Administrative Monetary Penalty System
C379

Contravention

Person failed to submit advance information in the prescribed time or prescribed manner to the Agency.

Penalty

Occurrence Penalty
1st $250 Footnote *
2nd $375
3rd and subsequent $750
Footnote *

A 30-day delay in the escalation of penalty levels from the first to the second will apply to this contravention. Should a second penalty with the same contravention be issued against the same client, the system will not escalate the penalty level to level two unless 30 days have transpired from when the first Notice of Penalty Assessment (NPA) was issued or the infraction occurred. The non-escalation rule applies from the first level to the second level only; it does not apply from the second to the third level.

Return to footnote * referrer

Penalty basis
Per instance
Retention period
12 months

Guidelines

Non-compliance occurs when the responsible party fails to transmit the prescribed information in the prescribed time or manner to the Agency.

Applied against the party responsible for providing the required data.

The prescribed information shall be sent or provided:

  • In accordance with the established timelines, and/or
  • Using an approved electronic means as described in the Electronic Commerce Client Requirements Document and set out in the Reporting of Imported Goods Regulations.

One C379 penalty will be issued per instance. The same penalty level will be assessed for all infractions discovered during the same examination or monitoring period.

Prescribed information must be transmitted in the prescribed timeframe and in the prescribed manner. These two separate obligations must be respected; a contravention against any one of the two obligations will result in the assessment of this penalty. In instances of non-compliance with timeliness and manner requirements two separate C379 penalties may be applied.

Situations where the information is provided upon or after arrival should be considered as if no pre-arrival/pre-load information was provided. In this instance, apply penalty C378.

Examples of non-compliance under C379:

  • A carrier failed to submit an electronic conveyance report within the prescribed timeframes.
  • A carrier failed to submit an electronic pre-arrival cargo report within the prescribed timeframes, regardless of whether or not the information was faxed to the appropriate customs office, within the appropriate timeframes.
  • A carrier failed to submit an electronic pre-arrival conveyance report within the prescribed timeframes, regardless of whether or not the information was faxed to the appropriate customs office, within the appropriate timeframes.
  • A carrier failed to submit an electronic pre-arrival Bay Plan in the marine mode, within the prescribed timeframes, regardless of whether or not the information was faxed to the appropriate customs office, within the appropriate timeframes.
  • A freight forwarder failed to submit an electronic pre-arrival house bill report and/or house bill close message within the prescribed timeframes, regardless of whether or not the information was faxed to the appropriate customs office, within the appropriate timeframes.
  • A freight forwarder failed to submit an electronic pre-arrival supplementary data report for FROB in the air or marine modes, within the prescribed timeframes, regardless of whether or not the information was faxed to the appropriate customs office, within the appropriate timeframes.

Exceptions/exemptions from transmitting pre-arrival information are listed in D-3.

For failure to notify CBSA of any correction see C381.

References

Regulation

Reporting of Imported Goods Regulations, subsections 14, 15, 15.3, 17, 17.2, 19, 19.2, 21, 21.2, 24.(3), 25.(2), 29

D-Memo

Date modified:

Régime de sanctions administratives pécuniaires
C379

Infraction

Une personne a omis de soumettre à l'Agence l'information préalable dans le délai prescrit ou la manière prescrite.

Pénalités

Événement Pénalité
1re 250 $ Note de bas de page *
2e 375 $
3e et ultérieure 750 $
Note de bas de page *

Cette infraction accorde un délai de 30 jours avant que la pénalité ne passe du premier au deuxième niveau. Si une deuxième pénalité pour la même infraction était imposée au même client, le système ne passerait pas du premier au deuxième niveau de pénalité à moins que 30 jours ne se soient écoulés depuis l'émission du premier avis de cotisation de pénalité (ACP) ou la date à laquelle l'infraction s'est produite. Cette règle s'applique uniquement à la progression du premier au deuxième niveau de pénalité; elle ne s'applique pas à la progression du deuxième au troisième niveau de pénalité.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page *

Base de pénalités
Par cas
Période de rétention
12 mois

Lignes directrices

Il y a infraction quand la partie responsable ne transmet pas l'information exigée à l'Agence dans le délai prescrit ou de la manière prescrite.

La pénalité est émise contre la partie responsable de fournir les données prescrites.

L'information prescrite doit être envoyée ou fournie :

  • En conformité avec les délais établis, et/ou
  • À l'aide d'un moyen électronique approuvé, comme cela est décrit dans le Document sur les exigences à l'égard des clients du commerce électronique et énoncé dans le Règlement sur la déclaration des marchandises importées.

Une seule pénalité C379 sera émise par cas. Le même niveau de pénalité sera utilisé pour toutes les infractions découvertes au cours d'un même examen ou d'une même période de suivi.

Les renseignements exigés doivent être transmis dans les délais prescrits et selon la manière prescrite. Ces deux obligations distinctes doivent être respectées. Une infraction contre l'une ou l'autre de ces deux obligations entraînera l'imposition d'une sanction. Lorsqu'une infraction reliée au délai prescrit et une autre en lien avec la manière prescrite sont constatées, deux sanctions C379 distinctes peuvent être imposées.

Lorsque l'information préalable est fournie au moment de l'arrivée ou après, cette information doit alors être considérée comme si elle n'avait pas été fournie. La pénalité C378 doit alors être émise.

Exemples de non-conformité en vertu de l'infraction C379 :

  • Un transporteur n'a pas transmis une déclaration électronique de moyen de transport dans les délais prescrits.
  • Un transporteur n'a pas transmis par voie électronique une déclaration préalable du fret dans les délais prescrits, que les renseignements aient été envoyés par télécopieur ou non au bureau de douane compétent dans les délais prescrits.
  • Un transporteur n'a pas transmis par voie électronique une déclaration préalable du moyen de transport, que les renseignements aient été envoyés par télécopieur ou non au bureau de douane compétent dans les délais prescrits.
  • Un transporteur n'a pas transmis par voie électronique un plan préalable de chargement pour le mode maritime dans les délais prescrits, que les renseignements aient été envoyés par télécopieur ou non au bureau de douane compétent dans les délais prescrits.
  • Un agent d'expédition n'a pas transmis par voie électronique un rapport préalable sur le connaissement interne et/ou un message préalable de fermeture du connaissement interne dans les délais prescrits, que les renseignements aient été envoyés par télécopieur ou non au bureau de douane compétent dans les délais prescrits.
  • Un agent d'expédition n'a pas transmis par voie électronique une déclaration supplémentaire préalable liée au FRAB pour le mode aérien ou maritime dans les délais prescrits, que les renseignements aient été envoyés par télécopieur ou non au bureau de douane compétent dans les délais prescrits.

Les exceptions et exemptions concernant la transmission des informations préalables figurent dans le D-3.

Pour ce qui est du défaut d'aviser l'ASFC de toute correction, veuillez consulter C381.

Références

Autorité réglementaire

Règlement sur la déclaration des marchandises importées, articles 14, 15, 15.3, 17, 17.2, 19, 19.2, 21, 21.2, 24(3), 25 (2), 29

Mémorandum D

Date de modification :