Arrests, detentions and removals
Quarterly detention statistics: First and second quarter (Q1-Q2), fiscal year 2020 to 2021

Canada Border Services Agency (CBSA)'s statistical publication provides information on detentions.

General detentions

Table 1.1: Detentions as a percentage of entries, by length of detention and by facility
Quarter Entries by foreign nationals to Canada Total persons detained Total persons in detention (daily average) Detainees as a percentage of entries by foreign nationals to Canada Total detention days Average length of detention Median length of detention Total persons detained in an Immigration Holding Centre (IHC) Total persons detained in a provincial facility Total persons detained in another facility
1 518,508 453 126 0.09% 11,323 25.0 9 173 (34%) 287 (56%) 52 (10%)
2 851,555 476 131 0.05% 11,925 25.1 9 223 (39%) 275 (48%) 71 (13%)
Year to date 1,370,063 799 129 0.06% 23,296 29.2 9 364 (38%) 470 (50%) 117 (12%)

Source: IRCC DWS – Business Reporting CBSADHAA Datamart

Note: The numbers presented in each quarter cannot be added together to equal an annual sum. This is because the quarterly numbers reflect the number of people in detention at a given time, and could include a person who is detained over 2 quarters and carried over. Similarly, changes can take place over the time a person is detained that can lead to double-counting in the total number of people in detention by facility type. Individuals can be transferred between facility types, and could therefore be counted in both.

Table 1.2: Persons detained by length of detention
Quarter 24 hours or less 25 to 48 hours 3 to 9 days 10 to 39 days 40 to 99 days Over 99 days
1 62 29 77 113 98 85
2 60 38 113 134 83 57

Source: IRCC DWS – Business Reporting CBSADHAA Datamart

Table 1.3: Persons detained sorted by province
Province First quarter Second quarter
Alberta 34 31
British Columbia 64 94
Manitoba 6 6
New Brunswick 6 5
Newfoundland and Labrador 0 6
Northwest Territories 0 0
Nova Scotia 1 5
Ontario 248 249
Prince Edward Island 1 1
Quebec 90 71
Saskatchewan 5 13
Yukon 0 0

Source: IRCC DWS – Business Reporting CBSADHAA Datamart

Note: The total number of persons detained by province when added together, is greater than the total number of persons detained in that quarter as persons may be transferred between provinces during their time in detention. In this instance they are counted twice.

Table 1.4: Persons detained by grounds for detention
Grounds for detention First quarter Second quarter
Danger to the public 14 14
Examination 11 5
Identity 16 11
Security certificate 0 0
Suspected inadmissibility on grounds of human/international rights violation 0 0
Suspected inadmissibility on grounds of security 0 2
Suspected inadmissibility on grounds of serious criminality / criminality / organized criminality 5 5
Unlikely to appear / danger to the public 77 84
Unlikely to appear 340 369

Source: IRCC DWS – Business Reporting CBSADHAA Datamart

Note: The total number of persons detained by ground for detention, when added together, is greater than the total number of persons detained in that quarter as the same person may be detained on multiple grounds for detention.

Grounds for detention

These grounds for detention may apply to a permanent resident or foreign national who may be inadmissible to Canada. Refer to Section 55 of the Immigration and Refugee Protection Act (IRPA).

Notes

A fiscal-year begins on and ends on . Quarters are broken down as follows: Q1: to ; Q2 to ; Q3 to ; Q4 to .

Detention days are the number of cumulative days spent in detention for all detainees over the reporting period under the provisions of the Immigration and Refugee Protection Act.

Median length of detention represents the middle value (or the average of two middle values) in days when the numbers are listed in numerical order from smallest to largest.

“Detention in another facility” includes other law enforcement agencies (that is, Royal Canadian Mounted Police detachments, local and provincial police cells), CBSA Ports of Entry (POE) and Inland Enforcement (IE) cells. Note that POE and IE cells as well as other law enforcement agencies' cells are only used for very short periods of time.

More information

Analysis: Detentions in the second quarter

COVID-19 has had a significant impact on detention numbers. The CBSA noted a slight 5% increase in the number of persons detained in Q2 compared to Q1. However, at 476, the numbers still remains 78% lower than Q4 of 2019 to 2020. Compared the same quarter last year (Q2 of 2019 to 2020), this is a decrease of 82% (from 2,578 to 476). This significant reduction can be explained by public safety measures put in place to limit the spread of COVID-19 since mid-March. These measures included the closure of the border to most foreign nationals, a small percentage of whom are usually detained by the CBSA for a number of reasons. In addition, the pandemic reinforced the CBSA's commitment to finding solutions for release at the first possible opportunity. The CBSA asked officers to focus efforts to explore all viable alternatives to detention in all cases, as long as there is no public safety concern. The CBSA expanded its electronic monitoring (EM) program into the Quebec region. The CBSA will continue to focus its efforts on identifying release options, and mitigating risk within the community for individuals with a higher risk profile. The decision to release an individual from detention is done on a case by case basis using a dynamic risk assessment process that aligns individual risk indicators with conditions that can mitigate the risk. Where risk cannot be mitigated through an alternative to detention, detention will be continued.

In terms of arrests: In Q2 2020 to 2021:

Compared to the same quarter last year:

The number of people in detention compared to the total number of foreign nationals coming into Canada decreased to 0.05%, compared to 0.09% in Q1 of 2020 to 2021.

The use of provincial facilities remains at a high of 48% for Q2 of 2020 to 2021. In 2019 to 2020, the use of provincial facilities stood at only 23%. The increase in the use of provincial facilities is linked to more individuals being detained for danger or as unlikely to appear for an immigration proceeding linked with danger. Additionally as detention volumes decrease, the proportionality of individuals with higher risk profiles who are deemed not suitable for release, remains high when compared to the total number of individuals detained. As volumes decrease, comparing the proportion of individuals held in provincial facilities with IHCs must be looked at through the lens of the risk profile the individuals possess.

The average length of detention remains stable at 25 days in Q2 as in Q1, a notable increase from Q4 of 2019 to 2020 (12.6 days). Due to the increased use of alternatives to detention (ATD) for lower-risk individuals, plus the low number of people coming into Canada, those who remain in detention tend to be higher-risk cases. Higher-risk individuals are typically detained for a longer periods of time. Overall, there was a 5% increase in total detention days (11,323 days in Q1 and 11,925 days in Q2). As detention volumes decrease, the proportionality of individuals who remain detained for longer periods of time is no longer offset by the subset of individuals who were lower risk and detained for short periods. As such it is natural for the average length of detention to increase, when the population that remains in detention is largely made up of higher risk individuals.

The number of persons detained for over 99 days has decreased by 33% from the previous quarter (57 in Q2 of 2020 to 2021 and 85 in Q1 of 2020 to 2021). When compared to the same period last year (Q2 of 2019 to 2020), the CBSA noted a decrease of 49% (from 112 to 57) in the number of persons detained over 99 days. The reduction in the number of long-term detainees over the last few years continues to be explained by a number of operational practices put in place that ensure that the CBSA is actively pursuing removals while also using alternatives to detention as needed.

Detention or housing of minors

Definitions

Best interests of the child:
An international principle to ensure children enjoy the full and effective benefit of all their rights recognized in Canadian law and the Convention on the Rights of the Child. It is also a rule of procedure that includes an assessment of the possible impact (positive or negative) of a decision on the child or children concerned.
Minor:
A person under the age of 18.
Accompanied minor:
A foreign national or permanent resident who arrives to Canada accompanied by a responsible adult (parent, guardian).
Detained minor:
A foreign national or permanent resident who is deemed to be inadmissible and is subject to an Order for Detention under A55 of the Immigration and Refugee Protection Act(IRPA).
Housed minor:
A foreign national, permanent resident or Canadian citizen who, after the completion of a best interest of the child assessment, is kept with their detained parent / legal guardian at an IHC at the latter's request. A housed minor is not subject to an Order for Detention and is free to remain and re-enter the CBSA IHC subject to the parent / legal guardian's consent.
Unaccompanied minor:
A foreign national or permanent resident who arrives to Canada unaccompanied by a responsible adult (parent, guardian) and is not effectively taken into the care of such a person.
Table 2.1: National overview of housed minors by quarter
Quarter Total number of minors housed in a facility Accompanied minors (by parent/guardian) Average length of time in a facility (days) Median length of time in a facility (days)
1 1 1 2 2
2 4 4 11.5 5
Year to date 4 4 6.25 5

Source: IRCC DWS – Business Reporting CBSADHAA Datamart

Note: For more information on the detention or housing of minors, consult the Detention Manual (PDF). The total number of minors in a facility accounts for all minors (foreign nationals, permanent residents and Canadian citizens).

Table 2.2: Housed minors by age, gender and status
Quarter Foreign national Canadian Male Female 0 to 5 years 6 to 11 years 12 to 17 years
1 1 0 0 1 0 1 0
2 4 0 3 1 1 2 1

Source: IRCC DWS – Business Reporting CBSADHAA Datamart

Note: The minor housed in Quebec Inland Office cell has been carried over to the 2nd Quarter, therefore the total has a difference of one minor in the year to date total.

Table 2.3: Housed minors by length of housing and facility type
Quarter Under 48 hours 3 to 9 days 10 to 39 days 40 to 90 days 91 to 180 days More than 181 days Immigration Holding Centre (IHC) Youth centre Other
1 1 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0
2 0 3 1 0 0 0 3 0 1

Source: IRCC DWS – Business Reporting CBSADHAA Datamart

Note: Housing in other facilities includes CBSA ports of entry (POE) and inland enforcement (IE) cells, hospital, etc. Note that POE and IE cells are only used for very short periods of time.

Table 2.4: Housed minors by detention grounds of parent/guardian
Region Exam Suspected of serious criminality, criminality, organized crime Unlikely to appear Identity Total
Quarter 1
Quebec 0 0 1 0 1
GTA 0 0 0 0 0
Pacific 0 0 0 0 0
Quarter 2
Quebec 0 0 1 0 1
GTA 0 0 0 0 0
Pacific 0 0 3 0 3

Source: IRCC DWS – Business Reporting CBSADHAA Datamart

Table 2.5: National overview of detained minors
Quarter Total number of minors detained in a facility Accompanied minors (by parent/guardian) Unaccompanied minors Average length of time in a facility (days) Median length of time in a facility (days)
1 0 0 0 0 0
2 0 0 0 0 0

Source: IRCC DWS – Business Reporting CBSADHAA Datamart

Note: For more information on the detention or housing of minors, consult the Detention Manual (PDF). The total number of minors in a facility accounts for all minors (foreign nationals, permanent residents and Canadian citizens).

Table 2.6: Detained minors by status, gender and age
Quarter Foreign national Canadian Male Female 0 to 5 years 6 to 11 years 12 to 17 years
1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0

Source: IRCC DWS – Business Reporting CBSADHAA Datamart

Note: A Canadian citizen cannot be detained but in rare and exceptional circumstances may be housed with a parent/legal guardian in a facility if it is in the best interests of the child.

Table 2.7: Detained minors by length of detention and facility type
Quarter Under 48 hours 3 to 9 days 10 to 39 days 40 to 90 days 91 to 180 days More than 181 days Immigration Holding Centre (IHC) Youth centre Other
1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0

Source: IRCC DWS – Business Reporting CBSADHAA Datamart

Note: Detentions in other facilities includes CBSA ports of entry (POE) and inland enforcement (IE) cells, hospital, etc. Note that POE and IE cells are only used for very short periods of time.

Table 2.8: Detained minors by detention grounds
Region Exam Suspected of serious criminality, criminality, organized crime Unlikely to appear Identity Total
Quarter 1
Quebec 0 0 0 0 0
GTA 0 0 0 0 0
Pacific 0 0 0 0 0
Quarter 2
Quebec 0 0 0 0 0
GTA 0 0 0 0 0
Pacific 0 0 0 0 0

Source: IRCC DWS – Business Reporting CBSADHAA Datamart

Analysis: Detention or housing of minors in the second quarter

There were four minors housed in the second quarter of 2020 to 2021. This represents a slight increase of three minors from Q1. One minor was housed in Quebec and 3 were housed in Pacific. In Q2 2019 to 2020, there were 52 housed minors; this is a notable decrease of 92%. This significant reduction is attributable to the measures taken to ensure detainee's safety given the COVID-19 pandemic.

In the past, the CBSA noted that the vast majority of minors housed with their parents in a detention facility were from families arriving irregularly to Canada between borders. The border was closed to most foreign nationals and those attempting to enter Canada between ports of entry were told to return to the United States. This means that we rarely see families trying to enter Canada, so fewer minors housed in an Immigration Holding Centre. The average length of time a minor spent in a facility during Q2 was 6.25 days.

Annual and previous quarterly statistics

Date modified:

Arrestations, détentions et renvois
Statistiques trimestrielles sur les détentions : Premier et deuxième trimestres (T1-T2), exercice financier 2020 à 2021

Cette publication statistique de l'Agence des services frontaliers du Canada (ASFC) présente de l'information sur les détentions.

Détentions générales

Tableau 1.1 : Détentions en pourcentage des entrées selon la durée et l'établissement, pour les deux premiers trimestres de l'exercice 2020 à 2021
Trimestre Entrées de ressortissants étrangers au Canada Personnes détenues (total) Personnes détenues (moyenne quotidienne) Personnes détenues en pourcentage des entrées de ressortissants étrangers au Canada Jours passés en détention Durée moyenne de la détention (jours) Durée médiane de la détention (jours) Détention dans un Centre de surveillance de l'immigration (CSI) Détention dans un établissement provincial Détention dans d'autres établissements
1 518 508 453 126 0,09 % 11 323 25,0 9 173 (34 %) 287 (56 %) 52 (10 %)
2 851 555 476 131 0,05 % 11 925 25,1 9 223 (39 %) 275 (48 %) 71 (13 %)
Année en cours 1 370 063 799 129 0,06 % 23 296 29,2 9 364 (38 %) 470 (50 %) 117 (12 %)

Source : SED d'IRCC – Rapports d'entreprise de l'ASFC – magasin de données DHAA

Remarque : Les nombres présentés pour chaque trimestre ne peuvent être additionnés en une somme annuelle, car les nombres trimestriels représentent le nombre de personnes détenues à un moment donné et peuvent inclure une personne détenue sur deux trimestres (et comptée dans chaque trimestre). De même, des changements peuvent avoir lieu pendant une détention et alors entraîner un double comptage dans le total de personnes détenues par type d'établissement. En outre, les personnes peuvent être transférées d'un type d'établissement à l'autre et donc être comptées pour les deux établissements.

Tableau 1.2 : Personnes détenues selon la durée de détention
Trimestre 24 heures ou moins De 25 à 48 heures De 3 à 9 jours De 10 à 39 jours De 40 à 99 jours Plus de 99 jours
1 62 29 77 113 98 85
2 60 38 113 134 83 57

Source : SED d'IRCC – Rapports d'entreprise de l'ASFC – magasin de données DHAA

Tableau 1.3 : Personnes détenues par province
Province Premier trimestre Deuxième trimestre
Alberta 34 31
Colombie-Britanique 64 94
Île-du-Prince-Édouard 1 1
Manitoba 6 6
Nouveau-Brunswick 6 5
Nouvelle-Écosse 1 5
Ontario 248 249
Québec 90 71
Saskatchewan 5 13
Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador 0 6
Territoires du Nord-Ouest 0 0
Yukon 0 0

Source : SED d'IRCC – Rapports d'entreprise de l'ASFC – magasin de données DHAA

Remarque : La somme de personnes détenues par province est plus grande que le total de personnes détenues pendant un trimestre en particulier, car des personnes peuvent être transférées d'une province à l'autre pendant leur détention et donc être comptées deux fois.

Tableau 1.4 : Personnes détenues par motifs de détention
Motifs de détention Premier trimestre Deuxième trimestre
Certificat de sécurité 0 0
Contrôle 11 5
Danger pour la sécurité publique 14 14
Identité 16 11
Interdiction de territoire présumée pour atteinte aux droits humains ou internationaux 0 0
Interdiction de territoire présumée pour des motifs de sécurité 0 2
Interdiction de territoire présumée pour des motifs de grande criminalité / de criminalité / de criminalité organisée 5 5
Se soustraira vraisemblablement et danger pour la sécurité publique 77 84
Se soustraira vraisemblablement 340 369

Source : SED d'IRCC – Rapports d'entreprise de l'ASFC – magasin de données DHAA

Remarque : La somme de personnes détenues par motif de détention est plus grande que le total de personnes détenues pendant un trimestre en particulier, car une même personne peut être détenue pour plus d'un motif.

Motifs de détention

Ces motifs de détention peuvent s'appliquer à un résident permanent ou à un étranger qui peut être interdit de territoire au Canada. Consultez l'article 55 de la Loi sur l'immigration et la protection des réfugiés (LIPR).

Remarques

Un exercice financier commence le et se termine le . Les trimestres sont divisés ainsi : T1 (du au ); T2 (du au ); T3 (du au ); T4 (du au ).

Le nombre de jours passés en détention est le nombre de jours cumulatifs passés en détention par toutes les personnes détenues pendant la période de référence, conformément aux dispositions de la Loi sur l'immigration et la protection des réfugiés.

La durée médiane de la détention représente la valeur médiane (ou la moyenne de deux valeurs centrales) en jours lorsque les nombres sont indiqués en ordre croissant.

La détention dans d'autres établissements comprend ceux des autres organisations d'exécution de la loi (p. ex., les détachements de la GRC, les cellules des services de police locaux et provinciaux), les cellules des bureaux d'entrée (BE) et des bureaux intérieurs (BI) de l'ASFC. Il faut noter que les cellules des BE et des BI, ainsi que celles des autres organisations d'exécution de la loi ne sont utilisées que pour de courtes périodes.

Renseignements supplémentaires

Analyse : Détentions au deuxième trimestre

La COVID-19 a eu une grande incidence sur le nombre de détentions. L'ASFC a remarqué une légère augmentation de 5 % du nombre de personnes détenues au T2 par rapport au T1. Toutefois, à 476, le nombre de détentions reste inférieur de 78 % comparativement au T4 de 2019 à 2020. Par rapport au même trimestre l'an dernier (T2 de 2019 à 2020), il s'agit d'une diminution de 82 % (le nombre de détentions est passé de 2 578 à 476). Cette diminution importante peut s'expliquer par les mesures de sécurité publique mises en place depuis la mi-mars pour limiter la propagation de la COVID-19. Ces mesures comprennent la fermeture de la frontière à la plupart des étrangers, dont un petit pourcentage est habituellement détenu par l'ASFC pour diverses raisons. En outre, la pandémie a renforcé la détermination de l'ASFC à trouver des solutions pour la mise en liberté des détenus à la première occasion. L'ASFC a demandé aux agents de concentrer leurs efforts sur l'exploration de toutes les solutions de rechange à la détention valables dans l'ensemble des cas, pourvu qu'il n'y ait pas de préoccupation en matière de santé publique. L'ASFC a étendu son programme de surveillance électronique à la région du Québec. Elle continuera de s'efforcer le plus possible de choisir des options de mise en liberté et d'atténuer le risque parmi les personnes présentant un profil de risque plus élevé. La décision de libérer une personne est prise au cas par cas grâce à un processus d'évaluation du risque évolutif faisant cadrer les indicateurs de risque avec les conditions permettant d'atténuer le risque. Lorsqu'il n'est pas possible d'atténuer le risque en recourant à une solution de rechange à la détention, la détention se poursuivra.

Arrestations au T2 de 2020 à 2021 :

En comparaison avec le même trimestre l'an dernier :

Le nombre de personnes en détention comparativement au nombre total d'étrangers entrant au Canada a diminué pour se fixer à 0,05 % alors qu'il s'élevait à 0,09 % au T1 de 2020 à 2021.

Le recours à des établissements provinciaux demeure élevé : 48 % au T2 de 2020 à 2021. Au cours de 2019 à 2020, le recours à ces établissements était de 23 % seulement. L'augmentation du recours à des établissements provinciaux est tributaire du fait que plus d'individus sont placés en détention parce qu'ils représentent un danger ou se soustrairont vraisemblablement à la procédure d'immigration liée au danger. De plus, au fur et à mesure que le nombre de détentions diminuera, la proportion d'individus ayant un profil de risque plus élevé qui seront jugés inaptes à la libération demeurera élevée en comparaison avec le nombre total de détenus. Alors que les volumes diminuent, il faut comparer la proportion d'individus détenus dans des établissements provinciaux avec ceux se trouvant dans des centres de surveillance de l'Immigration du point de vue de leur profil de risque.

La durée moyenne de détention est demeurée stable à 25 jours au T2 comme au T1, ce qui constitue une augmentation notable comparativement au T4 de 2019 à 2020 (12,6 jours). En raison du recours accru aux solutions de rechange à la détention pour les personnes posant un risque plus faible et du petit nombre de personnes venant au Canada, les individus qui demeurent en détention représentent en général un risque plus élevé. Habituellement, ces individus restent en détention plus longtemps. Dans l'ensemble, le nombre total de journées de détention a augmenté de 5 % (11 323 jours au T1 et 11 925 jours au T2). À mesure que le nombre de détentions diminue, la proportion d'individus restant en détention plus longtemps n'est plus compensée par le sous-ensemble de personnes à plus faible risque qui sont détenues pour de courts laps de temps. Ainsi, il est normal que la durée moyenne de détention augmente lorsque la population demeurant détenue est en grande partie composée d'individus posant un risque plus élevé.

Le nombre de personnes détenues pendant plus de 99 jours a diminué de 33 % par rapport au trimestre précédent (57 au T2 de 2020 à 2021 et 85 au T1 de 2020 à 2021). En comparaison avec la même période l'année dernière (T2 de 2019 à 2020), l'ASFC a remarqué une diminution de 49 % (de 112 à 57) du nombre de personnes détenues pendant plus de 99 jours. La réduction du nombre de détenus à long terme au cours des dernières années s'explique toujours par des pratiques opérationnelles mises en place qui garantissent que l'ASFC continue les renvois tout en optant pour des solutions de rechange à la détention au besoin.

Détention et hébergement des mineurs

Définitions

Intérêt supérieur de l'enfant:
Principe international visant à garantir que les enfants puissent jouir pleinement et effectivement de tous les droits qui leur sont reconnus par les lois canadiennes et la Convention des Nations Unies relative aux droits de l'enfant. Il s'agit également d'un règlement qui comprend une évaluation de l'incidence possible (favorable ou défavorable) d'une décision sur l'enfant ou les enfants concernés.
Mineur :
Personne ayant moins de 18 ans.
Mineur accompagné :
Ressortissant étranger ou résident permanent qui arrive au Canada accompagné par un adulte qui en est responsable (parent, tuteur).
Mineur détenu :
Ressortissant étranger ou résident permanent qui est considéré comme étant interdit de territoire en soi et qui fait l'objet d'une ordonnance de détention en vertu de l'article 55 de la Loi sur l'immigration et la protection des réfugiés.
Mineur hébergé :
Ressortissant étranger, résident permanent ou citoyen canadien qui, par suite de la détermination de l'intérêt supérieur de l'enfant, accompagne son parent ou son tuteur légal détenu dans un Centre de surveillance de l'immigration (CSI) à la demande de ce dernier. Un mineur « hébergé » ne fait pas l'objet d'une ordonnance de détention et il est libre de demeurer au CSI et de réintégrer celui-ci sous réserve du consentement de son parent ou tuteur légal.
Mineur non accompagné :
Ressortissant étranger ou résident permanent qui arrive au Canada non accompagné d'un adulte qui en est responsable (parent, tuteur) et qui n'est pas pris en charge par une telle personne.
Tableau 2.1: Aperçu à l'échelle nationale des mineurs hébergés par trimestre
Trimestre Nombre total de mineurs hébergés dans un établissement Mineurs accompagnés d'un parent ou d'un tuteur Durée moyenne du temps passé dans un établissement (jours) Durée médiane du temps passé dans un établissement (jours)
1 1 1 2 2
2 4 4 11,5 5
Année en cours 4 4 6,25 5

Source : SED d'IRCC – Rapports d'entreprise de l'ASFC – magasin de données DHAA

Remarque : Pour en savoir plus sur la détention de mineurs, consultez le Manuel sur la détention (PDF). Le nombre total de mineurs dans un établissement tient compte de tous les mineurs (ressortissants étrangers, résidents permanents et citoyens canadiens).

Tableau 2.2 : Mineurs hébergés par statut, sexe et âge
Trimestre Ressortissant étranger Canadien Garçon Fille 0 à 5 ans 6 à 11 ans 12 à 17 ans
1 1 0 0 1 0 1 0
2 4 0 3 1 1 2 1

Source : SED d'IRCC – Rapports d'entreprise de l'ASFC – magasin de données DHAA

Remarque : Le mineur hébergé dans la cellule du Bureau intérieur du Québec a été reporté au 2e trimestre, donc le total a une différence d'un mineur dans le total de l'année en cours.

Tableau 2.3 : Mineurs hébergés par durée de l'hébergement et type d'établissement
Trimestre Moins de 48 heures De 3 à 9 jours De 10 à 39 jours De 40 à 90 jours De 91 à 180 jours 181 jours et plus Centre de surveillance de l'immigration (CSI) Centre jeunesse Autre
1 1 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0
2 0 3 1 0 0 0 3 0 1

Source : SED d'IRCC – Rapports d'entreprise de l'ASFC – magasin de données DHAA

Remarque : La détention dans d'autres établissements comprend les cellules des bureaux d'entrée (BE) et des bureaux intérieurs (BI) de l'ASFC. Il faut noter que les cellules des BE et des BI ne sont utilisées que pour de courtes périodes.

Tableau 2.4 : Mineurs hébergés par motif de détention du parent/tuteur
Région Contrôle Grande criminalité, criminalité ou criminalité organisée présumée Se soustraira vraisemblablement Identité Total
Trimestre 1
Québec 0 0 1 0 1
RGT 0 0 0 0 0
Pacifique 0 0 0 0 0
Trimestre 2
Québec 0 0 1 0 1
RGT 0 0 0 0 0
Pacifique 0 0 3 0 3

Source : SED d'IRCC – Rapports d'entreprise de l'ASFC – magasin de données DHAA

Tableau 2.5 : Aperçu à l'échelle nationale de mineurs détenus
Trimestre Nombre total de mineurs détenus dans un établissement Mineurs accompagnés d'un parent ou d'un tuteur Mineurs non accompagnés Durée moyenne du temps passé dans un établissement (jours) Durée médiane du temps passé dans un établissement (jours)
1 0 0 0 0 0
2 0 0 0 0 0

Source : SED d'IRCC – Rapports d'entreprise de l'ASFC – magasin de données DHAA

Remarque : Pour en savoir plus sur la détention de mineurs, consultez le Manuel sur la détention (PDF). Le nombre total de mineurs dans un établissement tient compte de tous les mineurs (ressortissants étrangers, résidents permanents et citoyens canadiens).

Tableau 2.6: Mineurs détenus par statut, sexe et âge
Trimestre Ressortissant étranger Canadien Garçon Fille 0 à 5 ans 6 à 11 ans 12 à 17 ans
1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0

Source : SED d'IRCC – Rapports d'entreprise de l'ASFC – magasin de données DHAA

Remarque : Un citoyen canadien ne peut pas être détenu, mais, dans des circonstances rares et exceptionnelles, il peut être logé avec un parent ou un tuteur légal dans un établissement s'il est dans son intérêt supérieur de le faire.

Tableau 2.7 : Mineurs détenus par durée de la détention et type d'établissement
Trimestre Moins de 48 heures De 3 à 9 jours De 10 à 39 jours De 40 à 90 jours De 91 à 180 jours 181 jours et plus Centre de surveillance de l'immigration (CSI) Centre jeunesse Autre
1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0

Source : SED d'IRCC – Rapports d'entreprise de l'ASFC – magasin de données DHAA

Remarque : La détention dans d'autres établissements comprend les cellules des bureaux d'entrée (BE) et des bureaux intérieurs (BI) de l'ASFC. Il faut noter que les cellules des BE et des BI ne sont utilisées que pour de courtes périodes.

Tableau 2.8: Mineurs détenus par motif de détention
Région Contrôle Grande criminalité, criminalité ou criminalité organisée présumée Se soustraira vraisemblablement Identité Total
Trimestre 1
Québec 0 0 0 0 0
RGT 0 0 0 0 0
Pacifique 0 0 0 0 0
Trimestre 2
Québec 0 0 0 0 0
RGT 0 0 0 0 0
Pacifique 0 0 0 0 0

Source : SED d'IRCC – Rapports d'entreprise de l'ASFC – magasin de données DHAA

Analyse : Détention ou hébergement de mineurs au deuxième trimestre

Quatre mineurs ont été hébergés au T2 de 2020 à 2021. Cela représente une légère hausse de trois mineurs en comparaison avec le T1. Un mineur a été hébergé dans la région du Québec et trois dans la région du Pacifique. Au T2 de 2019 à 2020, 52 mineurs étaient hébergés; cela constitue une diminution notable de 92 %. Cette diminution importante est attribuable aux mesures prises pour assurer la sécurité des détenus en raison de la pandémie de COVID-19.

Auparavant, l'ASFC avait remarqué que la grande majorité des mineurs hébergés avec leurs parents dans un établissement de détention provenaient de familles arrivant de manière irrégulière au Canada, entre les points d'entrée. La frontière a été fermée à la plupart des étrangers et ceux qui tentaient d'entrer au Canada entre les points d'entrée se faisaient dire de retourner aux États-Unis. Cela signifie que des familles tentent rarement d'entrer au Canada, alors un plus petit nombre de mineurs est hébergé dans un centre de surveillance de l'immigration. Le temps moyen passé par un mineur dans un centre au T2 était de 6,25 jours.

Statistiques trimestrielles et annuelles précédentes

Date de modification :