Canadian Diamonds Exported and Returned
Memorandum D10-14-39

ISSN 2369-2391

Ottawa, May 28, 2015

This document is also available in PDF (50 Kb) [help with PDF files]

In Brief

A complete review of this memorandum was made. The editing revisions do not affect or change any of the existing policies or procedures.

This memorandum outlines and explains the provisions of tariff item 9813.00.00 as it relates to Canadian diamonds.

Legislation

Customs Tariff
71.02
7102.10.00
7102.21.00
7102.29.00
7102.31.00
7102.39.00
9813.00.00
9813.00.00.41
9813.00.00.49

Guidelines and General Information

1. For the purposes of this memorandum, the term "rough diamonds" means unworked stones that while abroad may have undergone grading, sorting and/or cleaning, do not increase the value for duty of the stones. Since such diamonds have not been physically altered by a process of manufacture, they would be eligible for the benefits of tariff item 9813.00.00.

2. If, while abroad, Canadian diamonds underwent any processing, or had otherwise enhanced in value, the stones would not qualify for the benefits of tariff item 9813.00.00. This is true even if what was done outside Canada does not result in a change in the tariff classification at the subheading level. Such processing includes the following stages:

3. It should be noted that the term "preprocessing" is also used in the diamond industry to describe stones that have undergone some processing but have yet to have the final facets polished (i.e., stages (a) to (e) above). Such stones are also not eligible for the benefits of tariff item 9813.00.00.

4. Polished diamonds are stones that have undergone complete manufacturing and are ready to be mounted into jewellery or used in other applications.

5. Diamonds returned to Canada after cutting and polishing for the purpose of "reprocessing" to correct manufacturing flaws are eligible for the benefits of tariff item 9813.00.00.

6. The Canadian diamond industry maintains very sophisticated internal control systems over their products. Both Canadian mining operations and Canadian cutting and polishing companies maintain extensive in-house computer tracking systems that monitor the processing of diamonds. Within these systems, the origin of the diamond and the stage of processing for a particular time frame can normally be ascertained.

7. In Canada, the minimum standard, which has been established to validate a Canadian diamond for marketing purposes, is the Voluntary Code of Conduct for Authenticating Canadian Diamond Claims endorsed by the Competition Bureau and the World Jewellery Confederation. The Code is based on a paper trail and a chain of warranties. Any diamond mined in Canada maintains its Canadian status, for marketing purposes, even if it has been processed outside the country. Importers might improperly declare diamonds mined in Canada under 9813.00.00 even when processing or preprocessing has occurred outside of the country. However, that is not the case for the administration of tariff item 9813.00.00. Eligibility is determined as explained in paragraphs 1 to 7 (above), regardless of whether the stone is considered "Canadian" for marketing purposes.

8. Under the Export and Import of Rough Diamonds Act, a Kimberley Process Certificate is required to accompany all exports and imports of rough diamonds. The Certificate confirms that the shipment was processed and shipped in accordance with the requirements of the Kimberley Process as outlined in Memorandum D19-6-4, Kimberley Process – Export and Import of Rough Diamonds. A Kimberley Process Certificate specifies the country of mining origin of the diamonds, since its purpose is to prevent conflict (rough) diamonds from entering into the legitimate world markets. However a Kimberley Process Certificate does not provide sufficient evidence to determine whether the diamond qualifies as Canadian goods returned pursuant to tariff item 9813.00.00.

Tariff Classification

9. Diamonds eligible for the benefits of tariff item 9813.00.00 must first be classified in the appropriate subheading, i.e.:

10. Further information on diamonds classified in 7102.10, 7102.21, 7102.29, 7102.31 and 7102.39, can be found in Memorandum D10-17-41, Tariff Classification of Rough Diamonds, Unsorted Diamonds, and Unworked Diamonds.

Supporting Documentation

11. In addition to a Kimberley Process Certificate, other documentation may be required under the Voluntary Code of Conduct for Authenticating Canadian Diamond Claims. Importers may be required to provide one or more of the following documents to substantiate that the diamonds being imported are of Canadian origin and have not been advanced in value or improved in condition by any process of manufacture or other means, or combined with any other article abroad.

12. Importers are required to maintain such supporting documentation upon request from Canada Border Services Agency officers for such post importation activities such as compliance verification audits and re-determinations of tariff classification.

Additional Information

13. For certainty regarding the tariff classification of a product, importers may request an Advance Ruling. Details on how to make such a request are found in Memorandum D11-11-3, Advanced Rulings for Tariff Classification.

14. For more information, within Canada call the Border Information Service at 1-800-461-9999. From outside Canada call 204-983-3500 or 506-636-5064. Long distance charges will apply. Agents are available Monday to Friday (08:00 – 16:00 local time / except holidays). TTY is also available within Canada: 1-866-335-3237.

References

Issuing office:
Trade and Anti-dumping Programs Directorate
Headquarters file:
 HS9813.00
Legislative references:
Customs Tariff
Export and Import of Rough Diamonds Act
Other references:
D10-17-41, D19-6-4, D11-11-3
Voluntary Code of Conduct for Authenticating Canadian Diamond Claims
Superseded memorandum D:
D10-14-39 dated July 14, 2006
Date modified:

Diamants canadiens exportés et retournés
Mémorandum D10-14-39

ISSN 2369-2405

Ottawa, le 28 mai 2015

Ce document est disponible en format PDF (59 Kb) [aide sur les fichiers PDF]

En résumé

Ce mémorandum a été révisé en entier. Les modifications supplémentaires liées à la révision du texte qui ont été apportées ne modifient aucunement les politiques ou procédures existantes comprises dans le présent mémorandum.

Le présent mémorandum énonce et explique les dispositions du numéro tarifaire 9813.00.00 en ce qui a trait aux diamants canadiens.

Législation

Tarif des douanes
71.02
7102.10.00
7102.21.00
7102.29.00
7102.31.00
7102.39.00
9813.00.00
9813.00.00.41
9813.00.00.49

Lignes directrices et renseignements généraux

1. Aux fins du présent mémorandum, le terme « diamants bruts » s'entend des pierres non travaillées qui pourraient avoir été assujetties, alors qu'elles étaient à l'étranger, à un classement, à un triage et(ou) à un nettoyage qui n'a pas augmenté la valeur en douane de la pierre. Étant donné que de tels diamants n'ont pas été modifiés par un procédé de fabrication, ils peuvent bénéficier des avantages du numéro tarifaire 9813.00.00.

2. Si des diamants canadiens sont assujettis à certains traitements ou leur valeur a autrement augmenté lorsqu'ils sont à l'étranger et qu'ils sont ensuite retournés au Canada, ils ne peuvent pas bénéficier des avantages du numéro tarifaire 9813.00.00 et ce, même si le traitement effectué à l'extérieur du Canada ne modifie pas le classement tarifaire au niveau de la sous-position. Les traitements en question comprennent les étapes suivantes :

3. Il est important de noter que l'expression « production préalable » est également utilisée dans l'industrie du diamant pour décrire un diamant qui a été assujetti à certains traitements, mais dont les facettes finales doivent encore être polies (c.-à-d. les étapes a) à e) susmentionnées). De telles pierres ne peuvent pas bénéficier des avantages du numéro tarifaire 9813.00.00.

4. Les diamants polis sont des pierres qui ont subi une fabrication complète et qui sont prêtes à être serties dans des bijoux ou à être utilisées à d'autres fins.

5. Les diamants qui sont retournés au Canada après avoir été coupés et polis pour être « traités à nouveau » pour corriger des défauts de fabrication peuvent bénéficier des avantages du numéro tarifaire 9813.00.00.

6. L'industrie canadienne du diamant maintien des systèmes de contrôle internes très perfectionnés pour ses produits. Les opérations minières canadiennes et les entreprises de coupage et de polissage canadiennes disposent de systèmes de suivi informatiques internes importants qui contrôlent le traitement des diamants. Au moyen de ces systèmes, l'origine des diamants et le niveau de transformation pour un échéancier précis peut normalement être vérifié.

7. Au Canada, la norme minimale, qui a été établie afin de valider les diamants canadiens à des fins de marketing, est le Code de conduite volontaire pour l'authentification des indications « Diamant canadien », lequel est endossé par le Bureau de la concurrence Canada et la World Jewellery Confederation. Le code est fondé sur une trace écrite et une chaîne de garanties. Tous les diamants extraits de mines du Canada conservent leur statut canadien, à des fins de marketing, même s'ils ont été traités à l'extérieur du pays. Par conséquent, les importateurs pourraient déclarer incorrectement les diamants extraits de mines du Canada sous le numéro tarifaire 9813.00.00, même lorsque le traitement ou le traitement préalable a été effectué à l'extérieur du pays. Cependant, tel n'est pas le cas en ce qui concerne l'administration du numéro tarifaire 9813.00.00. L'admissibilité est déterminée tel qu'expliqué dans les paragraphes 1 à 7 (ci-dessus), peu importe si la pierre est considérée comme étant « canadienne » à des fins de marketing.

8. En vertu de la Loi sur l'exportation et l'importation de diamants bruts, un certificat du Processus de Kimberley doit accompagner toutes les exportations et toutes les importations de diamants bruts. Le certificat atteste que l'expédition a été traitée et envoyée conformément aux exigences du Processus de Kimberley énoncé dans le Mémorandum D19-6-4, Processus de Kimberley – Exportation et importation de diamants bruts. Un certificat du Processus de Kimberley précise le pays d'origine de l'extraction minière des diamants, étant donné qu'il vise à empêcher l'entrée des diamants de la guerre (bruts) dans les marchés internationaux légitimes. Toutefois, un certificat du Processus de Kimberley ne constitue pas une preuve suffisante pour établir que des diamants sont admissibles à titre de marchandises canadiennes retournées en vertu du numéro tarifaire 9813.00.00.

Classement tarifaire

9. Les diamants qui peuvent bénéficier des avantages du numéro tarifaire 9813.00.00 doivent d'abord être classés dans la bonne sous-position, c.-à-d. :

10. De plus amples renseignements sur les diamants classés dans le 7102.10, 7102.21, 7102.29, 7102.31 et 7102.39 se trouvent dans le Mémorandum D10-17-41, Classement tarifaire des diamants bruts et des diamants non triés.

Documents justificatifs

11. En plus du certificat du Processus de Kimberley, d'autres documents peuvent être requis en vertu du Code de conduite volontaire pour l'authentification des indications « Diamant canadien ». Les importateurs peuvent également avoir à fournir l'un ou plusieurs des types de documents suivants afin de prouver que les diamants importés sont d'origine canadienne, qu'ils n'ont pas été assujettis à certains traitements, que leur valeur n'a pas augmentée ou que les diamants n'ont pas été joints à un article à l'étranger.

12. Les importateurs sont tenus de conserver les documents justificatifs afin de les présenter aux agents de l'Agence des services frontaliers du Canada sur demande à des fins d'activités suivant l'importation, comme des vérifications de l'observation et de nouvelles déterminations du classement tarifaire.

Renseignements supplémentaires

13. Les importateurs qui veulent s'assurer du classement tarifaire d'un produit peuvent demander une décision anticipée de classement tarifaire. Des précisions sur la manière de présenter cette demande sont données dans le Mémorandum D11-11-3, Décisions anticipées en matière de classement tarifaire.

14. Pour plus d'information, si vous êtes au Canada, communiquez avec le Service d'information sur la frontière au 1-800-461-9999. De l'extérieur du Canada, composez le 204-983-3500 ou le 506-636-5064. Des frais d'interurbain seront facturés. Les agents sont disponibles durant les heures normales d'ouverture des bureaux (8 h à 16 h, heure locale), du lundi au vendredi (sauf les jours fériés). Un ATS est aussi disponible pour les appels provenant du Canada : 1-866-335-3237.

Références

Bureau de diffusion :
Direction des programmes commerciaux et antidumping
Dossier de l'administration centrale :
SH9813.00
Références légales :
Tarif des douanes
Loi sur l'exportation et l'importation de diamants bruts
Autres références :
D10-17-41, D19-6-4, D11-11-3
Code de conduite volontaire pour l'authentification des indications « Diamant canadien »
Ceci annule le mémorandum D :
D10-14-39 daté le 14 juillet 2006
Date de modification :