Tariff Classification of Certain Flat Water Sprint Racing Canoes and Kayaks Under Tariff Item 8903.99.10
Memorandum D10-14-54

ISSN 2369-2391

Ottawa, January 6, 2016

This document is also available in PDF (58 Kb) [help with PDF files]

In Brief

The editing revisions made in this memorandum do not affect or change any of the existing policies or procedures.

This memorandum explains the Canada Border Services Agency's policy concerning the tariff classification of certain flatwater sprint racing canoes and kayaks under tariff item 8903.99.10 of the Customs Tariff.

Legislation

Customs Tariff, Heading 89.03

Guidelines and General Information

Definitions and Design Characteristics

1. Flatwater sprint racing, which is also referred to by the International Olympic Committee as "canoe/kayak flatwater", is one of the canoeing disciplines that are featured in the Summer Olympics.

2. A very limited range of flatwater sprint racing canoes and kayaks may be considered racing shells under tariff item 8903.99.10.

3. Flatwater sprint racing canoes or kayaks have a very narrow (often disproportionately long) and extremely unstable shell that is designed to skim the surface of the water. The beam or width of such shells is barely wider than the hips of the paddler, and the very long and narrow shape of the shells reduces drag. These shells are not intended for any condition other than flatwater (calm waters).

4. The hulls of these shells are very thin and light, which reduces resistance at high speed and only creates relatively small waves in the water. The term "shell" is derived from the relative thinness (3.18 mm to 6.36 mm) of the hull.

5. Most hulls are made of composite materials such as carbon fibre, fibreglass, epoxy resin or aramid fibre (e.g. Kevlar).

6. Hulls are characterized by their "stiffness" (i.e. lack of bending). This means that none of the force exerted by the paddler is wasted in twisting the boat.

7. The section and longitudinal lines of the hull of canoes and kayaks must not be concave when measured horizontally and vertically. The measurement is done with a straightedge in a vertical and a horizontal plane. In other words, not in a diagonal plane.

8. Canoe hulls must be built symmetrically upon the axis of their length. This means that the left side must be the mirror image of the right side when viewed along the longitudinal axis.

9. The deck construction cannot be higher at any horizontal point than the highest point of the front edge of the first cockpit.

10. No parts of the shell, including the seat and footrest, can have moving parts that can be used to help propel the boat.

11. The paddler sits in a kayak. In a canoe, the paddler kneels on one knee. Neither type of shell can be operated in a sit-on position (astride) as in the case of a surf ski.

12. Kayaks have a steering rudder or fin that the (foremost) paddler operates with his or her feet. Canoes are not permitted to have steering rudders or any other type of steering apparatus.

International Canoe Federation Specifications

13. The shells that are recognized by the International Canoe Federation for Olympic and international competitions are the following: K1, K2, K4, C1, C2 and C4, where the number indicates the number of paddlers, "K" stands for kayak and "C" for Canadian or canoe, depending on the location.

14. The maximum length and minimum weight requirements may be found in the International Canoe Federation Canoe Sprint Competition Rules.

15. C1 and C2 canoes can be entirely open. The minimum length of the opening is 280 cm and the edge of the side of the shell at the gunwale can extend a maximum 5 cm into the shell along the defined opening. The shell can have a maximum of three strengthening bars with a width of a maximum of 7 cm each.

16. C4 canoes can be entirely open. The minimum length of the opening is 390 cm and the edge of the side of the shell at the gunwale can extend a maximum 6 cm into the shell along the defined opening. The shell can have a maximum of four strengthening bars with a width of a maximum of 7 cm each.

17. The gunwale is the top section on the sides of a shell that runs along the sides of the crew section where the paddlers are located.

Tariff Classification Policy

18. Only canoes and kayaks that fall under the preceding definitions and design characteristics used exclusively in Olympic and other international flatwater sprint racing competitions can be classified under tariff item 8903.99.10 as racing shells.

19. All other types of canoes and kayaks are not considered to be racing shells under tariff item 8903.99.10.

Additional Information

20. For certainty regarding the tariff classification of a product, importers may request an advance ruling. Details on how to make such a request are found in Memorandum D11-11-3, Advance Rulings for Tariff Classification.

21. For more information, within Canada call the Border Information Service at 1-800-461-9999. From outside Canada call 204-983-3500 or 506-636-5064. Long distance charges will apply. Agents are available Monday to Friday (08:00 – 16:00 local time / except holidays). TTY is also available within Canada: 1-866-335-3237.

References

Issuing office:
Tariff Policy Division
Trade and Anti-dumping Programs Directorate
Programs Branch
Headquarters file:
HS8903.99
Legislative references:
Customs Tariff
Explanatory Notes to the Harmonized Commodity Description and Coding System
Other references:
D10-14-49, D11-11-3
Superseded memorandum D:
D10-14-54 dated May 9, 2008
Date modified:

Classement tarifaire de certains canoës-kayaks de course de vitesse en eaux calmes sous le numéro tarifaire 8903.99.10
Mémorandum D10-14-54

ISSN 2369-2405

Ottawa, le 6 janvier 2016

Ce document est disponible en format PDF (61 Kb) [aide sur les fichiers PDF]

En résumé

Les modifications supplémentaires liées à la révision du texte qui ont été apportées ne modifient aucunement les politiques ou procédures existantes comprises dans le présent mémorandum.

Le présent mémorandum explique la politique de l'Agence des services frontaliers du Canada (ASFC) ayant trait au classement tarifaire de certains canoës-kayaks de course de vitesse en eaux calmes sous le numéro tarifaire 8903.99.10 du Tarif des douanes.

Législation

Tarif des douanes, Position 89.03

Lignes directrices et renseignements généraux

Définitions et caractéristiques de construction

1. La course de vitesse en eaux calmes, aussi appelé « canoë-kayak en ligne » par le Comité International Olympique, est l'une des disciplines de canotage mises en vedette lors des Jeux olympiques d'été.

2. Vu les particularités de construction de certains de canoës-kayaks de course de vitesse en eaux calmes, ceux-ci sont considérés être des périssoires de course du numéro tarifaire 8903.99.10.

3. Ces canoës ou kayaks sont généralement très étroits, d'une longueur exagérée. Leur coque est en fait très instable et conçue pour glisser à la surface de l'eau. La largeur de ces périssoires est à peine plus large que la largeur des hanches du pagayeur, et la forme très longue et étroite de leurs coques réduit la résistance de l'eau. Ces coques sont conçues uniquement pour les compétitions de vitesse en eaux calmes.

4. Les coques de ces embarcations sont très minces et légères. Cette caractéristique fait que même à haute vitesse les vagues créées sont relativement petites, minimisant ainsi la résistance de l'eau. Le terme « shell » (en anglais; « coquille », en français) fait référence à la minceur relative (3,18 mm à 6,38 mm) de la coque.

5. La plupart de ces coques sont fabriquées de matières composites telles que des fibres de carbone, des fibres de verre, de la résine époxyde ou des fibres aramides (p. ex. Kevlar).

6. Les coques sont caractérisées par leur rigidité, inflexibilité. Ceci veut dire que rien de la force exercée par le pagayeur n'est perdue dans la torsion/flexion du bateau.

7. Les axes longitudinal et transversal de la coque du canoë et du kayak ne doivent pas être concaves quand mesurés horizontalement et verticalement. Le mesurage est fait avec une règle sur le plan vertical et horizontal et non sur le plan diagonal.

8. Les coques de canoës doivent être symétriques sur l'axe de leur longueur. Autrement dit, vu de l'axe longitudinal de la coque le côté gauche doit être symétrique au côté droit.

9. Sur le plan horizontal, le pontage ne peut pas être plus haut que le plus haut point de l'avant du rebord du cockpit.

10. Aucune partie de ce type d'embarcation, y compris le siège et le repose-pied, ne doit posséder de pièces amovibles pouvant être utilisées pour le propulser.

11. Le pagayeur s'assoie dans le kayak. Dans le cas d'un canoë, le pagayeur adopte une position sur un genou. En Aucun cas ce type d'embarcation ne peut être opéré en adoptant une position à califourchon comme dans le « surfski ».

12. Les kayaks possèdent un gouvernail ou une lame de gouvernail activé par le pied du rameur de proue. Par contre, les canoës ne possèdent jamais de gouvernail ou tout autre mécanisme à gouverner.

Spécifications de la Fédération internationale de canoë

13. Les périssoires de course reconnues par la Fédération internationale de canoë aux fins de compétition olympique et internationale sont les suivantes : K1, K2, K4, C1, C2 et C4, dont le chiffre indique le nombre de pagayeurs, « K » désigne « kayak » et « C » désigne « canadien » ou « canoë », selon l'endroit.

14. Les spécifications officielles relativement à la longueur maximale et le poids minimal se trouvent dans le International Canoe Federation Canoe Sprint Competition Rules (disponible en anglais seulement - traduction : règlement de la compétition de course de canoë de la fédération internationale de canoë)

15. Les canoës C1 et C2 peuvent être entièrement ouverts. La longueur minimale d'ouverture est 280 cm, et le rebord au plat-bord peut s'étendre jusqu'à 5 cm de la coque le long de l'ouverture définie. Ce type d'embarcation peut être équipé d'un maximum de trois barres de renforcement d'une largeur maximale de 7 cm chacune.

16. Les canoës C4 peuvent être entièrement ouverts. La longueur minimale d'ouverture est 390 cm, et le rebord au plat-bord peut s'étendre jusqu'à 6 cm de la coque le long de l'ouverture définie. Ce type d'embarcation peut être équipé d'un maximum de quatre barres de renforcement d'une largeur maximale de 7 cm chacune.

17. Le plat-bord est la section supérieure des flancs de la coque qui s'étend le long de la section d'équipage où les pagayeurs sont localisés.

Politique de classement tarifaire

18. Uniquement les canoës et les kayaks répondant aux définitions et aux caractéristiques de construction susmentionnées et utilisés dans les compétitions de course de vitesse olympiques ou dans d'autres compétitions de renommée internationale peuvent être classés sous le numéro tarifaire 8903.99.10 à titre de périssoires de course.

19. Tous les autres types de canoës et de kayaks ne sont pas considérés comme étant des périssoires de course aux termes du numéro tarifaire 8903.99.10.

Renseignements supplémentaires

20. Les importateurs qui veulent s'assurer du classement tarifaire d'un produit peuvent demander une décision anticipée en matière de classement tarifaire. Des précisions sur la manière de présenter cette demande se trouvent dans le Mémorandum D11-11-3, Décisions anticipées en matière de classement tarifaire.

21. Pour plus d'information, si vous êtes au Canada, communiquez avec le Service d'information sur la frontière au 1-800-461-9999. De l'extérieur du Canada, composez le 204-983-3500 ou le 506-636-5064. Des frais d'interurbain seront facturés. Les agents sont disponibles durant les heures normales d'ouverture des bureaux (8 h à 16 h, heure locale), du lundi au vendredi (sauf les jours fériés). Un ATS est aussi disponible pour les appels provenant du Canada : 1-866-335-3237.

Références

Bureau de diffusion :
Division de la politique commerciale
Direction des programmes commerciaux et antidumping
Direction générale des programmes
Dossier de l'administration centrale :
SH8903.99
Références légales :
Tarif des douanes
Notes explicatives du Système harmonisé de désignation et de codification des marchandises
Autres références :
D10-14-49, D11-11-3
Ceci annule le mémorandum D :
D10-14-54 daté le 9 mai 2008
Date de modification :