Interpretation of the Word Uniforms for the Purpose of Classification Number 5112.19.00.10
Memorandum D10-15-25

Ottawa, June 24, 2014

This document is also available in PDF (55 Kb) [help with PDF files]

In Brief

This memorandum has been updated to reflect changes to the Customs Tariff legislation. The editing revisions made in this memorandum do not affect or change any of the existing policies or procedures.

This memorandum explains the policy of the Canada Border Services Agency with regard to the interpretation of the word "uniforms" as found in the end-use provision "For use in the manufacture of apparel, other than uniforms designed to identify members of a specific group" for the purposes of classification number 5112.19.00.10.

Legislation

Customs Tariff

Tariff Item Description of Goods
51.12 Woven fabrics of combed wool or of combed fine animal hair.
- Containing 85% or more by weight of wool or of fine animal hair:
5112.11 - - Of a weight not exceeding 200 g/m2
5112.19 - - Other
5112.19.00.10 - - - - - For use in the manufacture of apparel, other than uniforms designed to identify members of a specific group
5112.19.00.90 - - - - - Other

Guidelines and General Information

1. This memorandum affects woven fabrics of combed wool or of combed fine animal hair, containing 85% or more by weight of wool or of fine animal hair, of a weight exceeding 200 g/m2.

2. Uniforms, and the fabric from which they are made, are generally subject to abusive wear. Accordingly, the durability of the fabric from which they are made is a more important attribute than fashion appearance. Fabrics used for uniforms usually meet specific performance specifications.

3. The term "specific group" includes a broad range of organizations throughout the private and public sectors. Such groups may be found within corporations, armed forces, religious institutions, schools, professions, occupations, sport teams, public service departments or agencies and other organizations.

4. The use of uniforms by these types of organizations is often an effort in branding and developing a standard image. A uniform is identifiable by homogeneous fabrics, designs and colours, and not simply by a common logo.

5. Uniform clothing includes upper garments, such as jerseys, coats and jackets; lower garments, such as pants, skirts and shorts; or full body garments, such as coveralls and dresses. Uniforms do not include accessories, such as gloves, mittens, hats, socks, scarves, ties and/or belts.

6. Corporate and occupational uniforms include apparel chosen by an employer to be worn exclusively by its employees during working hours.

7. Sports uniforms include a set of standard clothing worn by members of an athletic organization while participating in that organization's activity. For example, official hockey jerseys worn by team members during a hockey game are included.

8. Goods that do not qualify under classification number 5112.19.00.10 include fabrics for jackets and other paraphernalia worn, for example, by the general public, a fan base of a sports team, and the coaching or training staff.

9. For the administration of these end-use tariff items, the importer must be able to prove that the imported fabrics are not for use in the production or manufacture of uniforms.

Examples of Uniforms

10. Some examples of uniforms are contained in the attached appendix. This list is not exhaustive.

Additional Information

11. For certainty regarding the tariff classification of a product, importers may request an advance ruling. Details on how to make such a request are found in CBSA Memorandum D11-11-3, Advance Rulings for Tariff Classification.

12. For more information, within Canada call the Border Information Service at 1-800-461-9999. From outside Canada call 204-983-3500 or 506-636-5064. Long distance charges will apply. Agents are available Monday to Friday (08:00 – 16:00 local time/except holidays). TTY is also available within Canada: 1-866-335-3237.

Appendix

Group Examples of uniforms worn by:
Corporations Airline employees
Repair personnel
Couriers
Armed Forces Military personnel  (e.g., battle fatigues or dress uniforms)
Religious Institutions Clergy
School Students of a private school
Organization Red Cross workers
Boy Scouts
Girl Guides
Occupation Aluminium foundry workers
Nurses
Referees
Doctors
Sports Team Registered members of sports organizations  (e.g., official jerseys worn by members of NHL Teams)
Public Service Postal workers
Border services officers
Correctional Institutions Inmates in prisons
Prison guards
Emergency Services Paramedics
Firefighters
Hospitality Industry Restaurant employees
Hotel employees
Museum employees
Policing Police officers
Security guards

References

Issuing office:
Trade and Anti-dumping Programs Division
Headquarters file:
HS 5112.19
Legislative references:
Customs Tariff
Other references:
D11-11-3
Superseded memorandum D:
D10-15-25 dated February 6, 2007
Date modified:

Interprétation du terme « uniformes » aux fins du numéro de classification 5112.19.00.10
Mémorandum D10-15-25

Ottawa, le 24 juin 2014

Ce document est disponible en format PDF (57 Kb) [aide sur les fichiers PDF]

En résumé

Le présent mémorandum a été mis à jour en vue de tenir compte des modifications apportées aux dispositions du Tarif des douanes. Les modifications supplémentaires liées à la révision du texte qui ont été apportées ne modifient aucunement les politiques ou procédures existantes comprises dans le présent mémorandum.

Le présent mémorandum explique la politique de l'Agence des services frontaliers du Canada à l'égard de l'interprétation du terme « uniformes » tel que trouvé dans la disposition d'utilisation finale « devant servir à la fabrication de vêtements, autres que des uniformes conçus pour distinguer les membres d'un groupe particulier » aux fins du numéro de classement 5112.19.00.10.

Législation

Tarif des douanes

Numéro tarifaire Dénomination des marchandises
51.12 Tissus de laine peignée ou de poils fins peignés.
- Contenant au moins 85 % en poids de laine ou de poils fins :
5112.11 - - D'un poids n'excédant pas 200 g/m2
5112.19 - - Autres
5112.19.00.10 - - - - Devant servir à la fabrication de vêtements, autres que des uniformes conçus pour distinguer les membres d'un groupe particulier.
5112.19.00.90 - - - - Autres

Lignes directrices et renseignements généraux

Marchandises admissibles

1. Le présent mémorandum concerne les tissus de laine peignée ou de poils fins peignés contenant au moins 85 % en poids de laine ou de poils fins d'un poids excédant 200 g/m2;

2. Les uniformes, ainsi que le tissu qui les composent, sont généralement assujetti à un usage abusif. Par conséquent, la durabilité du tissu est une caractéristique plus importante que l'apparence en vogue. Les tissus utilisés pour les uniformes répondent à des spécifications fonctionnelles relativement strictes.

3. Le terme « groupe particulier » comprend un grand éventail d'organisations dans les secteurs privé et public. De tels groupes peuvent se situer au sein des entreprises, des forces armées, des institutions religieuses, des écoles, des professions, des activités, des équipes sportives, des ministères ou des organismes de la fonction publique et d'autres organisations.

4. L'utilisation des uniformes par ces types d'organisations est souvent un effort visant à marquer et établir une image normalisée. Un uniforme est reconnaissable par les tissus homogènes, le modèle et les couleurs, et non seulement par le logo commun.

5. Les uniformes comprennent des vêtements pour le haut du corps, tels que des jerseys et des manteaux; des vêtements pour le bas du corps, tels que des pantalons, des jupes et des culottes courtes; ou des vêtements pour tout le corps, tels que des combinaisons et des robes. Les uniformes ne comprennent pas des accessoires tels que des gants, des mitaines, des bas, des foulards, des cravates et(ou) des ceintures.

6. Les uniformes d'entreprise et de travail comprennent les vêtements choisis par un employeur devant être porté exclusivement par ses employés durant les heures de bureau.

7. Les uniformes de sport comprennent un ensemble de vêtements standards portés par les membres d'un groupe athlétique lorsqu'ils participent à une activité de l'organisation. Par exemple, les jerseys officiels de hockey portés par les membres d'une équipe au cours d'un match de hockey y sont inclus.

8. Les marchandises qui ne sont pas admissibles sous le numéro de classement 5112.19.00.10 comprennent les manteaux et autres accessoires portés par le public général, un groupe d'amateurs d'une équipe de sport quelconque ou les vêtements portés par l'entraîneur et le personnel instructeur, par exemple.

9. Aux fins de l'administration des numéros tarifaires d'utilisation finale susmentionnés, l'importateur doit être en mesure de démontrer que les tissus importés ne servent pas à la production ou à la fabrication d'uniformes.

Exemples d'uniformes

10. Quelques exemples d'uniformes sont cités dans l'annexe ci-joint. Cette liste n'est pas exhaustive.

Renseignements supplémentaires

11. Les importateurs qui veulent s'assurer du classement tarifaire d'un produit peuvent demander une décision anticipée de classement tarifaire. Des précisions sur la manière de présenter cette demande sont données dans le Mémorandum D11-11-3, Décisions anticipées en matière de classement tarifaire.

12. Pour plus d'information, si vous êtes au Canada, communiquez avec le Service d'information sur la frontière au 1-800-461-9999. De l'extérieur du Canada, composez le 204-983-3500 ou le 506-636-5064. Des frais d'interurbain seront facturés. Les agents sont disponibles durant les heures normales d'ouverture des bureaux (8 h à 16 h, heure locale), du lundi au vendredi (sauf les jours fériés). Un ATS est aussi disponible pour les appels provenant du Canada : 1-866-335-3237.

Annexe

Groupe Exemples d'uniformes portés par :
Entreprises Personnel d'exploitation
Personnel de réparation
Messagers
Forces armées Personnel militaire  (p. ex. uniformes de combat ou tenue de cérémonie)
Institutions religieuses Ecclésiastiques
École Étudiants d'une école privée
Organisations Membres de la Croix rouge
Éclaireurs
Guides
Emploi Employés d'une fonderie d'aluminium
Infirmiers
Arbitres
Médecins
Équipe de sport Membres autorisés des organisations sportives  (p. ex. jerseys officiels portés par les membres des équipes de la LNH)
Fonction publique Employés des postes
Agents des services frontaliers
Établissements correctionnels Détenus de prison
Gardiens de prison
Services d'urgence Ambulanciers paramédicaux
Pompiers
Industrie du tourisme réceptif Employés de restaurant
Employés d'hôtel
Employés de musée
Services de police Policiers
Gardiens de sécurité

Références

Bureau de diffusion :
Direction des programmes commerciaux et antidumping
Dossier de l'administration centrale :
SH 5112.19
Références légales :
Tarif des douanes
Autres références :
D11-11-3
Ceci annule le mémorandum D :
D10-15-25 daté le 6 février 2007
Date de modification :