Tariff Classification Policy on Ratchet Drives

Memorandum D10-14-36

Ottawa, January 7, 2014

This document is also available in PDF (73 Kb) [help with PDF files]

In Brief

The editing revisions made in this memorandum do not affect or change any of the existing policies or procedures.


This memorandum explains the Canada Border Services Agency’s administrative policy for the tariff classification of ratchet drives imported either as part of a socket set or as separate goods.

Legislation

Customs Tariff

82.04  Hand-operated spanners and wrenches (including torque meter wrenches but not including tap wrenches); interchangeable spanner sockets, with or without handles.

8204.20.00 -Interchangeable spanner sockets, with or without handles

82.07 Interchangeable tools for hand tools, whether or not power-operated, or for machine-tools (for example, for pressing, stamping, punching, tapping, threading, drilling, boring, broaching, milling, turning or screw-driving), including dies for drawing or extruding metal, and rock-drilling or earth-boring tools.

8207.90 -Other interchangeable tools

8207.90.90 ---Other


Guidelines and General Information

Description of the Goods

1. Ratchet drives consist of a steel bar. At the working end of the bar, there is a “drive” which is a small, rectangular or hexagonal metal “male” head that permits the attachment of spanner sockets. Typical drives are 1/4, 3/8, 1/2, 3/4 or 1-inch square, or 1/4, 3/8 or 1/2 inch hexagonal, each with a height approximately equal to its width.

2. The basic mechanism of the ratchet in the ratchet drive is the pawl and ratchet, which consists of a pivoting spike that engages with the ratchet wheel to allow motion in only one direction.

3. The other end of the ratchet drive is shaped like a handle to permit the ease of use. These include: flex handles (breaker bars), ratchet handles, speed handles (crank handle drivers), spinner (straight comfortable grip) handles and T-handles.

4. Socket sets come in many different varieties. A basic set may consist of at least one driver (also known as a handle), several sockets, and one or more extension pieces. Various components of socket sets combine to form wrenches and are thus fully functional hand tools. Socket sets are often associated with tool sets that are of a type used for automotive repair.

Tariff Classification Policy

5. Both ratchet drives and sockets are considered to be interchangeable tools. Although unsuitable for independent use, they are designed to be fitted into each other to make a complete functional article.

6. Interchangeable sockets with or without handles are named in the text of heading 82.04 specifically, subheading 8204.20. In accordance with Item 2 in the Explanatory Note to heading 82.04, drives and extensions are also classified under this heading if they are imported with the sockets.

7. Heading 82.07 provides for a wide range of interchangeable tools for hand tools. These tools are described in the Explanatory Notes to heading 82.07 as “an important group of tools which are unsuitable for use independently, but are designed to be fitted, as the case may be, into (A) hand tools, whether or not power-operated.” The design and function of ratchet drives are reflected in this reference

Administrative Guidelines

8. When the ratchet drives are imported as part of a socket set, they are classified along with other components of the set under tariff item 8204.20.00 as interchangeable spanner sockets, with or without handles.

9. When ratchet drives are imported separately, they are classified under tariff item 8207.90.90 as other interchangeable tools.

Additional Information

10. For certainty regarding the tariff classification of a product, importers may request an advance ruling on tariff classification. Details on how to make such a request are found in Memorandum D11-11-3, Advance Rulings for Tariff Classification.

11. For more information, within Canada call the Border Information Service at 1-800-461-9999. From outside Canada call 204-983-3500 or 506-636-5064. Long distance charges will apply. Agents are available Monday to Friday (08:00 – 16:00 local time/except holidays). TTY is also available within Canada: 1-866-335-3237

References

Issuing office :
Trade Programs Directorate
Headquarters file :
HS8207.90
Legislative references :

Customs Tariff

General Rules for the Interpretation of the Harmonized System

Explanatory Notes to the Harmonized Commodity Description and Coding System

Other references :
Superseded memorandum D :
D10-14-38, dated May 9, 2005

Politique de classement tarifaire des emmanchements de clé à cliquet
Mémorandum D10-14-36

Ottawa, le 7 janvier 2014

Ce document est disponible en format PDF (98 Kb) [aide sur les fichiers PDF]

En résumé

Les modifications supplémentaires liées à la révision du texte qui ont été apportées ne modifient aucunement les politiques ou procédures existantes comprises dans le présent mémorandum.

Le présent mémorandum explique la politique administrative de l'Agence des services frontaliers du Canada sur le classement tarifaire des emmanchements de clé à cliquet importés comme composantes de jeu de douilles ou comme marchandises séparées.

Références législatives

Tarif des douanes

82.04 Clés de serrage à main (y compris les clés dynamométriques); douilles de serrage interchangeables, même avec manches.

8204.20.00 -Douilles de serrage interchangeables, même avec manches.

82.07 Outils interchangeables pour outillage à main, mécanique ou non, ou pour machines-outils (à emboutir, à estamper, à poinçonner, à tarauder, à fileter, à percer, à aléser, à brocher, à fraiser, à tourner, à visser, par exemple), y compris les filières pour l'étirage ou le filage (extrusion) des métaux, ainsi que les outils de forage ou de sondage.

8207.90 -Autres outils interchangeables

8207.90.90 ---Autres

Lignes directrices et renseignements généraux

Description des marchandises

1. Les clés à cliquet se composent d'une barre en acier dont l'embout est un « emmanchement », à savoir une tête « mâle » rectangulaire ou hexagonale qui s'insère dans les douilles de serrage. Les emmanchements rectangulaires sont de 1/4, 3/8, 1/2, 3/4 ou 1 pouce carré, les emmanchements hexagonaux de 1/4, 3/8 ou 1/2 pouce carré, la hauteur de chaque emmanchement étant approximativement égale à sa largeur.

2. Le mécanisme de base des emmanchements comprend un encliquetage consistant en une pointe pivotante qui s'engage dans la roue à rochet pour permettre le mouvement dans une seule direction.

3. Le talon de la clé à cliquet forme le manche pour en faciliter l'utilisation. Ce manche peut être un manche articulé (flexible), à rochet, vilebrequin (manivelle), à rallonge emmanchée (avec poignée droite confortable) et en T.

4. Les jeux de douilles se présentent en plusieurs variétés différentes. Un jeu de base comprend au moins une clé à manche fixe, plusieurs douilles et une ou deux rallonges. Diverses composantes de jeu de douilles s'assemblent pour former des clés et donc des outils manuels fonctionnels. Les jeux de douilles sont souvent inclus dans des jeux d'outils d'un type utilisé pour réparer des véhicules.

Politique sur le classement tarifaire

5. Les emmanchements de clé à cliquet et les douilles sont considérés comme des outils interchangeables. Bien qu'ils ne puissent guère servir d'outils autonomes, ils sont conçus pour s'insérer les uns dans les autres pour former un outil fonctionnel complet.

6. Les douilles interchangeables avec ou sans manche sont intégrées dans la position 82.04 et, plus particulièrement, dans la sous-position 8204.20. Conformément à la note explicative (2) de la position 82.04, les emmanchements et les rallonges sont également classés sous cette position s'ils sont importés avec des douilles.

7. La position 82.07 comprend une large gamme d'outils interchangeables pour outils à main. Ces outils sont décrits dans les notes explicatives de la position 82.07 comme étant « … un groupe important d'outils interchangeables avec lesquels il serait pratiquement impossible d'effectuer, en l'état, un travail quelconque et qui sont destinés à être adaptés, selon le cas : A) à de l'outillage à main, mécanique ou non… ». La conception et la fonction des emmanchements se reflètent dans cette citation.

Lignes directrices administratives

8. Lorsque les emmanchements sont importés comme composantes d'un jeu de douilles, ils sont classés avec les autres composantes du jeu sous le numéro tarifaire 8204.20.00 en tant que douilles à serrage interchangeables avec ou sans manche.

9. Lorsque les emmanchements sont importés séparément, ils sont classés sous le numéro tarifaire 8207.90.90 en tant qu'autres outils interchangeables.

Renseignements supplémentaires

10. Les importateurs qui veulent s'assurer du classement tarifaire d'un produit peuvent demander une décision anticipée de classement tarifaire. Des précisions sur la manière de présenter cette demande sont données dans le Mémorandum D11-11-3, Décisions anticipées en matière de classement tarifaire.

11. Pour plus d'information, si vous êtes au Canada, communiquez avec le Service d'information sur la frontière au 1-800-461-9999. De l'extérieur du Canada, composez le 204-983-3500 ou le 506-636-5064. Des frais d'interurbain seront facturés. Les agents sont disponibles durant les heures normales d'ouverture des bureaux (8 h à 16 h, heure locale), du lundi au vendredi (sauf les jours fériés). Un ATS est aussi disponible pour les appels provenant du Canada : 1-866-335-3237.

Références

Bureau de diffusion :
Direction des programmes commerciaux
Dossier de l'administration centrale :
SH8207.90
Références légales :

Tarif des douanes

Règles générales pour l'interprétation du Système harmonisé

Notes explicatives du Système harmonisé de désignation et de codification des marchandises

Autres références :
D11-11-3
Ceci annule le mémorandum D :
D10-14-38, daté le 9 mai 2005
Date de modification :