Tariff Classification of Goods Eligible for the Benefits of Tariff Item 9927.00.00
Memorandum D10-14-50

Ottawa, October 31, 2014

This document is also available in PDF (46 Kb) [help with PDF files]

In Brief

The editing revisions made in this document reflect the jurisprudence of the Canadian International Trade Tribunal with respect to the scope of the terms printers, lithographers, bookbinders, and paper or foil converters.

This memorandum explains the Canada Border Services Agency's policy concerning the tariff classification of goods eligible for the benefits of tariff item 9927.00.00 of the Customs Tariff.

Legislation

Customs Tariff

Tariff Item 9927.00.00

Articles and materials to be employed in the manufacture of the following, for use by printers, lithographers, bookbinders, paper or foil converters, manufacturers of stereotypes, electrotypes or printing plates or rolls, or by manufacturers of articles made from paper, paperboard or foil:

Blocks, plates, cylinders and lithographic stones, prepared for printing purposes (for example, planed, grained or polished);

Bookbinding machinery, including book-sewing machines;

Dryers for paper or paperboard;

Machinery, apparatus and equipment (other than machine tools of headings 84.56 to 84.65) for type-founding or type-setting, or for preparing or making printing blocks, plates, cylinders or other printing components;

Machinery for making up paper or paperboard, including cutting machines of all kinds but not including machinery for making or finishing paper or paperboard;

Machines and mechanical appliances of subheading 8479.89;

Offices machines and accessories thereof, other than typewriters and word-processing machines, calculating machines, accounting machines, postage-franking machines, ticket-issuing machines and similar machines incorporating a calculating device, cash registers, automatic data processing machines and units thereof, magnetic or optical readers, machines for transcribing data onto data media in coded form and machines for processing such data, machinery for stitching or stapling of a kind using wire, portable electronic organizers, and accessories thereof;

Printing machinery and machines for uses ancillary to printing;

Printing type, blocks, plates, cylinders and other printing components;

Parts of all the foregoing.

Guidelines and General Information

1. In order for the goods to be eligible for the benefits of tariff item 9927.00.00, the following two requirements must both be satisfied:

2. For the purposes of this tariff item, the terms printers, lithographers, bookbinders, and paper or foil converters, apply to those who are involved in a commercial enterprise, including those enterprises whose core business is other than printing, lithography, book binding or paper or foil converting.

3. However, the terms are not so broad as to include everyone involved in activities such as an individual printing on a home computer. Rather, the terms contemplate those individuals and enterprises that are involved in printing, lithography, book binding, or, paper or foil converting as part of a commercial enterprise. For example, the term "printers" includes enterprises such as print-for-pay shops and individuals of an in-house printing department who print large volumes of items as part of a commercial enterprise.

4. Articles and materials imported for the purposes of repair, replacement, or maintenance, of the specific goods named are not eligible for the benefits of tariff item 9927.00.00.

Additional Information

5. For certainty regarding the tariff classification of a particular good, importers may request an advance ruling. Information on how to obtain an advance ruling may be found in Memorandum D11-11-3, Advance Rulings for Tariff Classification.

6. For more information regarding CBSA programs, within Canada call the Border Information Service toll-free at 1-800-461-9999. From outside Canada call 204-983-3500 or 506-636-5064; long distance charges will apply. Agents are available Monday to Friday (08:00 - 16:00 local time/except holidays). TTY is also available within Canada at 1-866-335-3237.

References

Issuing office:
Trade and Anti-dumping Programs Directorate
Headquarters file:
HS9927.00
Legislative references:
Customs Tariff
Other references:
D11-11-3
AP-2013-015 - Xerox Canada Ltd.
Superseded memorandum D:
D10-14-50 dated August 20, 2007
Date modified:

Classement tarifaire de produits pouvant bénéficier du numéro tarifaire 9927.00.00
Mémorandum D10-14-50

Ottawa, le 31 octobre 2014

Ce document est disponible en format PDF (49 Kb) [aide sur les fichiers PDF]

En résumé

Le présent mémorandum a été révisé en vue de tenir compte de la jurisprudence du Tribunal canadien du commerce extérieur à l'égard de la portée des mots imprimeurs, lithographes, relieurs et convertisseurs de papier ou de feuilles métalliques.

Le présent mémorandum explique la politique de l'Agence des services frontaliers du Canada à l'égard du classement tarifaire de produits pouvant bénéficier du numéro tarifaire 9927.00.00 du Tarif des douanes.

Législation

Tarif des douanes

Numéro tarifaire 9927.00.00

Articles et matières devant être utilisés dans la fabrication des produits suivants pour imprimeurs, lithographes, relieurs, convertisseurs de papier ou de feuilles métalliques, fabricants de stéréotypes, d'électrotypes, de plaques d'imprimerie ou de cylindres d'impression ou par des fabricants d'articles en papier, en carton ou en feuilles métalliques :

Pierres lithographiques, planches, plaques et cylindres préparés pour l'impression (planés, grenés, polis, par exemple);

Machines et appareils pour le brochage ou la reliure, y compris les machines à coudre les feuillets;

Séchoirs pour papiers ou cartons;

Machines, appareils et matériel (autres que les machines-outils des positions 84.56 à 84.65) à fondre ou à composer les caractères ou pour la préparation ou la fabrication des clichés, planches, cylindres ou autres organes imprimants;

Machines et appareils pour le travail du papier ou du carton, y compris les coupeuses de tous types mais non compris les machines et appareils pour la fabrication ou le finissage du papier ou du carton;

Machines et appareils mécaniques de la sous-position 8479.89;

Machines et appareils de bureau et leurs accessoires, autres que machines à écrire et machines pour le traitement des textes, machines à calculer, machines comptables, machines à affranchir, machines à établir les tickets et machines similaires comportant un dispositif de calcul, caisses enregistreuses, machines automatiques de traitement de l'information et leurs unités, lecteurs magnétiques ou optiques, machines de mise d'information sur support sous forme codée et machines de traitement de ces informations, machines et appareils à brocher ou agrafer des types utilisant le fil métallique, agendas électroniques portatifs, et leurs accessoires;

Machines et appareils à imprimer et machines auxiliaires pour l'impression;

Caractères d'imprimerie, clichés, planches, cylindres et autres organes imprimants;

Parties de tout ce qui précède.

Lignes directrices et renseignements généraux

1. Pour que les produits puissent bénéficier du numéro tarifaire 9927.00.00, les deux exigences suivantes doivent être satisfaites :

2. Aux fins du présent numéro tarifaire, les termes imprimeurs, lithographes, relieurs, et convertisseurs de papier ou de feuilles métalliques s'appliquent aux marchandises utilisées dans le cadre d'une entreprise commerciale, y compris les entreprises pour lesquelles les imprimeurs, lithographes, relieurs, et convertisseurs de papier ou de feuilles métalliques ne font pas partie des activités principales.

3. Cependant, le sens de ces termes n'est pas assez large pour inclure toutes les personnes qui impriment, y compris celles qui effectuent des travaux d'impression sur leur ordinateur à domicile. Il ne comprend plutôt que les personnes et les entreprises qui se livrent à l'impression, à la lithographie, à la reliure et au convertissage de papier ou de feuilles métalliques dans le cadre d'une entreprise commerciale. Par exemple, le terme « imprimeur » comprend ceux qui, comme les ateliers d'impression payante et les services d'imprimerie internes dans de grandes entreprises, impriment en grands volumes dans le cadre d'une entreprise commerciale.

4. Les articles et les matières importés pour les besoins de réparation, de remplacement ou d'entretien des produits expressément identifiés ne peuvent pas bénéficier du numéro tarifaire 9927.00.00.

Renseignements supplémentaires

5. Les importateurs qui veulent s'assurer du classement tarifaire d'un produit peuvent demander une décision anticipée de classement tarifaire. Des précisions sur la manière de présenter cette demande sont données dans le Mémorandum D11-11-3, Décisions anticipées en matière de classement tarifaire.

6. Pour plus d'information, si vous êtes au Canada, communiquez avec le Service d'information sur la frontière au 1-800-461-9999. De l'extérieur du Canada, composez le 204-983-3500 ou le 506-636-5064. Des frais d'interurbain seront facturés. Les agents sont disponibles durant les heures normales d'ouverture des bureaux (8 h à 16 h, heure locale), du lundi au vendredi (sauf les jours fériés). Un ATS est aussi disponible pour les appels provenant du Canada : 1-866-335-3237.

Références

Bureau de diffusion :
Direction des programmes commerciaux et antidumping
Dossier de l'administration centrale :
SH 9927.00
Références légales :
Tarif des douanes
Autres références :
D11-11-3
AP-2013-015 - Xerox Canada Ltd.
Ceci annule le mémorandum D :
D10-14-50 daté le 20 août 2007
Date de modification :