph (III), which provide for "Bath preparations, such as perfumed bath salts and preparations for foam baths, whether or not containing soap or other organic surface-active agents (see Note 1(c) to Chapter 34)". The Note also states that "Preparations for washing the skin, in which the active component consists wholly or partly of synthetic organic surface-active agents (which may contain soap in any proportion), in the form of liquid or cream and put up for retail sale, are classified in heading 34.01. Such preparations not put up for retail sale are classified in heading 34.02."

Multi-function products

4. Multi-function products have more than one function or use. In such cases, it is important to determine: (1) how the product is described; (2) how the product is used; and (3) how the marketer intends the product to be used.

Example

The product is primarily a shower gel or body wash which may also be used on the hair, as a substitute for shampoo. In the CITT case cited in paragraph 1, above, the Tribunal accepted the notion that the product may be used on the hair; however, it determined that the product is used for much more than simply washing the hair, and most notably for washing the body. Accordingly, it is much more than a hair shampoo and, therefore, excluded from heading 33.05. This is further supported by the terms of heading 33.05, which provide for "Preparations for use on the hair." Thus, the reference to "shampoos" in subheading 3305.10 covers hair shampoos (i.e., those applied to the hair on the scalp) and not body shampoos.

Toilet sets

5. Toilet sets, comprising a number of components (e.g., perfume, foaming bath powder and body wash), are generally classified in accordance with General Interpretative Rule 3(b), which provides that mixtures, composite goods consisting of different components, and goods put up in sets for retail sale, shall be classified according to the component, or components taken together, which gives them their essential character.

6. Regarding the classification of toilet sets, further reference can be made to CITT Appeal No. AP-97-117, Sanofi Canada Inc. versus The Deputy Minister of National Revenue, dated December 18, 1998. In this case, two toilet sets were at issue – one set consisting of perfume, eau de toilette, body lotion, body bath, foaming bath powder, and perfumed dusting powder; the other set consisting of eau de toilette, body lotion, and body bath. In its decision, the Tribunal noted two factors: (1) the value of the various components, and (2) that most components contained an ingredient identified as a fragrance. Based on these two factors, the Tribunal determined that both sets were a fragrance collection. Furthermore, it decided that the perfume in one set, and the eau de toilette in the other set, gave each of these sets their respective essential character. Accordingly, the goods at issue were both classified under heading 33.03.

Re-determination and Appeals

7. Importers who are not satisfied with the specific tariff classification rendered by the CBSA, on importation, may request a re-determination or further re-determination of tariff classification pursuant to Section 60 of the Customs Act(the Act). An importer may also appeal a re-determination made pursuant to Section 60 of the Actto the CITT. Refer to Memorandum D11-6-7, Importers' Dispute Resolution Process for Origin, Tariff Classification, and Value for Duty of Imported Goods. Guidelines regarding the self-adjustment process are found in Memorandum D11-6-6, "Reason to Believe" and Self-Adjustments to Declarations of Origin, Tariff Classification, and Value for Duty.

Additional Information

8. For certainty regarding the tariff classification of a product, importers may request an advance ruling. Details on how to make such a request are found in the CBSA Memorandum D11-11-3, Advance Rulings for Tariff Classification.

9. For more information, within Canada call the Border Information Service at 1-800-461-9999. From outside Canada call 204-983-3500 or 506-636-5064. Long distance charges will apply. Agents are available Monday to Friday (08:00 – 16:00 local time/except holidays). TTY is also available within Canada: 1-866-335-3237.

References

Issuing office:
Trade Programs Directorate
Headquarters file:
None
Legislative references:
Customs Act
Other references:

D11-6-6; D11-6-7; D11-11-3

Explanatory Notes to the Harmonized Commodity Description and Coding System

Reha Enterprises Ltd and Cosmetic Import Co. Limited versus the Deputy Minister of National Revenue
(AP-98-053 and AP-98-054)

Sanofi Canada Inc. versus The Deputy Minister of National Revenue (AP-97-117)

Superseded memorandum D:
D10-14-28 dated November 20, 2003
Date modified:

Préparation pour bains, gels de douche et autres préparations destinées au lavage de la peau
Mémorandum D10-14-28

Ottawa, le 17 janvier 2014

Ce document est disponible en format PDF (60 Kb) [aide sur les fichiers PDF]

En résumé

  1. Les modifications supplémentaires liées à la révision du texte qui ont été apportées ne modifient aucunement les politiques ou procédures existantes comprises dans le présent mémorandum.

Le présent mémorandum explique la politique administrative de l'Agence des services frontaliers du Canada (ASFC) en ce qui concerne les produits tels que les gels de douche, les préparations pour bains et d'autres préparations destinées au lavage de la peau.

Table des matières

Législation

Tarif des douanes

33.05      Préparations capillaires.

33.07      Préparations pour le prérasage, le rasage ou l'après-rasage, désodorisants corporels, préparations pour bains, dépilatoires, autres produits de parfumerie ou de toilette préparés et autres préparations cosmétiques, non dénommés ni compris ailleurs; désodorisants de locaux, préparés, même non parfumés, ayant ou non des propriétés désinfectantes.

34.01      Savons; produits et préparations organiques tensio-actifs à usage de savon, en barres, en pains, en morceaux ou en sujets frappés, même contenant du savon; produits et préparations organiques tensio-actifs destinés au lavage de la peau, sous forme de liquide ou de crème, conditionnés pour la vente au détail, même contenant du savon; papier, ouates, feutres et nontissés, imprégnés, enduits ou recouverts de savon ou de détergents.

34.02      Agents de surface organiques (autres que les savons); préparations tensio-actives, préparations pour lessives (y compris les préparations auxiliaires de lavage) et préparations de nettoyage, même contenant du savon, autres que celles du no 34.01.

Lignes directrices et renseignements généraux

Politique administrative

1. La présente politique administrative a été élaborée à la suite d'une décision rendue par le Tribunal canadien du commerce extérieur (TCCE) le 28 octobre 1999 dans l'affaire Reha Enterprises Ltd. et Cosmetic Import Co. Limited c. Le sous-ministre du Revenu national, appels AP-98-053 et AP-98-054. Un nettoyant pour le corps et un gel de douche, tous deux offerts en différentes fragrances, constituaient les marchandises en cause. Ils ont été décrits comme des préparations organiques tensio-actives, sous forme de liquide, destinées au lavage de la peau. Le TCCE a déterminé que les marchandises n'étaient pas des préparations pour bains ou des produits de toilette préparés de la position 33.07, mais plutôt des préparations tensio-actives conditionnées pour la vente au détail classées dans la position 3402.20.90. Il est à noter qu'avant janvier 2002, il n'existait aucune disposition dans les positions 34.01 et 34.02 pour les produits organiques tensio-actifs, sous forme de liquide ou de crème, destinés au lavage de la peau.

2. Le classement des produits tels que les gels de douche et les nettoyants pour le corps a été grandement simplifié en janvier 2002 lorsque l'Organisation mondiale des douanes(OMD) a modifié la position 34.01 pour y inclure « produits et préparations organiques tensio-actifs destinés au lavage de la peau, sous forme de liquide ou de crème, conditionnés pour la vente au détail, même contenant du savon ». Les produits importés au Canada qui répondent à toutes les modalités de la position sont classés dans le numéro tarifaire 3401.30.00.

3. En ce qui concerne les « préparations pour bains », depuis longtemps déjà, l'ASFC considère que cette expression s'entend des produits tels que les sels parfumés et les préparations pour bains moussants qui sont ajoutés à l'eau pour préparer le bain. Sont exclus de l'expression « préparations pour bains » les produits qui sont appliqués directement sur différentes parties du corps humain pour en laver la peau. Cette interprétation est appuyée par le paragraphe III des Notes explicatives de la position 33.07, qui englobe « les préparations pour le bain telles que les sels parfumés et les préparations pour bains moussants, même contenant du savon ou d'autres agents de surface organiques (voir Note 1c) du Chapitre 34) ». Les Notes stipulent aussi que « Les préparations pour le lavage de la peau, dans lesquelles le composant actif est constitué partiellement ou entièrement d'agents organiques tensio-actifs de synthèse qui peuvent être associés à du savon en toute proportion, présentées sous forme de liquide ou de crème et conditionnées pour la vente au détail sont classées dans le no 34.01. Lorsqu'elles ne sont pas conditionnées pour la vente au détail, ces préparations relèvent du no 34.02 ».

Produits polyvalents

4. Les produits polyvalents ont plus d'un usage ou d'une fonction. Dans le cas de ces produits, il est important de déterminer : (1) la façon dont le produit est décrit; (2) la façon dont il est utilisé; (3) l'usage prévu par le commerçant.

Exemple
Le produit est avant tout un gel de douche ou un nettoyant pour le corps qui peut aussi servir de préparation capillaire à la place du shampooing. Dans le cas susmentionné au paragraphe 1, le TCCE a accepté l'idée que le produit puisse servir de préparation capillaire; toutefois, il a déterminé que le produit sert à d'autres usages que le simple lavage des cheveux, plus particulièrement pour le lavage du corps. Par conséquent, le produit est bien plus qu'un shampooing pour les cheveux et est donc exclu de la position 33.05 qui englobe les « préparations capillaires ». Ainsi, les « shampooings » mentionnés dans la sous-position 3305.10 comprennent les shampooings pour les cheveux (c'est-à-dire, ceux qui s'appliquent sur le cuir chevelu), mais pas les shampooings pour le corps.

Trousses de toilette

5. Les trousses de toilette qui comprennent un certain nombre d'articles (p. ex. du parfum, de la poudre pour bains moussants et du nettoyant pour le corps) sont habituellement classées conformément à la Règle d'interprétation générale 3b) qui stipule que les produits mélangés, les ouvrages constitués par l'assemblage d'articles différents et les marchandises présentées en assortiments conditionnés pour la vente au détail sont classés d'après l'article ou les articles qui leur confèrent leur caractère essentiel.

6. Pour ce qui est du classement des trousses de toilette, on peut se référer à l'appel du TCCE AP-97-117, Sanofi Canada Inc. c. Le sous-ministre du Revenu national, daté le 18 décembre 1998. Dans cette affaire, deux trousses de toilette étaient en cause – la première se composait de parfum, d'eau de toilette, de lotion pour le corps, de gel moussant pour le corps, de bain poudre parfumée et de poudre parfumée, tandis que le second se composait d'eau de toilette, de lotion pour le corps et de gel moussant pour le corps. Dans sa décision, le Tribunal a pris deux facteurs en considération : (1) la valeur des divers articles; (2) le fait que la plupart des articles contenaient un ingrédient appelé fragrance. En se basant sur ces deux facteurs, le Tribunal a déterminé que les deux trousses étaient des ensembles de fragrance. De plus, il a conclu que le parfum de l'une des trousses et l'eau de toilette de l'autre trousse conféraient son caractère essentiel à chacune d'elles. Par conséquent, les marchandises en cause ont été classées dans la position 33.03.

Révisions, réexamens et appels

7. Les importateurs qui ne sont pas satisfaits du classement tarifaire déterminé par l'ASFC à l'importation peuvent demander une révision ou un réexamen de ce classement tarifaire en vertu de l'article 60 de la Loi sur les douanes (la Loi). Un importateur peut aussi interjeter appel d'une décision rendue en vertu de cet article de la Loi devant le TCCE. Consultez le Mémorandum D11-6-7, Processus de règlement des différends pour les importateurs concernant l'origine, le classement tarifaire et la valeur en douane de marchandises importées. Les lignes directrices concernant le processus d'autorajustement se trouvent dans le Mémorandum D11-6-6, « Motifs de croire » et autorajustements des déclarations concernant l'origine, le classement tarifaire et la valeur en douane.

Renseignements supplémentaires

8. Les importateurs qui veulent s'assurer du classement tarifaire d'un produit peuvent demander une décision anticipée de classement tarifaire. Des précisions sur la manière de présenter cette demande sont données dans le Mémorandum D11-11-3, Décisions anticipées en matière de classement tarifaire.

9. Pour plus d'information, si vous êtes au Canada, communiquez avec le Service d'information sur la frontière au 1-800-461-9999. De l'extérieur du Canada, composez le 204-983-3500 ou le 506-636-5064. Des frais d'interurbain seront facturés. Les agents sont disponibles durant les heures normales d'ouverture des bureaux (8 h à 16 h, heure locale), du lundi au vendredi (sauf les jours fériés). Un ATS est aussi disponible pour les appels provenant du Canada : 1-866-335-3237.

Références

Bureau de diffusion :
Direction des programmes commerciaux
Dossier de l'administration centrale :
Aucun
Références légales :
Tarif des douanes
Autres références :

D11-6-6; D11-6-7; D11-11-3

Notes explicatives du Système harmonise de designation et de codification des marchandises

Reha Enterprises Ltd. et Cosmetic Import Co. Limited c. Le sous-ministre du Revenu national (AP-98-053 et AP-98-054)

Sanofi Canada Inc. c. Le sous-ministre du Revenu national (AP-97-117)

Ceci annule le mémorandum D :
D10-14-28 daté le 20 novembre 2003
Date de modification :