Transaction Value Method of Valuation
Memorandum D13-4-1

Ottawa, August 22, 2013

This document is also available in PDF (271 Kb) [help with PDF files]

In Brief

  • The editing revisions made in this memorandum do not affect or change any of the existing policies or procedures.

This memorandum outlines the method of valuation contained in section 48 of the Customs Act.

Legislation

Sections 45 and 48 of the Customs Act

Guidelines and General Information

Transaction Value Defined

1. The transaction value is determined by ascertaining the price paid or payable for the goods when the goods are sold for export to Canada to a purchaser in Canada, and adjusting the price paid or payable in accordance with subsection 48(5) of the Customs Act. Subsection 48(1) identifies three requirements that must be met to apply the transaction value (assuming that the importer has complied with the remaining provisions of section 48). These requirements are:

Sold for Export to Canada

2. In order to apply section 48, the goods being appraised must be the subject of a sale for export to Canada. The term "sale" will be taken to mean the transfer of ownership of the goods for a monetary consideration. Goods which are not the subject of a sale cannot be valued under section 48.

3. Importers may be required to provide documentation such as invoices and bills of lading, which substantiate that the sale of the goods was a sale for export to Canada.

4. Refer to Memorandum D13-4-2, Customs Valuation: Sold for Export to Canada, to determine if a qualified sale has occurred.

Purchaser in Canada

5. In order to apply section 48, the goods being appraised must also be sold to a "purchaser in Canada." For the purposes of subsection 45(1) of the Act, "purchaser in Canada" means:

6. It may be necessary to use Memorandum D13-1-3, Customs Valuation – Purchaser in Canada Regulations, guidelines and test criteria to determine if the purchaser meets the requirements of the Customs Act.

Price Paid or Payable

7. Subsection 45(1) defines "price paid or payable" as the aggregate of all payments made or to be made, directly or indirectly, in respect of the goods by the purchaser to or for the benefit of the vendor.

8. Payment may be made by way of letters of credit or negotiable instruments, and may be made directly or indirectly. The term "price paid or payable" refers to the price for the imported goods. Thus the flow of other payments from the purchaser to the vendor may not relate to the imported goods and may not form part of the value for duty. Refer to Memorandum D13-4-3, Customs Valuation: Price Paid or Payable for a consideration of other payments, which form a part of the price paid or payable.

9. Activities undertaken by the purchaser on his own account, other than those for which an adjustment is provided for in paragraph 48(5)(a), are not considered to be an indirect payment to the vendor, even though they might be regarded as a benefit to the vendor. The cost of such activities shall not, therefore, be added to the price paid or payable for the imported goods.

Adjustments: Additions and Deductions

10. Having ascertained the price paid or payable, the next step in determining the transaction value involves making any of the adjustments, described in subsection 48(5), which may be appropriate.

11. To the extent that they are not already included in the price paid or payable, amounts equal to the following are to be added:

12. To the extent that they are already included in the price paid or payable, amounts equal to the following are to be deducted:

13. See Memorandum D13-4-7, Adjustments to the Price Paid or Payable for detailed addition and deduction allowances.

Limitations on the Use of Transaction Value

14. In order for a transaction value to be accepted as a value for duty, certain requirements must be met. The requirements are set out in subsection 48(1) and pertain to:

15. For more details, see Memorandum D13-4-4, Limitations on the Use of Transaction Value Method.

Additional Information

16. For more information, within Canada call the Border Information Service at 1-800-461-9999. From outside Canada call 204-983-3500 or 506-636-5064. Long distance charges will apply. Agents are available Monday to Friday (08:00 – 16:00 local time/except holidays). TTY is also available within Canada: 1-866-335-3237.

References

Issuing office:
Trade Programs Directorate
Headquarters file:
79070-4-4
Legislative references:
Customs Act
Other references:
D13-1-3, D13-4-2, D13-4-3, D13-4-4, D13-4-7
Superseded memorandum D:
D13-4-1, April 17, 2001
Date modified:

Méthode de la valeur transactionnelle
Mémorandum D13-4-1

Ottawa, le 22 août 2013

Ce document est disponible en format PDF (286 Kb) [aide sur les fichiers PDF]

En résumé

  • Les modifications supplémentaires liées à la révision du texte qui ont été apportées ne modifient aucunement les politiques ou procédures existantes comprises dans le présent mémorandum.

Le présent mémorandum énonce la méthode de détermination de la valeur en douane conformément à l'article 48 de la Loi sur les douanes.

Législation

Articles 45 et 48 de la Loi sur les douanes

Lignes directrices et renseignements généraux

Définition de la valeur transactionnelle

1. Lors d'une vente de marchandises pour exportation au Canada à un acheteur au Canada, la valeur transactionnelle est le prix payé ou à payer, ajusté conformément au paragraphe 48(5) de la Loi sur les douanes. Le paragraphe 48(1) établit trois exigences qui doivent être remplies pour appliquer la méthode de la valeur transactionnelle (en supposant que l'importateur se soit conformé aux autres dispositions de l'article 48). Ces exigences sont les suivantes :

Vente pour exportation au Canada

2. Pour que la détermination de la valeur des marchandises soient visées par l'article 48, elles doivent faire l'objet d'une vente pour exportation au Canada. Le terme « vente » désigne le transfert de propriété des marchandises en échange d'une contrepartie monétaire. Les marchandises qui ne font pas l'objet d'une vente ne peuvent être déterminées en vertu de l'article 48.

3. Les importateurs peuvent avoir à fournir des documents comme des factures et des connaissements pour prouver qu'il s'agit bien d'une vente de marchandises pour exportation au Canada.

4. Consultez le Mémorandum D13-4-2, Valeur en douane : vendues pour exportation au Canada, afin de déterminer si une vente valide a eu lieu.

Acheteur au Canada

5. Pour que la détermination de la valeur des marchandises soient visées par l'article 48, elles doivent aussi être vendues à un « acheteur au Canada ». Pour l'application du paragraphe 45(1) de la Loi, « acheteur au Canada » s'entend :

6. Pour déterminer si un acheteur satisfait aux exigences de la Loi sur les douanes, il est peut être nécessaire de vérifier les lignes directrices et les critères énoncés dans le Mémorandum D13-1-3, Valeur en douane – Règlement sur l'acheteur au Canada.

Prix payé ou à payer

7. Le paragraphe 45(1) définit l'expression « prix payé ou à payer » comme la somme de tous les versements effectués ou à effectuer par l'acheteur directement ou indirectement au vendeur ou à son profit, en paiement des marchandises.

8. Le paiement peut être effectué au moyen de lettres de crédit ou d'instruments négociables, et peut être fait directement ou indirectement. L'expression « prix payé ou à payer » désigne le prix des marchandises importées. Ainsi, les autres montants versés par l'acheteur au vendeur peuvent ne pas se rapporter aux marchandises importées et peuvent ne pas faire partie de la valeur en douane. Consultez le Mémorandum D13-4-3, Valeur en douane : prix payé ou à payer, pour un examen des autres paiements qui font partie du prix payé ou à payer.

9. Les activités entreprises par l'acheteur pour son propre compte, autres que celles pour lesquelles un ajustement est prévu à l'alinéa 48(5)a), ne sont pas considérées comme un paiement indirect au vendeur, même si l'on peut considérer que le vendeur en bénéficie. Les coûts relatifs à ces activités ne seront donc pas ajoutés au prix payé ou à payer pour les marchandises importées.

Ajustements : additions et déductions

10.  Après avoir établi le prix payé ou à payer, l'étape suivante de la détermination de la valeur transactionnelle consiste à faire les ajustements décrits au paragraphe 48(5), qui peuvent être jugés nécessaires.

11.  Dans la mesure où ils ne sont pas déjà compris dans le prix payé ou à payer, les montants représentant les frais suivants doivent être ajoutés :

12.  Dans la mesure où ils sont déjà compris dans le prix payé ou à payer, les montants représentant les frais suivants doivent être retranchés :

13.  Consultez le Mémorandum D13-4-7, Ajustements au prix payé ou à payer, au sujet des allocations détaillées pour les additions et les déductions.

Limitations à l'utilisation de la valeur transactionnelle

14.  Pour que la valeur transactionnelle soit acceptée à titre de valeur en douane, certaines conditions doivent être remplies. Celles-ci sont énumérées au paragraphe 48(1) et traitent des points suivants :

15.  Pour obtenir plus de précisions, consultez le Mémorandum D13-4-4, Limitations à l'utilisation de la méthode de la valeur transactionnelle.

Renseignements supplémentaires

16.  Pour plus d'information, si vous êtes au Canada, communiquez avec le Service d'information sur la frontière au 1-800-461-9999. De l'extérieur du Canada, composez le 204-983-3500 ou le 506-636-5064. Des frais d'interurbain seront facturés. Les agents sont disponibles durant les heures normales d'ouverture des bureaux (8 h à 16 h, heure locale), du lundi au vendredi (sauf les jours fériés). Un ATS est aussi disponible pour les appels provenant du Canada : 1-866-335-3237.

Références

Bureau de diffusion :
Direction des programmes commerciaux
Dossier de l'administration centrale :
79070-4-4
Références légales :
Loi sur les douanes
Autres références :
D13-1-3, D13-4-2, D13-4-3, D13-4-4, D13-4-7
Ceci annule le mémorandum D :
D13-4-1, le 17 avril 2001
Date de modification :