Cannabis and the border – Keep it in Canada

Notice: Cannabis

Despite the fact that cannabis (marijuana) is legal and regulated in Canada, it remains illegal to transport cannabis in any form – including any oils containing THC or cannabidiol (CBD), across Canada’s national borders whether you are entering or leaving Canada. Additionally, receiving or sending cannabis in any form into or out of Canada by mail or courier is also illegal. Unauthorized purchases from outside Canada (online or other) will be confiscated at the border and may lead to arrest and criminal prosecution

For more information, consult cannabis (marijuana) legalization.

2018-10-17
Keep cannabis in Canada. Do not try to ship it or take it out of the country. Don’t bring it in. Don’t take it out.

Transcript

Young woman's voice: What-the-flying-monkeys! It’s legal to buy marijuana. Can’t I also ship it?

A woman stands at the counter of a post office in the International Shipping area. Behind the counter is a postal worker. A box of cannabis product belonging to the woman is shown on the counter. The postal worker shakes his head in disapproval. A cannabis leaf icon is shown on the box. A red circle and slash are placed on the icon.

Narrator: Keep your cannabis in Canada.

An outdoor scene of a land border crossing appears. Cars, trucks and vans drive up to the entrance of the land border crossing. Some vehicles containing cannabis products are marked with cannabis leaf icons; the icons all have a red circle and slash through them. The leaf icon is removed from any marked vehicles as they reach the border crossing and placed in the border crossing building.

In the distance we see an airport with planes arriving and departing. The planes are marked with the same cannabis leaf icons as the cars.

Trying to ship it or take it across an international border is a criminal offence.

A map of Canada appears. A pair of handcuffs appears on the screen. The clasps of the handcuffs are each made of a cannabis leaf icon with a red circle and slash.

Cannabis leaf icons with red circles and slashes appear on the map of Canada bouncing around the screen. Icons within the Canadian border stay within Canada; icons outside of the border stay outside.

A message appears on screen: “Keep It Legal. Don’t Bring It In. Don’t Take It Out”. The website of the Canada Border Services Agency appears at the bottom of the screen – www.cbsa-asfc.gc.ca.

Keep it legal. Don’t bring it in. Don’t take it out.

A copyright message appears: “Copyright Her Majesty the Queen in Right of Canada, as represented by the Minister of Public Safety and Emergency Preparedness, 2018” followed by the Government of Canada Wordmark which includes a waving Canadian flag.

Date modified:

Le cannabis et la frontière – gardez-le au Canada

Avis : Cannabis

Bien que le cannabis (marijuana) est légal et réglementé au Canada, il est toujours illégal de passer la frontière canadienne avec du cannabis, peu importe si vous entrez au Canada ou si vous quittez le pays. Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, consultez la page sur la légalisation du cannabis (marijuana).

2018-10-17
Le cannabis ne doit pas quitter le Canada. Ne tentez pas de l’expédier hors du pays ou de le passer à une frontière internationale. Pas de cannabis à la frontière. C’est la loi.

Transcription

Femme : Zut de flûte! Acheter de la marijuana est légal au Canada, mais je ne peux pas en apporter ou l’expédier où je veux?

Une femme se présente au comptoir de livraison internationale d’un bureau de poste. Derrière le comptoir se trouve un agent de la poste. Une boite contenant du cannabis se trouve sur le comptoir. L’agent de la poste secoue sa tête en signe de désapprobation. Une icône représentant une feuille de cannabis sur la boite est mise en évidence. Un cercle rouge avec une barre oblique le traversant apparaît sur l’icône.

Narrateur : Votre cannabis ne doit pas quitter le Canada.

Une scène extérieure d’un point d’entrée à une frontière terrestre apparaît. Des voitures, des camions et des camionnettes conduisent jusqu'à l'entrée du poste frontalier terrestre. Certains véhicules contenant des produits dérivés du cannabis sont identifiés avec des icônes de feuilles de cannabis; les icônes ont toutes un cercle rouge et une barre oblique qui les traversent. Les icônes sont retirées de tous ces véhicules lorsqu'ils atteignent le passage frontalier et déplacées dans le bâtiment du passage frontalier.

Au loin, nous apercevons un aéroport avec des avions qui atterrissent et qui décollent. Les avions sont identifiés avec les mêmes icônes que sur les voitures.

Tenter de l’expédier hors du pays ou de le passer à une frontière internationale est une infraction criminelle.

Une carte du Canada apparaît. Une paire de menottes apparaît sur l’écran. Les menottes sont identifiées avec une icône d’une feuille de cannabis entourée d’un cercle rouge et une barre oblique le traversant.

Des icônes de feuilles de cannabis entourées de cercles rouge avec une barre oblique apparaissent sur la carte du Canada en rebondissant sur l’écran. Les icônes à l’intérieur de la frontière canadienne restent au Canada alors que les icônes à l’extérieur de la frontière restent dehors.

Le message suivant apparaît à l’écran: « Pas de cannabis à la frontière, c’est la loi ». Le site Internet de l’Agence des services frontaliers du Canada apparaît au bas de l’écran – www.asfc-cbsa.gc.ca.

Une notice légale apparaît à l’écran: « Sa Majesté la Reine du chef du Canada, représentée par le ministre de la Sécurité publique et de la Protection civile, 2018 », suivie du mot-symbole du gouvernement du Canada, qui comprend un drapeau canadien flottant au vent.

Date de modification :