Tariff Classification of Limestone of a Kind Used in Animal Feed
Memorandum D10-14-33

Ottawa, April 24, 2014

This document is also available in PDF (61 Kb) [help with PDF files]

In Brief

The editing revisions made in this memorandum do not affect or change any of the existing policies or procedures.

This memorandum explains the Canada Border Services Agency (CBSA) rationale for classifying limestone, of a kind suitable for use in animal feed, in heading 25.21 of the Customs Tariff.

Legislation

Customs Tariff

25.21 Limestone flux; limestone and other calcareous stone, of a kind used for the manufacture of lime or cement.

Legal Notes to Chapter 25

Note 1:

1. Except where their context or Note 4 to this Chapter otherwise requires, the headings of this Chapter cover only products which are in the crude state or which have been washed (even with chemical substances eliminating the impurities without changing the structure of the product), crushed, ground, powdered, levigated, sifted, screened, concentrated by flotation, magnetic separation, or other mechanical or physical processes (except crystallisation), but not products which have been roasted, calcined, obtained by mixing, or subjected to processing beyond that mentioned in each heading.

The products of this Chapter may contain an added anti-dusting agent, provided that such addition does not render the product particularly suitable for specific use rather than for general use.

Guidelines and General Information

1. Imported limestone, in granule or powder form, suitable for use in animal feed, is classified in heading 25.21, in accordance with Legal Note 1 to Chapter 25. This classification is not applicable to dolomitic limestone (dolomite) which is classified in its own heading (25.18).

2. According to the Materials Handbook, 15th edition, limestone is a general name for a variety of calcite rocks, and in its purest form is 100% calcium carbonate (CaCO3). It often contains small quantities of impurities such as magnesium, iron, zinc, lead, manganese, etc. Limestone is used in numerous applications such as for making lime and cement, for agricultural purposes, or for use in animal feed.

3. According to ASTM Standard C706-02 (reapproved 2008) regarding the Standard Specification for Limestone for Animal Feed Use, limestone with a minimum content of 95% calcium carbonate and a maximum content of 5% magnesium carbonate is suitable for use in animal feed (feed-grade). Feed-grade limestone is used to increase the calcium intake of animals.

4. Feed-grade limestone is also desirable for making lime, or for agricultural purposes (soil improvement), because of the high calcium carbonate content. It is also suitable for use in cement making even though high calcium carbonate content is not required for this purpose.

5. In Appeal AP-93-359, Ballarat Corporation Ltd. v. the Deputy Minister of National Revenue, the Canadian International Trade Tribunal found “of a kind used” to mean that the goods at issue must be capable of or suitable for the specified use but do not actually need to be used for such purposes.

6. Therefore, limestone with a high calcium carbonate content (95% or more) used in animal feed (feed-grade) can be considered of a kind suitable for soil improvement, or, of a kind used for the manufacture of lime or cement, and is therefore classified in HS heading 25.21.

7. Under the authority of the Feeds Act, the Canadian Food Inspection Agency administers a program to verify that livestock feeds manufactured and sold in Canada or imported into Canada are safe, effective, and are labeled appropriately. According to the Feed Regulations, 1983, (SOR/83-593), Schedule IV, Part 1, item 6.41, ground limestone (or pulverized limestone) shall be labeled with guarantees for minimum percent of calcium and maximum percent of magnesium.

Additional Information

8. For certainty regarding the tariff classification of a particular good, importers may request an advance ruling. Details on how to make such a request are found in Memorandum D11-11-3, Advance Rulings for Tariff Classification.

9. For more information, within Canada call the Border Information Service at 1-800-461-9999. From outside Canada call 204-983-3500 or 506-636-5064. Long distance charges will apply. Agents are available Monday to Friday (08:00 – 16:00 local time/except holidays). TTY is also available within Canada: 1-866-335-3237.

References

Issuing office:
Trade and Anti-dumping Programs Directorate
Headquarters file:
HS 2521.00
Legislative references:
Feeds Act
Feed Regulations, 1983
Customs Tariff
General Rules for the Interpretation of the Harmonized System
Other references:
D11-11-3
CITT AP-93-359,Ballarat Corporation Ltd. v. the Deputy Minister of National Revenue
ASTM C706-02 (reapproved 2008) Standard Specification for Limestone for Animal Feed Use
Superseded memorandum D:
D10-14-33 dated February 25, 2004
Date modified:

Classement tarifaire de la pierre à chaux des types utilisés pour les aliments du bétail
Mémorandum D10-14-33

Ottawa, le 24 avril 2014

Ce document est disponible en format PDF (59 Ko) [aide sur les fichiers PDF]

En résumé

Les modifications supplémentaires liées à la révision du texte qui ont été apportées ne modifient aucunement les politiques ou procédures existantes comprises dans le présent mémorandum.

Le présent mémorandum explique pourquoi l'Agence des services frontaliers du Canada (ASFC) classe la pierre à chaux, des types pouvant être utilisés pour les aliments du bétail, dans la position 25.21 du Tarif des douanes.

Législation

Tarif des douanes

25.21 Castines; pierres à chaux ou à ciment.

Note légale du Chapitre 25

Note 1 :

1. Sauf dispositions contraires et sous réserve de la Note 4 ci-après, n’entrent dans les positions du présent Chapitre que les produits à l’état brut ou les produits lavés (même à l’aide de substances chimiques éliminant les impuretés sans changer la structure du produit), concassés, broyés, pulvérisés, soumis à lévigation, criblés, tamisés, enrichis par flottation, séparation magnétique ou autres procédés mécaniques ou physiques (à l’exception de la cristallisation), mais non les produits grillés, calcinés, résultant d’un mélange ayant subi une main-d’œuvre supérieure à celle indiquée dans chaque position.

Les produits du présent Chapitre peuvent être additionnés d’une substance antipoussiérieuse, pour autant que cette addition ne rende pas le produit apte à des emplois particuliers plutôt qu’à son emploi général.

Lignes directrices et renseignements généraux

1. La pierre à chaux importée sous forme de granules ou de poudres, des types pouvant être utilisés pour les aliments du bétail se classe dans la position 25.21 conformément à la Note légale 1 du Chapitre 25. Ce classement ne s’applique pas au calcaire dolomitique (dolomie) qui a sa propre position (25.18).

2. Selon le « Materials Handbook », 15e édition, la pierre à chaux est un nom générique qui englobe un large éventail de pierres de calcite1. Dans sa forme la plus pure, la pierre à chaux est composée à 100 % de carbonate de calcium (CaCO3). Elle renferme souvent de petites quantités d’impuretés telles que le magnésium, le fer, le zinc, le plomb, le manganèse, etc. La pierre à chaux a différents emplois; elle est utilisée dans la fabrication de la chaux et du ciment, à des fins agricoles ou dans les aliments du bétail.

3. Selon la norme ASTM C706-92 (approuvé à nouveau en 2008) à l’égard du Standard Specification for Limestone for Animal Feed Use, la pierre à chaux qui contient un minimum de 95 % de carbonate de calcium et un maximum de 5 % de carbonate de magnésium peut être utilisée dans les aliments du bétail (chaux fourragère). La chaux fourragère est un moyen économique d’accroître l’apport en calcium des animaux.

4. L’utilisation de la chaux fourragère est aussi souhaitable pour la fabrication de la chaux ou à des fins agricoles (amélioration du sol) en raison de sa teneur élevée en carbonate de calcium. Elle peut aussi être utilisée dans la fabrication du ciment même si une teneur en carbonate de calcium aussi élevée n’est pas nécessaire pour cet usage.

5. Dans le cadre de l’appel AP-93-359, Ballarat Corporation Ltd. v. le sous-ministre du Revenu National, le Tribunal canadien du commerce extérieur a déterminé que l’expression « des types utilisés » signifie que les marchandises en cause doivent être susceptibles d’être utilisées à cette fin ou être reconnaissables comme étant destinées à l’être. Il n’est pas nécessaire qu’elles soient effectivement utilisées à cette fin.

6. Par conséquent, la pierre à chaux qui a une teneur élevée en carbonate de calcium (95 % ou plus) utilisée dans les aliments du bétail (chaux fourragère) fait partie des types pouvant être utilisés pour l’amélioration du sol ou des types utilisés pour la fabrication de la chaux et du ciment. Elle est donc classée dans la position 25.21 du SH.

7. En vertu de la Loi relative aux aliments du bétail, l’Agence canadienne d’inspection des aliments administre un programme qui a pour but de vérifier que les aliments du bétail fabriqués et vendus au Canada, ou importés au Canada, sont sains, efficaces et étiquetés comme il se doit. Conformément au Règlement de 1983 sur les aliments du bétail, 1983, (DORS/83-593), Annexe IV, Partie 1, Catégorie 6.41, l’étiquette de la pierre à chaux moulue (ou pierre à chaux pulvérisée) doit porter la garantie d’un pourcentage minimum de calcium et d’un pourcentage maximum de magnésium.

Renseignements supplémentaires

8. Les importateurs qui veulent s’assurer du classement tarifaire d’un produit peuvent demander une décision anticipée de classement tarifaire. Des précisions sur la manière de présenter cette demande sont données dans le Mémorandum D11-11-3, Décisions anticipées en matière de classement tarifaire.

9. Pour plus d'information, si vous êtes au Canada, communiquez avec le Service d'information sur la frontière au 1-800-461-9999. De l'extérieur du Canada, composez le 204-983-3500 ou le 506-636-5064. Des frais d'interurbain seront facturés. Les agents sont disponibles durant les heures normales d'ouverture des bureaux (8 h à 16 h, heure locale), du lundi au vendredi (sauf les jours fériés). Un ATS est aussi disponible pour les appels provenant du Canada : 1-866-335-3237.

Références

Bureau de diffusion :
Direction des programmes commerciaux et antidumping
Dossier de l'administration centrale :
HS 2521.00
Références légales :
Loi relative aux aliments du bétail
Règlement de 1983 sur les aliments du bétail
Tarif des douanes
Règles générales d'interprétation du Système harmonisé
Autres références :
 D11-11-3
Appel du TCCE AP-93-359, Ballarat Corporation Ltd. v. le sous-ministre du Revenu National
Norme ASTM C706-92 (approuvé à nouveau en 2008) à l'égard du Standard Specification for Limestone for Animal Feed Use
Ceci annule le mémorandum D :
D10-14-33 daté le 25 février 2004
Date de modification :