Advance Passenger Information / Passenger Name Record Program

The Advance Passenger Information / Passenger Name Record (API/PNR) program allows the CBSA to perform risk assessments on air travellers and crew while they are on their way to Canada.

Overview

Commercial airlines are required by law to provide the CBSA API and available PNR data for all travellers before a flight arrives in Canada.

Advance Passenger Information

API data is basic information about passengers and crew members. It includes your name, date of birth, gender, citizenship, and travel document data (e.g. passport number). This information is available from the machine-readable area of your passport. Commercial airlines collect additional API data when you check in including a unique passenger reference number or crew member identification. API data also includes your flight information such as flight number, arrival and departure times. 

Passenger Name Record

PNR data is information which comes from commercial airline's departure control and reservation systems. PNR data collection varies from one airline to the next. It can include: the type of ticket you have, the date of travel, the number of bags, and your seating information. Commercial airlines do not have to gather or provide any additional information not already collected for their own business purposes.

Interactive Advance Passenger Information

The Interactive Advance Passenger Information (IAPI) process allows commercial airlines to provide API/PNR data to the CBSA prior to take-off. This information helps commercial airlines determine whether or not you have the appropriate travel document to enter Canada (for example, Visa or Electronic Travel Authorization [eTA ]). Once the CBSA receives the information, the CBSA electronically sends a "board" or "no-board" message to commercial airlines before the individual boards a flight to Canada. Upon arrival in Canada, all travellers must still present themselves to a Border Services Officer, and present the appropriate travel documents.

Electronic Travel Authorization

New entry requirement now in effect: visa-exempt foreign nationals need an Electronic Travel Authorization (eTA) to fly to or transit through Canada. Exceptions include U.S. citizens and travellers with a valid Canadian visa. Canadian citizens, including dual citizens, and Canadian permanent residents cannot apply for an eTA.

Be prepared: Apply for an eTA before you book your flight to Canada. Most applicants get approved within minutes. However, some applications can take several days to process so don’t wait until the last minute. Get help if you have questions before, during or after you apply.

Fake websites

Travellers who apply for an eTA are advised to be cautious in all dealings with companies that claim to offer help in getting an eTA. These companies are NOT operating on behalf of the Government of Canada. Many have established websites that charge a fee to provide information and submit eTA applications.

This Government of Canada website is the official place to apply for an eTA.

How data is used

API/PNR data is used to identify high-risk individuals so the CBSA can closer question and examine them when they arrive in Canada.

It may also identify potential illegal activity such as:

  • terrorism or terror-related crimes
  • human smuggling or trafficking
  • narcotics smuggling
  • other serious transnational crimes

This information helps the CBSA to more efficiently process travellers entering Canada.

Privacy guidelines

The CBSA follows strict guidelines to protect the privacy of passengers and crew members. The data is stored in a secure system accessible only by authorized CBSA officers. The use of this data is subject to an audit process and users are liable for any misuse.
A summary of the API/PNR Program and its privacy implications can be found on the official Info Source web page.

Data retention

API/PNR data is kept for three-and-a-half years from the date of receipt and then destroyed. If the subject of API/PNR data is under active investigation, the information is transferred to a CBSA enforcement database and kept for up to six years.

Does the CBSA share API/PNR data?

API is only disclosed under the disclosure regime of s. 107 of the Customs Act and s. 8 of the Privacy Act.

When PNR data relates to terrorism or serious transnational crime, the CBSA may share it on a case-by-case basis with other government departments or foreign states. The CBSA will release the minimum amount of data necessary and where the other government departments or foreign states will provide the same type of protection offered by the CBSA. Refer to D1-16-3, Guidelines for the Access to, Use, and Disclosure of Advance Passenger Information (API) and Passenger Name Record (PNR) Data API/PNR program legislation.

Several pieces of legislation govern the CBSA's authority to collect API/PNR data, including:

Request your data

You can request your API/PNR data from the CBSA. You may only access your own information and that of your children under the age of 18.

If you are under the age of 18, you must have a parent or legal guardian sign the access request form.

There is no fee to access your API/PNR data.

How do I request my information?

To request your information, or to correct the data, print and complete the CBSA's Traveller's API/PNR Information Request form and mail it to the following address:

Canada Border Services Agency
Access to Information and Privacy Coordinator
333 North River Road
14th Floor, Tower A
Vanier, Ontario
K1A 0L8

In most cases, once the CBSA receives your request, you receive a written response within 30 days. Some requests may take longer than 30 days to process due to the complexity of the data.

Correct your information

If you believe that your API/PNR data is incorrect, you can request a correction. You must provide documentation to support your request. The CBSA may decide to not make the correction, and will add a note to your API/PNR data explaining that a correction was requested and refused.

If you are still not satisfied with the results, you can submit a complaint to the Office of the Privacy Commissioner for review under the Privacy Act.

For air carriers

All commercial air carriers must provide the CBSA with API data and all available PNR data for every passenger and crew member, travelling to Canada on their aircraft. This information must be provided at the last international airport before arriving in Canada.

The CBSA considers all aircraft operators engaged in the commercial transportation of persons or goods, regardless of size, to be a commercial air carrier. Examples of commercial air carriers include operators of:

  • scheduled air service
  • unscheduled charters
  • cargo flights  

Data transmission

As a commercial air carrier, you must provide API/PNR data to the CBSA in an approved format using an authorized method of transmission. Options include:

  • connecting directly to the CBSA data acquisition system
  • arranging for a service provider to connect on your behalf
  • sending the data via email
  • using the CBSA Internet API Gateway (IAG)
  • using a combination of any of the above

Technical parameters for these methods are detailed in the "Carrier Messaging Requirements (CMR)" document, which is available upon request.

Commercial air carriers intending to begin service to Canada should contact the CBSA at least six months before service commences to arrange for the provision of API/PNR data.

Commercial air carriers that fail to comply with the requirement to provide API/PNR data correctly may be subject to administrative monetary penalties under the Customs Act.

IAPI Standard Operating Procedures for Commercial Air Carriers and Service Providers

The IAPI Standard Operating Procedures (SOP) document provides guidance to commercial air carriers and service providers on the implementation and operationalization of IAPI. The document provides information on IAPI requirements, what to do in case of a no-board message, and expectations during a system outage. To request a copy, contact the IAPI mailbox.

D-Memorandum

Memorandum D2-5-11, Administrative and Operational Guidelines for Commercial Air-mode Carriers for the Processing of Prescribed Traveller Information Pursuant to the Requirements of the Canada Border Services Agency

This memorandum outlines the CBSA requirements and administrative policies regarding the provision of prescribed API and reservation information about any person being transported to Canada by commercial air carriers.

Commercial Air Carrier Technical Support

API/PNR Program Support (APPS)

The API/PNR Program Support (APPS) line provides support to commercial air carriers on the API/PNR Program including data provision issues, occurrences/outages, testing and certification, on-going maintenance, as well as technical support. Upon request, account managers will provide the "Carrier Messaging Requirements (CMR)" document and a list of certified service providers to the commercial air carrier. Commercial air carriers can contact the APPS line by:

  • Telephone:
    • 1-866-4API-PNR (1-866-427-4767, toll-free within Canada and the United States, including Alaska and Hawaii – does not include U.S. territories)
    • 1-613-941-2800 (international callers, charges apply)
  • Email: api-pnr@cbsa-asfc.gc.ca

For IAPI Board/No Board Messages Assistance: Air Carrier Support Centre (ACSC)

The Air Carrier Support Centre (ACSC) assists commercial air carriers that have on-boarded to the IAPI platform.  The ACSC is available 24/7/365 and helps commercial air carriers determine whether the passengers have the required travel documentation to enter Canada.

Contact the API/PNR Program Carrier Account Support Team for contact information.

Note: The APPS and ACSC do not offer service to individual travellers. Travellers should consult the Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship Canada website, nearest mission or Visa Application Centre for information on the status of their immigration documentation or questions about the eTA.

Date modified:

Programme d'information préalable sur les voyageurs et du dossier passager

Le Programme d'information préalable sur les voyageurs et du dossier passager (IPV/DP) permet à l'Agence des services frontaliers du Canada (ASFC) d'effectuer une évaluation du risque que présentent les voyageurs et les membres d'équipage pendant qu'ils sont en route vers le Canada.

Aperçu

En vertu de la loi, les compagnies aériennes commerciales ont l'obligation de fournir à l'ASFC les données IPV et DP de tous les voyageurs, avant l'arrivée d'un vol au Canada.

Information préalable sur les voyageurs

Les données IPV sont des renseignements de base sur les passagers et les membres d'équipage. Les données recueillies comprennent le nom, la date de naissance, le sexe, la citoyenneté et des données relatives aux documents de voyage (p. ex., le numéro de passeport). Ce type d'information est tiré de la zone lisible par machine du passeport. Les compagnies aériennes commerciales obtiennent les données d'IPV au moment de l'enregistrement; dont le numéro de référence, unique à chaque passager, ou le numéro d'identification, pour les membres d'équipage, à bord du vol. L'IPV inclut aussi de l'information sur le vol, notamment le numéro de vol ainsi que les heures d'arrivée et de départ.

Dossier passager

Les données du DP sont les données portant sur la réservation et l'itinéraire de voyage de la personne qui figurent dans les systèmes de contrôle des départs et de réservation des compagnies aériennes commerciales . Les données du DP recueillies varient d'une compagnie aérienne à l'autre. Ces données comprennent : le type de billet, la date du voyage, le nombre de bagages, le numéro de siège, etc. Les compagnies aériennes commerciales n'ont pas à fournir ou recueillir des données autres que ceux qu'ils recueillent déjà pour leurs besoins opérationnels.

Information interactive préalable sur les voyageurs

Le processus d'Information interactive préalable sur les voyageurs (IIPV) permet aux compagnies aériennes de fournir à l'ASFC de l'information sur les passagers avant le décollage. Cette information aide les compagnies aériennes commerciales à déterminer si les personnes possèdent les documents de voyage appropriés (par exemple, un visa ou une autorisation de voyage électronique [AVE]) pour entrer au Canada. Une fois les renseignements obtenus, l'ASFC envoie, par voie électronique, un message d'embarquement « autorisé » ou « non autorisé » à la compagnie aérienne commerciale avant que la personne ne monte à bord d'un avion à destination du Canada. À leur arrivée au Canada, tous les voyageurs doivent se présenter à un agent des services frontaliers et présenter les documents de voyage appropriés.

Autorisation de voyage électronique

Les nouvelles exigences d’entrée sont maintenant en vigueur : les voyageurs étrangers qui ne sont pas visés par l’obligation de visa doivent obtenir une autorisation de voyage électronique (AVE) pour s’envoler vers le Canada ou pour y transiter. En sont exemptés, entre autres, les citoyens des États-Unis ainsi que les voyageurs munis d’un visa canadien valide. Les citoyens canadiens, y compris ceux qui ont la double citoyenneté, ainsi que les résidents permanents du Canada ne peuvent pas présenter de demande d’AVE.

Soyez prêt : Demandez une AVE avant de réserver votre billet d’avion pour le Canada. La plupart des demandeurs voient leur demande acceptée en quelques minutes. Par contre, le traitement de certaines demandes peut prendre plusieurs jours. Donc, n’attendez pas à la dernière minute pour faire votre demande. Vous pouvez obtenir de l’aide à tout moment lorsque vous faites votre demande ou après l’avoir envoyée.

Faux sites Web

Il est conseillé aux voyageurs qui demandent une AVE de faire preuve de vigilance à l'égard des compagnies qui prétendent offrir de l'aide pour l'obtention d'une AVE. Ces compagnies n'agissent PAS au nom du gouvernement du Canada. Bon nombre ont mis en place des sites Web qui imposent des frais pour fournir de l’information et soumettre les demandes d’AVE.

Le seul site Web officiel pour présenter une demande d'AVE est celui du gouvernement du Canada.

Comment les données sont utilisées

Les données d'IPV/DP sont utilisées afin de repérer les personnes à risque élevé devant faire l'objet d'un interrogatoire ou d'un examen plus poussé à leur arrivée au Canada.

Ces données sont aussi utilisées afin de déceler la participation possible à des activités illégales, telles que :

  • terrorisme ou autres crimes liés au terrorisme
  • passage de clandestins ou traite de personnes
  • contrebande de stupéfiants
  • autres crimes graves de nature transnationale

Grâce à ces données, l'ASFC traite de manière plus efficace les voyageurs entrant au Canada.

Lignes directrices sur la protection des renseignements personnels

L'ASFC applique des lignes directrices strictes afin de protéger les renseignements personnels des passagers et des membres d'équipage. Les données sont conservées au moyen d'un système sécuritaire accessible seulement aux agents autorisés de l'ASFC. L'utilisation des données fait l'objet d'un processus de vérification, et les utilisateurs sont imputables de tout usage inapproprié.

Vous trouverez un résumé du programme d'IPV/DP et des aspects concernant la protection des renseignements personnels dans ce contexte sur la page Web officielle suivante : Info Source.

Conservation des données

Les données d'IPV/DP sont conservées pendant trois ans et demi à partir de leur date de réception, puis détruites. Lorsque les données d'IPV/DP concernent une personne faisant l'objet d'une enquête active, les données sont transférées dans une base de données relative à l'exécution de la loi de l'ASFC et sont conservées pendant au maximum six ans.

L'ASFC communique-t-elle les données d'IPV/DP?

Les données d'IPV sont communiquées uniquement en vertu du régime de divulgation de l'article 107 de la Loi sur les douanes et de l'article 8 de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels.

Lorsque les données de DP sont reliées au terrorisme ou à un crime grave de nature transnationale, l'ASFC peut les transmettre à d'autres ministères ou pays, au cas par cas. L'ASFC ne transmet que le minimum de renseignements nécessaires et seulement aux ministères ou pays qui se sont engagés à les utiliser et les protéger de manières similaires à celles de l'ASFC. Veuillez consulter le Mémorandum D1-16-3, Lignes directrices administratives visant l'autorisation d'accès, à quiconque, aux données concernant l'information préalable sur les voyageurs (IPV) et au dossier passager (DP), leur fourniture et leur utilisation.

Plusieurs lois régissent le pouvoir de l'ASFC de recueillir les données d'IPV/DP, notamment :

Demander vos données

Vous pouvez demander à l'ASFC de vous communiquer les données d'IPV/DP recueillies. Vous n'aurez accès qu'à vos renseignements personnels, et à ceux de vos enfants seulement s'ils sont âgés de moins de 18 ans.

Si vous avez moins de 18 ans, votre formulaire de demande d'accès doit être signé par un de vos parents ou par votre tuteur légal.

Il n'y a aucuns frais à payer pour avoir accès aux données d'IPV/DP.

Comment faire une demande d'accès à vos renseignements personnels ?

Pour accéder ou pour faire une demande de correction à vos données d'IPV/DP, imprimez et remplissez le formulaire Demande d'accès aux renseignements IPV/DP accessible sur le site de l'ASFC. Une fois le formulaire rempli, il suffit de le poster à l'adresse suivante :

Agence des services frontaliers du Canada
Coordonnateur de l'accès à l'information et de la protection des renseignements personnels
333, rue North River
14e étage, Tour A
Vanier (Ontario)
K1A 0L8

Dans la plupart des cas, l'ASFC vous répondra par écrit dans les 30 jours suivant la réception de votre demande. Selon la complexité des données, certains cas peuvent exiger un délai de traitement de plus de 30 jours.

Demande de correction de vos renseignements personnels

Si vous pensez que vos données d'IPV/DP sont incorrectes, vous pouvez demander une modification. Vous devrez fournir des documents à l'appui de votre demande. L'ASFC pourrait refuser d'apporter les corrections demandées. En pareil cas, une note est jointe aux données IPV/DP pour expliquer qu'une correction a été demandée, mais qu'elle a été refusée.

Si vous n'êtes pas satisfait(e) du résultat, vous pouvez déposer une plainte au Commissariat à la protection de la vie privée, pour considération en vertu de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels.

À l'intention des transporteurs aériens

Tous les transporteurs aériens commerciaux doivent fournir, à l'ASFC, les données d'IPV ainsi que les données du DP disponibles pour tous les passagers et membres d'équipage à bord d'un avion, à destination du Canada. Ces renseignements doivent être fournis lorsque l'avion quitte le dernier aéroport international à destination du Canada.

L'ASFC considère que tous les exploitants d'aéronefs qui exercent des activités de transport commercial de personnes ou de marchandises, peu importe la taille de l'entreprise, sont des transporteurs aériens commerciaux. Les exemples d'activités de transporteurs aériens commerciaux comprennent les exploitants de :

  • vols réguliers
  • vols nolisés à la demande
  • vols de transport de marchandises

Transmission des données

En tant que transporteur aérien commercial, vous devez fournir à l'ASFC les données d'IPV/DP dans un format et au moyen d'une méthode de transmission autorisés. Voici les moyens de transmission possibles :

  • connexion directe au système d'acquisition de données de l'ASFC
  • recours à un fournisseur de services qui se connectera en votre nom
  • envoi des données par courriel
  • utilisation de la Passerelle Internet IPV (PII) de l'ASFC
  • utilisation d'une combinaison des moyens susmentionnés

Les paramètres techniques concernant les moyens proposés sont expliqués en détail dans le document sur les « Exigences de l'ASFC relatives à l'infrastructure de messagerie des transporteurs (ERIMT) », disponible sur demande.

Les transporteurs aériens qui ont l'intention de commencer à fournir des services au Canada devraient communiquer avec l'ASFC au moins six mois avant le début des vols, afin de conclure une entente relative à la transmission des données d'IPV/DP.

Les transporteurs aériens qui ne se conforment pas à l'exigence de fournir les données d'IPV/DP de la manière et au moment prévus s'exposent, selon la Loi sur les douanes, à une sanction administrative pécuniaire.

Procédures normales d'exploitation relatives à l'IIPV à l'intention des transporteurs aériens commerciaux et des fournisseurs de services

Le document sur les procédures normales d'exploitation (PNE) relatives à l'IIPV guide les transporteurs aériens commerciaux et les fournisseurs de services quant à la mise en œuvre et l'application opérationnelle de l'IIPV. Le document explique les exigences relatives à l'IIPV, la marche à suivre, si un message d'embarquement « non autorisé » s'affiche, et les attentes en cas de panne du système. Pour en demander une copie, écrivez à la boîte de courriel de l'IIPV.

Mémorandum D

Mémorandum D2-5-11, Lignes directrices administratives et opérationnelles à l'intention des transporteurs aériens commerciaux pour le traitement des renseignements réglementaires relatifs aux voyageurs selon les exigences de l'Agence des services frontaliers du Canada

Ce mémorandum décrit les exigences et les politiques administratives de l'ASFC concernant la transmission de l'IPV et des renseignements relatifs à la réservation obligatoires pour toutes les personnes qui arrivent au Canada à bord d'un vol d'un transporteur aérien commercial.

Soutien aux transporteurs aériens commerciaux

Soutien pour le programme d'IPV/DP (SPID)

La ligne de soutien pour le programme d'IPV/DP (SPID) offre du soutien relatif au programme d'IPV/DP aux transporteurs aériens commerciaux, y compris les questions de transmission de données, les incidents ou les pannes, les essais et la certification et la maintenance en cours, de même qu'un soutien technique. Sur demande, les gestionnaires de comptes transmettront le document sur les « Exigences de l'ASFC relatives à l'infrastructure de messagerie des transporteurs (ERIMT) » ainsi qu'une liste de fournisseurs de services agréés aux transporteurs aériens commerciaux. Ceux-ci peuvent consulter les responsables de la ligne à l'aide des méthodes suivantes :

  • Par téléphone :
    • 1-866-4API-PNR (1-866-427-4767), sans frais au Canada et aux États-Unis, y compris l'Alaska et Hawaii — ne comprend pas les territoires américains
    • 1-613-941-2800 (appels internationaux, des frais s'appliquent)
  • Par courriel : api-pnr@cbsa-asfc.gc.ca

Pour les messages d'embarquement « autorisé » et « non autorisé » d'IIPV — Centre de soutien des transporteurs aériens (CSTA)

Le Centre de soutien des transporteurs aériens (CSTA) fournit du soutien aux transporteurs aériens commerciaux qui utilisent la plateforme d'IIPV. Le CSTA est accessible en tout temps (24 heures sur 24, 365 jours par année). Il aide les transporteurs aériens commerciaux  à déterminer si les voyageurs possèdent les documents de voyage requis pour venir au Canada.

Communiquez avec l'équipe de soutien aux comptes de transporteurs du programme d'IPV/DP pour obtenir les coordonnées téléphonique du CSTA.

Nota : La ligne de SPID et le CSTA n'offrent aucun service aux voyageurs. Les voyageurs doivent consulter le site Web d'Immigration, Réfugiés et Citoyenneté Canada (IRCC), communiquer avec la mission la plus proche ou se rendre dans un centre de réception des demandes de visa pour des renseignements au sujet de l'état de leurs documents d'immigration ou pour toute question au sujet de l'AVE.

Date de modification :