Tariff Classification of Filters, Parts Thereof and Filter Media
Memorandum D10-14-43

Ottawa, April 2, 2014

This document is also available in PDF (50 Kb) [help with PDF files]

In Brief

The editing revisions made in this memorandum do not affect or change any of the existing policies or procedures.

This memorandum explains the Canada Border Services Agency's policy concerning the tariff classification of filters and parts thereof of heading 84.21 and filter media in the Customs Tariff.

Legislation

Customs Tariff

Section XVI – Note 2(a)

Subject to Note 1 to this Section, Note 1 to Chapter 84 and Note 1 to Chapter 85, parts of machines (not being parts of the articles of heading 84.84, 85.44, 85.45, 85.46 or 85.47) are to be classified according to the following rules:

Heading 84.21

84.21 - Centrifuges, including centrifugal dryers; filtering or purifying machinery and apparatus, for liquids or gases.

- Filtering or purifying machinery and apparatus for liquids:

8421.21 - - For filtering or purifying water

8421.22 - - For filtering or purifying beverages other than water

8421.23 - - Oil or petrol-filters for internal combustion engines

8421.29 - - Other

- Filtering or purifying machinery and apparatus for gases:

8421.31 - - Intake air filters for internal combustion engines

8421.39  - - Other

- Parts

8421.99 - - Other

Harmonized System Explanatory Notes - Heading 84.21

Parts

Subject to the general provisions regarding the classification of parts (see the General Explanatory Note to Section XVI), the heading covers parts for the above-mentioned types of filters and purifiers. Such parts include, inter alia:

Leaves for intermittent vacuum filters; chassis, frames and plates for filter presses; rotary drums for liquid or gas filters; baffles and perforated plates, for gas filters.

It should be noted, however, that filter blocks of paper pulp fall in heading 48.12 and that many other filtering elements (ceramics, textiles, felts, etc.) are classified according to their constituent material.

Guidelines and General Information

1. Filtering or purifying machinery and apparatus of heading 84.21 are used to remove unwanted particulate matter from gases or liquids. It generally contains a static filter element consisting, in part, of a medium with physical characteristics designed to remove undesirable matter from a gas or liquid. These include not only large industrial plant, but also filters for internal combustion engines and small domestic appliances.

2. Filter media are the materials used in a filter element to capture particulates or to free liquids or gases from suspended matter, and are classified as such.

3. Filter media, without a frame or similar support, presented merely cut to size with edge stitching or incorporating components of minor importance of other materials, such as brass eyelets, are classified according to their constituent material (e.g., textile material of heading 59.11, glass fibres of heading 70.19 or 70.20).

4. Once filter medium has been incorporated into a frame, casing or similar support, the filter element or cartridge is to be classified as filtering or purifying apparatus, or parts thereof of heading 84.21.

5. Filtering or purifying apparatus, which are for use with machines other than filtering or purifying machines and apparatus, remain classified in heading 84.21 (e.g., a filter used in a photocopier of heading 84.43 is classified under subheading 8421.39). This is in accordance with Legal Note 2(a) to Section XVI.

Additional Information

6. For certainty regarding the tariff classification of a product, importers may request an advance ruling. Details on how to make such a request are found in Memorandum D11-11-3, Advance Rulings for Tariff Classification.

7. For more information, within Canada call the Border Information Service at 1-800-461-9999. From outside Canada call 204-983-3500 or 506-636-5064. Long distance charges will apply. Agents are available Monday to Friday (08:00 – 16:00 local time/except holidays). TTY is also available within Canada: 1-866-335-3237.

References

Issuing office:
Trade and Anti-dumping Programs Directorate
Headquarters file:
HS8421.21, HS8421.22, HS8421.23, HS8421.29, HS8421.31, HS8421.39
Legislative references:
Customs Tariff
General Rules for the Interpretation of the Harmonized System
Explanatory Notes to the Harmonized Commodity  Description and Coding System
Other references:
 D11-11-3
Superseded memorandum D:
D10-14-43 dated March 9, 2007
Date modified:

Classement tarifaire des filtres et leurs parties et des organes filtrants
Mémorandum D10-14-43

Ottawa, le 2 avril 2014

Ce document est disponible en format PDF (53 Ko) [aide sur les fichiers PDF]

En résumé

Les modifications supplémentaires liées à la révision du texte qui ont été apportées ne modifient aucunement les politiques ou procédures existantes comprises dans le présent mémorandum.

Le présent mémorandum explique la politique de l’Agence des services frontaliers du Canada en ce qui concerne le classement tarifaire des filtres et leurs parties de la position 84.21 et des organes filtrants du Tarif des douanes.

Législation

Tarif des douanes

Section XVI – Note 2a)

2. Sous réserve des dispositions de la Note 1 de la présente Section et de la Note 1 des Chapitres 84 et 85, les parties de machines (à l’exception des parties des articles des nos 84.84, 85.44, 85.45, 85.46 ou 85.47) sont classées conformément aux règles ci-après :

Position 84.21

84.21 - Centrifugeuses, y compris les essoreuses centrifuges; appareils pour la filtration ou l’épuration des liquides ou des gaz.

- Appareils pour la filtration ou l’épuration des liquides :

8421.21 - - Pour la filtration ou l’épuration des eaux

8421.22 - - Pour la filtration ou l’épuration des boissons autres que l’eau

8421.23 - - Pour la filtration des huiles minérales dans les moteurs à allumage par étincelles ou par compression

8421.29 - - Autres

- Appareils pour la filtration ou l’épuration des gaz :

8421.31 - - Filtres d’entrée d’air pour moteurs à allumage par étincelles ou par compression

8421.39  - - Autres

- Parties

8421.99 - - Autres

Notes du Système harmonisé - Position 84.21

Parties

Sous réserve des dispositions générales relatives au classement des parties (voir les Considérations générales de la Section XVI), la présente position couvre également les parties des filtres ou épurateurs visés ci-dessus, telles que :

Capsules de filtres à liquides, châssis, cadres et plaques de filtres-presses, tambours de filtres à liquides ou à gaz, plaques métalliques perforées ou ailetées de filtres à gaz.

Il est à noter, toutefois, que les plaques filtrantes en pâte à papier relèvent du no 48.12 et que, d’une manière générale, les autres surfaces filtrantes (matières céramiques, textiles, feutres, etc.) sont classées selon la matière constitutive et leur état d’ouvraison.

Lignes directrices et renseignements généraux

1. Les machines et appareils pour la filtration ou l’épuration de la position 84.21 servent à extraire des liquides ou des gaz les particules non désirées. En règle générale, ces appareils contiennent un élément filtrant statique contenant un organe filtrant dont les propriétés physiques permettent d’extraire les matières non désirées présentes dans des gaz ou des liquides. Ceci comprend non seulement les grands filtres industriels, mais aussi les filtres destinés aux moteurs à combustion interne et aux petits appareils électroménagers.

2. Les organes filtrants sont des matériaux utilisés dans un élément filtrant pour retenir les particules ou tout simplement enlever des matières en suspension présentes dans les liquides ou les gaz et ils sont classés comme tel.

3. L’organe filtrant, exempt de cadre ou de structure similaire, simplement coupé aux dimensions requises, au contour surfilé ou qui comporte dans une faible proportion d’autres matériaux, tels que des œillets de laiton, doit être classé conformément à sa matière constitutive (p. ex. matières textiles de la position 59.11, fibres de verre de la position 70.19 ou 70.20).

4. Une fois qu’un organe filtrant a été inclus dans un cadre, un étui ou une structure semblable, il est désormais classé comme appareil de filtration ou d’épuration, ou comme partie d’un tel appareil, de la position 84.21.

5. L’appareil de filtration ou d’épuration, utilisé avec d’autres appareils que ceux pour la filtration ou l’épuration, doit toujours être classé en vertu de la position 84.21 (c. à d. qu’un filtre utilisé dans une photocopieuse de la position 84.43 est classé dans la sous-position 8421.39), conformément à la Note légale 2a) de la Section XVI.

Renseignements supplémentaires

6. Les importateurs qui veulent s’assurer du classement tarifaire d’un produit peuvent demander une décision anticipée de classement tarifaire. Des précisions sur la manière de présenter cette demande sont données dans le Mémorandum D11-11-3, Décisions anticipées en matière de classement tarifaire.

7. Pour plus d'information, si vous êtes au Canada, communiquez avec le Service d'information sur la frontière au 1-800-461-9999. De l'extérieur du Canada, composez le 204-983-3500 ou le 506-636-5064. Des frais d'interurbain seront facturés. Les agents sont disponibles durant les heures normales d'ouverture des bureaux (8 h à 16 h, heure locale), du lundi au vendredi (sauf les jours fériés). Un ATS est aussi disponible pour les appels provenant du Canada : 1-866-335-3237.

Références

Bureau de diffusion :
Direction des programmes commerciaux et antidumping
Dossier de l'administration centrale :
SH8421.21, SH8421.22, SH8421.23, SH8421.29, SH8421.31, SH8421.39
Références légales :
Tarif des douanes
Règles générales pour l’interprétation du Système harmonisé
Notes explicatives du Système harmonisé de désignation et de codification des marchandises
Autres références :
 D11-11-3
Ceci annule le mémorandum D :
D10-14-43 daté le 9 mars 2007
Date de modification :