2017-18 Departmental Results Report - Canada Border Services Agency
Status report on transformational and major Crown projects

Project name: Electronic Manifest (eManifest)

Description

eManifest is a major, transformative initiative and part of the measures put in place by the Government to enhance the safety and security of Canadians as well as international trade, while streamlining cross-border processes. When fully implemented, eManifest will require trade chain partners in all modes of transportation to electronically transmit advance commercial information to the CBSA within prescribed mode-specific timeframes.

Project outcomes

Industrial benefits

Sponsoring department

Canada Border Services Agency

Contracting authority

Participating departments

N/A

Prime contractor

N/A

Major subcontractors

IBM, Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Emerion, Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

Project phase

Closing Phase

Major milestones

Accomplished:

Progress report and explanation of variances

In September 2017, the CBSA received Treasury Board concurrence to proceed with the project closure of eManifest, given the attainment of its business goals, as set out in the revised project plan approved in June 2014, within the approved project authority. All required documentation for project closure is being finalized, with the expectation that the project will seek approval for closure in September 2018.

Project name: CBSA Assessment and Revenue Management (CARM)

Description

CARM is a multi-year initiative to modernize and optimize the CBSA’s commercial assessment and revenue collection processes and systems. When fully implemented, CARM will provide new and streamlined ways for commercial trade chain partners to interact with the CBSA, and will provide the CBSA with a modernized financial management regime focused on providing self-serve, client-based services and processes.

The CBSA collects over $30 billion in duties and taxes each year, making it the Government’s second largest revenue collector behind the Canada Revenue Agency. Ensuring the accurate and efficient assessment, collection and reporting of this revenue from importers is key to ensuring that the CBSA upholds its financial stewardship responsibilities. By simplifying the processes associated with the assessment and collection of duties and taxes for commercial clients, compliance with rules and regulations will also improve for commercial clients. Ultimately, doing business in Canada will be easier with the implementation of CARM.

Project outcomes

The transformation of the CBSA’s assessment and revenue management functions through CARM is intended to produce the following business outcomes:

Industrial benefits

The CARM project will benefit commercial trade chain partners and Canadian businesses by:

Sponsoring department

Canada Border Services Agency

Contracting authority

Public Services and Procurement Canada

Participating departments

Public Services and Procurement Canada
Shared Services Canada
Treasury Board Secretariat
Canada Revenue Agency

Prime contractor

Deloitte Inc., Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

Major subcontractors

Accenture, Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

Project phase

CARM Phase 1 was completed with the implementation of the Accounts Receivable Ledger (ARL) in January 2016.

The design stage of CARM Phase 2 (planning phase) is in progress.

Major milestones

Accomplished:

Planned:

Progress report and explanation of variances

Date modified:

Rapport sur les résultats ministériels 2017-2018 - Agence des services frontaliers du Canada
Rapport d'étape sur les projets de transformation et les grands projets de l'État

Nom du projet : Manifeste électronique

Description

Le Manifeste électronique est une initiative de transformation majeure qui fait partie des mesures que le gouvernement a prises pour rehausser la sûreté et la sécurité des Canadiens et des échanges internationaux tout en rationalisant les processus transfrontaliers. Lorsqu’il sera entièrement mis en œuvre, le Manifeste électronique exigera que les partenaires de la chaîne commerciale de tous les modes de transport transmettent l’information préalable sur les expéditions commerciales (IPEC) à l’ASFC par voie électronique dans des délais précis qui dépendent du mode de transport.

Résultats du projet

Retombées industrielles

Ministère parrain

Agence des services frontaliers du Canada

Autorité contractante

Ministères participants

S.O.

Entrepreneur principal

S.O

Principaux sous-traitants

IBM, Ottawa (Ontario) Canada
Emerion, Ottawa (Ontario) Canada

Phase du projet

Phase de clôture

Principaux jalons

Accomplis :

Rapport d'étape et explication des écarts

En septembre 2017, l’ASFC a reçu l’approbation du Conseil du Trésor pour procéder à la clôture du projet du Manifeste électronique, compte tenu de la réalisation de ses objectifs opérationnels, tels qu’ils sont énoncés dans le plan de projet révisé qui a été approuvé en juin 2014, dans le cadre de l’autorisation de projet approuvée. Tous les documents requis pour la clôture du projet sont en cours de mise au point, et on s’attend à ce que la clôture du projet soit approuvée en septembre 2018.

Nom du projet : Gestion des cotisations et des recettes de l'ASFC (GCRA)

Description

La GCRA est une initiative pluriannuelle visant la modernisation et l’optimisation des processus et des systèmes de cotisation et de perception des recettes du secteur commercial de l’ASFC. Une fois pleinement mise en œuvre, la GCRA offrira aux partenaires de la chaîne commerciale des façons nouvelles et rationalisées d’interagir avec l’ASFC, et à celle-ci un régime de gestion financière modernisé pour la prestation de services et de processus libre-service axés sur le client.

L’ASFC perçoit plus de 30 milliards de dollars en droits et taxes chaque année, ce qui fait de l’Agence le deuxième plus important percepteur de recettes du gouvernement, après l’Agence du revenu du Canada. L’ASFC se doit d’assurer l’établissement de cotisations, la perception de ces recettes auprès des importateurs et la reddition de comptes exacts et efficients afin de s’acquitter de ses responsabilités à l’égard de la gérance financière. Grâce à la simplification des processus associés à l’établissement de cotisations et à la perception des droits et taxes pour les clients du secteur commercial, l’observation des règles et des règlements s’améliorera également pour ces clients. Essentiellement, il sera plus facile de faire des affaires au Canada grâce à la mise en œuvre du projet de GCRA.

Résultats du projet

La transformation des fonctions d’établissement des cotisations et de gestion des recettes de l’ASFC grâce à la GCRA devrait produire les résultats opérationnels suivants :

Retombées industrielles

Les partenaires de la chaîne commerciale et les entreprises canadiennes bénéficieront du projet de GCRA grâce aux avantages suivants :

Ministère parrain

Agence des services frontaliers du Canada

Autorité contractante

Services publics et Approvisionnement Canada

Ministères participants

Services publics et Approvisionnement Canada
Services partagés Canada

Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor
Agence du revenu du Canada

Entrepreneur principal

Deloitte Inc., Ottawa (Ontario), Canada

Principaux sous-traitants

Accenture, Ottawa (Ontario), Canada

Phase du projet

La phase 1 du projet de GCRA s’est achevée avec la mise en œuvre du Grand livre des comptes clients (GLCC) en janvier 2016.

L’étape de conception de la phase 2 du projet de GCRA (phase de planification) est en cours.

Principaux jalons

Accomplis :

Prévus :

Rapport d'étape et explication des écarts

Date de modification :