Tariff Classification of a Piece of Furniture Imported Unassembled or Disassembled
Memorandum D10-14-38

Ottawa, March 3, 2014

This document is also available in PDF (50 KB) [help with PDF files]

In Brief

This memorandum has been revised to clarify the Canada Border Services Agency (CBSA) policy regarding the tariff classification of a piece of furniture imported in unassembled or disassembled condition.

This memorandum outlines the administrative policy of the Canada Border Services Agency (CBSA) regarding the tariff classification of a piece of furniture imported unassembled or disassembled as per Rule 2(a) of the General Rules for the Interpretation (GIR) of the Harmonized System.

Legislation

Customs Tariff

General Rules for the Interpretation of the Harmonized System

2. (a) Any reference in a heading to an article shall be taken to include a reference to that article incomplete or unfinished, provided that, as presented, the incomplete or unfinished article has the essential character of the complete or finished article. It shall also be taken to include a reference to that article complete or finished (or falling to be classified as complete or finished by virtue of this Rule), presented unassembled or disassembled.

Guidelines and General Information

1.   Explanatory Notes (V), (VI), (VII), (VIII) and (IX) to GIR 2(a) provide guidance with respect to articles that are presented unassembled or disassembled.

2.   It is a reality of modern commerce that, for ease of transport, goods may be ordered and purchased as a complete good but shipped unassembled (never having been assembled) or disassembled ("knocked down") and assembled in their final form after importation.  In the case of goods imported to be re-sold, the final assembly may be done before or after the sale, as preferred.

3.   Two scenarios in which an unassembled or disassembled piece of furniture is shipped are:

Tariff Classification Policy

4.   Goods of the type described by paragraph 3(a) above, are to be considered articles presented unassembled or disassembled and, in accordance with GIR 2(a), are classified as the whole, or completely assembled, good.

5.   However, GIR 2(a) does not apply to goods of the type described by paragraph 3(b) above. Each shipment of goods is classified separately on its own merits

6.   Articles that are imported as replacement parts, or to be used to manufacture furniture in Canada, are to be classified as goods in their own right or as parts of the piece of furniture, as appropriate.

Furniture Sets

7.  Furniture commercially referred to as a "set", for example, a table and two chairs, may qualify as a "set put up for retail sale" if it meets the terms set out in Memorandum D10-14-58, Tariff Classification of Furniture Sets, and may also be considered unassembled or disassembled for the purposes of GIR 2(a) if it meets the conditions set out herein.

Additional Information

8.  For certainty regarding the tariff classification of a particular good, importers may request an Advance Ruling. Information on how to obtain an Advance Ruling may be found in Memorandum D11-11-3, Advance Rulings for Tariff Classification.

9.  For more information, within Canada call the Border Information Service at 1-800-461-9999. From outside Canada call 204-983-3500 or 506-636-5064. Long distance charges will apply. Agents are available Monday to Friday (08:00 – 16:00 local time/except holidays). TTY is also available within Canada: 1-866-335-3237.

References

Issuing office:
Trade Programs Directorate
Headquarters file:
HS9403.80
Legislative references:
Customs Tariff
Other references:
D10-14-58, D11-11-3
Superseded memorandum D:
D10-14-38 dated March 23, 2006
Date modified:

Classement tarifaire des meubles importés à l’état démonté ou non monté
Mémorandum D10-14-38

Ottawa, le 3 mars, 2014

Ce document est disponible en format PDF (51 Ko) [aide sur les fichiers PDF]

En résumé

Le présent mémorandum a été révisé afin de clarifier la politique de l'Agence des services frontaliers du Canada (ASFC) en ce qui concerne le classement tarifaire des meubles importés à l'état démonté ou non monté

Le présent mémorandum explique la politique de l'Agence des services frontaliers du Canada (ASFC) en ce qui concerne le classement tarifaire des meubles importés à l'état démonté ou non monté tel que décrit dans la Règle 2a) des Règles générales pour l'interprétation (RGI) du Système harmonisé.

Législation

Tarif des douanes

Règles générales pour l'interprétation du Système harmonisé

2. a) Toute référence à un article dans une position déterminée couvre cet article même incomplet ou non fini à la condition qu'il présente, en l'état, les caractéristiques essentielles de l'article complet ou fini. Elle couvre également l'article complet ou fini, ou à considérer comme tel en vertu des dispositions qui précèdent, lorsqu'il est présenté à l'état démonté ou non monté.

Lignes directrices et renseignements généraux

1.   Les Notes explicatives (V), (VI), (VII), (VIII) et (IX) de la Règle générale 2a) donnent une orientation supplémentaire à l'égard des articles qui sont présentés à l'état démonté ou non monté.

2.   Il s'agit d'une réalité du commerce moderne que, pour faciliter le transport, les marchandises sont commandées et achetées en tant qu'unités complètes, mais qu'elles sont expédiées dans un état démonté (n'ont jamais été montées) ou non monté (en pièces détachées) pour être montées dans leur état final après importation. Dans le cas des marchandises importées pour la revente, les marchandises peuvent être assemblées avant ou après la vente, selon les préférences.

3.   Voici deux scénarios dans le cadre desquels les meubles démontés ou non montés peuvent être expédiés :

Politique du classement tarifaire

4.   Les marchandises du type décrit dans le paragraphe 3a) ci-dessus doivent être classées en tant qu'articles démontés ou non montés conformément à la Règle générale 2a) pour l'interprétation du Système harmonisé.

5.   Cependant, la RGI 2a) ne s'applique pas aux marchandises du type décrit dans le paragraphe 3b) ci-dessus. Chaque expédition de marchandise est classée selon ses propres mérites.

6.   Les articles, importés spécifiquement en tant que pièces de rechange ou à être incorporés à une composante dans la fabrication de meubles canadiens, seront classés selon leur propre compte ou en tant que pièce de meuble, le cas échéant.

Assortiments de meubles

7.   Les meubles désignés sous le nom d'« assortiment » sur le marché, par exemple, une table et deux chaises, peuvent être admissibles à titre « d'assortiment conditionné pour la vente au détail » s'ils respectent les conditions établies dans le Mémorandum D10-14-58, Classement tarifaire des assortiments de meubles, et peuvent aussi être considérés être à l'état démonté ou non monté aux fins de la RGI 2a) s'ils respectent les conditions établies.

Renseignements supplémentaires

8.   Les importateurs qui veulent s'assurer du classement tarifaire d'un produit peuvent demander une décision anticipée de classement tarifaire. Des précisions sur la manière de présenter cette demande sont données dans le Mémorandum D11-11-3, Décisions anticipées en matière de classement tarifaire.

9.   Pour plus d'information, si vous êtes au Canada, communiquez avec le Service d'information sur la frontière au 1-800-461-9999. De l'extérieur du Canada, composez le 204-983-3500 ou le 506-636-5064. Des frais d'interurbain seront facturés. Les agents sont disponibles durant les heures normales d'ouverture des bureaux (8 h à 16 h, heure locale), du lundi au vendredi (sauf les jours fériés). Un ATS est aussi disponible pour les appels provenant du Canada : 1-866-335-3237.

Références

Bureau de diffusion :
Direction des programmes commerciaux
Dossier de l'administration centrale :
SH9403.80
Références légales :
Tarif des douanes
Autres références :
D10-14-58, D11-11-3
Ceci annule le mémorandum D :
D10-14-38, daté le 23 mars 2006
Date de modification :