SIMA Appeals relating to Subjectivity

Summaries of appeal decisions made by the CBSA pursuant to section 59(1)(a) and (e) of the Special Import Measures Act (SIMA) relating to the subjectivity of goods and the application of anti-dumping and countervailing duty assessments can be found below. Where the subjectivity of the goods is not in question, appeal decision summaries will not be posted due to the confidential nature of the applicant’s information.

Aluminum Extrusions

Appeal No: AE-1

Decision Date: April, 2017

Grounds of appeal:

The CBSA reviewed an accounting entry for the importation of certain aluminum extrusions and assessed both anti-dumping and countervailing duties. Upon appeal, it was claimed that the goods met the following exclusion:

Aluminum extrusions produced from a 6063 alloy type with a T5 temper designation and forming part of the Vario System™ 20, 30, 40, 45 and 60 series line of profiles, or equivalent, having a length of either 4.5 or 5.8 m and a straightness tolerance of +/-1.5 mm or less per 6.0 m of length, for use in those parts of mechanical systems and automated machinery, such as gantry systems and conveyors, where precise linear movement is required.

Decision: Denied

Reason:

The information provided was unclear regarding the straightness tolerance and did not include any evidence regarding the end use of the goods. As the goods did not meet all the criteria of the exclusion, they are not excluded from the finding.

Refund: N/A

Appeal No: AE-2

Decision Date: 2017-06-29

Grounds of appeal:

The importer’s position was that the goods were not subject as they were “aluminum extrusions produced from a 6063 alloy type with a T6 temper designation”, and that this initial prototype order was priced based on the cost of the aluminum only.

Decision: Denied

Reason:

The exclusion for aluminum extrusions for use in window frames is worded as follows:

Aluminum extrusions produced from a 6063 alloy type with either a T5 or a T6 temper designation, having a length of between 20 and 33 ft. (between 6.10 and 10.06 m), with a powder coat finish, which finish is certified to meet the American Architectural Manufacturers Association AAMA 2603 standard (“Voluntary Specification, Performance Requirements and Test Procedures for Pigmented Organic Coatings on Aluminum Extrusions and Panels”), for use in window frames.

The goods do not meet the minimum length threshold of 20 feet (6.1 meters). In addition, there was no evidence of alloy type or powder coat finish, and the goods were for sunroom walls and roofs. Therefore, the goods do not meet the terms of the exclusion.

The pricing of the goods is not relevant to subjectivity.

Refund: N/A

Appeal No: AE-3

Decision Date: 2017-06-29

Grounds of appeal:

The CBSA assessed anti-dumping and countervailing duty on certain aluminum products originating in China. The importer presented documentation showing that the aluminum goods are not produced via an extrusion process but via a die casting process.

Decision: Allowed

Reason:

Aluminum joints produced via a die casting process are not subject goods.

Refund: $5,000 to $25,000

Carbon Steel Welded Pipe 2

Appeal No: CSWP2-1

Decision Date: 2017-08-28

Grounds of appeal:

The CBSA assessed anti-dumping duty on an importation of certain carbon steel welded pipe originating in Chinese Taipei. Upon appeal, the importer contended that the goods were oil and gas line pipe made to API specifications exclusively, and thus excluded from the Finding.

Decision: Allowed

Reason:

A review of the documentation presented, the parties involved, and the goods demonstrated that the pipe was made to API specifications exclusively. The goods are thus excluded from the finding and are therefore not subject goods.

Refund: $5,000 to $25,000

Fasteners

Appeal No: F-1

Decision Date: 2017-05-10

Grounds of appeal:

The CBSA assessed anti-dumping duty based on electronic data accounting for an importation of carbon steel screws with the country of origin coded as CN (China). The importer presented documentation showing the origin as Switzerland (code CH) explaining that the improper coding was a broker error.

Decision: Allowed

Reason:

A review of the documentation submitted and vendor research demonstrates that the goods were manufactured in, and shipped to Canada from, Switzerland. Carbon steel screws originating from Switzerland are not subject to the SIMA measure in force.

Refund: $5,000 to $25,000

Appeal No: F-2

Decision Date: 2017-06-29

Grounds of appeal:

The CBSA assessed anti-dumping duty on an importation of screws originating in Chinese Taipei. The importer presented documentation claiming the screws were stainless steel and thus not subject to the finding.

Decision: Allowed

Reason:

A review of the documentation and research demonstrates that the screws are stainless steel. Stainless steel screws are no longer subject to the SIMA measure in force.

Refund: $5,000 to $25,000

Appeal No: F-3

Decision Date: 2017-06-29

Grounds of appeal:

The CBSA assessed anti-dumping duty on a few carbon steel screws originating in Chinese Taipei based on the limited information provided at the time of accounting. Upon appeal, the importer presented documentation indicating the goods are not subject to the SIMA measure in force.

Decision: Allowed

Reason:

The documentation demonstrates that the goods are special forcing screws for use as replacement parts in a Brake Anchor Pin and Bushing Service Set. The goods do not meet the definition in the Tribunal’s finding and thus not subject to the SIMA measure in force.

Refund: Less than $5,000

Appeal No: F-4

Decision Date: 2017-09-19

Grounds of appeal:

Anti-dumping duty was self-assessed at the time of importation on a consolidated shipment of carbon steel screws originating in Chinese Taipei. Upon appeal, the importer presented documentation indicating the goods are not subject to the SIMA measure in force.

Decision: Allowed

Reason:

A review of the documentation submitted demonstrates that the goods are Tinnerman style U-type spring nuts. U-type spring nuts are not subject to the SIMA measure in force.

Refund: Less than $5,000

Appeal No: F-5

Decision Date: 2017-10-16

Grounds of appeal:

Anti-dumping duty was assessed on carbon steel screws originating in Chinese Taipei and exported from the United States. Upon appeal, the importer presented documentation claiming that the screws were equivalent to the GRK RT Composite Trim head screws, which are excluded from the SIMA measure in force.

Decision: Allowed in Part

Reason:

The documentation submitted failed to demonstrate that the imported screws were equivalent to the excluded GRK screws. However, the exporter provided sufficient information to allow the CBSA to establish normal values for these screws. As a result, a partial refund of the anti-dumping duty was granted.

Refund: Over $25,000

Appeal No: F-6

Decision Date: 2017-11-23

Grounds of appeal:

Anti-dumping and countervailing duty was assessed on carbon steel screws originating in China and exported from the United States. Upon appeal, the importer presented documentation claiming that the screws were Aster screws, which are excluded from the finding.

Decision: Allowed

Reason:

The documentation submitted demonstrated that the imported screws were Aster screws. As these screws are excluded from the finding, a full refund of the anti-dumping and countervailing duty was granted.

Refund: $5,000 to $25,000

Appeal No: F-7

Decision Date: 2017-11-29

Grounds of appeal:

Anti-dumping duty was assessed on carbon steel screws originating in Chinese Taipei and exported from the United States. The importer’s position was that the goods (assorted wood screws contained within a carrying case) were not subject as they were packaged with a pocket hole jig system as part of a tool promotion and not imported under their own tariff item.

Decision: Denied

Reason:

The CBSA, in determining whether or not goods are subject to a Tribunal finding, relies on the definition of subject goods contained within the finding, regardless of tariff classification. Additionally, the CBSA considers the nature of the product as opposed to how a product is labelled or portrayed.

Paragraph 30 in the Statement of Reasons for appeal no. AP-2008-006 provided guidance with regards to the functionality of goods packaged together and the separation of these goods for the purpose of applying anti-dumping duties under SIMA. The Tribunal is of the view that the parts must be integral to the functional purpose of a system and that separating the parts for the purpose of applying anti-dumping duties must not deprive the system of its functionality.

In this instance the screw kit included with the joinery jig system, being extraneous to the functionality of the jig system itself, is gratuitous and, as such, is considered a separate good.

Refund: N/A

Steel Grating

Appeal No: SG-1

Decision Date: 2017-07-21

Grounds of appeal:

The importer’s position was that the goods (cut and customized steel grating originating in the People’s Republic of China i.e., fabricated grating) were not subject as they formed part of steel structures, were classified under the Customs Tariff as steel structures, and thus had lost the characteristics of gratings.

Decision: Denied

Reason:

Paragraph 44 of the Canadian International Trade Tribunal (Tribunal) order RR-2015-001 states “Logically, there is a point at which grating loses its identity as grating, for example, after it is incorporated into a complex industrial structure”. The Merriam-Webster’s Collegiate Dictionary defines “incorporate” as “to unite or work into something already existent so as to form an indistinguishable whole”. This terminology is specific and distinct from other terms such as “for use in” or “part of”.

Whether or not goods are subject to a finding is based on their state or condition at the time of importation. In this case, although the imported gratings were fabricated for use in accompanying steel structures, at the time of importation the gratings were in their own separate containers, and were not physically attached, joined or wrought into a structure. They therefore had the characteristics of gratings. They were also invoiced separately at a price different than the steel structures. The Tribunals description of fabricated gratings includes finishing such as kick plates, cut-outs, nosing and welding. The use of the terms “e.g.” and “for example” indicates that this list of finishing is not exhaustive. Thus the fact that some of the grating pieces had additional finishing is not determinative.

The Customs Tariff and the principles identified in the General Interpretive Rules are not determinative of the issue of whether or not goods constitute subject goods. Rather, the question of subjectivity is based on the definition of subject goods contained in the Tribunal finding, which in this case does not include specific tariff classification(s).

Refund: N/A

Date modified:

Appels en vertu de la LMSI sur des questions d'assujettissement

Ci-dessous, le résumé des décisions rendues par l'ASFC en réponse à des appels sous le régime des alinéas 59(1)a) et e) de la Loi sur les mesures spéciales d'importation (LMSI), sur des questions d'assujettissement (de telles ou telles marchandises) et d'imposition de droits antidumping et compensateurs. Dans les cas où la question de l'assujettissement n'a pas été soulevée, nous n'afficherons pas de résumé vu la confidentialité des données du demandeur.

Extrusions d’aluminium

No du dossier d’appel : AE-1

Date de la décision : avril 2017

Motifs d’appel :

L’ASFC a examiné une déclaration en détail relative à l’importation de certaines extrusions d’aluminium et a imposé des droits antidumping et des droits compensateurs. Dans le cadre de l’appel, on a fait valoir que les marchandises satisfont aux critères de l’exclusion suivante :

Les extrusions d’aluminium fabriquées d’un alliage de type 6063 dont la désignation de l’état est T5 et faisant partie de la ligne de profilés des séries 20, 30, 40, 45 et 60 du Vario SystemMC, ou l’équivalent, d’une longueur de 4,5 ou 5,8 m et la tolérance de cambrage d’au plus +/-1,5 mm sur 6,0 m de longueur, destinées à être utilisées dans les parties de systèmes mécaniques et de machines automatisées, telles que les systèmes à portiques et les convoyeurs, qui requièrent un déplacement linéaire précis.

Décision : Rejeté

Raison :

Les renseignements fournis n’indiquaient pas clairement la tolérance de cambrage et ne comprenaient pas d’éléments de preuve concernant l’utilisation finale des marchandises. Comme les marchandises ne satisfont pas à tous les critères de l’exclusion, elles ne sont pas exclues de la conclusion.

Remboursement : S.O.

No du dossier d’appel : AE-2

Date de la décision : 2017-06-29

Motifs d’appel :

Selon l’importateur, les marchandises n’étaient pas visées puisqu’elles répondent aux critères de l’exclusion à titre d’« extrusions d’aluminium fabriquées d’un alliage de type 6063 dont la désignation de l’état est T6 » et le prix de la première commande du prototype s’appuyait sur le coût de l’aluminium seulement.

Décision : Rejeté

Raison :

Le libellé de l’exclusion des extrusions d’aluminium destinées à être utilisées dans les cadres de fenêtres est le suivant :

Les extrusions d’aluminium fabriquées d’un alliage de type 6063 dont la désignation de l’état est T5 ou T6, d’une longueur qui varie entre 20 et 33 pi (entre 6,10 et 10,06 m), enduites d’un fini de poudre, ce fini respectant les exigences de la norme AAMA 2603 de la American Architectural Manufacturers Association, « Spécification volontaire, exigences de rendement et procédures d’essai pour les revêtements organiques pigmentés sur les extrusions d’aluminium et les panneaux », destinées à être utilisées dans les cadres de fenêtres.

Les marchandises n’atteignent pas la longueur minimale de 6,1 mètres (20 pieds). De plus, il n’y avait aucune preuve du type d’alliage ou d’un fini de poudre, et les marchandises étaient destinées à être utilisées dans des murs et des toits de verrière. Donc, les marchandises ne répondent pas à tous les critères établis par le Tribunal.

Le prix des marchandises ne s’applique pas à la subjectivité.

Remboursement : S.O.

No du dossier d’appel : AE-3

Date de la décision : 2017-06-29

Motifs d’appel :

L’agence de services frontaliers du Canada a imposé un droit antidumping et compensateur visant certains produits en aluminium originaires de Chine. L’importateur a présenté de la documentation attestant que les marchandises en aluminium ne sont pas produites à l’aide d’un procédé d’extrusion, mais plutôt au moyen d’un procédé de moulage sous pression.

Décision : Accueilli

Raison :

Les joints en aluminium fabriqués au moyen d’un procédé de moulage sous pression ne font pas partie des marchandises en cause.

Remboursement : De 5 000 $ à 25 000 $

Tubes soudés en acier au carbone 2

No du dossier d’appel : CSWP2-1

Date de la décision : 2017-08-28

Motifs d’appel :

L’Agence des services frontaliers du Canada a imposé des droits antidumping sur certains tubes soudés en acier au carbone importés originaires du Taipei chinois. En appel, l’importateur a soutenu que les marchandises étaient des tubes pour les canalisations de pétrole et de gaz fabriqués exclusivement pour répondre aux normes de l'API et que par conséquent, ils étaient exclus des conclusions.

Décision : Accueilli

Raison :

L’examen de la documentation présentée, les parties en cause et les marchandises ont démontré que les tubes étaient fabriqués exclusivement pour répondre aux normes de l'API. Par conséquent, les marchandises sont exclues des conclusions et ne font pas partie des marchandises en cause.

Remboursement : De 5 000 $ à 25 000 $

Pièces d’attache

No du dossier d’appel : F-1

Date de la décision : 2017-05-10

Motifs d’appel :

L’ASFC a imposé des droits antidumping en fonction d’une déclaration en détail des données transmise par voie électronique relativement à une importation de vis en acier au carbone portant le code de pays d’origine CN (Chine). L’importateur a présenté des documents indiquant que le pays d’origine est la Suisse (code CH) et expliquant que l’utilisation du mauvais code était une erreur du courtier.

Décision : Accueilli

Raison :

Un examen des documents présentés et des recherches sur le fournisseur démontrent que les marchandises ont été fabriquées en Suisse et expédiées au Canada depuis la Suisse. Les vis en acier au carbone en provenance de la Suisse ne sont pas visées par la mesure en vigueur en vertu de la LMSI.

Remboursement : De 5 000 $ à 25 000 $

No du dossier d’appel : F-2

Date de la décision : 2017-06-29

Motifs d’appel :

L’ASFC a imposé des droits antidumping sur une importation de vis provenant du Taipei chinois. L’importateur a présenté des documents déclarant que les vis étaient en acier inoxydable, et donc, non visées par les conclusions.

Décision : Accueilli

Raison :

Après avoir examiné les documents et fait des recherches, on a déterminé que les vis sont en acier inoxydable. Les vis en acier inoxydable ne sont plus visées par la mesure en vigueur de la LMSI.

Remboursement : De 5 000 $ à 25 000 $

No du dossier d’appel : F-3

Date de la décision : 2017-06-29

Motifs d’appel :

L’ASFC a imposé des droits antidumping à l’égard de quelques vis en acier au carbone provenant de Taïpei en fonction des renseignements limités fournis au moment de la déclaration en détail. Dans le cadre de l’appel, l’importateur a présenté de la documentation indiquant que les marchandises ne sont pas visées par la mesure en vigueur en vertu de la LMSI.

Décision : Accueilli

Raison :

La documentation démontre que les marchandises sont des vis de pression spéciales utilisées en tant que pièces de rechange dans un axe d’ancrage de frein et un ensemble de bagues. Les marchandises ne correspondent pas à la définition contenue dans les conclusions du Tribunal et ne sont donc pas visées par la mesure en vigueur en vertu de la LMSI.

Remboursement : Moins de 5 000 $

No du dossier d’appel : F-4

Date de la décision : 2017-09-19

Motifs d’appel :

Des droits anti-dumping ont été autocotisés au moment de l’importation relativement à une expédition groupée de vis en acier au carbone originaires du Taipei chinois. Lors de l’appel, l’importateur a présenté de la documentation indiquant que les marchandises ne sont pas visées par la mesure en vigueur en vertu de la LMSI.

Décision : Accueilli

Raison :

La documentation démontre que les marchandises sont des écrous à ressort en U Tinnerman. Les écrous à ressort en U ne sont pas visés par la mesure en vigueur en vertu de la LMSI.

Remboursement : Moins de 5 000 $

No du dossier d’appel : F-5

Date de la décision : 2017-10-16

Motifs d’appel :

Un droit antidumping a été imposé sur des vis en acier au carbone en provenance du Taïpei chinois et exportées des États-Unis. Dans le cadre de l’appel, l’importateur a présenté de la documentation, en soutenant que les vis en question étaient équivalentes à des vis à garniture de bois recyclé RT Composite Trim de GRK, lesquelles sont exclues de l’application de la mesure en vigueur en vertu de la LMSI.

Décision : Accueilli en partie

Raison :

La documentation présentée n’a pas démontré que les vis importées étaient équivalentes aux vis exclues de GRK. Cependant, l’exportateur a fourni suffisamment de renseignements pour permettre à l’ASFC d’établir les valeurs normales de ces vis. Par conséquent, un remboursement partiel du droit antidumping a été accordé.

Remboursement : Plus de 25 000 $

No du dossier d’appel : F-6

Date de la décision : 2017-11-23

Motifs d’appel :

Les droits antidumping et compensateurs ont été imposés sur des vis en acier au carbone originaires de Chine et exportées des États-Unis. Dans le cadre de l’appel, l’importateur a présenté de la documentation en soutenant que les vis en question étaient des vis Aster, et ces dernières sont exclues des conclusions.

Décision : Accueilli

Raison :

La documentation présentée par l’importateur prouvait que les vis importées étaient des vis Aster. Puisque ces vis sont exclues des conclusions, un remboursement complet des droits antidumping et compensateurs a été accordé.

Remboursement : De 5 000 $ à 25 000 $

No du dossier d’appel : F-7

Date de la décision : 2017-11-29

Motifs d’appel :

Un droit antidumping a été imposé sur des vis en acier au carbone en provenance du Taipei chinois et exportées des États-Unis. La position de l’importateur était que les marchandises (des vis à bois assorties contenues dans un étui de transport) n’étaient pas assujetties au droit, puisqu’elles avaient été emballées avec un système de guide-foret portatif dans le cadre de la promotion d’un outil et non importées selon leur propre numéro tarifaire.

Décision : Rejeté

Raison :

L’ASFC, pour déterminer si des marchandises sont assujetties à une conclusion du Tribunal, se fie à la définition des marchandises en cause contenue dans la conclusion, indépendamment du classement tarifaire. De plus, l’ASFC étudie la nature du produit et non la manière dont un produit est étiqueté ou décrit.

Le paragraphe 30 de l’exposé des motifs pour l’appel no AP-2008-006 donnait des consignes en ce qui concerne la fonctionnalité des marchandises emballées ensemble et la séparation de ces marchandises aux fins de l’application des droits antidumping prévus par la LMSI. Le Tribunal estime que les pièces doivent être partie intégrante de la fonctionnalité d’un système et que le fait de les séparer afin d’appliquer les droits antidumping ne doit pas priver le système de sa fonctionnalité.

En l’espèce, l’ensemble de vis compris avec le système de guide-foret, n’ayant aucun rapport avec la fonctionnalité du système de guide-foret en soi, est fourni à titre gratuit et, par conséquent, est considéré comme une marchandise distincte.

Remboursement : S.O.

Caillebotis en acier

No du dossier d’appel : SG-1

Date de la décision : 2017-07-21

Motifs d’appel :

L’importateur est d’avis que les marchandises (caillebotis en acier coupés et sur mesure originaires de la République populaire de Chine, c.-à-d. caillebotis transformés) ne sont pas visées puisqu’elles font partie de structures en acier, sont classées sous le régime du Tarif des douanes à titre de structures en acier et, ainsi, ont perdu les caractéristiques de caillebotis.

Décision : Rejeté

Raison :

Le paragraphe 44 de l’ordonnance RR-2015-001 du Tribunal canadien du commerce extérieur (TCCE) se lit comme suit : « Logiquement, il existe un point où le caillebotis perd sa qualité de caillebotis, par exemple lorsqu’il est intégré à une structure industrielle complexe. » Le dictionnaire Petit Robert définit « intégrer » comme suit : « Faire entrer dans un ensemble en tant que partie intégrante. » Ce terme est spécifique et distinct d’autres expressions, telles que « pour utilisation dans » ou « partie de ».

La question de savoir si les marchandises sont visées ou non par des conclusions dépend de leur état ou condition au moment de l’importation. Dans ce cas, bien que les caillebotis importés aient été transformés pour utilisation dans des structures en acier qui les accompagnaient, au moment de l’importation, ils se trouvaient dans leur propre conteneur séparé et n’étaient pas fixés ou joints, notamment par ouvraison, à une structure. Ils possédaient donc les caractéristiques de caillebotis. Ils étaient aussi facturés séparément, à un prix différant de celui des structures en acier. La description de caillebotis transformés du Tribunal comprend des finitions, telles que des garde-pieds, des éléments découpés, des nez de marche et des éléments soudés. L’utilisation de l’expression « par exemple » indique que cette liste de finitions n’est pas exhaustive. Par conséquent, le fait que certaines pièces de caillebotis aient reçu des finitions additionnelles n’est pas déterminant.

Le Tarif des douanes et les principes énoncés dans les règles générales d’interprétation ne sont pas déterminants pour la question de savoir si des marchandises correspondent ou non aux marchandises en cause. Plutôt, la question de l’assujettissement repose sur la définition des marchandises en cause contenue dans les conclusions du Tribunal, qui, dans ce cas, ne comprennent pas de classements tarifaires précis.

Remboursement : S.O.

Date de modification :