Value for Duty of Certain Information-based Products
Memorandum D13-11-2

Ottawa, July 17, 2013

This document is also available in PDF (213 Kb) [help with PDF files]

In Brief

  • The editing revisions made in this memorandum do not affect or change any of the existing policies or procedures.

This memorandum outlines and explains the manner in which the value for duty of certain information-based products is to be determined under the Customs Act.

Legislation

Sections 44 to 55 of the Customs Act

Guidelines and General Information

1. "Information-based products" consist of information in one form or another (including sound and image recordings) together with the physical medium on which that information is carried.

2. For customs purposes, "information-based products" include the following:

  1. Positive moving picture film prints;
  2. Plans, drawings, and blueprints;
  3. Printing plates and images used for printing;
  4. Television and radio commercials;
  5. Recorded magnetic tape; and
  6. Pre-recorded tapes and records used in broadcasting or in the production of other material for broadcasting.

3. This memorandum does not apply to goods which are distributed through normal marketing channels for sale in the consumer market. Such products would generally include musical recordings, books, recorded video cassettes, standard plans freely offered for sale without further adaptation, etc. The methods of determining value for duty under sections 48 to 53 of the Customs Act are applicable to these goods.

4. This memorandum does not cover the method of determining the value for duty of computer software. For information concerning computer carrier media, refer to Memorandum D8-3-15, Computer Carrier Media Remission Order.

5. If a consideration is associated with importations of information-based products, it may be comprised of two components:

  1. An amount for the physical medium and the cost of transcribing the information onto the physical medium (i.e. the medium processed or containing information); and
  2. An amount for the information contained on the physical medium or rights for use thereof (usually referred to as a royalty, copyright, licence fee, etc.).

6. Importations of information-based products may involve a sale whereby the purchaser acquires ownership of all information contained on the medium. In a sale for export to Canada to a purchaser that qualifies as a "purchaser in Canada", the value for duty is determined under the transaction value method (section 48 of the Customs Act).

7. For example, a television commercial is made in a foreign country for broadcasting in Canada. It is sold by the foreign supplier to a party in Canada who acquires ownership of and exclusive rights to the commercial. The value for duty of the commercial is equal to the price paid or payable by the party for the physical product and the rights associated to that product.

8. This principle of valuation is also applicable where a person in Canada makes a television commercial in a foreign country for broadcasting in Canada. Value for duty must take into account the total production costs incurred to produce the commercial in the foreign country. Production costs would include elements such as talent fees, travel, production facilities, etc.

9. Information-based products may be acquired free of charge or by a consideration being paid for the right to use the information on the physical medium. In these circumstances, value for duty is determined under the residual basis of appraisal method (section 53 of the Customs Act) on the basis of the value of the processed physical medium (containing the information).

10. As an example, if a pre-recorded tape is acquired free of charge for reference or broadcasting purposes, then value for duty is the value of the medium plus the cost of transcribing the information onto the medium. Similarly, where a radio commercial is imported and payment is made only for the right to broadcast the commercial, value for duty is equal to the value of the processed physical medium (containing the information).

Additional Information

11. For more information, within Canada call the Border Information Service at 1-800-461-9999. From outside Canada call 204-983-3500 or 506-636-5064. Long distance charges will apply. Agents are available Monday to Friday (08:00 – 16:00 local time/except holidays). TTY is also available within Canada: 1-866-335-3237.

References

Issuing office:
Trade Programs Directorate
Headquarters file:
79070-4-9
Legislative references:
Customs Act, sections 48 to 53
Other references:
D8-3-15
Superseded memorandum D:
D13-11-2, April 12, 2001
Date modified:

Valeur en douane de certains produits d’information
Mémorandum D13-11-2

Ottawa, le 17 juillet 2013

Ce document est disponible en format PDF (280 Kb) [aide sur les fichiers PDF]

En résumé

  • Les modifications supplémentaires liées à la révision du texte qui ont été apportées ne modifient aucunement les politiques ou procédures existantes comprises dans le présent mémorandum.

Ce mémorandum énonce et explique comment déterminer la valeur en douane de certains produits d'information conformément à la Loi sur les douanes.

Législation

Articles 44 à 55 de la Loi sur les douanes

Lignes directrices et renseignements généraux

1. Les « produits d'information » comprennent l'information sous une forme ou une autre (y compris les enregistrements de sons et d'images), ainsi que le support d'information.

2. Aux fins des douanes, les « produits d'information » comprennent les produits suivants :

  1. copies de films positifs cinématographiques;
  2. plans, dessins et épreuves;
  3. planches d'impression et images à imprimer;
  4. annonces publicitaires pour la radio et la télévision;
  5. bandes magnétiques préenregistrées;
  6. rubans et disques préenregistrés utilisés dans la radiodiffusion ou dans la production d'autres produits aux fins de radiodiffusion.

3. Le présent mémorandum ne s'applique pas aux marchandises qui sont distribuées sur le marché par les moyens normaux afin d'être vendues au consommateur. Les marchandises ainsi distribuées comprennent généralement des enregistrements musicaux, des livres, des vidéocassettes préenregistrées et des plans-norme vendus librement sans être modifiés, etc. Les méthodes d'établissement de la valeur en douane en vertu des articles 48 à 53 de la Loi sur les douanes sont utilisées à l'égard de ces marchandises.

4. Le présent mémorandum ne traite pas des méthodes d'établissement de la valeur en douane à utiliser pour les logiciels. Pour obtenir plus de renseignements concernant les supports de transmission de données, consultez le Mémorandum D8-3-15, Décret de remise sur les supports de transmission de données.

5. Si l'importation de produits d'information entraîne une compensation, celle-ci peut avoir deux composantes :

  1. un montant pour le support et le coût de reproduction de l'information sur le support (c'est-à-dire le support traité ou contenant l'information);
  2. un montant pour l'information contenue sur le support ou pour les droits ayant trait à l'information (désignés habituellement comme étant les redevances, les droits d'auteur, les droits de licence, etc.).

6. Dans certains cas, les produits d'information importés font l'objet d'une vente en vertu de laquelle l'acheteur acquiert le droit de propriété de toute l'information contenue sur le support. Lors d'une vente pour exportation au Canada à un acheteur admissible à titre « d'acheteur au Canada », la valeur en douane est déterminée selon la méthode de la valeur transactionnelle (article 48 de la Loi sur les douanes).

7. Par exemple, une annonce publicitaire pour la télévision est produite dans un pays étranger aux fins de diffusion au Canada. Cette annonce publicitaire est vendue par le fournisseur étranger à un acheteur au Canada qui en acquiert le droit de propriété et l'exclusivité. La valeur en douane de l'annonce est égale au prix payé ou à payer par l'acheteur au Canada pour le produit-même et les droits qui s'y rattachent.

8. Ce principe d'établissement de la valeur s'applique également lorsqu'une personne au Canada fait une annonce publicitaire télévisée dans un pays étranger aux fins de diffusion au Canada. La valeur en douane doit être déterminée en tenant compte du coût total de production engagé dans le pays étranger, c'est-à-dire le cachet des artistes, les frais de déplacement, la location des installations, etc.

9. Les produits d'information peuvent être acquis sans frais ou moyennant une compensation pour le droit d'utiliser l'information que contient le support. Dans de tels cas, la valeur en douane est déterminée en vertu de la dernière méthode d'appréciation (article 53 de la Loi sur les douanes) selon la valeur du support traité (contenant l'information).

10. à titre d'exemple, supposons qu'un ruban préenregistré est acquis sans frais aux fins de référence ou de diffusion, la valeur en douane est alors la valeur du support plus le coût de la reproduction de l'information sur le support. De même, si une annonce publicitaire radiophonique est importée et qu'on achète seulement le droit de diffuser cette annonce, la valeur en douane est égale à la valeur du support traité (contenant l'information).

Renseignements supplémentaires

11. Pour plus d'information, si vous êtes au Canada, communiquez avec le Service d'information sur la frontière au 1-800-461-9999. De l'extérieur du Canada, composez le 204-983-3500 ou le 506-636-5064. Des frais d'interurbain seront facturés. Les agents sont disponibles durant les heures normales d'ouverture des bureaux (8 h à 16 h, heure locale), du lundi au vendredi (sauf les jours fériés). Un ATS est aussi disponible pour les appels provenant du Canada : 1-866-335-3237.

Références

Bureau de diffusion :
Direction des programmes commerciaux
Dossier de l'administration centrale :
79070-4-9
Références légales :
Loi sur les douanes, articles 48 à 53
Autres références :
D8-3-15
Ceci annule le mémorandum D :
D13-11-2, le 12 avril 2001
Date de modification :