Tariff Classification of Pizza Kits
Memorandum D10-14-32

ISSN 2369-2391

Ottawa, August 20, 2015

This document is also available in PDF (51 Kb) [help with PDF files]

In Brief

A complete review of this memorandum was made. The editing revisions made do not affect or change any of the existing policies or procedures.

This memorandum explains the administrative policy for the tariff classification of “pizza kits”.

Legislation

Customs Tariff
04.06
0406.20
19.01
1901.20
19.05
1905.90
21.03
2103.20

Explanatory Note (8) to heading 19.01
Explanatory Note (14) to heading 19.05

Guidelines and General Information

1. That a product is described commercially as a "pizza kit" does not mean it qualifies as such for the purposes of this memorandum.

2. Throughout this memorandum, the term "pizza kits" refers only to goods:

3. Such "pizza kits" may have the contents necessary to make more than one pizza provided they do not lose the character described in paragraph 2 (above).

4. The term "retail sale" refers to sales in small quantities direct to a consumer, as distinguished from "wholesale" in large quantities to one who intends to resell.

5. As the contents of these "pizza kits" are intended to be used together to meet a particular need (i.e., preparing a pizza) they are considered to be "goods put up in sets for retail sale" and are classified in accordance with General Interpretative Rule 3(b).

6. The pizza base (dough) is considered to provide the whole with its essential character. If the dough is uncooked the goods are classified under heading 19.01 in accordance with Explanatory Note (8) to heading 19.01. However, if the dough is cooked or pre-cooked, they are classified under heading 19.05 in accordance with Explanatory Note (14) to heading 19.05.

7. Packages of ingredients similar to those described in paragraph 1 (above) imported for distribution and sale through the wholesale distribution system for use by, for example, restaurants and institutions, are not "pizza kits" for the purposes of this memorandum.

8. Goods of the type described in paragraph 7 are not considered to be "goods put up in sets for retail sale" (emphasis added), and, as the components are packaged individually within a common outer package, neither can they be considered to be a mixture or a composite good. As a result, such goods are not classifiable in accordance with GIR 3 (b) and the individual components must each be classified separately, in their own right.

9. For example, a product of the type described in paragraph 7 (above) consisting of 100 uncooked dough balls or pizza crusts and a sufficient quantity of cheese, tomato pizza sauce and pepperoni to prepare 100 pizzas would be classified as follows:

10. Supplementary Note 2 to Chapter 16 is not relevant to the "pizza kits" described in paragraph 2 (above) as it relates to goods "used commercially in the preparation of fresh food products for direct sale to a consumer", rather than for retail sale in a size and quantity suitable for consumers to prepare and cook.

Additional Information

11. For certainty regarding the tariff classification of a product, importers may request an advance ruling. Details on how to make such a request are found in CBSA Memorandum D11-11-3, Advance Rulings for Tariff Classification.

12. For more information, within Canada call the Border Information Service at 1-800-461-9999. From outside Canada call 204-983-3500 or 506-636-5064. Long distance charges will apply. Agents are available Monday to Friday (08:00 – 16:00 local time / except holidays). TTY is also available within Canada: 1-866-335-3237.

References

Issuing office:
Trade Programs Directorate
Headquarters file:
HS1901.20
Legislative references:
Customs Tariff
General Rules for the Interpretation of the Harmonized System
Explanatory Notes to the Harmonized Commodity Description and Coding System
Other references:
 
Superseded memorandum D:
D10-14-32 dated
Date modified:

Classement tarifaire des ensembles pour pizza
Mémorandum D10-14-32

ISSN 2369-2405

Ottawa, le 20 août 2015

Ce document est disponible en format PDF (57 Kb) [aide sur les fichiers PDF]

En résumé

Ce mémorandum a été révisé en entier. Les modifications apportées ne modifient aucunement les politiques ou procédures existantes.

Le présent mémorandum explique la politique administrative concernant le classement tarifaire des « ensembles pour pizza ».

Législation

Tarif des douanes
04.06
0406.20
19.01
1901.20
19.05
1905.90
21.03
2103.20
Notes explicatives

Note explicative 8 de la position 19.01
Note explicative 14 de la position 19.05

Lignes directrices et renseignements généraux

1. Qu'un produit soit commercialement décrit comme étant un « ensemble pour pizza » ne veut pas dire qu'il s'agit d'un ensemble pour pizza aux fins du présent mémorandum.

2. Dans le présent mémorandum, « ensemble pour pizza » s'entend seulement des marchandises :

3. De tels « ensembles pour pizza » peuvent contenir suffisamment d'ingrédients pour préparer plus d'une pizza en autant qu'ils possèdent tous les éléments décrits dans le paragraphe 2 (ci-dessus).

4. L'expression « conditionnés pour la vente au détail » s'entend des marchandises présentées en petites quantités permettant une vente directe au consommateur, par opposition à « vente en gros » où les marchandises sont présentées en grandes quantités à ceux qui ont l'intention de les revendre.

5. Puisque le contenu de ces « ensembles pour pizza » sont conçus pour être utilisés ensemble pour combler un besoin particulier (c.-à-d. préparer une pizza), ces ensembles sont considérés des « marchandises présentées en assortiments conditionnés pour la vente au détail » et sont classés conformément à la règle générale d'interprétation (RGI) 3b).

6. Le fond de la pizza (pâte) confère le caractère essentiel à cet ensemble. Si la pâte n'est pas cuite, les marchandises sont classées dans la position 19.01, conformément à la Note explicative 8 de la position 19.01. Toutefois, si la pâte est cuite ou précuite, l'ensemble est classé dans la position 19.05, conformément à la Note explicative 14 de la position 19.05.

7. Les emballages d'ingrédients semblables à ceux décrits dans le paragraphe 1 (ci-dessus) importés pour être distribués et vendus en gros aux restaurants et aux institutions, par exemple, ne doivent pas être considérés comme des « ensembles pour pizza » aux fins du présent mémorandum.

8. Les marchandises du type décrit au paragraphe 7 ne sont pas considérées des « marchandises présentées en assortiments conditionnés pour la vente au détail » (c'est nous qui soulignons) et, puisque les ingrédients sont emballés séparément sous un emballage extérieur commun, elles ne peuvent être considérées un mélange ou une marchandise composite. Par conséquent, de telles marchandises ne peuvent être classées en vertu de la RGI 3b) et chaque élément doit être classé séparément, selon leurs propres mérites.

9. Par exemple, un produit du type décrit dans le paragraphe 7 (ci-dessus), composé de 100 boules de pâte non cuite ou croûtes à pizza et d'une quantité suffisante de fromage, de sauce tomate pour pizza et de peppéroni pour préparer 100 pizzas serait classé comme suit :

10. La Note supplémentaire 2 du Chapitre 16 ne concerne pas les « ensembles pour pizza » décrit au paragraphe 2 (ci-dessus) puisqu'elle porte sur les « préparations de produits alimentaires frais pour la vente directe à un consommateur », plutôt qu'à des marchandises dont la taille et la quantité permettent la vente au détail immédiate aux consommateurs pour préparation et cuisson.

Renseignements supplémentaires

11. Les importateurs qui veulent s'assurer du classement tarifaire d'un produit peuvent demander une décision anticipée de classement tarifaire. Des précisions sur la manière de présenter cette demande sont données dans le Mémorandum D11-11-3, Décisions anticipées en matière de classement tarifaire.

12. Pour plus d'information, si vous êtes au Canada, communiquez avec le Service d'information sur la frontière au 1-800-461-9999. De l'extérieur du Canada, composez le 204-983-3500 ou le 506-636-5064. Des frais d'interurbain seront facturés. Les agents sont disponibles durant les heures normales d'ouverture des bureaux (8 h à 16 h, heure locale), du lundi au vendredi (sauf les jours fériés). Un ATS est aussi disponible pour les appels provenant du Canada : 1-866-335-3237.

Références

Bureau de diffusion :
Direction des programmes commerciaux et antidumping
Dossier de l'administration centrale :
SH1901.20
Références légales :
Tarif des douanes
Règles générales pour l'interprétation du Système harmonisé
Notes explicatives du Système harmonisé de désignation et de codification des marchandises
Autres références :
 D11-11-3
Ceci annule le mémorandum D :
D10-14-32 daté le
Date de modification :