Administrative Monetary Penalty System
C360

Contravention

Person (Importer) failed to account, or failed to provide interim accounting for imported goods at time of the release request.

Penalty

Occurrence Penalty
1st $2,000
2nd $4,000
3rd and subsequent $8,000
Penalty basis
Per shipment
Retention period
12 months

Guidelines

Failure to account for goods upon submission of a release request significantly impairs the CBSA’s ability to risk assess the admissibility of the good(s) ensuring the health, safety and security of Canadians.

Non-compliance occurs when it is found during an examination of goods based on a referral of the release request (e.g. RMD, PARS, B3) that goods are not accounted for by the importer at time of interim accounting or presentation of a B3, prior to the release of the goods at a customs office.

Applied against the importer.

Additional paperwork presented by the carrier at time of report in accordance with subsection 12 (1) of the Customs Act, does not exempt the importer from fulfilling their obligations to account for all goods under subsections 32(1) and (2) of the Customs Act.

In accordance with the Broker Licensing Regulations, carriers are not permitted to account for goods on behalf of an importer. In addition to the Regulations, Memorandum D1-6-1, Authority to Act as Agent, further stipulates an agent representing an importer for purposes of accounting for goods must be licensed to transact business with the CBSA as a licensed Customs broker OR act on behalf of the importer on a casual basis and without benefit of any compensation, fee or charge. This former requirement precludes carriers from acting on behalf of the importer unless they are a licensed custom broker.

The below scenarios are provided for purposes of properly administering C360:

Scenario 1

100 televisions are accounted for on the release request. Upon examination, the shipment is found to contain 100 televisions and 10 bicycles.

Or

100 televisions were accounted for on the release request. Upon examination, the shipment is found to contain 100 computers.

C360 would apply as the bicycles and/or computers were not accounted for at all.

Scenario 2

100 televisions were accounted for on the release request. Upon examination, the shipment is found to contain 150 televisions

C005 would be the more applicable penalty in this scenario since the commodity was accounted for (and, therefore, the CBSA is able to risk assess the commodity), but the quantity was inaccurate.

The Y50, Reject Document Control, process requesting corrected or additional information is a necessary step in order to reach a final release decision and to ensure the release request is true, accurate and complete. Issuance of a Y50 does not remove the applicability of an AMP penalty being issued as a result of the related contravention occurring.

Although a penalty may be applied under this contravention all OGD admissibility requirements must be met at time of release. OGDs may also apply their own administrative monetary penalties.

For failure to provide permits, licences, certificates, other documents or information that is required by OGDs, see C071. However, should circumstances arise where an undeclared commodity also results in failure to provide permits, licences, certificates, other documents or information that would have otherwise been required at time of release, C360 should be applied in lieu of C071.

For contraventions relating to undervaluation through false written receipts or information, see C348.

For failure by a carrier to report goods under subsection 12 (1), see C021.

For failure by a person who does not use the services of a carrier to report goods under subsections 12 (1) and (3), see C366.

For failure to account for imported goods found during a trade compliance verification or audit, see C070.

For administrative type errors, see C005.

References

Legislation

Customs Act, section 7.1

D-Memo

Other

Accounting for Imported Goods and Payment of Duties Regulations

Date modified:

Régime de sanctions administratives pécuniaires
C360

Infraction

Une personne (importateur) n'a pas fait la déclaration en détail ni fourni de déclaration provisoire pour des marchandises importées au moment de demander le dédouanement.

Pénalités

Événement Pénalité
1re 2 000 $
2e 4 000 $
3e et ultérieure 8 000 $
Base de pénalités
Par expédition
Période de rétention
12 mois

Lignes directrices

Le défaut de déclarer en détail des marchandises au moment de la présentation de la demande de mainlevée réduit de façon significative la capacité de l'ASFC d'évaluer le risque lié à l'admissibilité des marchandises en assurant la santé, la sûreté et la sécurité des Canadiens.

Il y a infraction quand on découvre durant un examen des marchandises, suite au renvoi d'une demande de mainlevée (p. ex. MDM, SEA, B3), que l'importateur n'a pas déclaré en détail des marchandises sur la déclaration provisoire ou  le formulaire B3, avant le dédouanement des marchandises dans un bureau de douanes.

L'infraction vise l'importateur.

La documentation supplémentaire qui accompagne la déclaration du transporteur en vertu du paragraphe 12(1) de la Loi sur les douanes, ne libère pas l'obligation de l'importateur de déclarer toutes les marchandises en détail en vertu des paragraphes 32(1) et (2) de la Loi sur les douanes.

Conformément au Règlement sur l'agrément des courtiers, un transporteur n'est pas autorisé à déclarer des marchandises en détail au nom d'un importateur. En plus du Règlement, le Mémorandum D1-6-1, Autorisation de transiger à titre de mandataire, stipule que le mandataire d'un importateur qui déclare des marchandises en détail doit être autorisé à transiger avec l'ASFC à titre de courtier en douane agréé OU à représenter occasionnellement l'importateur sans tirer de profits ou de rémunération, de frais ou de charges. Cette exigence interdit à un transporteur de transiger au nom d'un importateur à moins d'être un courtier en douane agréé.

Les scénarios ci-dessous sont présentés afin d'aider à appliquer correctement l'infraction C360 :

Scénario 1

Cent télévisions sont déclarées en détail sur une demande de mainlevée et, durant un examen, on découvre que l'expédition comprend cent télévisions et dix bicyclettes.

Ou

Cent télévisions sont déclarées en détail sur une demande de mainlevée et, durant un examen, on découvre que l'expédition contient cent ordinateurs.

On appliquerait l'infraction C360, car les bicyclettes et/ou les ordinateurs n'ont jamais été déclarés en détail. 

Scénario 2

Cent télévisions sont déclarées en détail sur une demande de mainlevée et, durant un examen, on découvre que l'expédition en contient 150.

L'infraction C005 conviendrait le mieux dans ce cas, car les marchandises ont été déclarées en détail et, par conséquent, l'ASFC est en mesure d'en évaluer le risque bien que la quantité soit erronée.

L'envoi du formulaire Y50, Contrôle des documents rejetés, qui est utilisé pour demander des corrections ou de l'information supplémentaire, est une étape nécessaire afin d'atteindre une décision de mainlevée finale et de s'assurer que la demande de mainlevée est véridique, exacte et complète. L'envoi de ce formulaire n'empêche pas d'imposer une pénalité du RSAP quand il y a infraction.

Bien qu'une pénalité puisse être imposée en vertu de cette infraction, toutes les exigences d'admissibilité des autres ministères gouvernementaux (AMG) doivent être satisfaites au moment du dédouanement. Les AMG peuvent également imposer leurs propres sanctions administratives pécuniaires.

En cas de non-présentation de permis, licences, certificats et autres documents ou renseignements exigés par les AMG, veuillez consulter l'infraction C071. Toutefois, quand la non-déclaration de marchandises entraîne aussi la non-présentation de permis, licences, certificats et autres documents ou renseignements qui auraient été exigés au moment du dédouanement, on doit imposer C360 et non C071.

En cas d'infraction visant la sous-évaluation des marchandises à l'aide de faux reçus ou renseignements écrits, veuillez consulter C348.

En cas de non-déclaration des marchandises par un transporteur en vertu du paragraphe 12(1), veuillez consulter C021.

En cas de non-déclaration des marchandises en vertu des paragraphes 12(1) et (3) par une personne qui n'utilise pas les services d'un transporteur, veuillez consulter C366.

En cas de non-déclaration des marchandises découvertes lors d'une vérification de l'observation des programmes commerciaux ou d'un audit, veuillez consulter C070.

En cas d'erreurs administratives, veuillez consulter C005.

Références

Autorité législative

Loi sur les douanes, article 7.1

Mémorandum D

Autre

Règlement concernant la déclaration en détail des marchandises importées et le paiement des droits

Date de modification :