Language selection

Search

Travel documents and identification requirements

From: Canada Border Services Agency

COVID-19: Latest update

Visit Current border measures and requirements for information about how COVID-19 is affecting travellers, border services, programs and business.

Make sure you carry proper identification for yourself and any children or minors travelling with you. You must be able to confirm your legal right or authorization to enter Canada at the border.

On this page

Residents returning to Canada

Planning travel to Canada? Visit COVID-19: Entering Canada requirements checklist for information about quarantine and your admissibility to Canada.

Carry a valid Canadian passport for all visits abroad, including visits to the United States (U.S.). It is the only universally accepted identification document, and it proves that you have a right to return to Canada.

Acceptable documents to denote identity and citizenship

Upon arrival at a Canadian port of entry, travellers must satisfy a CBSA border services officer (BSO) that they meet the requirements for entry into Canada. For Canadian citizens, permanent residents and persons registered under the Indian Act, this can be done through questioning and through verifying documentation such as a:

If you do not have a passport, and are returning to Canada, the following documents can denote identity and citizenship:

Permanent residents of Canada who are members of the NEXUS or FAST programs must travel with a passport and proof of permanent residence, and may be asked to present these documents to the officer upon arrival at the border.

Other acceptable documents for establishing Canadian citizenship

The following documents may be used to establish Canadian citizenship. Upon presentation by travellers, the documents should be supported by other government issued photo identification:

Other acceptable documents to support identity

The following documents may be used to establish your identity:

Acceptable documents for establishing Registered Indian Status and identity

Every person registered under the Indian Act can enter and remain in Canada by right as per subsection A19(1) of the Immigration and Refugee Protection Act. The Secure Certificate of Indian Status (SCIS), more commonly referred to as the Status card, is an identity document issued by Indian and Northern Affairs Canada confirming that the cardholder is registered as a Status Indian under the Indian Act.

Note: The Certificate of Indian Status (CIS) was replaced by the SCIS in 2009. Existing versions of the CIS will remain valid until their renewal date.

If you plan to travel to or transit through the U.S., we encourage you to visit the U.S. Customs and Border Protection website for information concerning the U.S. Western Hemisphere Travel Initiative, and the requirements to enter or return to the U.S.

Travel with children and minors

When travelling with a minor, you should:

A consent letter must include the custodial parents' or legal guardians':

Border services officers are always watching for missing children and may ask questions about any minors travelling with you.

To avoid delays, have your consent letter notarized to support its authenticity. For more information on consent letters and to download an interactive form, visit Recommended consent letter for children travelling abroad.

More information

International visitors to Canada

Find out if you can enter Canada

All international travellers must carry acceptable identification and a valid visa (if necessary) when entering Canada. A passport is recommended because it is the only reliable and universally-accepted travel and identification document for the purpose of international travel.

International transport companies, such as airlines, must make sure that travellers have proper, valid travel documents. If you do not have the proper documents, you may be delayed or refused entry into Canada. What you need will depend on where you are from, how you are travelling, and what documents you are travelling with. Consult entry requirements by country.

When you enter Canada, a border services officer will ask to see your passport and a valid visa, if you are arriving from a country for which one is required. Visit the Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship Canada website to learn more about what travel documents are required.

Citizens of the U.S. who are members of the NEXUS program may present their membership card as proof of identification and as a document that denotes citizenship, when arriving by air (when coming from the U.S.), land, or marine modes.

Citizens of the U.S. who are members of the FAST program may use their cards as proof of identity when arriving by land and marine modes only.

Permanent residents of the U.S. who are members of the NEXUS or FAST programs must travel with a passport and proof of permanent residence, and may be asked to present these documents to the officer upon arrival at the border.

Permanent residents of the U.S. who are members of NEXUS also need an Electronic Travel Authorization (eTA) when flying to or transiting through Canada. Citizens of the U.S. and Canada are exempted.

All visitors arriving from or transiting through the U.S. are encouraged to visit the U.S. Customs and Border Protection website for information concerning the U.S. Western Hemisphere Travel Initiative, and the requirements to enter or return to the U.S.

Electronic Travel Authorization

New entry requirement now in effect: visa-exempt foreign nationals need an Electronic Travel Authorization (eTA) to fly to or transit through Canada.

Exceptions, or visa-exempt foreign nationals, include:

Canadian citizens, including dual citizens, and Canadian permanent residents do not need to apply for an eTA.

Be prepared: Apply for an eTA before you book your flight to Canada. Most applicants get approved within minutes. However, some applications can take several days to process so don’t wait until the last minute.

More information

Fake websites

Travellers who apply for an eTA are advised to be cautious in all dealings with companies that claim to offer help in getting an eTA. These companies are not operating on behalf of the Government of Canada. Many have established websites that charge a fee to provide information and submit eTA applications.

This Government of Canada website is the official place to apply for an Electronic Travel Application.

Related links

Report a problem on this page

This email is to report problems or inaccuracies on a page. Spam and comments containing offensive language will be reported or deleted. For help with Canada Border Services Agency (CBSA) programs or services, contact border information services.

Report a problem by email
Date modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

Documents acceptables qui confirment la citoyenneté et l’identité lorsque vous voyagez seul ou avec des enfants ou des mineurs.

De: l'Agence des services frontaliers du Canada

COVID-19 : dernière mise à jour le

Consultez les Mesures et exigences actuelles à la frontière pour vous renseigner au sujet des répercussions de la COVID-19 sur les voyageurs, les services frontaliers, les programmes et les entreprises.

Assurez-vous d’avoir en main les pièces d’identité requises pour vous-même et pour tous les enfants ou mineurs qui voyagent avec vous. Vous devez être en mesure de prouver que vous avez le droit légal ou l’autorisation d’entrer au Canada à la frontière.

Sur cette page

Résidents qui reviennent au pays

Planifiez-vous un voyage au Canada? Consultez COVID-19 : Liste de vérification des exigences pour entrer au Canada pour vous renseigner aux sujets de la quarantaine et de votre admissibilité au Canada.

Ayez en votre possession un passeport canadien valide pour tous les voyages à l’étranger, y compris pour vous rendre aux États-Unis. C’est le seul document d’identité accepté universellement et qui prouve que vous avez le droit de revenir au Canada.

Documents acceptés comme preuve d’identité ou de citoyenneté

À l’arrivée à un point d’entrée canadien, les voyageurs doivent prouver à l’agent des services frontaliers de l’ASFC qu’ils satisfont aux exigences pour entrer au Canada. Les citoyens et résidents permanents canadiens et les personnes inscrites en vertu de la Loi sur les Indiens doivent par exemple répondre à des questions et présenter leurs documents aux fins de vérification, comme :

Si vous n’avez pas de passeport et revenez au Canada, les documents suivants peuvent servir à établir votre identité et votre citoyenneté :

Les résidents permanents du Canada qui participent au programme NEXUS ou EXPRES doivent voyager avec un passeport et une preuve de résidence permanente, et pourraient devoir présenter ces documents à un agent à leur arrivée à la frontière.

Autres documents acceptés comme preuve de citoyenneté au Canada

Les documents suivants peuvent servir à établir la citoyenneté canadienne. Ces documents devraient être accompagnés d’autres documents d’identification avec photo délivrés par le gouvernement :

Autres documents acceptés à titre de preuve d’identité

Les documents suivants peuvent servir à établir l’identité :

Documents acceptés comme preuve de statut d'Indien inscrit et d'identité

Toutes les personnes inscrites en vertu de la Loi sur les Indiens peuvent entrer et demeurer au Canada de droit en vertu du paragraphe A19(1) de la Loi sur l'immigration et la protection des réfugiés. Le certificat sécurisé de statut indien, plus communément appelé carte de statut, est une pièce d'identité qu'Affaires autochtones et du Nord Canada (AANC) délivre au titulaire pour confirmer qu'il est inscrit à titre d'Indien en vertu de la Loi sur les Indiens.

Nota : Le certificat sécurisé de statut indien a remplacé le certificat de statut indien (CSI) en 2009. Les versions existantes du CSI demeurent valides jusqu'à leur date de renouvellement.

Si vous prévoyez vous rendre aux États-Unis ou transiter par les États-Unis, nous vous encourageons à consulter le site Web du Service des douanes et de la protection des frontières des États-Unis (disponible en anglais seulement) pour obtenir de l'information sur l'Initiative relative aux voyages dans l'hémisphère occidental, et les exigences pour entrer ou revenir aux États-Unis.

Voyager avec des enfants et des mineurs

Lorsque vous voyagez avec un mineur, vous devez :

La lettre de consentement doit inclure les informations suivantes sur les parents ou les tuteurs légaux :

Les agents des services frontaliers sont aux aguets afin de repérer les enfants portés disparus et peuvent poser des questions au sujet des mineurs qui voyagent avec vous.

Pour éviter tout retard, faites certifier votre lettre de consentement par un notaire afin d’attester de son authenticité. Pour en savoir plus sur les lettres de consentement et pour télécharger un formulaire interactif, consultez la page Lettre de consentement recommandée pour les enfants voyageant à l’étranger.

Renseignements supplémentaires

Visiteurs au Canada

Vérifiez si vous pouvez entrer au Canada

Tous les voyageurs étrangers doivent être munis d’un document d’identité accepté et d’un visa valide (au besoin) à leur arrivée au Canada. Le passeport est recommandé puisque c’est le seul document d’identité et de voyage fiable et accepté universellement pour voyager à l’étrange.

Les compagnies internationales de transport, comme les transporteurs aériens, doivent s’assurer que les voyageurs ont des documents de voyage valides et appropriés. Si vous n’avez pas les bons documents, vous pourriez subir des retards ou vous voir refuser l’entrée au Canada. Les exigences diffèrent selon votre pays d’origine, le moyen de transport que vous avez choisi et les documents de voyage que vous avez en main. Consultez exigences d’admission selon le pays.

À votre arrivée au Canada, un agent des services frontaliers demandera à voir votre passeport et un visa valide si vous arrivez d’un pays dont les ressortissants doivent se procurer un visa. Visitez le site Web d’Immigration, Réfugiés et Citoyenneté Canada pour connaître les documents de voyage requis pour venir au Canada.

Les citoyens des États-Unis qui participent au programme NEXUS peuvent présenter leur carte de participant comme preuve d’identité, ou comme document indicatif de la citoyenneté, lorsqu’ils arrivent au Canada par voie aérienne (en provenance des États-Unis), terrestre ou maritime.

Les citoyens des États-Unis qui participent au programme EXPRES peuvent présenter leur carte de participant comme preuve d’identité, ou comme document indicatif de la citoyenneté, lorsqu’ils arrivent par voie terrestre ou maritime seulement.

Les résidents permanents des États-Unis qui participent au programme NEXUS ou EXPRES doivent voyager avec un passeport et une preuve de résidence permanente, et pourraient devoir présenter ces documents à un agent à leur arrivée à la frontière.

Les résidents permanents des États-Unis qui participent au programme NEXUS devront également obtenir une autorisation de voyage électronique (AVE) pour prendre un vol à destination du Canada ou y transiter vers leur destination finale. Cette exigence ne s’applique pas aux citoyens des États-Unis ou du Canada.

Nous encourageons tous les visiteurs revenant des États-Unis ou transitant par ce pays à consulter le site du Service des douanes et de la protection des frontières des États-Unis pour obtenir de l’information concernant l’Initiative relative aux voyages dans l’hémisphère occidental, et les exigences pour entrer ou revenir aux États-Unis.

Autorisation de voyage électronique

Les nouvelles exigences d’entrée sont maintenant en vigueur : les voyageurs étrangers qui ne sont pas visés par l’obligation de visa doivent obtenir une autorisation de voyage électronique (AVE) pour s’envoler vers le Canada ou pour y transiter.

Les exemptions, ou les voyageurs étrangers qui ne sont pas vises de l’obligation de visa, comprennent :

Les citoyens canadiens, y compris ceux qui ont la double citoyenneté, ainsi que les résidents permanents du Canada n’ont pas besoin de demander une AVE.

Soyez prêts : Demandez une AVE avant de réserver votre billet d’avion pour le Canada. La plupart des demandeurs voient leur demande acceptée en quelques minutes, mais le traitement de certaines demandes peut prendre plusieurs jours. Donc, n’attendez pas à la dernière minute.

Renseignements supplémentaires

Faux sites Web

Il est conseillé aux voyageurs qui demandent une AVE de faire preuve de vigilance à l’égard des compagnies qui prétendent offrir de l’aide pour l’obtention d’une AVE. Ces compagnies n’agissent pas au nom du gouvernement du Canada. Bon nombre ont mis en place des sites Web qui imposent des frais pour fournir de l’information et soumettre les demandes d’AVE.

Le site Web du gouvernement du Canada est le site officiel pour présenter une demande d’autorisation de voyage électronique.

Liens connexes

Date de modification :