Tariff Classification Policy on Belts and Belting of Chapters 39, 40 and 59 of the Customs Tariff
Memorandum D10-14-53

Ottawa, May 5, 2014

This document is also available in PDF (88 KB) [help with PDF files]

In Brief

This memorandum has been revised to reflect changes to the Customs Tariff legislation. The editing revisions made in this memorandum do not affect or change any of the existing policies or procedures.

This memorandum explains the Canada Border Services Agency's administrative policy regarding the tariff classification of belts and belting of Chapters 39, 40 and 59 of the Customs Tariff.

Table of Contents

Legislation

Customs Tariff:

39.20 Other plates, sheets, film, foil and strip, of plastics, non-cellular and not reinforced, laminated, supported or similarly combined with other materials.

39.21 Other plates, sheets, film, foil and strip, of plastics.

39.26 Other articles of plastics and articles of other materials of headings 39.01 to 39.14.

40.10 Conveyor or transmission belts or belting, of vulcanized rubber.

59.10 Transmission or conveyor belts or belting, of textile material, whether or not impregnated, coated, covered or laminated with plastics, or reinforced with metal or other material.

59.11 Textile products and articles, for technical uses, specified in Note 7 to this Chapter.

Guidelines and General Information

Administrative Policy

1. For classification purposes, it is important to note the distinction made between belts and belting in Chapters 39, 40 and 59 of the Customs Tariff.

2.  In order to be considered a belt at the time of importation, the goods must be cut to length and committed for use with a specific machine or application. Some examples of belts are conveyor belts that are used to transport goods or material and transmission belts that are used to transfer power, such as drive belts. Synchronous belts transmit power while maintaining a constant rotational relationship between sheaves. (An example of a synchronous belt is a timing belt and a sheave is a grooved wheel or pulley.)

3.  Endless belts, such as engine fan belts, have a continuous and unbroken circumference and are not considered to be belts cut to length.

4. Goods imported in random lengths for subsequent cutting to a specific length are considered to be belting rather than belts.

5. Conveyor, transmission, synchronous and elevator belts and belting of any kind, presented with the machines or apparatus for which they are designed (whether or not actually mounted), are classified with that machine or apparatus.

6. Belts and belting are sometimes described as having "butt ends." The term "butt end" means "the largest, thickest or blunt end of anything." The indication that a good has butt ends does not confirm that it is a belt cut to length. Even if the good has butt ends at the time of importation, it is considered to be transmission or conveyor belting unless it has been further prepared or finished according to the requirements of the respective heading in the Customs Tariff.

Chapter 39

7. Belts and belting made of plastic are classified in Chapter 39.

8. To be considered a transmission, conveyor or elevator belt of heading 39.26, the goods must be endless or cut to length and joined end to end or fitted with fasteners. Transmission or conveyor belts or belting, of textile material, impregnated, coated, covered or laminated with plastics are excluded from this heading. Those goods are classified in Section XI (e.g. heading 59.10).

Conveyor Belts Cut to Length

9. Conveyor belts made up of plastic and cut to length are classified under tariff item 3926.90.10. Under this tariff item, the term “cut to length” means cut to a specific length or size to fit a specific machine and joined end to end or fitted with fasteners.

10. Modular belts that are made up of a series of links are considered to be conveyor belts if they are designed for use with a specific application. Conveyor belts in modular form of a length not exceeding 5 metres are classified under tariff item 3926.90.10. Those exceeding 5 meters are classified under tariff item 3926.90.99.

11. Replacement parts (links) are considered to be parts of belts and are classified under tariff item 3926.90.10. Indeterminate lengths of linked modules are considered to be belting and are classified under tariff item 3926.90.99 on the basis that they are not cut to a length to fit a specific machine.

12. The onus is on the importer to retain documentation demonstrating that the imported belt qualifies under tariff item 3926.90.10. If no documentation is available, classification will be under tariff item 3926.90.99.

Other Belts

13. Transmission and other types of belts made of plastics, including all endless belts, are classified under classification number 3926.90.91.10.

Belting

14. Generally, flat plastic belting that has a rectangular cross-section is classified under either heading 39.20 or 39.21 depending whether the belting is reinforced with a material other than plastic.

15. Certain types of non-conveyor belts and belting that incorporate profile shapes, such as “V” grooves, notches or other types of trapezoidal, rectangular or circular cross-sections, are not eligible for consideration under either heading 39.20 or 39.21 on the basis that they have been further worked. Those types of belting are classified under classification number 3926.90.91.10.

16. Belting that has a raised surface of less than 2 millimetres (mm) is not considered to be further worked (i.e. molded or embossed). This type of belting remains classified under either heading 39.20 or 39.21.

Chapter 40

17. Rubber belts and belting are provided for specifically under heading 40.10. This heading covers both conveyor and transmission belts and belting that are made up of one of the following:

18. Heading 40.10 is divided into two parts: subheadings 4010.11 to 4010.19, covering conveyor belts and belting, and subheadings 4010.31 to 4010.39, covering transmission belts and belting. Synchronous belts (e.g., timing belts) are transmission belts and are classified under these latter subheadings.

19. Heading 40.10 covers endless belts, belting for subsequent cutting to length, and belts already cut to length (whether or not joined end to end or fitted with fasteners). As noted previously, “cut to length” means that the imported belts have been cut to a specific length to fit a specific machine, and “belting in the length” refers to belting in random lengths.

20. In accordance with Note 8 to Chapter 40, transmission belts or belting of textile fabric impregnated, coated, covered or laminated with rubber or made from textile yarn or cord impregnated, coated, covered or sheathed with rubber are classified under heading 40.10.

21. Belts and belting of rubber in combination with materials other than just textiles are not specifically named in the Customs Tariff. They may be classified in Chapter 40 or other chapters depending on their composition. (See below.)

Chapter 59

22. Heading 59.10 covers transmission and conveyor belts and belting that are used for the transmission of power or the conveyance of goods and that are usually woven or plaited from yarns of wool, cotton, man-made fibres, etc. These belts or belting may be in various widths and in the form of one or more plies woven or bonded together.

23. Heading 59.10 also covers transmission and conveyor belts and belting of textile material, whether or not impregnated, coated, covered or laminated with plastics or reinforced with metal or other material. In accordance with Chapter 59, Note 6, heading 59.10 does not cover transmission or conveyor belting of textile material less than 3 mm thick or transmission or conveyor belts or belting of textile fabric impregnated, coated, covered or laminated with rubber or made from textile yarn or cord impregnated, coated, covered or sheathed with rubber. These latter goods are covered under heading 40.10, as previously noted.

24. All transmission and conveyor belts made wholly of textiles, of textile and plastic or of textiles reinforced with other materials are classified under heading 59.10, irrespective of the thickness of the material.

25. In regard to the determination of whether the belt or belting is “of textile materials,” as outlined in the terms of heading 59.10, it is the material component that predominates by weight that will determine the essential character and classification of the belt or belting. When belts or belting are of textile material in combination with other materials (e.g. multi-layer belting of plastic, rubber and textiles combined), the weights of the textiles in different layers are aggregated as well as the weights of the other materials.

26. All belts made wholly of textiles, of textile and plastic or of textiles reinforced with other materials are classified under heading 59.10. Belting, 3 mm or more in thickness, and other belts of textile materials in combination with other materials (e.g. multi-layer belting of plastic, rubber and textiles combined) that cannot be classified using solely General Interpretive Rule (GIR) 1, may be classified under heading 59.10 or under another heading depending on their composition. (See below.)

Belts

27. Transmission or conveyor belts must be endless or already cut to size either with the ends joined together or furnished with fastenings for joining the ends together. All such belts are classified under heading 59.10, irrespective of the thickness of the material. Heading 59.10 also covers transmission belts of textile rope or cord, ready for use. These may be endless or have joined ends.

28. Tariff item 5910.00.11 provides for pasta dryer belts, cut to size, containing polyester wire, endless conveyor belts with a tension rating of less than 40 kN/m, and solid woven, PVC impregnated, fire-resistant belts for use underground in mining. All other types of belts are classified under tariff item 5910.00.19.

Belting

29. All belting of heading 59.10 is classified under either tariff item 5910.00.20 or tariff item 5910.00.90.

30. Belting of textile material having a thickness of less than 3 mm and meeting the definition in Note 7 to Chapter 59 is classified under heading 59.11 as a textile product for technical uses.

31. It should be noted that belting is considered to be a technical use as required by Note 7, and that, in addition, the expression ”textile fabrics” found in Note 6(b), 7(a)(i) and 7(a)(v) only applies to textile fabrics as defined in Note 1 to Chapter 59.

Multi-layer Belting

32. Belts and belting can consist of several layers of material. These layers can be plastic, rubber, textile or other materials in various combinations and thicknesses. The following sections provide information and examples with respect to the classification of these types of goods.

Plastic and Textile Combinations

33. Transmission or conveyor belts or belting 3 mm thick or more made solely from textile materials and plastics are classified under heading 59.10. Transmission or conveyor belting less than 3 mm thick made solely from textile materials and plastic (coated, covered or laminated) having the essential character of a textile good and meeting the definition in Note 7 to Chapter 59 is classified under heading 59.11. Essential character is determined by the component that is predominant by weight, and belting having the essential character of plastic is classified in Chapter 39.

Rubber and Textile Combinations

34. Note 6(b) to Chapter 59 and Note 8 to Chapter 40 apply solely to textile/rubber combinations. If a third component is present (e.g. plastic), these notes do not apply.

Plastic, Rubber and Textile Combinations

35. When a product cannot be classified solely according to GIR 1, the essential character should be determined by weight unless one component or layer is considered, without doubt, to have a purpose that clearly indicates its importance over any other layer. This component would determine the essential character of the product and its classification.

Anti-static and Adhesive Layers

36. When classifying multi-layer belts or belting in Chapter 39, 40 or 59, the anti-static layer has been found to be negligible and in many cases not measurable. Accordingly, the anti-static layer should not be considered when determining classification, unless it is found to be a distinct visible layer whose composition can be identified.

37. When a plastic or rubber adhesive is used to assemble two or more layers and when the adhesive cannot be seen in a cross-section, it is not to be taken into consideration for classification purposes.

Additional Information

38. For certainty regarding the tariff classification of a product, importers may request an advance ruling. Details on how to make such a request are found in CBSA Memorandum D11-11-3, Advance Rulings for Tariff Classification, which is found on the CBSA Web site.

39. For more information, within Canada call the Border Information Service at 1-800-461-9999. From outside Canada call 204-983-3500 or 506-636-5064. Long distance charges will apply. Agents are available Monday to Friday (08:00 – 16:00 local time/except holidays). TTY is also available within Canada: 1-866-335-3237.

References

Issuing office:
Trade and Anti-dumping Programs Directorate
Headquarters file:
HS 39, 40, 59
Legislative references:
Customs Tariff
General Rules for the Interpretation of the Harmonized System
Explanatory Notes to the Harmonized Commodity Description and Coding System
Other references:
D11-11-3
Superseded memorandum D:
D10-14-53 dated March 28, 2008
Date modified:

Politique sur le classement tarifaire des courroies des chapitres 39, 40 et 59 du Tarif des douanes
Mémorandum D10-14-53

Ottawa, le 5 mai 2014

Ce document est disponible en format PDF (94 KB) [aide sur les fichiers PDF]

En résumé

Le présent mémorandum a été mis à jour en vue de tenir compte des modifications apportées au Tarif des douanes. Les modifications supplémentaires liées à la révision du texte qui ont été apportées ne modifient aucunement les politiques ou procédures existantes comprises dans le présent mémorandum.

Le présent mémorandum explique la politique administrative de l’Agence des services frontaliers du Canada à l’égard du classement tarifaire des courroies des chapitres 39, 40 et 59 du Tarif des douanes.

Table des matières

Législation

Tarif des douanes

39.20 Autres plaques, feuilles, pellicules, bandes et lames, en matières plastiques non alvéolaires, non renforcées ni stratifiées, ni munies d’un support, ni pareillement associées à d’autres matières.

39.21 Autres plaques, feuilles, pellicules, bandes et lames, en matières plastiques.

39.26 Autres ouvrages en matières plastiques et ouvrages en autres matières des nos 39.01 à 39.14.

40.10 Courroies transporteuses ou de transmission, en caoutchouc vulcanisé.

59.10 Courroies transporteuses ou de transmission en matières textiles, même imprégnées, enduites, recouvertes de matière plastique ou stratifiées avec la matière plastique ou renforcées de métal ou d’autres matières.

59.11 Produits et articles textiles pour usages techniques, visés à la Note 7 du présent chapitre.

Lignes directrices et renseignements généraux

Politique administrative

1. Aux fins de classement, il est important de différencier les courroies des Chapitres 39, 40 et 59 du Tarif des douanes.

2.  Pour être considéré une courroie au moment de l’importation, les marchandises doivent être coupées à la longueur désirée et destinées à une machine ou à une application précise. Quelques exemples de courroies sont des courroies transporteuses servant à transporter des marchandises ou du matériel et des courroies de transmission, telles que les courroies d’entraînement, qui servent à transférer la puissance. Les courroies synchrones sont conçues pour transmettre la puissance tout en maintenant un rapport de rotation constant entre les poulies. (Un exemple de courroie synchrone est une courroie crantée et une poulie est une jante creusée d’une gorge.)

3.  Les courroies sans fin, telles que les courroies de ventilateur, ne sont pas considérées comme des courroies coupées à la longueur désirée étant donné que leur circonférence est continue.

4. Les marchandises importées en longueurs variables pour être coupées par la suite en longueurs précises sont considérées comme de la matière à courroie et non des courroies.

5. Les courroies transporteuses, de transmission, synchrones ou élévatrices de toutes sortes, présentées avec les machines ou les appareils pour lesquels elles sont conçues (qu’elles soient montées ou non), sont classées avec ces machines ou appareils.

6. Les courroies sont parfois décrites en tant que « joints d’about ». Le terme « joint d’about » désigne « l’extrémité la plus grosse ou la plus épaisse ou encore l’extrémité franche de tout objet ». Le simple fait que le produit ait des joints d’about n’est pas suffisant pour déterminer qu’il s’agit d’une courroie coupée à la longueur désirée. Les produits qui ont des joints d’about au moment de l’importation doivent quand même être considérés comme de la matière à courroie transporteuse ou de transmission à moins d’avoir subi une autre transformation selon les exigences de la position respective du Tarif des douanes.

Chapitre 39

7. Les courroies en matières plastiques sont classées dans le Chapitre 39.

8. Pour être considérées comme des courroies transporteuses, de transmission ou élévatrices de la position 39.26, les marchandises doivent être sans fin ou coupées à la longueur désirée et raccordées et munies d’agrafes ou d’autres dispositifs d’attache. Cette position exclut les courroies transporteuses ou de transmission en matières textiles, imprégnées, enduites, recouvertes ou stratifiées de matières plastiques. Ces marchandises sont classées à la Section XI (p. ex. la position 59.10).

Courroies transporteuses, coupées à la longueur désirée

9. Les courroies transporteuses en matières plastiques et coupées à la longueur désirée sont classées sous le numéro tarifaire 3926.90.10. Conformément à ce numéro tarifaire, l’expression « coupée à la longueur désirée » signifie une courroie mesurant une longueur précise et raccordée ou munie d’agrafes ou d’autres dispositifs d’attache et destinée à une machine précise.

10. Les courroies modulaires qui sont constituées d’une série de maillons sont considérées comme des courroies transporteuses si elles sont destinées à une application précise. Les courroies transporteuses, sous forme modulaire, d’une longueur n’excédant pas 5 mètres sont classées en vertu du numéro tarifaire 3926.90.10. Celles dépassant 5 mètres sont classées sous le numéro tarifaire 3926.90.40.

11. Les pièces de rechange (maillons) sont considérées comme des pièces de courroies et elles sont classées sous le numéro tarifaire 3926.90.10. Les longueurs indéterminées de courroies modulaires sont considérées comme de la matière à courroie et elles sont classées sous le numéro tarifaire 3926.90.99, étant donné qu’elles n’ont pas été coupées à une longueur appropriée pour une machine précise.

12. Il incombe à l’importateur de conserver les documents nécessaires indiquant que le type de courroie importée est admissible au classement sous le numéro tarifaire 3926.90.10. Si aucun document n’est disponible, la courroie doit être classée sous le numéro tarifaire 3926.90.99.

Autres courroies

13. Les courroies de transmission et les autres types de courroies en matières plastiques, y compris toutes les courroies sans fin, sont classés sous le numéro de classement 3926.90.91.10.

Matière à courroie

14. En règle générale, la matière à courroie plate en plastique qui a une courroie de section rectangulaire est classée sous la position 39.20 ou 39.21, selon qu’elle est renforcée ou non d’une autre matière que le plastique.

15. Certains types de courroies non transporteuses, striées en « V » ou crantées, ou d’autres types de courroies de section trapézoïdale, rectangulaire ou circulaire ne sont pas admissibles pour être considérées en vertu de la position 39.20 ou 39.21, car elles ont été transformées. Une courroie de ce genre est classée sous le numéro de classement 3926.90.91.10.

16. La matière à courroie dont la surface est soulevée de moins de 2 millimètres (mm) n’est pas considérée comme transformée (c.-à-d. moulée ou travaillée) et reste classée sous la position 39.20 ou 39.21.

Chapitre 40

17. Les courroies de caoutchouc sont spécifiquement visées à la position 40.10. Cette dernière comprend les courroies transporteuses et les courroies de transmission faites des matières suivantes :

18. La position 40.10 se divise en deux parties, les courroies transporteuses se trouvant sous les sous-positions 4010.11 à 4010.19, et les courroies de transmission se trouvant sous les sous-positions 4010.31 à 4010.39. Les courroies synchrones (p. ex. courroies crantées) sont des courroies de transmission et elles sont aussi classées sous ces sous-positions.

19. La position 40.10 comprend les courroies sans fin, la matière à courroie de longueur variable (qui sera coupée ultérieurement à la longueur désirée), ainsi que les courroies déjà coupées à la longueur désirée (qu’elles soient ou non raccordées et munies d’agrafes ou d’autres dispositifs d’attache). Tel que noté ci-dessus, l’expression « coupée à la longueur désirée » signifie que la courroie importée a été coupée à une longueur ou taille précise et qu’elle est destinée à une machine précise, et l’expression « matière à courroie de longueur variable » signifie que la longueur ou taille de la matière à courroie peut varier.

20. Conformément à la Note 8 du Chapitre 40, les courroies de transmission en matières textiles imprégnées, enduites, recouvertes ou stratifiées de caoutchouc ou faites de fils ou ficelles imprégnés, enduits, recouverts ou stratifiés de caoutchouc sont classées sous la position 40.10.

21. Les courroies en caoutchouc combinées à des matières autres que des textiles uniquement ne sont pas spécifiquement mentionnées dans le Tarif des douanes. Elles peuvent donc être classées au Chapitre 40 ou dans d’autres chapitres selon leur composition. (Voir ci après.)

Chapitre 59

22. La position 59.10 vise les courroies transporteuses et les courroies de transmission qui sont conçues pour transmettre la puissance ou transporter les marchandises et qui sont normalement tissées ou tressées à partir de fils provenant de produits comme la laine, le coton, les fibres synthétiques, etc. Ces courroies peuvent être de différentes largeurs et être formées d’une ou de plusieurs de ces tissus tissés ou collés ensemble.

23. La position 59.10 comprend les courroies transporteuses ou de transmission en matières textiles, même imprégnées, enduites, recouvertes ou stratifiées avec des matières plastiques ou renforcées de métal ou d’autres matières. Conformément au Chapitre 59, Note 6, la position 59.10 ne comprend pas les courroies transporteuses ou de transmission en matières textiles d’une épaisseur de moins de 3 mm, ni les courroies transporteuses ou de transmission en matières textiles imprégnées, enduites, recouvertes ou stratifiées de caoutchouc ou faites de fils ou ficelles imprégnés, enduits, recouverts ou stratifiés de caoutchouc. Ces dernières marchandises sont classées sous la position 40.10, tel que noté ci-dessus.

24. Toutes les courroies transporteuses et de transmission entièrement en matières textiles, en matières textiles et plastiques ou en matières textiles renforcées avec d’autres matières sont classées sous la position 59.10, peu importe leur épaisseur.

25. En ce qui concerne le fait de déterminer si la courroie est faite de « matières textiles », tel que décrit dans le libellé de la position 59.10, c’est la composante matérielle prédominante par rapport au poids qui déterminera le caractère essentiel et le classement de la courroie ou de la matière à courroie. Les courroies composées de matières textiles combinées à d’autres matières (p. ex. les courroies constituées de plusieurs couches de matières différentes comme le plastique, le caoutchouc et des matières textiles), les poids des textiles présents dans les différentes couches sont combinés, ainsi que les poids des autres matières.

26. Toutes les courroies entièrement en matières textiles, en matières textiles et plastiques ou en matières textiles renforcées avec d’autres matières sont classées sous la position 59.10. Les matières à courroie d’une épaisseur de 3 mm ou plus et les autres courroies composées de matières textiles combinées à d’autres matières (p. ex. les courroies constituées de plusieurs couches de matières différentes comme le plastique, le caoutchouc et des matières textiles) qui ne peuvent pas être classées seulement à l’aide de la Règle générale interprétative (RGI) nº 1 peuvent être classées sous la position 59.10 ou sous une autre position selon leur composition. (Voir ci-dessous.)

Courroies

27. Les courroies transporteuses ou de transmission doivent être sans fin ou déjà coupées selon la longueur désirée avec les extrémités raccordées ou munies de dispositifs d’attache. Toutes ces courroies sont classées sous la position 59.10, peu importe leur épaisseur. Cette position vise également les courroies de transmission constituées par une cordelette ou une corde en matière textile, prêtes à utiliser (sans fin ou agrafées).

28. Le numéro tarifaire 5910.00.11 comprend les courroies de séchoir à pâtes, coupées à la longueur désirée, en fil de polyester, les courroies transporteuses sans fin d'une tension inférieure à 40 kN/m et les courroies monoplis, imprégnées de PVC, résistantes au feu, devant servir à l'usage souterrain dans les mines. Toutes les autres courroies sont classées sous le numéro 5910.00.19.

Matières à courroie

29. Toutes les matières à courroie de la position 59.10 sont classées sous le numéro tarifaire 5910.00.20 ou 5910.00.90.

30. Les courroies en matières textiles qui ont moins de 3 mm d’épaisseur et qui correspondent à la définition de la Note 7 du Chapitre 59 sont classées sous la position 59.11 en tant que produits textiles pour usages techniques.

31. Il convient de noter que la matière à courroie est considérée comme étant destinée à un usage technique, conformément à la Note 7, et que l’expression « tissus » figurant aux notes 6b), 7a)(i) et 7a)(v) s'applique seulement aux « tissus » dont la définition est donnée à la Note 1 du Chapitre 59.

Courroies à couches multiples

32. Les courroies et les matières à courroie peuvent être constituées de plusieurs couches de matières différentes, comme le plastique, le caoutchouc, des matières textiles et d’autres matières, en combinaisons et en épaisseurs diverses. Les sections suivantes donnent des renseignements et des exemples en ce qui concerne le classement de telles marchandises.

Combinaisons de matières plastiques et textiles

33. Les courroies transporteuses ou de transmission d’une épaisseur de 3 mm ou plus, faites uniquement de matières textiles et de plastique, sont classées sous la position 59.10. Les courroies transporteuses ou de transmission d’une épaisseur inférieure à 3 mm, faites uniquement de matières textiles et de plastique (enduites, recouvertes ou laminées), qui ont le caractère essentiel d’un produit textile et qui satisfont à la définition de la Note 7 du Chapitre 59, sont classées sous la position 59.11. Le caractère essentiel sera déterminé par la composante ayant le poids le plus élevé. Les courroies qui ont le caractère essentiel d’un produit en matière plastique sont classées au Chapitre 39.

Combinaisons de caoutchouc et de matières textiles

34. La Note 6b) du Chapitre 59 et la Note 8 du Chapitre 40 ne s’appliquent qu’aux combinaisons de caoutchouc et de matières textiles. Si une troisième composante est ajoutée (p. ex. du plastique), ces notes ne s’appliquent pas.

Combinaisons de plastique, de caoutchouc et de matières textiles

35. Lorsqu’un produit ne peut être classé uniquement selon la RGI nº 1, son caractère essentiel doit être déterminé selon le poids, à moins que l’une des composantes ou des couches ne soit considérée, de façon certaine, comme ayant une fonction prédominante par rapport aux autres, ce qui déterminera le caractère essentiel du produit et son classement.

Couches antistatiques et adhésives

36. Lors du classement des courroies à couches multiples dans le Chapitre 39, 40 ou 59, la couche antistatique est généralement considérée comme étant négligeable et, dans de nombreux cas, impossible à mesurer. Elle ne devrait donc pas être prise en considération lors du classement, à moins qu’il s’agisse d’une couche clairement visible dont la composition peut être identifiée.

37. Lorsqu’un adhésif de plastique ou de caoutchouc sert à assembler deux ou plusieurs couches et qu’on ne peut voir celui-ci dans une coupe transversale du produit, il n’est pas nécessaire d’en tenir compte aux fins de classement.

Renseignements supplémentaires

38. Les importateurs qui veulent s'assurer du classement tarifaire d'un produit peuvent demander une décision anticipée de classement tarifaire. Des précisions sur la manière de présenter cette demande sont données dans le Mémorandum D11-11-3, Décisions anticipées en matière de classement tarifaire.

39. Pour plus d’information, si vous êtes au Canada, communiquez avec le Service d’information sur la frontière au 1-800-461-9999. De l’extérieur du Canada, composez le 204-983-3500 ou le 506-636-5064. Des frais d’interurbain seront facturés. Les agents sont disponibles durant les heures normales d’ouverture des bureaux (8 h à 16 h, heure locale), du lundi au vendredi (sauf les jours fériés). Un ATS est aussi disponible pour les appels provenant du Canada : 1-866-335-3237.

Références

Bureau de diffusion :
Direction des programmes commerciaux et antidumping
Dossier de l'administration centrale :
HS 39, 40, 59
Références légales :
Tarif des douanes
Règles générales pour l’interprétation du Système harmonisé
Notes explicatives du Système harmonisé de désignation et de codification des marchandises
Autres références :
D11-11-3
Ceci annule le mémorandum D :
D10-14-53, le 28 mars 2008
Date de modification :