Travellers
Cannabis (Marijuana) Legalization and the Canada Border Services Agency

Notice: Cannabis

Despite the fact that cannabis (marijuana) is legal and regulated in Canada, it remains illegal to take cannabis across Canada's national borders, whether you are entering or leaving Canada. For more information, consult cannabis (marijuana) legalization.

The following information was shared by email with key CBSA stakeholders. A link to the Portable Document Format (PDF) of this form is provided below. The content of the form is duplicated in HTML following the PDF link.

PDF (282 KB) [help with PDF files]

The CBSA is committed to providing integrated border services that balance the need to support national security and public safety priorities while facilitating the cross-border movement of legitimate travellers and goods. Travellers visiting or returning to Canada can contribute to a smooth border crossing by understanding and complying with their obligations at the Canadian border.

As you may know, the Government of Canada has passed legislation that creates a strict legal framework for controlling the production, distribution, sale and possession of cannabis (marijuana) across Canada. Under the Cannabis Act, the importation and exportation of cannabis remains prohibited unless authorized by Health Canada. Taking cannabis or products containing cannabis across the border without authorization from the Government of Canada remains a serious criminal offence. In addition, foreign nationals who commit, on entering Canada, certain cannabis-related offences continue to be inadmissible to Canada when the new legislation comes into force.

If you transport cannabis or products containing it across the border, regardless of quantity, and even to or from jurisdictions that have legalized cannabis, you could face prosecution. For businesses, import and export of cannabis or cannabis products will continue to be allowed for medical and scientific purposes, with the proper permits issued by Health Canada. In addition, industrial hemp will be allowed to be imported and exported. For information regarding the import and export of cannabis, contact Health Canada.

Holding a medical authorization for cannabis in any country, including Canada, does not grant the ability to take cannabis into or out of Canada. In rare and exceptional circumstances, Health Canada may authorize an exemption for an individual to bring cannabis across international borders for medical or scientific purposes on a case-by-case basis.

To raise awareness regarding the border-related laws and rules associated to cannabis, the CBSA is undertaking a number of key measures. First, in order to inform travellers entering Canada of the requirement to declare cannabis upon entry, the CBSA is installing signage at its ports of entry, and will ask all travellers entering Canada if they are bringing cannabis into Canada. Additionally, the CBSA is deploying a comprehensive digital communications strategy informing travellers of the continued prohibition of importation or exportation of cannabis and reminding of the continued obligation to declare it.

The CBSA would like to take this opportunity to remind travellers that cannabis is illegal in most countries. Travellers have a responsibility to be informed about the laws of the countries they intend to visit. You can visit Travel.gc.ca for more information. If you would like more information related to the legalisation of cannabis in Canada, visit www.canada.ca/cannabis and the CBSA website at www.cbsa-asfc.gc.ca. We also encourage you to follow us on Twitter (@CanBorder), join us on Facebook or visit our YouTube channel.

Customs Enforcement Policy Unit
Enforcement and Intelligence Programs
Canada Border Services Agency

Date modified:

Voyageurs
La légalisation du cannabis (marijuana) et l’Agence des services frontaliers du Canada

Avis : Cannabis

Bien que le cannabis (marijuana) est légal et réglementé au Canada, il est toujours illégal de passer la frontière canadienne avec du cannabis, peu importe si vous entrez au Canada ou si vous quittez le pays. Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, consultez la page sur la légalisation du cannabis (marijuana).

L’information qui suit a été partagée avec des intervenants clés de l’ASFC. Un lien vers ce formulaire en format de document portable (PDF) est fourni ci-dessous. Le contenu du formulaire est reproduit en format HTML après le lien PDF.

PDF (288 Ko) [aide sur les fichiers PDF]

L’ASFC s’engage à fournir des services frontaliers intégrés qui répondent aux priorités en matière de sécurité nationale et de sécurité publique tout en facilitant la circulation transfrontalière des voyageurs et des marchandises en règle. Les voyageurs en visite ou de retour au Canada peuvent contribuer au bon déroulement du passage à la frontière s’ils comprennent bien leurs obligations et les respectent.

Comme vous le savez peut-être, le gouvernement du Canada a adopté une loi qui établit un cadre juridique rigoureux permettant de contrôler la production, la distribution, la vente et la possession de cannabis (marijuana) au Canada. Selon la Loi sur le cannabis, l’importation et l’exportation de cannabis demeurent interdites à moins qu’elles ne soient autorisées par Santé Canada. Passer la frontière en possession de cannabis ou de produits qui en contiennent sans autorisation du gouvernement du Canada constitue toujours une infraction criminelle grave. De plus, les étrangers qui commettent, à leur entrée au Canada, certaines infractions liées au cannabis seront encore interdits de territoire au Canada après l’entrée en vigueur de la nouvelle loi.

Si vous franchissez la frontière en possession de cannabis ou de produits qui en contiennent, vous vous exposez à des poursuites, même s’il s’agit d’une petite quantité et que vous voyagez en provenance ou à destination d’une administration où le cannabis a été légalisé. Pour les entreprises détenant les permis appropriés délivrés par Santé Canada, l’importation et l’exportation de cannabis ou de produits du cannabis continueront d’être autorisées à des fins médicales et scientifiques. En outre, le chanvre industriel pourra être importé et exporté. Pour obtenir des renseignements sur l’importation et l’exportation de cannabis, communiquez avec Santé Canada.

La possession d’un document médical autorisant l’usage du cannabis dans n’importe quel pays, y compris le Canada, ne donne pas le droit d’importer du cannabis au Canada ou d’en exporter. Dans des circonstances rares et exceptionnelles, Santé Canada peut, au cas par cas, autoriser une personne à franchir les frontières internationales en possession de cannabis pour des raisons médicales ou scientifiques.

Afin de mieux faire connaître les lois et les règles relatives au cannabis, l’ASFC prend un certain nombre de mesures clés. D’abord, elle installe des panneaux aux points d’entrée pour informer les voyageurs qui entrent au Canada de leur obligation de déclarer le cannabis, et les agents demanderont à tous les voyageurs qui entrent au Canada s’ils apportent du cannabis. Ensuite, l’ASFC est à mettre en œuvre une stratégie détaillée de communication numérique pour informer les voyageurs qu’il est toujours interdit d’importer ou d’exporter du cannabis et pour leur rappeler qu’ils sont toujours tenus de déclarer la substance.

L’ASFC aimerait profiter de l’occasion pour rappeler aux voyageurs que le cannabis est illégal dans la plupart des pays. Les voyageurs ont la responsabilité de s’informer des lois des pays qu’ils ont l’intention de visiter. Vous pouvez consulter le site voyage.gc.ca pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements. Si vous souhaitez avoir plus de détails sur la légalisation du cannabis au Canada, rendez-vous au www.canada.ca/cannabis et sur le site Web de l’ASFC à www.cbsa-asfc.gc.ca. De plus, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur Twitter (@Frontierecan), à vous joindre à nous sur Facebook ou à visiter notre chaîne YouTube.

Unité des politiques d’exécution des mesures douanières
Programmes d’exécution de la loi et du renseignement
Agence des services frontaliers du Canada

Date de modification :