D5-1-5 - Damaged Mail
Memorandum D5-1-5

Last modified: 1995-09-29

Full Document: PDF (27 Kb) [help with PDF files]

Summary

This memorandum outlines and explains the procedures for the handling of damaged mail and defines the areas of responsibilities for repackaging.

Guidelines and General Information

1. Customs' liability in respect of Damaged Goods is outlined in subsection 40 (1.1) of the Canada Post Corporation Act: "Her Majesty and the Minister of National Revenue may be liable for any claim arising from the loss, delay or mishandling of anything posted while it is under the custody or control of a customs officer".

2. In some instances, international mail items are received in Canada with the wrapping in a damaged condition. Canada Post Corporation (CPC) is responsible for the repair to the packaging of any mail item damaged while in the course of post or while in customs control at the Customs Mail Centres. CPC is also responsible for the rewrapping of any mail items which are opened for a customs examination.

3. When a mail item with a damaged wrapper is found at the primary sorting area, the following procedures would apply:

4. If the customs officer determines that the mail item is not dutiable, customs is to stamp "Cleared Customs" and CPC is to stamp "Repaired by Canada Post" during the rewrapping process in preparation for delivery.

5. If the customs officer determines that the mail item is dutiable or subject to control, customs is to complete Form E 220, Parcel Pre-rate Label, prior to forwarding the mail item to CPC. CPC rewraps the mail item and returns it to customs' secondary processing area with Form E 220 attached. The customs officer in the secondary area will use the damaged goods comments section in the automated system to record that customs received the mail item in damaged condition.

6. When opening a mail item for customs examination, care is taken not to damage the contents. However, when a customs officer inadvertently damages the contents, he must make a full report on the circumstances and extent of the damage to the customs superintendent. The customs officer may close the mail item with tape to avoid losing the contents but it is CPC's responsibily to rewrap it before it is delivered to the importer.

Customs must advise the importer that a claim for the damages can be filed with the Department. Damage claims are to be processed in accordance with the claim regulations outlined in Financial Administration bulletin F-95-003, Claims and Ex Gratia Payments.

7. When mail items are opened for customs examination and the contents are discovered to be damaged or broken, the customs officer is to indicate in the damaged goods comment screen of the computer that the mail item was received in damaged condition. He must also mark "Received in Damaged Condition" on the outside wrapper of the mail item. If the contents are dutiable  and or taxable, a Customs Postal Import Form, Form E 14, is to be used to indicate the amount owing. The rating is to reflect the actual value of the goods in the damaged condition and is to be established in accordance with sections 73 to 75 of the Customs Act.

References

Issuing office:
NA
Headquarters file:
NA
Legislative references:
NA
Other references:
NA
Superseded memorandum D:
NA
Date modified:

Courrier endommagé
Mémorandum D5-1-5

Pour obtenir le document complet dans un autre format, veuillez faire parvenir une demande à : publishing.publications@cbsa-asfc.gc.ca

Document complet : PDF (28 Ko) [aide sur les fichiers PDF]
Modifié le : 1995-09-29

En résumé

Le présent mémorandum décrit et explique les procédures établies pour le traitement du courrier endommagé et définit le partage des responsabilités ayant trait au remballage.

Lignes directrices et renseignements généraux

1. Les responsabilités des douanes en ce qui a trait au courrier endommagé sont décrites au paragraphe 40(1.1) de la Loi sur la  Société canadienne des postes en ces termes : « Sa Majesté et le ministre du Revenu national peuvent être responsables des pertes, retards ou erreurs de traitement subis par une chose qui a été postée pendant qu'elle était sous la garde ou la responsabilité d'un agent des douanes ».

2. L'emballage des envois postaux du régime international est parfois endommagé lorsque l'envoi arrive au Canada. C'est à la Société canadienne des postes (SCP) qu'il incombe de réparer l'emballage de tout envoi postal endommagé en cours d'acheminement ou pendant qu'il se trouve sous la responsabilité des douanes à un Centre de courrier des douanes. La SCP est également responsable du remballage des envois postaux que les agents des douanes ouvrent pour en examiner le contenu. 

3. Lorsque l'on constate, au moment du tri primaire, que l'emballage d'un envoi postal est endommagé, il faut proceder comme suit :

4. Si l'agent des douanes détermine que l'envoi postal n'est pas imposable, les douanes y apposent le timbre « Dédouané », et la SCP estampille « Réparé par Postes Canada », pendant que l'on procède au remballage en vue de la livraison. 

5. Si l'agent des douanes détermine que l'envoi postal est imposable ou soumis à un contrôle, il remplit le formulaire E 220, étiquette de prétarification des colis, avant de le transmettre à la SCP. L'employé de la SCP remballe l'envoi postal, y joint le formulaire E 220, et le renvoie au poste d'examen secondaire des douanes où l'agent de service inscrit, à la section des remarques du système automatisé concernant les marchandises endommagées, que la douane a reçu l'envoi postal endommagé.

6. Lorsque l'agent des douanes ouvre un envoi postal pour l'examiner, il doit veiller à ne pas en endommager le contenu; mais s'il le fait par inadvertance, il devra présenter au surintendant des douanes un rapport détaillé  sur les circonstances et l'étendue des dommages. Pour éviter de perdre le contenu, cet agent peut fermer l'envoi  postal au moyen de ruban adhésif, mais c'est a la SCP qu'il incombe de le remballer avant qu'il soit livré à l'importateur. Celui-ci devra être avisé qu'il peut présenter une réclamation en dommages-intérêts au Ministère. Les réclamations seront traitées conformément aux dispositions qui sont énoncées dans le bulletin de l'Administration financière F-95-003, Réclamations et paiements à titre gracieux.

7. Lorsqu'un  agent des douanes ouvre un envoi postal pour l'examiner et constate que le contenu est endommagé ou brisé, il doit indiquer, sur l'écran des remarques du système automatisé concernant les marchandises endommagées, que l'envoi  postal a été reçu endommagé et inscrire  sur l'emballage extérieur « Reçu endommagé ». S'il y à des droits ou des taxes a payer sur le contenu, le montant dû doit être indiqué  sur le Formulaire douanier des importations postales, le formulaire E 14. Le montant à payer est établi en fonction de la valeur réelle des marchandises endommagées, conformément aux articles 73 à 75 de la Loi sur les douanes.

Références

Bureau de diffusion :
s.o.
Dossier de l'administration centrale :
s.o.
Références légales :
s.o.
Autres références :
s.o.
Ceci annule le mémorandum D :
s.o.
Date de modification :