Administrative Policy for the Classification of Multi-component Plastic Products of Chapter 39
Memorandum D10-14-31

Ottawa, May 13, 2014

This document is also available in PDF (68 Kb) [help with PDF files]

In Brief

  • This memorandum has been revised to reflect amendments to the Customs Tariff legislation and changes to the Canada Border Services Agency's organizational structure.

This memorandum outlines and explains the Canada Border Services Agency's (CBSA) administrative policy concerning the classification of multi-component plastic products of Chapter 39 (products composed of two or more plastic components based on different polymers). These types of products include multi-layered plastic sheets in the subheadings and tariff items of heading 39.18 to 39.21.

This memorandum deals with the classification of these products effective January 1, 1998. There are no concessionary codes in effect for this time period.

Legislation

The following are available on the Customs Tariff page of the CBSA Web site:

General Rules for the Interpretation of the Harmonized System

Canadian Rule 1
Note 1 to Chapter 39
Note 3 to Chapter 39
Note 4 to Chapter 39
Note 5 to Chapter 39
Note 6 to Chapter 39
Subheading Note 1 to Chapter 39
Supplementary Note 1 to Chapter 39
Headings 39.01 to 39.26

Guidelines and General Information

1.   This memorandum deals with the guidelines for the classification of multi-component plastic products composed of two or more plastic components based on different polymers. These products of Chapter 39 of the Customs Tariff may be combined with non-plastic materials such as fabric or paper.

2.   The memorandum does not deal with multi-component plastic products based on only one polymer, such as two sheets of polystyrene laminated together. Nor does the memorandum deal with multi-component plastic products composed of only one component of plastics combined with another material other than plastics; for example, laminates of a single layer of plastics with a layer of paper.

3.   As a result of recent Canadian International Trade Tribunal (CITT) and Federal Court decisions, the classification of the subject plastic products must follow General Interpretative Rule 3(b). However, several essential character measures are available under this rule. Accordingly, to maintain consistency in the classification of multi-component plastic products, this memorandum specifies the use of only one essential character measure. The essential character shall be determined by the plastic component that predominates by weight over every other plastic component.

4.   The provisions of this memorandum apply, with the necessary changes, to monofilaments, profile shapes, tubes, pipes, hoses, plates, sheets, film, foil, strip and the other plastic products of Sub-chapter II.

5.   In order to determine whether a product is covered as an exclusionary provision in a tariff item such as 3921.90.91, the following two-step process must be applied:

6.   Examples of the classification of multi-component plastic products are given in the Appendix (examples 1 to 4).

7.   Exception: Multi-component plastic products in which various prepolymers in the different layers have reacted together (for example, in the Formica products, the prepolymers were brought together under heat and pressure) do not comply with the process described above.

Additional Information

8.   Importers and their agents may be requested to provide samples and literature, such as product specification information and Material Safety Data Sheets (MSDS), on the multi-component plastic products. Such a request will specify to whom they should be sent.

9.   For certainty regarding the tariff classification of a product, importers may request an advance ruling. Details on how to make such a request are found in CBSA Memorandum D11-11-3, Advance Rulings for Tariff Classification.

10. For more information, within Canada call the Border Information Service at 1-800-461-9999. From outside Canada call 204-983-3500 or 506-636-5064. Long distance charges will apply. Agents are available Monday to Friday (08:00 – 16:00 local time/except holidays). TTY is also available within Canada: 1-866-335-3237.

Appendix A

Classification Examples

In each example, the end use aspects of tariff items have not been considered. All of the relative amounts are by weight.

Example 1

Product: Profile shape composed of two co-extruded plastic components:

Analysis: Layer (b) is the predominant plastic component by weight.

Classification:

Heading: The product is a plastic profile shape of heading 39.16.

Subheading: Based on the relative weights of the plastics components, the essential character is determined by layer (b). Classification is determined by the application of Subheading Note 1(b)(1) on layer (b) alone. Propylene is a monomer unit of polymers described in "Of other plastics." The propylene monomer unit predominates. Subheading 3916.90 applies.

Tariff item: 3916.90.00 applies.

Example 2

Product: Non-cellular sheet composed of three layers of plastics, laminated together:

Analysis: Layer (b) is the predominant single layer of plastics by weight.

Classification:

Heading: The plastic sheet is not cellular, reinforced, laminated, supported or similarly combined with materials other than plastics. Heading 39.20 applies.

Subheading: Based on the relative weights of the plastics components, the essential character is determined by layer (b). Classification is determined by the application of Subheading Note 1(b)(1) on layer (b) alone. Propylene is a monomer unit of polymers described in "Of polymers of propylene." The propylene monomer unit predominates. Subheading 3920.20 applies.

Tariff item: 3920.20.00 applies.

Example 3

Product: 0.05 mm thick sheet composed of two layers:

Analysis: Layer (b) is the predominant layer by weight. Poly(vinyl chloride) is also a polymer of vinyl chloride.

Classification:

Heading: The plastic sheet is not cellular, reinforced, laminated, supported or similarly combined with materials other than plastics. Heading 39.20 applies.

Subheading: Two classifications are required at the subheading level:

1. Based on the relative weights of the plastics components, the essential character is determined by layer (b). Classification is determined by the application of Subheading Note 1(b)(1) on layer (b) alone. At the single dash level, the product is classified under suppressed subheading 3920.(40).

2. Layer (b) contains not less than 6% by weight of plasticizer. Subheading 3920.43 applies.

Tariff item:  3920.43.00 applies.

Note: The classification is not based on the relative amounts of polymers; it is based on the relative amounts of the plastics components.

Example 4

Product: Sheet composed of two layers:

Analysis: Layer (b) is the predominant layer by weight.

Classification:

Heading: The plastic sheet is not cellular, reinforced, laminated, supported or similarly combined with materials other than plastics. Heading 39.20 applies.

Subheading: Based on the relative weights of the plastics components, the essential character is determined by layer (b). Classification is determined by the application of Subheading Note 1(b)(1) on layer (b) alone. Propylene is a monomer unit of polymers described in "Of polymers of propylene". The propylene monomer unit predominates. Subheading 3920.20 applies.

Tariff item: 3920.20.00 applies.

Example 5

Product: 1.5 mm thick sheet made by assembling two layers of paper impregnated with melamine-formaldehyde prepolymer resin and six layers of paper impregnated with phenol-formaldehyde prepolymer resin. Each layer is composed of 30% resin and 70% paper. The stack of 8 layers was compressed under heat and high pressure, causing the prepolymers to flow and react to form a copolymer.

Analysis: The product is a sheet of plastics reinforced with multiple layers of paper. The polymer is a melamine-formaldehyde-phenol-formaldehyde copolymer. In the total polymer content, the monomer units of phenol-formaldehyde predominate over the monomer units of melamine-formaldehyde.

Classification:

Heading: The product is a "paper-reinforced stratified sheeting of plastics" specifically excluded from classification in Chapter 48 by Note 2(g) to the Chapter. The product is reinforced with materials other than plastics. Heading 39.21 applies.

Subheading: The product is not cellular. Consequently, subheading 3921.90 is appropriate.

Tariff item: Two classifications are required at the tariff item level:

1. At the 3 dash level, the product is covered by suppressed tariff item 3921.90.(90) - - - Other.

2. At the 4 dash level, the question is whether the product is of polymers specified in tariff items 3921.90.91 (a very long list), 3921.90.92 or 3921.90.99. The monomer units of the copolymer are the same as the monomer units of melamine-formaldehyde resin and phenol-formaldehyde resin, both of heading 39.09. Note 4 to the Chapter states that the monomer units of polymers of the same heading are to be added. The polymer component in the product is a copolymer of heading 39.09. The product therefore meets the first part (underlined below) of the sixth tariff item provision under 3921.90.91:

"Of polymers of heading 39.09, excluding of urea-formaldehyde resins, of melamine-formaldehyde resins, of phenol-formaldehyde resins or of polyurethanes;"

An additional classification process is required to determine whether the product is described by the exclusion provisions within this tariff item provision. Using Supplementary Note 1 to Chapter 39, Note 4 – suitably modified – classifies the copolymer in the product as a phenol-formaldehyde resin. The product is therefore excluded from tariff item 3921.90.91 and is classified under tariff item 3921.90.99.

Note: The two polymer components have reacted to form a copolymer. Consequently, the product cannot be considered as a composite good of different plastics. Classification is governed by the Chapter and Supplementary Notes.

Classification of the plastic article at the tariff item level is based on the polymer component in the good. The paper component, which represents 70% by weight of the product, is not a consideration.

References

Issuing office:
Trade and Anti-dumping Programs Directorate
Headquarters file:
N/A
Legislative references:
Customs Tariff
Other references:
D11-11-3
CITT Appeal Nos. AP-93-274 and AP-93-294 (Continuous Colour Coat Limited), August 31, 1994.
Federal Court of Appeal No. A-854-97 (Continuous Colour Coat Limited), May 11, 2000.
CITT Appeal No. AP-2000-026 (Continuous Colour Coat Limited), November 17, 2000.
CITT Appeal No. AP-2000-018 (Transilwrap of Canada, Ltd), September 11, 2001.
CITT Appeal No. AP-2000-041 (Formica Canada Inc.),
March 7, 2002.
Superseded memorandum D:
D10-14-31 dated November 6, 2002
Date modified:

Politique administrative relative au classement des produits en matières plastiques à plusieurs éléments constitutifs du chapitre 39
Mémorandum D10-14-31

Ottawa, le 13 mai 2014

Ce document est disponible en format PDF (81 Kb) [aide sur les fichiers PDF]

En résumé

  • Le présent mémorandum a été mis à jour en vue de tenir compte des modifications apportées au Tarif des douanes et à la structure organisationnelle de l'Agence des services frontaliers du Canada.

      Le présent mémorandum donne un aperçu et explique la politique administrative de l'Agence des services frontaliers du Canada (ASFC) relative au classement des produits en matières plastiques à plusieurs éléments constitutifs du chapitre 39 (produits constitués de deux ou plus de deux éléments à base de différents polymères). Ces types de produits comprennent les feuilles en matières plastiques multicouches relevant des sous-positions et des numéros tarifaires des positions 39.18 à 39.21.

Le présent mémorandum porte sur le classement de ces produits à partir du 1er janvier 1998. Il n'existe aucun code de concession en vigueur pour cette période.

Législation

Les suivantes se trouvent sur la page du Tarif des douanes du site Web de l'ASFC :

Règles générales pour l'interprétation du Système harmonisé

Règle canadienne 1
Note 1 du Chapitre 39
Note 3 du Chapitre 39
Note 4 du Chapitre 39
Note 5 du Chapitre 39
Note 6 du Chapitre 39
Note de sous-position 1 du Chapitre 39
Note supplémentaire 1 du Chapitre 39
Positions 39.01 à 39.26

Lignes directrices et renseignements généraux

1.   Le présent mémorandum concerne les lignes directrices portant sur le classement des produits en matières plastiques à plusieurs éléments comportant deux ou plus de deux éléments constitutifs en matières plastiques à base de différents polymères. Ces produits du chapitre 39 du Tarif des douanespeuvent être combinés à des matières non plastiques, telles que du tissu ou du papier.

2.   Le présent mémorandum ne concerne pas les produits en matière plastique à plusieurs éléments à base d'un seul polymère, tels que ceux constitués de deux feuilles en polystyrène stratifiées ensemble. Il ne concerne pas non plus les produits en matières plastiques à plusieurs éléments constitutifs renfermant un seul élément en matières plastiques combiné à une autre matière non plastique; par exemple, les stratifiés comportant une seule couche en matières plastiques combinée à une couche en papier.

3.   À la suite de décisions rendues récemment par le Tribunal canadien du commerce extérieur (TCCE) et la Cour fédérale, le classement des produits en matières plastiques doit respecter la Règle d'interprétation générale 3b). Cependant, cette règle comporte plusieurs mesures de caractère essentiel. Par conséquent, afin d'assurer l'uniformité du classement des produits en matières plastiques à plusieurs éléments constitutifs, le présent mémorandum précise l'utilisation d'une seule mesure de caractère essentiel. Le caractère essentiel sera établi par l'élément constitutif dont le poids prédomine par rapport à tout autre élément constitutif de la matière plastique.

4.   Les dispositions du présent mémorandum s'appliquent, avec les modifications nécessaires, aux monofilaments, aux profilés, aux tubes, aux tuyaux, aux plaques, aux feuilles, aux bandes et lames, aux pellicules et aux autres produits en matières plastiques du sous-chapitre II.

5.   Afin de déterminer si un produit est couvert par une disposition d'exclusion dans un numéro tarifaire, tel que le numéro 3921.90.91, il faut suivre le processus en deux étapes comme suit :

6.   Des exemples de classement de produits en matières plastiques à plusieurs éléments constitutifs se trouvent à l'annexe (exemples 1 à 4).

7.   Exception : Les produits en matières plastiques à plusieurs éléments constitutifs dans lesquels divers prépolymères disposés en différentes couches ont réagi ensemble (par exemple, dans les produits Formica, les prépolymères sont réunis sous l'action de la chaleur et de la pression) ne sont pas conformes au processus décrit ci-dessus.

Renseignements supplémentaires

8.   Il se peut que l'on demande aux importateurs ou à leurs agents de fournir des échantillons de leurs produits en matières plastiques à plusieurs éléments constitutifs, ainsi que de la documentation telle que les spécifications des produits fiche signalétique (FS). Une telle demande indiquera à qui ces derniers doivent être envoyés.

9.   Les importateurs qui veulent s'assurer du classement tarifaire d'un produit peuvent demander une décision anticipée de classement tarifaire. Des précisions sur la manière de présenter cette demande sont données dans le Mémorandum D11-11-3, Décisions anticipées en matière de classement tarifaire.

10. Pour plus d'information, si vous êtes au Canada, communiquez avec le Service d'information sur la frontière au 1-800-461-9999. De l'extérieur du Canada, composez le 204-983-3500 ou le 506-636-5064. Des frais d'interurbain seront facturés. Les agents sont disponibles durant les heures normales d'ouverture des bureaux (8 h à 16 h, heure locale), du lundi au vendredi (sauf les jours fériés). Un ATS est aussi disponible pour les appels provenant du Canada : 1-866-335-3237.

Annexe

Exemples de classement

Pour tous ces exemples, les aspects relatifs à l'utilisation finale n'ont pas été pris en considération. Toutes les quantités données sont relatives aux poids.

Exemple 1

Produit : profilé composé de deux éléments en matières plastiques coextrudés :

Analyse : La couche b) est l'élément dont le poids prédomine.

Classement :

Position : Le produit est un profilé en matière plastique relevant de la position 39.16.

Sous-position : Selon le poids relatif des éléments en matière plastique, le caractère essentiel est établi par la couche b). Le classement est établi en application de la note de sous-position 1b)1) sur la couche b) uniquement. Le propylène est un motif monomère constitutif de polymères décrits dans « d'autres matières plastiques ». L'unité monomère de propylène prédomine. Ce produit est donc classé à la sous-position 3916.90.

Numéro tarifaire : 3916.90.00 s'applique.

Exemple 2

Produit : Feuille non alvéolaire constituée de trois couches de matières plastiques laminées ensemble :

Analyse : La couche b) est la couche de matière plastique dont le poids prédomine.

Classement :

Position : Ce produit est non alvéolaire, non renforcé, non stratifié, ni pareillement associé à d'autres matières ni munies d'un support. Il est classé à la position 39.20.

Sous-position : Selon le poids relatif des éléments en matière plastique, le caractère essentiel est établi par la couche b). Le classement est établi en application de la note de sous-position 1b)1) sur la couche b) uniquement. Le propylène est un motif monomère de polymères décrit dans « Polymères de propylène ». Le motif monomère de propylène prédomine. Ce produit est donc classé à la sous-position 3920.20.

Numéro tarifaire : 3920.20.00 s'applique.

Exemple 3

Produit : Feuille de 0,05 mm d'épaisseur composée de deux couches :

Analyse : La couche b) est celle dont le poids prédomine. Le poly(chlorure de vinyle) est également un polymère de chlorure de vinyle.

Classement :

Position : Ce produit est non alvéolaire, non renforcé, non stratifié, ni pareillement associé à d'autres matières ni munies d'un support. Il est classé à la position 39.20.

Sous-position : Deux classements sont requis au niveau de la sous-position :

1. Selon le poids relatif des éléments en matière plastique, le caractère essentiel est établi par la couche b). Le classement est établi en application de la note de sous-position 1b)1) sur la couche b) uniquement. Au niveau à 1 tiret, le produit est classé à la sous-position cachée 3920.(40).

2. Le poids de la couche b) ne contient pas moins de 6 % de plastifiant. Ce produit est donc classé à la sous-position 3920.43.
Numéro tarifaire : 3920.43.00 s'applique.

Nota : Le classement n'est pas établi sur les montants relatifs de polymères, mais sur les montants relatifs des composants en plastique.

Exemple 4

Produit : Feuille composée de deux couches :

Analyse : La couche b) est celle dont le poids prédomine.

Classement :

Position : Ce produit est non alvéolaire, non renforcé, non stratifié, ni pareillement associé à d'autres matières ni munies d'un support. Il est classé à la position 39.20.

Sous-position : Selon le poids relatif des éléments en matière plastique, le caractère essentiel est établi par la couche b). Le classement est établi en application de la note de sous-position 1b)1) sur la couche b) uniquement. Le propylène est un motif monomère constitutif de polymères décrit dans « polymères de propylène ». Le motif monomère de propylène prédomine. Ce produit est donc classé à la sous- position 3920.20.

Numéro tarifaire : le numéro tarifaire 3920.20.00 s'applique.

Exemple 5

Produit : Feuille de 1,5 mm d'épaisseur composée par l'assemblage de deux couches de papier imprégné de résine de prépolymère mélamine-formaldéhyde et de six couches de papier imprégné de résine de prépolymère phénol-formaldéhyde. Chaque couche est composée de 30 % de résine et de 70 % de papier. Les huit couches ont été comprimées sous une chaleur et une pression élevées, causant une réaction des prépolymères pour former un copolymère.

Analyse : Ce produit est une feuille de matières plastiques renforcée de multiples couches de papier. Le polymère est un copolymère mélamine-formaldéhyde-phénol-formaldéhyde. Dans la teneur totale du polymère, les motifs monomères constitutifs de phénol-formaldéhyde prédominent les motifs monomères de mélamine-formaldéhyde.

Classement :

Position : Le produit est une « feuille de plastique stratifiée renforcée de papier » expressément exclue du classement dans le Chapitre 48 par la Note 2g) du Chapitre. Le produit est renforcé avec des matières autres que des matières plastiques. Ce produit est donc classé à la position 39.21.

Sous-position : Le produit n'est pas cellulaire. Il est donc classé à la sous-position 3921.90.

Numéro tarifaire : Deux classements sont requis au niveau du numéro tarifaire :

1. Au niveau à 3 tirets, le produit est couvert par le numéro tarifaire caché 3921.90.(90) - - - Autre.

2. Au niveau à 4 tirets, la question à savoir si le produit est composé des polymères précisés aux numéros tarifaires 3921.90.91 (une très longue liste), 3921.90.92 ou 3921.90.99. Les motifs monomères constitutifs de copolymère sont les mêmes que les motifs monomères constitutifs de résine mélamine-formaldéhyde et de résine phénol-formaldéhyde, tous deux de la position 39.09. La Note 4 du Chapitre énonce que les motifs monomères constitutifs de polymères de la même position doivent être ajoutés. L'élément polymère dans le produit est un copolymère de la position 39.09. Le produit est donc conforme à la première partie (soulignée ci-dessous) de la sixième disposition du numéro tarifaire 3921.90.91 :

« En polymères de la position 39.09, à l'exclusion des résines urée-formaldéhyde, des résines mélamine-formaldéhyde, des résines phénol-formaldéhyde ou des polyuréthanes; »

Un processus de classement supplémentaire est requis pour déterminer si le produit est décrit par les dispositions sur les exclusions du numéro tarifaire. Selon la Note supplémentaire 1 du Chapitre 39, Note 4 – convenablement modifiée – il faut classer le copolymère du produit comme étant une résine phénol-formaldéhyde. Le produit est donc exclu du numéro tarifaire 3921.90.91 et est classé sous le numéro tarifaire 3921.90.99.

Nota : Les deux éléments de polymère ont réagi pour former un copolymère. Par conséquent, le produit ne peut pas être considéré comme étant un article composé de différentes matières plastiques. Le classement est régi par les notes de Chapitre et les Notes supplémentaires.

Le classement de l'article de plastique au niveau du numéro tarifaire est fondé sur l'élément polymère de l'article. L'élément de papier, qui représente 70 % du poids du produit, n'est pas pris en considération.

Références

Bureau de diffusion :
Direction des programmes commerciaux et antidumping
Dossier de l'administration centrale :
s.o.
Références légales :
Tarif des douanes
Autres références :
D11-11-3
TCCE Appels nos AP-93-274 et AP-93-294 (Continuous Colour Coat Limited), le 31 août 1994.
Cour d'appel fédérale A-854-97 (Continuous Colour Coat Limited), le 11 mai 2000.
TCCE Appel no AP-2000-026 (Continuous Colour Coat Limited), le 17 novembre 2000.
TCCE Appel no AP-2000-018 (Transilwrap of Canada, Ltd),
le 11 septembre 2001.
TCCE Appel no AP-2000-041 (Formica Canada Inc.),
le 7 mars 2002.
Ceci annule le mémorandum D :
D10-14-31 daté le 6 novembre 2002
Date de modification :