Tariff Classification of Porcelain or China Versus Other Ceramics
Memorandum D10-14-67

ISSN 2369-2391

Ottawa, August 27, 2015

This document is also available in PDF (61 Kb) [help with PDF files]

In Brief

This memorandum explains the role of the Canada Border Services Agency regarding the tariff classification of porcelain or china versus other ceramics.

This memorandum outlines the administrative policy of the Canada Border Services Agency regarding the tariff classification of porcelain or china as compared to other ceramics, such as stoneware, vitreous china, semi-porcelain, white granite, earthenware and terra cotta. It also provides guidelines in the interpretation of what is impermeable, white and translucent.

Legislation

Customs Tariff – Section 69

Explanatory Notes to the Harmonized Commodity Description and Coding System

General Explanatory Note to Chapter 69, Sub-chapter II:

(I) Porcelain or China

Porcelain or china means hard porcelain, soft porcelain, biscuit porcelain (including parian) and bone china. All these ceramics are almost completely vitrified, hard, and are essentially impermeable (even if they are not glazed). They are white or artificially coloured, translucent (except when of considerable thickness), and resonant.

Hard porcelain is made from a body composed of kaolin (or kaolinic clays), quartz, feldspar (or feldspathoïds), and sometimes calcium carbonate. It is covered with a colourless transparent glaze fired at the same time as the body and thus fused together.

Soft porcelain contains less alumina but more silica and fluxes (e.g., feldspar). Bone china, which contains less alumina, contains calcium phosphate (e.g., in the form of bone ash); a translucent body is thus obtained at a lower firing temperature than with hard porcelain. The glaze is normally applied by further firing at a lower temperature, thus permitting a greater range of underglaze decoration.

Biscuit porcelain is unglazed porcelain, of which parian-ware (sometimes called Carrara porcelain) is a special, fine-grained, yellowish type containing more feldspar, and often resembling Paros marble in appearance, hence its name.

(II) Other ceramic products

Ceramic products other than of porcelain or china include:

(A) Ceramics with a porous body which, unlike porcelain, are opaque, permeable to liquids, easily scratched with iron and whose fracture sticks to the tongue. Such ceramics include:

(B) Stoneware which, though dense and hard enough to resist scratching by a steel point, differs from porcelain because it is opaque and normally only partially vitrified. Stoneware may be a vitreous (impermeable) or semi-vitreous ware. It is usually grey or brownish because of impurities contained in the clay used for its manufacture, and is normally glazed.

(C) Certain so-called "semi-porcelains" or "imitation porcelains", sometimes prepared, decorated and glazed to give the commercial appearance of porcelain. Without being really opaque like earthenware, or truly translucent like porcelain, these products may be slightly translucent in the thinner parts such as the bottoms of cups. These materials can, however, be distinguished from real porcelain because their fracture is rough-grained, dull and non-vitrified. They are therefore porous beneath the glaze and the fracture clings to the tongue. Further, they are easily scratched with a steel knife, though it should be noted that certain soft chinas may also be scratched by steel. Products of these imitation "porcelains" are not considered as porcelain or china.

Guidelines and General Information

Definitions

1. For the purposes of this memorandum, these terms have the following meanings:

Body
The material from which ceramic is made, excluding the glaze.
Impermeable
Not porous; fluid does not pass through.
Natural white ceramic body
A colour value of 8.5 or greater on the Munsell Colour Chart and a Munsell chroma of 0.5 or less, not as a result of artificial colouring.
Refractory ceramics
Fired articles having the special property of resisting high temperatures as met in metallurgy, the glass industry, etc. (e.g., of the order of 1,500 °C and higher).
Semi-vitreous
Water absorption between 0.5% and 3%.
Vitreous (vitrified)
Not porous; ≤ 0.5% of water absorption.
Whiteware
Can be white, off-white, ivory or light grey colour in the fired state.

2. This policy deals with the classification of various types of ceramic of Chapter 69 of the Customs Tariff (Tariff). In particular, it clarifies the distinction between "porcelain or china" and "other" ceramics. The latter include stoneware, vitreous china, semi-porcelain, white granite, earthenware, terra cotta, amongst other ceramics.

3. The General Explanatory Note to Chapter 69, Sub-chapter II, (I) Porcelain or china, and (II) Other ceramic products, relates to the classification of china, porcelain and other ceramic ware. It states that in order for goods to be classified as porcelain or china they must be almost completely vitrified, hard, essentially impermeable, white or artificially coloured, translucent and resonant.

4. The American Society for Testing and Material (ASTM) standard C242 defines "vitreous" as generally signifying that the ware has a water absorption rate below 0.5%, except for floor tiles, wall tiles and low-tension electrical porcelain which are considered to be vitreous provided that the water absorption does not exceed 3%. The vitrification is produced by heat and melting of the body material as opposed to simple sintering, which does not fuse the material.

5. For tariff classification purposes, all china and porcelain products must:

6. Following is a description for standard permeability, colour, translucency and firing temperatures of porcelain or china, stoneware, vitreous china, semi-porcelain, white granite, earthenware and terra cotta:

Additional Information

7. For certainty regarding the tariff classification of a product, importers may request an advance ruling for tariff classification. Details on how to make such a request are found in CBSA Memorandum D11-11-3, Advance Rulings for Tariff Classification.

8. For more information, within Canada call the Border Information Service at 1-800-461-9999. From outside Canada call 204-983-3500 or 506-636-5064. Long distance charges will apply. Agents are available Monday to Friday (08:00 – 16:00 local time/except holidays). TTY is also available within Canada: 1-866-335-3237.

References

Issuing office:
Trade Programs and Antidumping Directorate
Headquarters file:
 
Legislative references:
Customs Tariff
Other references:
D11-11-3
Explanatory Notes to the Harmonized Commodity Description and Coding System;
American Society for testing and material standard: C242 and C373;
Tariff Board of Canada Decisions Nos. 2914, 2928, and 2948;
British Standard Institute standard 5416
Superseded memorandum D:
N/A
Date modified:

Classement tarifaire des porcelaines et autres céramiques
Mémorandum D10-14-67

ISSN 2369-2405

Ottawa, le 27 août 2015

Ce document est disponible en format PDF (64 Kb) [aide sur les fichiers PDF]

En résumé

Ce mémorandum explique le rôle de l’Agence des services frontaliers du Canada ayant trait au classement tarifaire des porcelaines, comparativement à celui d’autres produits céramiques.

Le présent mémorandum explique la politique administrative de l’Agence des services frontaliers du Canada ayant trait au classement tarifaire des porcelaines, comparativement à celui d’autres produits céramiques, comme le grès cérame, la porcelaine sanitaire, la semi-porcelaine, le granit blanc, la faïence et la terre-cuite. Le présent mémorandum fournit aussi des lignes directrices pour l’interprétation de ce qui est imperméable, blanc ou translucide.

Législation

Tarif des douanes – Article 69

Notes explicatives du Système harmonisé de désignation et de codification des marchandises

Considérations générales du Chapitre 69, sous-chapitre II :

I) Porcelaines

Par porcelaines, on entend les porcelaines à pâte dure, les porcelaines à pâte tendre, le biscuit (y compris le parian) et la porcelaine à base d'os. Tous ces produits céramiques sont presque complètement vitrifiés, durs et quasiment imperméables même s'ils n'ont pas été glacés. Ils sont blancs ou artificiellement colorés, translucides (sauf s'ils sont de forte épaisseur) et sonores.

Les porcelaines dures sont faites d'une pâte composée de kaolin (ou d'autres argiles kaoliniques), de quartz, de feldspath (ou de feldspathoïdes) et parfois de carbonate de calcium. Elles sont recouvertes d'une glaçure incolore et transparente obtenue au cours de la cuisson même de la pâte, ce qui la rend solidaire de son support.

Les porcelaines tendres contiennent moins d'alumine, mais davantage de silice et de fondants (notamment de feldspath)., tandis que la porcelaine à base d'os, plus pauvre en alumine a été enrichie en phosphate de calcium (sous forme de cendres d'os, par exemple) donnant une pâte plus translucide à une température de cuisson inférieure à celle que requièrent les porcelaines dures. La glaçure est normalement appliquée avant une seconde cuisson à plus basse température, ce qui permet d'obtenir une plus grande variété de décors sous la glaçure même.

Le biscuit est une porcelaine mate (non vernissée). Le parian (appelé parfois porcelaine de Carrare) est une variété de biscuit à haute teneur en feldspath, à grain fin et de teinte légèrement jaunâtre, son aspect rappelle celui du marbre de Paros, d'où dérive son nom.

II) Autres produits céramiques

Les produits céramiques autres que les porcelaines sont notamment les suivants :

A) Les poteries à pâte poreuse qui, contrairement aux porcelaines, sont perméables aux liquides, opaques, se laissent facilement rayer par le fer et ont une cassure qui happe à la langue. Les deux types sont :

B) Le grès cérame, quoique dense et dur au point de ne pas être entamé par une pointe d'acier, se distingue de la porcelaine du fait qu'il est opaque et normalement partiellement vitrifié. Le grès cérame peut ainsi être vitreux (imperméable) ou partiellement vitreux. Il est ordinairement gris ou brunâtre à cause des impuretés présentes dans la pâte employée lors de sa fabrication, et est d'habitude glacé.

C) Certaines céramiques qui tendent, du point de vue marchand, à imiter la porcelaine par leur aspect extérieur : même façon de préparation de la pâte, couverte et décoration sensiblement identiques. Sans être franchement opaques comme la faïence ou nettement translucides comme la porcelaine, ces produits sont néanmoins légèrement translucides sous une faible épaisseur (notamment dans le fond des tasses). Mais ils se distinguent nettement de la porcelaine proprement dite par leur cassure, grenue et terreuse et non vitrifiée; de plus, la cassure happe la langue, se laisse pénétrer par l'eau et rayer par un couteau d'acier. (À noter, toutefois, que certaines porcelaines tendres peuvent aussi être rayées par l'acier). De tels produits ne doivent pas être considérés comme porcelaines.

Lignes directrices et renseignements généraux

Définitions

1. Aux fins du présent mémorandum, les termes suivants s'appliquent :

Article blanc
peut être blanc, blanc cassé, ivoire ou gris clair à l'état cuit.
Céramique réfractaire
articles cuits ayant la propriété spécifique de résister à de hautes températures, telles que celles rencontrées dans l'industrie métallurgique, du verre, etc. (p. ex. de l'ordre de 1500 °C et plus).
Imperméable
non poreux; un fluide ne peut pas le traverser.
Pâte
le matériau avec lequel la céramique est faite, à l'exclusion du vernis ou de l'émail.
Pâte céramique blanche naturelle
un indice de couleur de 8,5 ou plus sur le nuancier de Munsell et une saturation Munsell de 0,5 ou moins qui n'est pas le résultat d'une coloration artificielle.
Semi-vitreux
taux d'absorption d'eau entre 0,5 et 3 %.
Vitreux (vitrifié)
non poreux; taux d'absorption d'eau ≤ 0,5 %.

2. La présente politique concerne le classement des divers types de céramique du Chapitre 69 du Tarif des douanes (Tarif). En particulier, elle clarifie la différence faite entre les « Porcelaines » et les « Autres » céramiques. Ces dernières comprennent le grès cérame, la porcelaine vitreuse, la semi-porcelaine, le granit blanc, la faïence et la terre-cuite, entre autres.

3. Les considérations générales des Notes explicatives du Chapitre 69, Sous-chapitre II, I) Porcelaines et II) Autres produits céramiques, ont trait au classement de la porcelaine et des autres produits céramiques. Il y est indiqué que, pour être classés comme porcelaine, les produits doivent être presque complètement vitrifiés, durs, quasiment imperméables, blancs ou colorés artificiellement, translucides et sonores.

4. La norme C242 de l'American Society for Testing and Material (ASTM) définit « vitreux » comme signifiant généralement que l'article a un taux d'absorption d'eau inférieur à 0,5 %, sauf pour les carreaux de plancher, les carreaux muraux et la porcelaine électrique faible tension qui sont considérés vitreux à condition que le taux d'absorption d'eau ne dépasse pas 3 %. La vitrification est réalisée par chauffage et fonte du matériau de la pâte, par opposition à un simple frittage pour lequel le matériau n'est pas fondu.

5. Aux fins du classement tarifaire, tous les produis en porcelaine doivent :

6. Voici une liste  sur la perméabilité, la couleur, la translucidité et les températures de cuisson de la porcelaine, du grès cérame, de la porcelaine vitreuse, de la semi-porcelaine, du granit blanc, de la faïence et de la terre-cuite.

Renseignements supplémentaires

7. Les importateurs qui veulent s'assurer du classement tarifaire d'un produit peuvent demander une décision anticipée de classement tarifaire. Des précisions sur la manière de présenter cette demande sont données dans le Mémorandum D11-11-3, Décisions anticipées en matière de classement tarifaire.

8. Pour plus d'information, si vous êtes au Canada, communiquez avec le Service d'information sur la frontière au 1-800-461-9999. De l'extérieur du Canada, composez le 204-983-3500 ou le 506-636-5064. Des frais d'interurbain seront facturés. Les agents sont disponibles durant les heures normales d'ouverture des bureaux (8 h à 16 h, heure locale), du lundi au vendredi (sauf les jours fériés). Un ATS est aussi disponible pour les appels provenant du Canada : 1-866-335-3237.

Références

Bureau de diffusion :
Direction des programmes commerciaux et antidumping
Dossier de l'administration centrale :
 
Références légales :
Tarif des douanes
Autres références :
D11-11-3
Notes explicative du Système harmonisé de désignation et de codification des marchandises;
Normes C242 et C373 de l’American Society for Testing and Material;
Commission du tarif du Canada, décisions no 2914, 2928 et 2948;
Norme 5416 du British Standard Institute
Ceci annule le mémorandum D :
s.o.
Date de modification :