Treatment of Transportation Costs for Goods Delivered to a Location Outside of Canada for Subsequent Importation
Memorandum D13-3-5

Ottawa, April 28, 2015

This document is also available in PDF (53 KB) [help with PDF files]

In Brief

This memorandum provides guidance on the treatment of transportation costs in a calculation of value for duty in circumstances where a Canadian importer collects its goods at an intermediate point outside Canada and subsequently imports them into Canada.

Legislation

Customs Act
Direct Shipment of Goods Regulations

Guidelines and General Information

1. The value for duty of all goods imported into Canada must be established in accordance with the provisions set out in sections 44 to 55 of the Customs Act (the Act). The Act requires that transportation and associated costs to the place of direct shipment of the goods must be included in the calculation of value for duty. To determine how these costs are treated, the place of direct shipment must be established.

2. The place of direct shipment to Canada is the physical location of the goods where they begin their direct and uninterrupted journey to a specific destination in Canada. This will usually be the location where the goods are loaded onto the carrier with a specific location in Canada identified on transportation documents as their destination. If the journey is broken temporarily because the goods must change carriers, the goods are said to be transhipped. For more information on the place of direct shipment and transhipment, refer to Memorandum D13-3-4, Place of Direct Shipment.

3. Transportation and associated costs incurred after the imported goods leave the place of direct shipment are not included in the value for duty. For more information on transportation and associated costs, refer to Memorandum D13-3-3, Transportation and Associated Costs.

4. In support of a value for duty declaration, an importer must possess documentation that indicates the place and the date of direct shipment, and the event that caused the goods to be shipped to Canada. There is no single prescribed document from which this information is required to be obtained, and it may be necessary to acquire the documentation from sources other than the vendor (e.g., exporter, transportation company).

5. The transaction value method is the primary basis of determining the value for duty of imported goods and it is based upon the actual selling price of the goods.

6. Where a Canadian purchases goods from a foreign vendor but the goods are delivered to an intermediate point outside Canada for collection and subsequent importation, the place of direct shipment is the place from which the goods were shipped, provided that:

Note: In these circumstances, the intermediate point is considered a transhipment point.

7. For example, a Canadian resident in British Columbia purchases a set of cutlery via the internet from a vendor in California and the goods are delivered to a post-office address in Washington State. The Canadian then travels to the United States, collects the goods at the post-office and imports them upon return to Canada.

8. The amount charged by the vendor to ship the cutlery set to the post office is not included in the value for duty provided that the shipping charge is identified separately from the amount charged for the goods.

Additional Information

9. For more information, within Canada call the Border Information Service at 1-800-461-9999. From outside Canada call 204-983-3500 or 506-636-5064. Long distance charges will apply. Agents are available Monday to Friday (08:00 – 16:00 local time / except holidays). TTY is also available within Canada: 1-866-335-3237.

References

Issuing office:
Trade and Anti-dumping Programs Directorate
Headquarters file:
79070-4-4
Legislative references:
Customs Act
Direct Shipment of Goods Regulations
Other references:
D13-3-3, D13-3-4
Superseded memorandum D:
N/A
Date modified:

Traitement des coûts de transport pour les marchandises expédiées à un endroit à l’extérieur du Canada pour importation subséquente
Mémorandum D13-3-5

Ottawa, le 28 avril 2015

Ce document est disponible en format PDF (55 Ko) [aide sur les fichiers PDF]

En résumé

Le présent mémorandum fournit une orientation sur le traitement des coûts de transport dans le calcul de la valeur en douane lorsqu’un importateur canadien recueille ses marchandises à un point intermédiaire à l’extérieur du Canada et les importe par la suite au Canada.

Législation

Loi sur les douanes
Règlement sur l'expédition directe

Lignes directrices et renseignements généraux

1. La valeur en douane de toutes les marchandises importées au Canada doit être établie en vertu des dispositions énoncées dans les articles 44 à 55 de la Loi sur les douanes (la Loi). La Loi exige que les coûts de transport et frais connexes jusqu'au lieu d'expédition directe des marchandises doivent être inclus dans le calcul de la valeur en douane. Pour déterminer comment ces coûts sont traités, le lieu d'expédition directe doit être déterminé.

2. Le lieu d'expédition directe jusqu'au Canada est l'endroit physique des marchandises à partir duquel elles débutent leur transport direct et sans interruption vers une destination spécifique au Canada. Il s'agit habituellement de l'endroit où les marchandises sont chargées à bord du moyen de transport et où les documents de transport identifient clairement une destination spécifique au Canada. Lorsque le transport est interrompu temporairement pour le transfert des marchandises à un autre transporteur, les marchandises sont considérées comme étant transbordées. Pour de plus amples renseignements sur le lieu d'expédition directe et le transbordement, consultez le Mémorandum D13-3-4, Lieu d'expédition directe.

3. Les coûts de transport et frais connexes encourus après que les marchandises aient quitté le lieu d'expédition directe ne sont pas inclus dans la valeur en douane. Pour de plus amples renseignements sur les coûts de transport et frais connexes, consultez le Mémorandum D13-3-3, Coûts de transport et frais connexes.

4. À l'appui d'une déclaration de la valeur en douane, un importateur doit avoir en sa possession des documents qui indiquent le lieu et la date d'expédition directe, et l'événement qui a causé l'expédition des marchandises au Canada. Il n'existe aucun document précis duquel cette information doit être obtenue et il pourrait s'avérer nécessaire d'obtenir les documents d'une source autre que le vendeur (p. ex. exportateur, compagnie de transport).

5. La méthode de la valeur transactionnelle est la base principale pour la détermination de la valeur en douane des marchandises importées et elle se fonde sur le prix de vente réel des marchandises.

6. Lorsqu'un Canadien achète des marchandises d'un vendeur étranger mais les marchandises sont livrées à un point intermédiaire à l'extérieur du Canada pour la collecte et l'importation subséquente, le lieu d'expédition directe est l'endroit à partir duquel les marchandises ont été expédiées, à condition :

Note : Dans ces circonstances, le point intermédiaire est considéré comme un point de transbordement.

7. Par exemple, un résident canadien de la Colombie-Britannique achète un ensemble de coutellerie en ligne d'un vendeur situé en Californie et les marchandises sont livrées à un bureau de poste situé dans l'État de Washington. Le résident canadien se déplace ensuite aux États-Unis, recueille les marchandises au bureau de poste et les importe lors de son retour au Canada.

8. La somme demandée par le vendeur pour expédier l'ensemble de coutellerie vers le bureau de poste ne doit pas être incluse dans la valeur en douane si les frais d'expédition et le montant imputé aux marchandises sont indiqués séparément.

Renseignements supplémentaires

9. Pour plus d'information, si vous êtes au Canada, communiquez avec le Service d'information sur la frontière au 1-800-461-9999. De l'extérieur du Canada, composez le 204-983-3500 ou le 506-636-5064. Des frais d'interurbain seront facturés. Les agents sont disponibles durant les heures normales d'ouverture des bureaux (8 h à 16 h, heure locale), du lundi au vendredi (sauf les jours fériés). Un ATS est aussi disponible pour les appels provenant du Canada : 1-866-335-3237.

Références

Bureau de diffusion :
Direction des programmes commerciaux et antidumping
Dossier de l'administration centrale :
79070-4-4
Références légales :
Loi sur les douanes
Règlement sur l'expédition directe
Autres références :
D13-3-3, D13-3-4
Ceci annule le mémorandum D :
s.o.
Date de modification :