Tariff Classification of Deactivated and Replica Firearms and Firearm Reproductions
Memorandum D10-14-52

Ottawa, May 9, 2014

This document is also available in PDF (53 Kb) [help with PDF files]

In Brief

  • The editing revisions made in this memorandum do not affect or change any of the existing policies or procedures.

This memorandum explains the Canada Border Services Agency's policy as it relates to the tariff classification of deactivated and replica firearms and firearm reproductions under the Customs Tariff.

Legislation

Customs Tariff

Criminal Code

Firearms Act

Export and Import Permits Act

Guidelines and General Information

1.   It should be noted that the following provisions have no bearing on the application of the import prohibition contained in tariff item 9898.00.00 of the Customs Tariff or any provisions of the Criminal Code, the Firearms Act or any related Act or Regulation. In this regard, refer to Memorandum D19-13-2, Importing and Exporting Firearms, Weapons and Devices, Customs Tariff, Criminal Code, Firearms Act, and Export and Import Permits Act.

2.   Importers should also bear in mind the decision of the Canadian International Trade Tribunal in Appeal AP-2001-064 that found certain replica firearms to be subject to the provisions of tariff item 9898.00.00. Accordingly, importers are strongly advised to seek an Advance Ruling for tariff classification, as directed in paragraph 10 of this memorandum, before purchasing and importing any replica firearms.

Definitions

Deactivated firearm
means a firearm that has been rendered inoperable by the removal of parts or portions of parts and the addition of pins and welds such that the firearm can no longer hold or fire ammunition. Firearms deactivation standards are outlined in Appendix D to Memorandum D19-13-2.
Firearm reproduction
means a fully operational firearm, which is manufactured to conform to the design specifications of an early model firearm, which is no longer commercially manufactured or marketed. This includes reproductions of flintlock, matchlock and wheel-lock muskets and pistols, and percussion-cap, muzzle-loading firearms.
Replica firearm
means any device designed or intended to exactly resemble or resemble with near precision, a firearm, but that itself is not a firearm and has been manufactured so it cannot be fired.

Tariff Classification Policy

3.   The following tariff classification guidelines are only applicable in those instances where the goods at issue are not subject to the provisions of tariff item 9898.00.00.

4.   For the purposes of tariff classification, deactivated firearms are still considered to be articles of Chapter 93. They are to be classified under the appropriate tariff item in Chapter 93. In the event that the deactivated firearm is over 100 years of age at the time of importation, it will be considered to be an antique of tariff item 9706.00.00.

5.   A reproduction firearm is to be classified under the appropriate heading of Chapter 93. Although a reproduction firearm may be manufactured to resemble an antique firearm, it is not considered to be an antique of tariff item 9706.00.00 unless the reproduction itself is over 100 years of age at the time of importation.

6.   Replica firearms are essentially life-size representations of actual firearms. They are principally designed for display purposes and are not considered to be models as provided for in the Explanatory Note to heading 95.03, Item (E). Since replica firearms are not operational and are essentially decorative in nature, they are to be classified on the basis of the material, which constitutes the essential character of the goods.

Example:
A replica firearm, which is manufactured from a zinc-aluminum alloy (approximately 95% zinc by weight), would be classified in heading 79.07 as an article of zinc.

Additional Information

7.   For certainty regarding the tariff classification of a product, importers may request an advance ruling. Details on how to make such a request are found in CBSA Memorandum D11-11-3, Advance Rulings for Tariff Classification, which is found on the CBSA Web.

8.   For more information, within Canada call the Border Information Service at 1-800-461-9999. From outside Canada call 204-983-3500 or 506-636-5064. Long distance charges will apply. Agents are available Monday to Friday (08:00 – 16:00 local time/except holidays). TTY is also available within Canada: 1-866-335-3237.

References

Issuing office:
Trade and Anti-dumping Programs Directorate
Headquarters file:
HS9301.90, HS 9302.00, HS0303.10, HS9303.20, HS9303.30 HS 9706.00, HS9898.00
Legislative references:
Customs Tariff
Criminal Code
Firearms Act
Export and Import Permits Act
General Rules for the Interpretation of the Harmonized System Explanatory Notes to the Harmonized Commodity Description and Coding System
Other references:
D11-11-3, D19-13-2
Superseded memorandum D:
D10-14-52 dated October 24, 2007
Date modified:

Classement tarifaire des armes à feu hors service, des répliques d’armes à feu et des reproductions d’armes à feu
Mémorandum D10-14-52

Ottawa, le 9 mai 2014

Ce document est disponible en format PDF (57 Kb) [aide sur les fichiers PDF]

En résumé

  • Les modifications supplémentaires liées à la révision du texte qui ont été apportées ne modifient aucunement les politiques ou procédures existantes comprises dans le présent mémorandum.

Le présent mémorandum explique la politique de l'Agence des services frontaliers du Canada (ASFC) relative au classement tarifaire d'armes à feu mises hors service, des répliques d'armes à feu et des reproductions d'armes à feu en vertu du Tarif des douanes.

Législation

Tarif des douanes

Code criminel

Loi sur les armes à feu

Loi sur les licences d'exportation et d'importation

Lignes directrices et renseignements généraux

1.   Il est important de noter que les dispositions suivantes n'ont aucune incidence sur l'application des dispositions ayant trait à la prohibition à l'importation du numéro tarifaire 9898.00.00 du Tarif des douanes ou sur toute autre disposition du Code criminel, de la Loi sur les armes à feu ou de toute autre loi ou tout autre règlement connexe. À cet égard, veuillez consulter le Mémorandum D19-13-2, Importation et exportation d'armes à feu, d'armes et de dispositifs, Code criminel, Loi sur les armes à feu et la Loi sur les licences d'exportation et d'importation.

2.   Les importateurs doivent aussi prendre en compte la décision du Tribunal canadien du commerce extérieur dans le cadre de l'appel no AP-2001-064, stipulant que certaines répliques d'armes à feu sont assujetties aux dispositions du numéro tarifaire 9898.00.00. Les importateurs sont donc fermement avisés d'obtenir une décision anticipée en matière de classement tarifaire, tel qu'énoncé dans le paragraphe 10 du présent mémorandum, avant d'acheter et d'importer toute réplique d'arme à feu.

Définitions

Arme à feu mise hors de service (neutralisée)
s'entend d'une arme à feu qui a été rendue inutilisable en enlevant des pièces ou des parties de pièces et en ajoutant des goupilles et des soudures qui empêchent l'arme à feu d'être chargée ou de tirer des munitions. Les normes de mise hors service des armes à feu sont décrites dans l'annexe D du Mémorandum D19-13-2.
Réplique d'arme à feu
s'entend de tout objet, qui n'est pas une arme à feu, conçu de façon à en avoir l'apparence exacte ou à la reproduire le plus fidèlement possible, ou auquel on a voulu donner cette apparence, et qui a été fabriqué de façon à empêcher de tirer des munitions.
Reproduction d'arme à feu
s'entend d'une reproduction d'arme à feu entièrement utilisable, qui a été fabriquée conformément aux spécifications de conception d'un ancien modèle d'arme à feu qui n'est plus fabriqué ou commercialisé. Cela comprend les reproductions de fusils et de pistolets à platine à silex, à platine à mèche et à platine à rouet ainsi que les armes à feu à capsule fulminante et à chargement par la bouche.

Politique de classement tarifaire

3.   Les lignes directrices suivantes vis à vis le classement tarifaire s'appliquent seulement si les marchandises en cause ne sont pas assujetties aux dispositions du numéro tarifaire 9898.00.00.

4.   Aux fins du classement tarifaire, les armes à feu mises hors service (neutralisées) sont toujours considérées comme étant des articles du Chapitre 93. Elles doivent être classées sous le numéro tarifaire approprié du
Chapitre 93. Si l'arme à feu mise hors service a été fabriquée plus de 100 ans avant l'importation, elle sera considérée comme étant une antiquité du numéro tarifaire 9706.00.00.

5.   Une reproduction d'arme à feu doit être classée sous la position appropriée du Chapitre 93. Bien qu'une reproduction d'arme à feu puisse avoir été fabriquée de façon à avoir l'apparence d'une antiquité, elle ne peut pas être considérée comme étant une antiquité du numéro tarifaire 9706.00.00 à moins qu'elle n'ait été fabriquée plus de 100 ans avant son importation.

6.   Les répliques d'armes à feu sont en fait des représentations exactes de vraies armes à feu. Elles sont essentiellement conçues aux fins d'exposition et elles ne sont pas considérées comme étant des modèles au sens de la Note explicative (E) de la position 95.03. Puisque les répliques d'armes à feu sont inutilisables et elles sont essentiellement décoratives, elles doivent être classées d'après la matière qui leur confère leur caractère essentiel.

Exemple :
Une réplique d'arme à feu fabriquée en alliage de zinc et d'aluminium (dont le zinc représente environ 95 % du poids) se classe sous la position 79.07 comme article de zinc.

Renseignements supplémentaires

7.   Les importateurs qui veulent s'assurer du classement tarifaire d'un produit peuvent demander une décision anticipée de classement tarifaire. Des précisions sur la manière de présenter cette demande sont données dans le Mémorandum D11-11-3, Décisions anticipées en matière de classement tarifaire, lequel se trouve aussi sur le site Web de l'ASFC.

8.   Pour plus d'information, si vous êtes au Canada, communiquez avec le Service d'information sur la frontière au 1-800-461-9999. De l'extérieur du Canada, composez le 204-983-3500 ou le 506-636-5064. Des frais d'interurbain seront facturés. Les agents sont disponibles durant les heures normales d'ouverture des bureaux (8 h à 16 h, heure locale), du lundi au vendredi (sauf les jours fériés). Un ATS est aussi disponible pour les appels provenant du Canada: 1-866-335-3237.

Références

Bureau de diffusion :
Direction des programmes commerciaux et antidumping
Dossier de l'administration centrale :
SH 9301.90, SH 9302.00, SH 0303.10, SH 9303.20,
SH 9303.30, SH 9706.00, SH 9898.00
Références légales :
Tarif des douanes
Code criminel
Loi sur les armes à feu
Loi sur les licences d'exportation et d'importation.
Règles générales pour l'interprétation du Système harmonisé Notes explicatives du Système harmonisé de désignation et de codification des marchandises
Autres références :
D11-11-3, D19-13-2
Ceci annule le mémorandum D :
D10-14-52 daté le 24 octobre 2007
Date de modification :