Tariff Classification of "Hybrid" Motor Vehicles
Memorandum D10-14-46

Ottawa, June 24, 2014

This document is also available in PDF (43 KB) [help with PDF files]

In Brief

The editing revisions made in this memorandum do not affect or change any of the existing policies or procedures.

This memorandum explains the Canada Border Services Agency policy concerning the tariff classification of "hybrid" motor vehicles for heading 87.03 of the Customs Tariff.

Legislation

Customs Tariff

87.03 - Motor cars and other motor vehicles principally designed for the transport of persons (other than those of heading 87.02), including station wagons and racing cars.

8703.2 - Other vehicles, with spark-ignition, internal combustion, reciprocating piston engine:

8703.3 - Other vehicles, with compression-ignition, internal combustion piston engine (diesel or semi-diesel):

Guidelines and General Information

Definition and Design

1. This type of passenger motor vehicle incorporates a “hybrid” power system, generally consisting of an internal combustion engine (a spark-ignition, internal combustion reciprocating piston engine) and an electric motor. Hybrid motor vehicle design is now at the forefront of transportation technology development. These motor vehicles have the potential to allow continued growth in the automotive sector, while also reducing critical resource consumption, air pollution and traffic congestion.

2. The intent of the hybrid power system design is to increase the fuel economy of the internal combustion engine and reduce exhaust emissions. This is achieved by means of the computerized hybrid transmission system. The transmission system is pre-programmed to determine when it is more economical, based on driving conditions, to use the internal combustion engine rather than the electric motor. Generally, the electric motor is used for low-speed driving. However, once the speed approaches the point where the internal combustion engine is more efficient, the transmission system automatically switches from the electric motor to the internal combustion engine.

3. Some models use a compression-ignition internal combustion piston engine (diesel or semi-diesel) rather than a spark-ignition internal combustion engine in the hybrid power system.

Tariff Classification Policy

4. During the 28th session of the Harmonized System Committee of the World Customs Organization, a decision was made to classify certain models of hybrid motor vehicles under subheading 8703.22. Since these motor vehicles are principally designed for the transport of persons and have a seating capacity of fewer than 10 persons, including the driver, they satisfy the terms of heading 87.03. In the absence of any relevant Section, Chapter or Explanatory Notes that would define or restrict the scope of subheading 8703.2, the subheading must stand on its own merits; therefore, these hybrid motor vehicles are classified under subheading 8703.2.

5. Similarly, hybrid motor vehicles that have a compression-ignition, internal combustion piston engine (diesel or semi-diesel) are classified under subheading 8703.3.

6. Passenger motor vehicles that are solely powered by electric motors are classified in subheading 8703.90 – Other.

Additional Information

7. For certainty regarding the tariff classification of a particular good, importers may request an advance ruling. Details on how to make such a request are found in CBSA Memorandum D11-11-3, Advance Rulings for Tariff Classification.

8. For more information, within Canada call the Border Information Service at 1-800-461-9999. From outside Canada call 204-983-3500 or 506-636-5064. Long distance charges will apply. Agents are available Monday to Friday (08:00 – 16:00 local time/except holidays). TTY is also available within Canada: 1-866-335-3237.

References

Issuing office:
Trade and Anti-dumping Programs Directorate
Headquarters file:
HS8703.21, HS8703.22, HS8703.23, HS8703.24, HS8703.31, HS8703.32, HS8703.33
Legislative references:
  • Customs Tariff
  • General Rules for the Interpretation of the Harmonized System
  • Explanatory Notes to the Harmonized Commodity
Other references:
D11-11-3
Superseded memorandum D:
D10-14-46 dated March 9, 2007
Date modified:

Classement tarifaire des véhicules à moteur à propulsion « hybride »
Mémorandum D10-14-46

Ottawa, le 24 juin 2014

Ce document est disponible en format PDF (48 Ko) [aide sur les fichiers PDF]

En résumé

Les modifications supplémentaires liées à la révision du texte qui ont été apportées ne modifient aucunement les politiques ou procédures existantes comprises dans le présent mémorandum.

Le présent mémorandum explique la politique de l’Agence des services frontaliers du Canada en ce qui a trait au classement tarifaire des véhicules à moteurs à propulsion « hybride » en vertu de la position 87.03 du Tarif des douanes.

Législation

Tarif des douanes

87.03 - Voitures de tourisme et autres véhicules automobiles principalement conçus pour le transport de personnes (autres que ceux du no 87.02), y compris les voitures du type « break » et les voitures de course.

8703.2 - Autres véhicules, à moteur à piston alternatif à allumage par étincelles :

8703.3 - Autres véhicules, à moteur à piston à allumage par compression (diesel ou semi-diesel) :

Lignes directrices et renseignements généraux

Définition et conception

1. Ce type de véhicule de tourisme comprend un système de propulsion « hybride » comportant généralement un moteur thermique à étincelles (un moteur à piston alternatif à allumage par étincelles) et un moteur électrique. La conception des véhicules à moteur à propulsion hybride est maintenant à la fine pointe de la technologie en matière de transport. Ces véhicules à moteur ont la capacité de permettre une croissance soutenue dans le secteur automobile, tout en réduisant la consommation de ressources indispensables, la pollution de l’air et l’encombrement de la circulation.

2. Le système de propulsion hybride a été conçu dans le but de réduire la consommation d’essence du moteur thermique et la pollution due aux émissions de gaz d’échappement. Ce résultat est obtenu au moyen d’un système de transmission hybride informatisé et préprogrammé qui permet de déterminer, selon l’état de la route, s’il est plus économique d’utiliser le moteur thermique au lieu du moteur électrique. Bien que ce dernier soit généralement employé pour les déplacements à faible vitesse, dès que la vitesse approche du point où le moteur thermique est plus efficace, un mécanisme de commutation automatique du système de transmission permet de passer du moteur électrique au moteur thermique.

3. Certains modèles utilisent un moteur à piston à allumage par compression (diesel ou semi-diesel) plutôt qu’un moteur à piston alternatif à allumage par étincelles à l’intérieur du système de propulsion hybride.

Politique de classement tarifaire

4. Lors de sa 28e session, le Comité du Système harmonisé de l’Organisation mondiale des douanes a rendu une décision selon laquelle certains modèles de véhicules à moteur à propulsion hybride sont classés en vertu de la sous-position 8703.22. Puisque ces véhicules à moteur sont principalement conçus pour le transport de personnes et ont un nombre de places assises, chauffeur inclus, inférieur à dix, ils respectent les conditions énoncées à la position 87.03. En l’absence de Notes de Section, de Notes de Chapitre ou de Notes explicatives pouvant définir ou restreindre la portée de la sous-position 8703.2, la sous-position doit être considérée selon son propre mérite; donc, ces véhicules à moteur à propulsion hybride sont classés en vertu de la sous-position 8703.2.

5. De la même façon, les véhicules à moteur à propulsion hybride qui ont des moteurs à piston à allumage par compression (diesel ou semi-diesel) sont classés en vertu de la sous-position 8703.3.

6. Les véhicules à moteur qui ne comprennent qu’un moteur électrique sont classés en vertu de la sous-position 8703.90 – Autres.

Renseignements supplémentaires

7. Les importateurs qui veulent s’assurer du classement tarifaire d’un produit peuvent demander une décision anticipée de classement tarifaire. Des précisions sur la manière de présenter cette demande sont données dans le Mémorandum D11-11-3, Décisions anticipées en matière de classement tarifaire.

8. Pour plus d’information, si vous êtes au Canada, communiquez avec le Service d’information sur la frontière au 1-800-461-9999. De l’extérieur du Canada, composez le 204-983-3500 ou le 506-636-5064. Des frais d’interurbain seront facturés. Les agents sont disponibles durant les heures normales d’ouverture des bureaux (8 h à 16 h, heure locale), du lundi au vendredi (sauf les jours fériés). Un ATS est aussi disponible pour les appels provenant du Canada : 1-866-335-3237.

Références

Bureau de diffusion :
Direction des programmes commerciaux et antidumping
Dossier de l'administration centrale :
SH8703.21, SH8703.22, SH8703.23, SH8703.24, SH8703.31, SH8703.32, SH8703.33
Références légales :
  • Tarif des douanes
  • Règles générales pour l’interprétation du Système harmonisé
  • Notes explicatives du Système harmonisé de désignation et de codification des marchandises
Autres références :
D11-11-3
Ceci annule le mémorandum D :
D10-14-46 daté le 9 mars 2007.
Date de modification :