Administrative Monetary Penalty System


Person (Carrier) failed to report imported goods, to customs forthwith in writing at the nearest designated customs office that was open for business.


Occurrence Penalty
1st $2,000
2nd $4,000
3rd and subsequent $8,000
Penalty basis
Per shipment
Retention period
12 months


Non-compliance occurs when the carrier fails to report a shipment to customs in the prescribed manner at the nearest designated customs office. Non-compliance must be discovered through a CBSA initiated examination, tracer or audit.

For post-audit carrier, except air mode, no penalty assessed if carrier provides proof, within 24 hours of arrival of the shipment, that Cargo Control Document (CCD) was prepared for goods prior to their arrival in Canada, as per D3-1-1.

For Specified Goods, additional sanctions will apply, including seizure and/or ascertained forfeiture.

Carriers have only one obligation per arrival; that is to report. In scenarios where the carrier has met their one obligation and numerous shipments have not been reported on their conveyance, the CBSA can issue the penalties based on the number of shipments not reported – however only one Notice of Penalty Assessment (NPA) can be issued.



Customs Act, subsection 12(1)


D3-1-1, Policy Respecting the Importation and Transportation of Goods


Date modified:

Régime de sanctions administratives pécuniaires
C021

Infraction

Une personne (transporteur) a omis de déclarer immédiatement et par écrit des marchandises importées, au bureau de douane le plus proche qui soit ouvert.

Pénalités

Événement Pénalité
1re 2 000 $
2e 4 000 $
3e et ultérieure 8 000 $
Base de pénalités
Par expédition
Période de rétention
12 mois

Lignes directrices

Il y a infraction quand un transporteur ne déclare pas une expédition de la manière prescrite au bureau de douane désigné le plus près. L'inobservation doit avoir été détectée par le truchement d'un examen effectué par l'ASFC, d'une note circulante ou d'une vérification.

Pour un transporteur assujetti à la post-vérification, sauf dans le mode aérien, on n'impose aucune pénalité s'il fournit la preuve, dans les 24 heures suivant l'arrivée de l'expédition, que le document de contrôle du fret a été rédigé avant l'arrivée au Canada des marchandises visées, conformément au Mémorandum D3-1-1.

Quand des marchandises désignées sont en cause, des sanctions additionnelles s'appliquent, y compris la saisie et/ou la confiscation compensatoire.

Les transporteurs n'ont qu'une seule obligation à l'arrivée : déclarer les marchandises. Quand un transporteur remplit cette obligation, mais qu'il ne déclare pas toutes les expéditions à bord du moyen de transport, l'ASFC peut imposer des pénalités en fonction du nombre d'expéditions non déclarées; toutefois, un seul ACP sera signifié.

Références

Autorité législative

Loi sur les douanes, paragraphe 12(1)

Mémorandum D

D3-1-1, Politique relative à l'importation et au transport des marchandises

Autre

Date de modification :