Tariff Classification of Wheels and Rims for Use as Parts on Both Motor Vehicles and Trailers/Semi-trailers
Memorandum D10-14-44

Ottawa, June 19, 2014

This document is also available in PDF (41 Kb) [help with PDF files]

In Brief

The editing revisions made in this memorandum do not affect or change any of the existing policies or procedures.

This memorandum outlines the Canada Border Services Agency policy as it relates to the tariff classification of interchangeable wheels and rims, and parts and accessories thereof, of the Customs Tariff.

Legislation

Customs Tariff

87.08 - Parts and accessories of the motor vehicles of headings 87.01 to 87.05.

8708.70 - Road wheels and parts and accessories thereof.

87.16 - Trailers and semi-trailers; other vehicles, not mechanically propelled; parts thereof.

8716.90 - Parts.

Guidelines and General Information

Harmonized System Notes

Legal Note 3 (Section XVII)

1. References in Chapters 86 to 88 to "parts" and "accessories" do not apply to parts which are not suitable for use solely or principally with the articles of those chapters. A part or accessory which answers to a description in two or more of the headings of those chapters is to be classified under that heading which corresponds to the principal use of that part or accessory.

Explanatory Note (III)(B)(2) (Section XVII)

2. Certain parts and accessories are suitable for use on more than one type of vehicle (motor cars, aircraft, motorcycles, etc.); examples of such goods include brakes, steering systems, wheels, axles, etc. Such parts and accessories are to be classified in the heading relating to the parts and accessories of the vehicles with which they are principally used.

3. Numerous types of wheels and rims, which are designed for road tractors, buses and trucks, are also used on trailers and semi-trailers. It has been determined that the majority of interchangeable units are used on motor vehicles of tariff item 8701.20.00, and headings 87.02, 87.04 and 87.05 rather than for trailers/semi-trailers of heading 87.16.

Tariff Classification Policy

4. Interchangeable wheels and rims and parts and accessories thereof are to be classified under the appropriate tariff items of subheading 8708.70, as road wheels and parts and accessories thereof for motor vehicles in accordance with Legal Note 3 and Explanatory Note (III), (B)(2) to Section XVII.

5. Where it can be determined that the wheels and rims are designed solely or principally for trailers, semi-trailers or other non-mechanically propelled vehicles of heading 87.16, such types are to be classified under the appropriate tariff item of subheading 8716.90.

Additional Information

6. For certainty regarding the tariff classification of a particular good, importers may request an advance ruling. Details on how to make such a request are found in CBSA Memorandum D11-11-3, Advance Rulings for Tariff Classification.

7. For more information, within Canada call the Border Information Service at 1-800-461-9999. From outside Canada call 204-983-3500 or 506-636-5064. Long distance charges will apply. Agents are available Monday to Friday (08:00 – 16:00 local time/except holidays). TTY is also available within Canada: 1-866-335-3237.

References

Issuing office:
Trade and Anti-dumping Programs Directorate
Headquarters file:
HS8708.70
Legislative references:
  • Customs Tariff
  • General Rules for the Interpretation of the Harmonized System
  • Explanatory Notes to the Harmonized Commodity Description and Coding System
Other references:
D11-11-3
Superseded memorandum D:
D10-14-44 dated March 9, 2007
Date modified:

Classement tarifaire des roues et des jantes devant servir en tant que parties sur les véhicules automobiles et les remorques ou semi-remorques
Mémorandum D10-14-44

Ottawa, le 19 juin 2014

Ce document est disponible en format PDF (43 Kb) [aide sur les fichiers PDF]

En résumé

Les modifications supplémentaires liées à la révision du texte qui ont été apportées ne modifient aucunement les politiques ou procédures existantes comprises dans le présent mémorandum.

Le présent mémorandum explique la politique de l'Agence des services frontaliers du Canada en ce qui concerne le classement tarifaire des roues et des jantes interchangeables, leurs parties et accessoires, du Tarif des douanes.

Législation

Tarif des douanes

87.08 - Parties et accessoires des véhicules automobiles des nos 87.01 à 87.05.

8708.70 - Roues, leurs parties et accessoires

87.16 - Remorques et semi-remorques pour tous véhicules; autres véhicules non automobiles; leurs parties.

8716.90 - Parties

Lignes directrices et renseignements généraux

Notes du Système harmonisé

Note légale 3 (Section XVII)

1. Au sens des Chapitres 86 à 88, les références aux parties ou aux accessoires ne couvrent pas les parties ou accessoires qui ne sont pas exclusivement ou principalement destinés aux véhicules ou articles de la présente Section. Lorsqu'une partie ou un accessoire est susceptible de répondre à la fois aux spécifications de deux ou plusieurs positions de la Section, il doit être classé dans la position qui correspond à son usage principal.

Note explicative (III)(B)(2) (Section XVII)

2. Certaines parties et certains accessoires, tels que freins, dispositifs de direction, roues, essieux, sont susceptibles d'être utilisés indifféremment sur des voitures automobiles, sur des véhicules aériens, sur des motocycles, etc. Ces parties et accessoires doivent être classés dans la position relative aux parties et accessoires de véhicules sur lesquels ils sont principalement utilisés.

3. Plusieurs sortes de roues et de jantes, qui sont conçues pour les tracteurs routiers, les autobus et les camions, sont également utilisées sur les remorques et semi-remorques. Il a été établi que la plupart des ensembles interchangeables sont utilisés sur les véhicules automobiles du numéro tarifaire 8701.20.00, et des positions 87.02, 87.04 et 87.05, plutôt que pour les remorques ou semi-remorques de la position 87.16.

Politique de classement tarifaire

4. Les roues et jantes interchangeables, leurs parties et accessoires, doivent être classées en vertu du numéro tarifaire pertinent de la sous-position 8708.70 en tant que roues, leurs parties et accessoires, pour les véhicules automobiles conformément à la Note légale 3 et à la Note explicative (III)B) 2) de la Section XVII.

5. Dans le cas où on peut déterminer que les roues et les jantes sont conçues exclusivement ou principalement pour les remorques, semi-remorques ou autres véhicules non-automobiles de la position 87.16, de telles sortes de roues et de jantes doivent être classées en vertu du numéro tarifaire pertinent de la sous-position 8716.90.

Renseignements supplémentaires

6. Les importateurs qui veulent s'assurer du classement tarifaire d'un produit peuvent demander une décision anticipée de classement tarifaire. Des précisions sur la manière de présenter cette demande sont données dans le Mémorandum D11-11-3, Décisions anticipées en matière de classement tarifaire.

7. Pour plus d'information, si vous êtes au Canada, communiquez avec le Service d'information sur la frontière au 1-800-461-9999. De l'extérieur du Canada, composez le 204-983-3500 ou le 506-636-5064. Des frais d'interurbain seront facturés. Les agents sont disponibles durant les heures normales d'ouverture des bureaux (8 h à 16 h, heure locale), du lundi au vendredi (sauf les jours fériés). Un ATS est aussi disponible pour les appels provenant du Canada : 1-866-335-3237.

Références

Bureau de diffusion :
Direction des programmes commerciaux et antidumping
Dossier de l'administration centrale :
SH8708.70
Références légales :
  • Tarif des douanes
  • Règles générales pour l'interprétation du Système harmonisé
  • Notes explicatives du Système harmonisé de désignation et de codification des marchandises
Autres références :
D11-11-3
Ceci annule le mémorandum D :
D10-14-44 daté le 9 mars 2007
Date de modification :