Tariff Classification and Quantity Measurement of Wood in the Rough
Memorandum D10-14-41

Ottawa, May 02, 2014

This document is also available in PDF (51Kb) [help with PDF files]

In Brief

  • The editing revisions made to this memorandum do not affect or change any of the existing policies or procedures.

The purpose of this memorandum is to outline the Canada Border Services Agency's policy with regard to the tariff classification and quantity measurement of wood in the rough.

Legislation

Customs Tariff

44.03   Wood in the rough, whether or not stripped of bark or sapwood, or roughly squared.

44.07   Wood sawn or chipped lengthwise, sliced or peeled, whether or not planed, sanded or end jointed, of a thickness exceeding 6 mm.

Guidelines and General Information

Classification

1.   The phrase "wood in the rough," as it appears in heading 44.03 of the Customs Tariff, includes timber in the natural felled state, tree stumps and roots, but which may have branches, sapwood, inner or outer bark and rough protuberances removed. Minor processing, such as having been split by wedges or hewn into baulks, are acceptable.

2.   Pulpwood presented in the round or quarter-split is included. These, unlike fuel logs, are carefully grated, may be barked or peeled and are generally not broken, split, curved, knotty or forked.

3.   Heading 44.03 applies to coniferous and non-coniferous logs and timber, transmission or utility poles, and timber that has been roughly squared, (or half squared), by sawing. This type of roughly squared, rectangular or half-squared timber may have rough surfaces containing bark, but has not been sawn into typical or nominal lumber sizes, e.g. 2 x 4, 2 x 6, 4 x 4.

4.   The Harmonized System Explanatory Notes to heading 44.03 describe the provisions of this heading with regard to roughly sawn wood as follows:

The heading also includes roughly squared wood which consists of trunks or sections of trunks of trees, the round surfaces of which have been reduced to flat surfaces by means of axe or adze, or by coarse sawing, to form wood of roughly rectangular (including square) cross-section; roughly squared wood is characterized by the presence of rough areas or bark traces. Half-squared wood, which is wood prepared in this manner on two opposite faces only, is also classified here. Timber is prepared in these forms for sawmills or may be used as such, e.g., as roofing timber.

5.   The majority of logs, timber and rough sawn timber fall under tariff item 4403.20.00 (coniferous) and tariff item 4403.99.00 (other than coniferous, tropical, oak or beech). In the use of these tariff items, care must be taken in the selection of the correct statistical suffix (the 9th and 10th digits of the classification number) that identifies the type of log being imported and its use, e.g., transmission poles, pulping logs, white pine, western red cedar.

6.   Rough sawn lumber, that is, lumber that has not been surfaced or dressed, but has been sawn into typical or nominal lumber sizes, such as 2 x 4, 2 x 6, 4 x 4, is classified under heading 44.07 of the Customs Tariff, as wood sawn lengthwise.

7.   The rough wood is classified in heading 44.07, whether or not painted, stained, varnished or impregnated with creosote or other substances for long term preservation, such as, coal tar, pentachchlorophenol, cremated copper arsenate or ammoniacal copper. However, that heading does not include products treated with substances for the purpose of simply maintaining them during shipment or storage.

8.   Heading 44.07 excludes roughly trimmed wood identifiable as articles of wood, railway or tramway sleepers (cross-ties), planks, beams, etc.

Quantity Measurement

9.   In the completion of the customs entry documentation, including information for electronic transmission under Customs Automated Data Exchange (CADEX), attention must be paid to the use of the correct unit of measure. As specified in the Customs Tariff, logs and wood in the rough are to be reported in cubic metres (MTQ), while transmission poles are to be reported in metres (MTR). The use of other measurement systems for timber quantities, such as thousand board feet, is not acceptable. Measurements must be converted to cubic metres.

Additional Information

10. For certainty regarding the tariff classification of a particular good, importers may request an advance ruling.  Details on how to make such a request are found in Memorandum D11-11-3, Advance Rulings for Tariff Classification.

11. For more information, within Canada call the Border Information Service at 1-800-461-9999. From outside Canada call 204-983-3500 or 506-636-5064. Long distance charges will apply. Agents are available Monday to Friday (08:00 – 16:00 local time/except holidays). TTY is also available within Canada: 1-866-335-3237.

References

Issuing office:
Trade and Anti-dumping Programs Directorate
Headquarters file:
HS 4403.20 and HS 4407.10
Legislative references:
Customs Tariff
Other references:
D11-11-3
Superseded memorandum D:
D10-14-41 dated December 6, 2006
Date modified:

Classement tarifaire et jaugeage de bois bruts
Mémorandum D10-14-41

Ottawa, le 02 mai 2014

Ce document est disponible en format PDF (53 Kb) [aide sur les fichiers PDF]

En résumé

  • Les modifications supplémentaires liées à la révision du texte qui ont été apportées ne modifient aucunement les politiques ou procédures existantes comprises dans le présent mémorandum.

L'objet du présent mémorandum est de donner un aperçu de la politique de l'Agence des services frontaliers en ce qui concerne le classement tarifaire et le jaugeage de bois bruts.

Législation

Tarif des douanes

44.03   Bois bruts, même écorcés, désaubiérés ou équarris.

44.07   Bois sciés ou dédossés longitudinalement, tranchés ou déroulés, même rabotés, poncés ou collés par assemblage en bout, d'une épaisseur excédant 6 mm.

Lignes directrices et renseignements généraux

Classement

1.   Le syntagme « bois bruts », tel qu'il figure dans la position 44.03 du Tarif des douanes, comprend les rondins abattus à l'état naturel, les souches et racines d'arbres, mais pour lesquels les branches, le bois de sève, l'écorce interne ou externe et les protubérances brutes peuvent avoir été retirés ou non. Une transformation mineure, telle que le bois fendu à coin d'abattage ou équarri en poutres, est acceptable.

2.   Le bois à pâte, présenté en rondin ou fendu en quatre, est compris. Ce type de bois, par opposition au bois de feu en rondin, est soigneusement déchiqueté, peut être écorcé ou pelé et, en règle générale, il n'est pas faillé, fendu, courbé, noduleux ou fourché.

3.   La position 44.03 s'applique aux rondins et au bois de conifères et de non-conifères, aux poteaux utilitaires et au bois équarri (ou mi-équarri) travaillé à la scie. Ce type de bois grossièrement équarri, rectangulaire ou mi-équarri, peut avoir des surfaces brutes contenant des traces d'écorce, mais n'a pas été scié dans des dimensions nominales ou typiques, p. ex. 2 po x 4 po, 2 po x 6 po,  4 po x 4 po.

4.   Les Notes explicatives du Système harmonisé pour la position 44.03 décrivent les dispositions de cette dernière, en ce qui concerne le bois grossièrement scié, comme suit :

Sous la dénomination de bois équarris sont compris les bois travaillés sur tout leur pourtour ou tout au moins sur deux faces opposées, bois mi-équarris à la hache ou à l'herminette, ou même travaillés grossièrement à la scie de manière à leur donner une forme approximativement carrée ou rectangulaire. Les bois équarris se caractérisent par la présence de parties non planes ou de traces d'écorce. Ces bois sont généralement destinés à être sciés, mais ils peuvent également être utilisés en l'état, comme bois de charpente, par exemple.

5.   La majorité des rondins, du bois et du bois grossièrement scié se classe sous le numéro tarifaire 4403.20.00 (de conifères) et sous le numéro tarifaire 4403.99.00 (non de conifères). En utilisant ces numéros tarifaires, vous devez vous assurer de choisir le suffixe statistique (9e et 10e chiffre du numéro de classement) exact qui identifie le type de bois importé et son utilisation, p. ex. poteaux utilitaires, bois de trituration, pin blanc, cèdre thuya géant.

6.   Le bois grossièrement scié, c'est-à-dire le bois qui n'a pas été raboté ou dressé, mais qui a été scié dans des dimensions typiques ou nominales, telles que 2 po x 4 po, 2 po x 6 po, 4 po x 4 po, est classé sous la position 44.07 du Tarif des douanes en tant que bois sciés longitudinalement.

7.   Le bois brut se classe dans la position 44.07, qu'il ait été peint, taché, vernis ou traité avec de la créosote ou autres substances aux fins de préservation à long terme, tel le goudron de houille, le pentachchlorophénol, l'arséniate de cuivre incinéré ou le cuivre ammoniacal. Cependant, la position ne comprend pas les produits traités de substances aux fins de préservation lors de l'expédition ou l'entreposage seulement.

8.   Est exclu de la position 44.07 le bois grossièrement paré reconnaissable comme article de bois, de chemin de fer ou de traverse de tramway (lien croisé), planches, poutres, etc.

Jaugeage

9.   Lorsque vous complétez les documents de déclaration en douane, y compris les renseignements pour la soumission électronique selon le Système automatisé d'échange de données des douanes (SAED), vous devez vous assurer d'utiliser le système de jaugeage convenable. Tel qu'il est précisé dans le Tarif des douanes, les rondins et les bois bruts doivent être mesurés en mètres cubes (MTQ) ou, dans le cas des poteaux utilitaires, en mètres (MTR). L'utilisation d'une autre méthode de jaugeage de bois, notamment des milles pieds-planche, n'est pas acceptable. Les dimensions doivent être converties en mètres cubes.

Renseignements supplémentaires

10. Les importateurs qui veulent s'assurer du classement tarifaire d'un produit peuvent demander une décision anticipée de classement tarifaire. Des précisions sur la manière de présenter cette demande sont données dans le Mémorandum D11-11-3, Décisions anticipées en matière de classement tarifaire.

11.   Pour plus d'information, si vous êtes au Canada, communiquez avec le Service d'information sur la frontière au 1-800-461-9999. De l'extérieur du Canada, composez le 204-983-3500 ou le 506-636-5064. Des frais d'interurbain seront facturés. Les agents sont disponibles durant les heures normales d'ouverture des bureaux (8 h à 16 h, heure locale), du lundi au vendredi (sauf les jours fériés). Un ATS est aussi disponible pour les appels provenant du Canada : 1-866-335-3237.

Références

Bureau de diffusion :
Direction des programmes commerciaux et antidumping
Dossier de l'administration centrale :
SH 4403.20 et SH 4407.10
Références légales :
Tarif des douanes
Autres références :
D11-11-3
Ceci annule le mémorandum D :
D10-14-41 daté le 6 décembre 2006
Date de modification :