Tariff Classification of Woven Chenille Fabrics
Memorandum D10-17-40

ISSN 2369-2391

Ottawa, June 9, 2015

This document is also available in PDF (62 Kb) [help with PDF files]

In Brief

The editing revisions made in this memorandum do not affect or change any of the existing policies or procedures.

This memorandum outlines the Canada Border Services Agency's (CBSA) administrative policy regarding the classification of woven chenille fabrics of two or more textile yarn materials.

Legislation

Customs Tariff

Section XI, Note 2

2. (A) Goods classifiable in Chapters 50 to 55 or in heading 58.09 or 59.02 and of a mixture of two or more textile materials are to be classified as if consisting wholly of that one textile material which predominates by weight over any other single textile material. When no one textile material predominates by weight, the goods are to be classified as if consisting wholly of that one textile material which is covered by the heading which occurs last in numerical order among those which equally merit consideration.

(B) For the purpose of the above rule:

(C) The provisions of paragraphs (A) and (B) above apply also to the yarns referred to in Notes 3, 4, 5 or 6 below.

Heading 58.01 (relevant portions)

58.01: Woven pile fabrics and chenille fabrics, other than fabrics of heading 58.02 or 58.06.
Of cotton:

5801.26.00 00: - - Chenille fabrics
- Of man-made fibres:

5801.36.00 00: - - Chenille fabrics

5801.90: - Of other textile materials

5801.90.90.00: - - - Other

Guidelines and General Information

1. Pile fabrics are generally composed of a ground or base fabric using warp and weft yarns, which support the pile surface. The pile can be raised loops, tufts (cut loops), cut interlacings of double cloths, or other yarns or fibres deliberately placed to stand away from the fabric.

2. Chenille fabrics have a pile that is created by the use of chenille yarns. Explanatory Note (B) to heading 58.01 states that:

"Chenille fabrics are very similar to the chenille carpets of heading 57.02; like these, their pile surface (usually on both sides) is produced by chenille yarns. They are generally manufactured by means of an additional weft of chenille yarn or by inserting chenille yarn, in different lengths and colours, into the warp during weaving of the ground fabric. "

3. Chenille yarn is described in Explanatory Note (B) to heading 56.06, as follows:

4. In classifying fabric containing chenille yarn where the textile material of the loop or tuft differs from that of the ground fabric, reference must be made to Subheading Note 2 to Section XI.

5. Part (A) to that note directs that products of Chapters 56 to 63 containing two or more textile materials are to be regarded as consisting wholly of that textile material which would be selected under Note 2 to this Section for the classification of a product of Chapters 50 to 55 or of heading 58.09 consisting of the same textile materials.

6. Part (B) provides three instructions for the application of this rule:

7. Subheading Note 2 to Section XI indicates that in classifying textile products consisting of a ground fabric and a pile surface, no account shall be taken of the ground fabric. Fabrics containing chenille yarns qualify as a pile fabric, as outlined in the Explanatory Notes to heading 58.01. Paragraph (B) of Subheading Note 2 therefore applies, and the ground fabric is not taken into account in the determination of classification.

8. Accordingly, the classification of chenille fabrics is based on the composition of the chenille yarn and occurs under the provisions of heading 58.01.

9. The exception is instances in which chenille yarns are minimal or incidental to the composition of the fabric, such as in the presence of an occasional decorative emblem or tuft of chenille yarn. In terms of a percentage measurement, this exception would apply to cases where the percentage of chenille yarn is less than 1% of the total composition of the fabric. In such cases, the fabric will not be regarded as a chenille (or pile) fabric, and classification will be based on composition and construction of the entire fabric.

Additional Information

10. For certainty regarding the tariff classification of a product, importers may request an advance ruling for tariff classification. Details on how to make such a request are found in Memorandum D11-11-3, Advance Rulings for Tariff Classification.

11. For more information, within Canada call the Border Information Service at 1-800-461-9999. From outside Canada call 204-983-3500 or 506-636-5064. Long distance charges will apply. Agents are available Monday to Friday (08:00 – 16:00 local time / except holidays). TTY is also available within Canada: 1-866-335-3237.

References

Issuing office:
Trade and Anti-dumping Programs Directorate
Headquarters file:
HS 5801.26, HS 5801.36
Legislative references:
Customs Tariff
Explanatory Notes to the Harmonized Commodity Description and Coding System
Other references:
Memorandum D11-11-3
Superseded memorandum D:
D10-17-40 dated March 23, 2006
Date modified:

Le classement tarifaire du tissu de chenille tissé
Mémorandum D10-17-40

ISSN 2369-2405

Ottawa, le 9 juin 2015

Ce document est disponible en format PDF (65 Kb) [aide sur les fichiers PDF]

En résumé

Les modifications supplémentaires liées à la révision du texte qui ont été apportées ne modifient aucunement les politiques ou procédures existantes comprises dans le présent mémorandum.

Le présent mémorandum donne une vue d'ensemble de la politique administrative de l'Agence des services frontaliers du Canada (ASFC) relative au classement tarifaire du tissu de chenille tissé à partir de deux fils ou plus de fils textiles.

Législation

Tarif des douanes

2. A) Les produits textiles des Chapitres 50 à 55 ou des nos 58.09 ou 59.02 contenant deux ou plusieurs matières textiles sont classés comme s'ils étaient entièrement constitués de la matière textile qui prédomine en poids sur chacune des autres matières textiles. Lorsqu'aucune matière textile ne prédomine en poids, le produit est classé comme s'il était entièrement constitué de la matière textile qui relève de la position placée la dernière par ordre de numérotation parmi celles susceptibles d'être valablement prises en considération.

B) Pour l'application de cette règle :

C) Les dispositions des paragraphes A) et B) s'appliquent aussi aux fils spécifiés aux Notes 3, 4, 5 ou 6 ci-après.

La position 58.01 (portions pertinentes)

58.01 : Velours et peluches tissés et tissus de chenille, autres que les articles des nos 58.02 ou 58.06
- De coton :

5801.26.00 00 : - - Tissus de chenille
- De fibres synthétiques ou artificielles :

5801.36.00 00 : - - Tissus de chenille

5801.90 : - D'autres matières textiles

5801.90.90.00 : - - - Autres

Lignes directrices et renseignements généraux

1. Les velours et peluches sont composés en général d'un tissu de fond fabriqué à partir de fils de genre chaîne ou de trames qui soutiennent la surface veloutée. Le velours peut être constitué par des boucles droites, des touffes (des boucles coupées), des entrecroisements coupés de tissus doubles ou d'autres fils placés délibérément pour se démarquer du tissu.

2. Les tissus de chenille comportent un poil créé par l'utilisation de fils de chenille. Les Notes explicatives B du nº 58.01 déclare que :

« Les velours et autres tissus de chenille s'apparentent aux tapis de chenille du nº 57.02 : comme ces derniers, leur surface veloutée (généralement sur les deux faces) est produite par des fils de chenille et ils sont obtenus généralement à l'aide d'une trame supplémentaire formée de fils de chenille ou bien en insérant en chaîne, durant le tissage du tissu de fond, des morceaux de fils de chenille de couleurs et de longueurs différentes. »

3. Le fil de chenille est décrit à la Note explicative B de la position 56.06 :

4. Le classement des tissus qui contiennent un fil de chenille et où la matière textile de la boucle ou de la touffe est différente du tissu de fond, il faut se référer à la Note 2 de la sous-position tarifaire de la Section XI.

5. Partie A) de cette note indique que les produits des Chapitres 56 à 63 contenant deux ou plusieurs matières textiles sont considérés comme entièrement constitués de la matière textile qui serait retenue conformément à la Note 2 de la présente Section pour le classement d'un produit des Chapitres 50 à 55 ou du nº 58.09 obtenu à partir des mêmes matières.

6. Partie B) fournit trois directives pour l'application de cette règle:

7. La Note 2 de la sous-position de la Section XI mentionne que, dans le classement de produits de matière textile comprenant un tissu de fond et une surface veloutée, le tissu de fond ne sera pas considéré. Les tissus qui contiennent des fils de chenille présentent les mêmes caractéristiques qu'un tissu velouté, tel qu'il est indiqué ci-dessus dans les Notes explicatives de la position 58.01. Toutefois, le paragraphe (B) de la Note 2 de la sous-position s'applique et le tissu de fond n'est pas considéré dans la détermination du classement.

8. Par conséquent, le classement des tissus de chenille est basé sur la composition du fil de chenille et s'effectue en vertu des dispositions du nº 58.01.

9. Cette ligne directrice doit être suivie sauf dans les cas où l'emploi de fils chenille est minime ou accessoire dans la composition du tissu, comme en présence d'un emblème décoratif occasionnel ou d'une touffe de fils chenille. Exprimée en pourcentage, l'exception s'applique dans les situations où le pourcentage du fil chenille est inférieur à 1 % de la composition totale du tissu. Dans ces cas, le tissu ne serait pas considéré comme étant un tissu de chenille (ou de velours) et le classement est basé sur la composition et la construction du tissu en entier.

Renseignements supplémentaires

10. Les importateurs qui veulent s'assurer du classement tarifaire d'un produit peuvent demander une décision anticipée de classement tarifaire. Des précisions sur la manière de présenter une telle demande se trouvent dans le Mémorandum D11-11-3, Décisions anticipées en matière de classement tarifaire.

11. Pour plus d'information, si vous êtes au Canada, communiquez avec le Service d'information sur la frontière au 1-800-461-9999. De l'extérieur du Canada, composez le 204-983-3500 ou le 506-636-5064. Des frais d'interurbain seront facturés. Les agents sont disponibles durant les heures normales d'ouverture des bureaux (8 h à 16 h, heure locale), du lundi au vendredi (sauf les jours fériés). Un ATS est aussi disponible pour les appels provenant du Canada : 1-866-335-3237.

Références

Bureau de diffusion :
Direction des programmes commerciaux et antidumping
Dossier de l'administration centrale :
HS 5801.26 ou HS 5801.36
Références légales :
Tarif des douanes
Autres références :
Mémorandum D11-11-3
Ceci annule le mémorandum D :
D10-17-40 daté le 23 mars 2006
Date de modification :