Tariff Classification of Lifeboats and Inflatable Rafts Imported by Societies Dedicated to Saving Lives
Memorandum D10-14-48

Ottawa, July 4, 2014

This document is also available in PDF (43 KB) [help with PDF files]

In Brief

The editing revisions made in this memorandum do not affect or change any of the existing policies or procedures.

This memorandum explains the Canada Border Services Agency's policy concerning the tariff classification of lifeboats and inflatable rafts imported by societies dedicated to saving lives under tariff items 8906.90.11 and 8907.10.10, respectively of the Customs Tariff.

Legislation

Customs Tariff

89.06
- Other vessels, including warships and lifeboats other than rowing boats.
8906.90
- Other
- - - Open vessels:
8906.90.11
- - - - Lifeboats imported by societies dedicated to the saving of lives
89.07
- Other floating structures (for example, rafts, tanks, coffer-dams, landing-stages, buoys and beacons).
8907.10
- Inflatable rafts
8907.10.10
- - - Imported by societies dedicated to the saving of lives

Guidelines and General Information

Background

1. Societies dedicated to saving lives are organizations that are incorporated under either a federal or provincial charter for the express purpose of saving the lives of persons who are victims of water mishaps and conducting related life-saving training.

Example: The Royal Life Saving Society Canada / La Société royale de sauvetage du Canada was incorporated and chartered by the Province of Ontario under the patronage of the late King Edward VII.

Tariff Classification Policy

2. Only societies that are incorporated under either a federal or provincial charter for the express purpose of saving the lives of persons are entitled to import lifeboats under tariff item 8906.90.11 and inflatable rafts under tariff item 8907.10.10. This position was supported by the decision (November 19, 1992) of the Canadian International Trade Tribunal in Appeal AP-91-006.

3. Any importer that does not satisfy this requirement is excluded from using the provisions of these tariff items. This includes commercial companies and corporations, government departments and agencies, and municipal bodies such as fire and police departments.

Additional Information

4.   For certainty regarding the tariff classification of a particular good, importers may request an advance ruling.  Details on how to make such a request are found in CBSA Memorandum D11-11-3, Advance Rulings for Tariff Classification.

5.   For more information, within Canada call the Border Information Service at 1-800-461-9999. From outside Canada call 204-983-3500 or 506-636-5064. Long distance charges will apply. Agents are available Monday to Friday (08:00 – 16:00 local time/except holidays). TTY is also available within Canada: 1-866-335-3237.

References

Issuing office:
Trade and Anti-dumping Programs Directorate
Headquarters file:
HS8906.90 and HS8907.10
Legislative references:
Customs Tariff
General Rules for the Interpretation of the Harmonized System
Explanatory Notes to the Harmonized Commodity Description and Coding System
Other references:
D11-11-3
Superseded memorandum D:
D10-14-48 dated August 17, 2007
Date modified:

Classement tarifaire des bateaux de sauvetage et des radeaux gonflables importés par des sociétés spécialisées dans le sauvetage de vies
Mémorandum D10-14-48

Ottawa, le 4 juillet 2014

Ce document est disponible en format PDF (45 Ko) [aide sur les fichiers PDF]

En résumé

Les modifications supplémentaires liées à la révision du texte qui ont été apportées ne modifient aucunement les politiques ou procédures existantes comprises dans le présent mémorandum.

Le présent mémorandum explique la politique de l'Agence des services frontaliers du Canada à l'égard du classement tarifaire des bateaux de sauvetage et des radeaux gonflables importés par des sociétés spécialisées dans le sauvetage de vies sous les numéros tarifaires 8906.90.11 et 8907.10.10, respectivement, du Tarif des douanes.

Législation

Tarif des douanes

89.06
Autres bateaux, y compris les navires de guerre et les bateaux de sauvetage autres qu'à rames.
8906.90
- Autres
- - - Bateaux ouverts :
8906.90.11
- - - - Bateaux de sauvetage importés par des sociétés spécialisées dans le sauvetage de vies
89.07
Autres engins flottants (radeaux, réservoirs, caissons, coffres d'amarrage, bouées et balises, par exemple).
8907.10
- Radeaux gonflables
8907.10.10
- - - Importés par des sociétés spécialisées dans le sauvetage de vies

Lignes directrices et renseignements généraux

Contexte

1. Les sociétés spécialisées dans le sauvetage de vies sont des organisations constituées soit en vertu d'une charte fédérale ou d'une charte provinciale dans le but exprès de sauver les vies de personnes qui sont victimes d'accidents maritimes et de mener de la formation relative au sauvetage de vies.

Exemple : La Société royale de sauvetage du Canada a été constituée et approuvée par la province de l'Ontario sous la présidence d'honneur de l'ancien Roi Edward VII.

Politique de classement tarifaire

2. Seulement les sociétés constituées en vertu d'une charte fédérale ou provinciale dans le but exprès de sauver les vies des personnes peuvent importer des bateaux de sauvetage sous le numéro tarifaire 8906.90.11 et des radeaux gonflables sous le numéro tarifaire 8907.10.10. La décision (prise le 19 novembre 1992) rendue par le Tribunal canadien du commerce extérieur dans le cadre de l'Appel AP-91-006 corrobore cette position.

3. Tous les importateurs qui ne satisfont pas à la présente exigence sont exclus de l'utilisation des dispositions de ces deux numéros tarifaires. Cela comprend les entreprises et les sociétés commerciales, les ministères du gouvernement et les organes municipaux tels que les services d'incendie et de police.

Renseignements supplémentaires

4. Les importateurs qui veulent s'assurer du classement tarifaire d'un produit peuvent demander une décision anticipée de classement tarifaire. Des précisions sur la manière de présenter cette demande sont données dans le Mémorandum D11-11-3, Décisions anticipées en matière de classement tarifaire.

5. Pour plus d'information, si vous êtes au Canada, communiquez avec le Service d'information sur la frontière au 1-800-461-9999. De l'extérieur du Canada, composez le 204-983-3500 ou le 506-636-5064. Des frais d'interurbain seront facturés. Les agents sont disponibles durant les heures normales d'ouverture des bureaux (8 h à 16 h, heure locale), du lundi au vendredi (sauf les jours fériés). Un ATS est aussi disponible pour les appels provenant du Canada : 1-866-335-3237.

Références

Bureau de diffusion :
Direction des programmes commerciaux et antidumping
Dossier de l'administration centrale :
SH 8906.90 et SH 8907.10
Références légales :
Tarif des douanes
Règles générales pour l'interprétation du Système harmonisé
Notes explicatives du Système harmonisé de désignation et de codification des marchandises
Autres références :
D11-11-3
Ceci annule le mémorandum D :
D10-14-48 daté le 17 août 2007
Date de modification :