Combatting Counterfeit Products

Request for Assistance application

Who can apply

To submit a Request for Assistance (RFA) application, you must be a legitimate Canadian rights holder. Trademarks must be registered with the Canadian Intellectual Property Office (CIPO). It is recommended that copyright also be registered with CIPO. For more information on registering a copyright or trademark with CIPO please visit its webpage at www.cipo.ic.gc.ca.

How to apply

Requesting help from the Canada Border Services Agency (CBSA) is optional. To apply, you must complete and submit the application form. The information you provide will be used to determine your eligibility. You should also review the Privacy Statement, the Consent and Certification on the application form.

Complete the request for assistance

Each rights holder must complete a separate form. There is no registration fee, but trademark rights holders must be registered with CIPO to apply.

The application process takes approximately four to six weeks. Send completed application forms to the following address:

CBSA Intellectual Property Rights Program
Commercial Registration (HQ)
191 Laurier Avenue West, 12th Floor
Ottawa, ON K1A 0L8

Or email the scanned copy of your completed application form to: cbsa-asfc_ipr-dpi@cbsa.gc.ca

Once your eligibility has been confirmed, you will receive an approval letter outlining specific program details.

Conditions

As a registrant of the CBSA's Intellectual Property Rights program, you agree to comply with Canadian laws and regulations. You also agree to make sure that all information you provide to the CBSA is accurate and reflective of trademark or copyright information provided to CIPO.

By filing an RFA you acknowledge that you become liable to the government for any costs related to storage, handling and destruction of detained goods that arise, beginning the day after a notice of detention is sent to you.

You must respond quickly to CBSA notices and take appropriate steps to ensure your intellectual property rights are upheld. If you do not respond in a prompt manner, you may have to pay more for storage costs. Unnecessary delays may be taken into account when determining your eligibility for renewal in the Intellectual Property Rights program.

The CBSA may, as a condition of accepting an RFA or extending a request's period of validity, require that the copyright and/or trademark owner provide a bond in an amount and form decided by the CBSA, for the payment for any storage, handling and destruction costs incurred for detained goods that arise beginning the day after a notice of detention is sent to you.   

Change of information

You must notify the CBSA immediately if:

  • Your contact information changes (including address, telephone number);
  • Circumstances change that may affect your copyright and/or trademark registration with CIPO or the CBSA (such as a change in ownership of that copyright and/or trademark or its expiration).

Renewal

RFA applications remain valid for two years. After that, you will need to renew your enrollment with the CBSA.

The CBSA will not issue reminders that RFAs are about to expire. It is the right owner's sole responsibility to ensure renewal requests are received in time for processing.

Adherence to the CBSA's guidelines

You must comply with the CBSA's Intellectual Property Rights conditions and guidelines. If you do not comply, the CBSA may not be able to administer your RFA; non-compliance with reasonable conditions or guidelines could potentially be considered in civil actions involving suspect goods; and your future renewals may be affected.

Date modified:

Combattre la contrefaçon de produits
Formulaire de demande d'aide

Qui peut présenter une demande

Pour présenter une demande d'aide, vous devez être un détenteur/titulaire légitime de droits canadiens. Les marques de commerce et les indications géographiques doivent être enregistrées auprès de l'Office de la propriété intellectuelle du Canada (OPIC). Il est recommandé que les droits d'auteur soient également enregistrés auprès de l'OPIC. Pour de plus amples informations sur la manière d'enregistrer des droits d'auteur, des marques de commerce ou des indications géographiques auprès de l'OPIC, veuillez consulter la site Web de l'OPIC.

Comment présenter une demande

La demande d'aide auprès de l'Agence des services frontaliers du Canada (ASFC) est facultative. Pour présenter une demande, vous devez remplir le formulaire de demande d'aide et le soumettre à l'ASFC. L'information que vous fournirez sera utilisée pour déterminer votre admissibilité. Veuillez consulter la déclaration sur la protection des renseignements personnels, le consentement et la certification sur le formulaire de demande.

Remplir le formulaire de demande

Chaque détenteur/titulaire de droits doit remplir un formulaire séparé. Il n'y a pas de frais d'inscription, mais les détenteurs/titulaires de marques de commerce et d'indications géographiques doivent être inscrits auprès de l'OPIC pour faire une demande

Le processus de demande requiert approximativement de quatre à six semaines. Veuillez envoyer les formulaires de demande dûment remplis à l'adresse suivante :

191 Avenue Laurier Ouest
12e étage
Ottawa, ON
K1A 0L8

Ou envoyez une copie de votre demande remplie, balayée par scanner, à : cbsa-asfc_ipr-dpi@cbsa.gc.ca

Une fois votre admissibilité confirmée, vous recevrez une lettre d'approbation soulignant les détails spécifiques du programme.

Conditions

En qualité de participant au Programme des droits de propriété intellectuelle de l'ASFC, vous acceptez de vous conformer aux lois et aux règlements canadiens, ainsi que de vous assurer que l'information fournie à l'ASFC est exacte et représentative de l'information sur la marque de commerce, les indications géographiques ou les droits d'auteur fournie à l'OPIC.

En déposant une demande d'aide, vous reconnaissez que vous êtes redevable auprès du gouvernement pour tous les coûts d'entreposage, de manutention et de destruction des marchandises retenues encourus à compter de la journée suivant celle où l'avis de rétention vous a été envoyé.

Vous devez agir dans les plus brefs délais et de manière sincère en répondant aux avis de l'ASFC et prendre les mesures appropriées pour appliquer les droits ou décliner la possibilité de le faire. La prolongation de la rétention des marchandises pourrait augmenter les coûts d'entreposage que vous devrez payer. Des délais inutiles et répétés pourraient être pris en considération lors de la détermination de votre admissibilité lors du renouvellement de votre participation au programme des droits de propriété intellectuelle.

L'ASFC peut, comme condition d'acceptation d'une demande d'aide ou de prorogation d'une période de validité, exiger que le détenteur/titulaire d'un droit d'auteur, d'une marque de commerce ou d'une indication géographique fournisse une garantie, sous la forme d'un cautionnement dont le montant et la forme sont déterminés par l'ASFC, pour le paiement de tous les coûts encourus pour l'entreposage, la manutention et la destruction des marchandises retenues qui surviennent à compter du jour suivant l'envoi à votre attention de l'avis de rétention.

Modification des renseignements

Vous devez immédiatement prévenir l'ASFC en cas de :

Renouvellement

Les demandes d'aide demeurent valides pendant deux ans, après quoi votre inscription auprès de l'ASFC devra être renouvelée.

L'ASFC n'enverra pas de rappel à l'effet que les demandes d'aide arrivent à expiration. Il incombe au détenteur/titulaire du droit de s'assurer que les demandes de renouvellement sont reçues en temps voulu pour leur traitement.

De l'information supplémentaire sur le processus de renouvellement sera fourni à une date ultérieure.

Adhésion aux lignes directrices de l'ASFC

Vous devez satisfaire aux conditions et lignes directrices du Programme des droits de propriété intellectuelle de l'ASFC. Le défaut de respecter les conditions et lignes directrices raisonnables peut compromettre l'administration de votre demande d'aide, peut éventuellement entraîner des poursuites civiles impliquant les marchandises suspectes, et peut affecter de futurs renouvellements.

Date de modification :