Administrative Monetary Penalty System


Person who is required by subsection 22(1) of the Customs Act to keep records in respect of commercial goods, failed to keep records at the specified place for the prescribed period and in the prescribed manner, or failed to make those records available to an officer within the specified time or answer truthfully questions asked by an officer about the prescribed records.


Occurrence Penalty
1st $300 Footnote *
2nd $450
3rd and subsequent $900
Footnote *

A 30-day delay in the escalation of penalty levels from the first to the second will apply to this contravention. Should a second penalty with the same contravention be issued against the same client, the system will not escalate the penalty level to level two unless 30 days have transpired from when the first Notice of Penalty Assessment (NPA) was issued or the infraction occurred. The non-escalation rule applies from the first level to the second level only; it does not apply from the second to the third level.

Return to footnote * referrer

Penalty basis
Per instance
Retention period
36 months


Non-compliance occurs when the owner, operator or person in charge of company fails to:

  • keep prescribed records at specified place for three years in the prescribed manner; or
  • make prescribed records available to an officer within the time specified; or
  • answer truthfully questions asked by an officer about the prescribed records.

In the case of CSA transporters:

  • Commercial documentation (e.g., bill of lading, freight bill, waybill) requested at time of report should be limited to that necessary to make a risk determination for contraband or public safety (admissibility) and whether the goods are CSA eligible.
  • Records may include those which reflect the "start to end of a shipment", for example, bills of lading, invoices, and proof of delivery receipts for goods authorized for delivery to an approved importer.
  • Records may be hard copy or electronic; consolidated, multiple or separate records. Circumstances surrounding each request will determine how much time is reasonable to allow person to produce information.

For example, during CSA monitoring review, the carrier was requested to provide proof of delivery for 24 shipments. The carrier could only provide proof for 22 of the 24 shipments. The CSA accounts manager gave the carrier two time extensions in which to provide the proof for the remaining two shipments, but the carrier was unable to provide the requested documentation. C044 may be issued in this instance.

A warehouse check is conducted resulting in goods not accounted for and it is discovered that records are missing.

Carrier failed to provide documents requested in writing via the cargo tracing process.



Customs Act, subsection 22(1)




Date modified:

Régime de sanctions administratives pécuniaires
C044

Infraction

Une personne qui est tenue, en vertu du paragraphe 22(1) de la Loi sur les douanes, de conserver des documents sur les marchandises commerciales, a omis de conserver les documents prescrits pendant la période réglementaire, dans l'endroit désigné et de la façon prescrite par règlement, ou a omis de remettre ces documents à un agent dans les délais prescrits, ou de répondre véridiquement aux questions de l'agent sur les documents réglementaires.

Pénalités

Événement Pénalité
1re 300 $ Note de bas de page *
2e 450 $
3e et ultérieure 900 $
Note de bas de page *

Cette infraction accorde un délai de 30 jours avant que la pénalité ne passe du premier au deuxième niveau. Si une deuxième pénalité pour la même infraction était imposée au même client, le système ne passerait pas du premier au deuxième niveau de pénalité à moins que 30 jours ne se soient écoulés depuis l'émission du premier avis de cotisation de pénalité (ACP) ou la date à laquelle l'infraction s'est produite. Cette règle s'applique uniquement à la progression du premier au deuxième niveau de pénalité; elle ne s'applique pas à la progression du deuxième au troisième niveau de pénalité.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page *

Base de pénalités
Par cas
Période de rétention
36 mois

Lignes directrices

Il y a infraction lorsque le propriétaire, l'exploitant ou le responsable de l'entreprise omet de :

  • conserver les documents réglementaires de la façon prescrite pendant trois ans;
  • présenter les documents réglementaires à un agent dans les délais prescrits;
  • répondre honnêtement aux questions de l'agent concernant les documents réglementaires.

Dans le cas des transporteurs inscrits au PAD :

  • Au moment de la déclaration, seuls les documents commerciaux (p. ex. connaissement, facture de transport, bordereau d'expédition) qui permettent de déterminer le risque en cas de contrebande ou de sécurité publique (admissibilité), et d'établir si les marchandises sont admissibles au PAD, devraient être exigés.
  • Dans les documents requis, on peut inclure ceux qui démontrent « le cheminement d'une expédition » comme les connaissements, les factures et les preuves de livraison pour les marchandises autorisées pour la livraison auprès de l'importateur autorisé.
  • Les documents peuvent être sous forme de copie papier ou électronique, consolidée ou multiple, ou des documents distincts.

Les circonstances entourant chaque demande serviront à déterminer combien de temps il est raisonnable d'accorder à une personne pour présenter les renseignements requis.

On impose, par exemple, l'infraction C044 dans les cas suivants :

  • Au cours d'un examen de suivi du PAD, on a demandé à un transporteur de fournir une preuve de livraison pour 24 expéditions. Ce dernier a fourni des preuves pour seulement 22 d'entre elles. Le gestionnaire de compte du PAD a accordé au transporteur deux prolongations de délai pour fournir les deux preuves de livraison manquantes, mais celui-ci n'a pas été en mesure de présenter la documentation requise.
  • Une vérification est effectuée dans un entrepôt et permet de découvrir que des marchandises n'ont pas été déclarées en détail et que des documents manquent.
  • Le transporteur a omis de fournir les documents demandés par écrit par l'entremise du processus de suivi du fret.

Références

Autorité législative

Loi sur les douanes, paragraphe 22(1)

Mémorandum D

S/O

Autre

Date de modification :