Administrative Monetary Penalty System
C011

Contravention

A person transacted or attempted to transact business as a customs broker, or held oneself out as a customs broker and did not hold a licence issued under subsection 9(1) of the Customs Act and was not qualified under the regulations, or duly authorized to transact business as a customs broker by a person who holds such a licence.

Penalty

Occurrence Penalty
1st $500 Footnote *
2nd $750
3rd and subsequent $1,500
Footnote *

A 30-day delay in the escalation of penalty levels from the first to the second will apply to this contravention. Should a second penalty with the same contravention be issued against the same client, the system will not escalate the penalty level to level two unless 30 days have transpired from when the first Notice of Penalty Assessment (NPA) was issued or the infraction occurred. The non-escalation rule applies from the first level to the second level only; it does not apply from the second to the third level.

Return to footnote * referrer

Penalty basis
Per client
Retention period
12 months

Guidelines

Non-compliance occurs when an unlicensed agent, or a person who is not qualified under the regulations or duly authorized to transact business as a customs broker by a person who holds a brokers licence performs customs brokers' licensed activities.

A penalty will be applied for each activity performed by an unlicensed broker, or by a person who is not qualified under the regulations or not duly authorized to transact business as a customs broker by a person who holds a brokers licence, and who performs customs brokers' licensed activities.

Transactions completed for additional clients, but found at the same time, will be assessed on a per client basis at the same level.

References

Legislation

Customs Act, subsection 9(4)

D-Memo

D1-6-1, Authority to Act as Agent

Other

Date modified:

Régime de sanctions administratives pécuniaires
C011

Infraction

Une personne a fait ou a tenté de faire profession de courtier en douane ou s'est présentée comme tel, sans détenir la licence délivrée en vertu du paragraphe 9(1) de la Loi sur les douanes. Cette personne n'était pas qualifiée en vertu du règlement ni dûment autorisée à faire des transactions à titre de courtier en douane, comme si elle détenait une telle licence.

Pénalités

Événement Pénalité
1re 500 $ Note de bas de page *
2e 750 $
3e et ultérieure 1 500 $
Note de bas de page *

Cette infraction accorde un délai de 30 jours avant que la pénalité ne passe du premier au deuxième niveau. Si une deuxième pénalité pour la même infraction était imposée au même client, le système ne passerait pas du premier au deuxième niveau de pénalité à moins que 30 jours ne se soient écoulés depuis l'émission du premier avis de cotisation de pénalité (ACP) ou la date à laquelle l'infraction s'est produite. Cette règle s'applique uniquement à la progression du premier au deuxième niveau de pénalité; elle ne s'applique pas à la progression du deuxième au troisième niveau de pénalité.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page *

Base de pénalités
Par client
Période de rétention
12 mois

Lignes directrices

Il y a infraction quand un représentant qui ne détient pas de licence, ou une personne qui n'est pas qualifiée en vertu du règlement ou qui n'est pas dûment autorisée par un courtier agréé à faire des transactions à titre de courtier en douane, exerce les fonctions d'un courtier en douanes.

On imposera une pénalité pour chaque activité effectuée par un courtier non agréé, par une personne qui n'est pas qualifiée en vertu de la réglementation ou qui n'est pas dûment autorisée par un courtier en douane agréé à faire des transactions à titre de courtier en douane, qui exerce les fonctions d'un courtier en douanes.

Dans le cas des transactions effectuées pour des clients additionnels, mais découvertes au même moment, les pénalités seront imposées en fonction de chaque client au même niveau.

Références

Autorité législative

Loi sur les douanes, paragraphe 9(4)

Mémorandum D

D1-6-1, Autorisation de transiger à titre de mandataire

Autre

Date de modification :