“Furniture for domestic purposes”
Memorandum D10-15-30

ISSN 2369-2391

Ottawa, June 25, 2020

This document is also available in PDF (340 Kb) [help with PDF files]

In Brief

  • This new memorandum explains the Canada Border Services Agency’s (CBSA) interpretation of the term “For domestic purposes” under several tariff items in headings 94.01 and 94.03 in the Customs Tariff.

This memorandum explains the Canada Border Services Agency’s (CBSA) interpretation of the term “For domestic purposes” under several tariff items in headings 94.01 and 94.03 in the Customs Tariff.

Legislation

Customs Tariff
94.01
94.03

Guidelines and general information

Background

1. This memorandum provides guidance on tariff classification of furniture in tariff items of headings 94.01 and 94.03 containing the term “for domestic purposes”. It follows decisions issued by the Canadian International Trade Tribunal (Tribunal) which provides specific guidance on the classification of such goods. See the Appendix of this memorandum for a list of the Tribunal decisions.

2. The term “for domestic purposes” is not defined in the Customs Tariff or the Harmonized System (HS) Explanatory Notes to headings 94.01 and 94.03.

3. The Tribunal has established that the intended use, rather than the actual use, of furniture is the test to determine whether or not furniture is classified in “for domestic purposes” tariff items. The Tribunal has also established that “for domestic purposes” should be given “a broad enough interpretation to include products that are used primarily in a domestic setting”.

4. The Tribunal has further specified that design, characteristics, marketing and pricing are all factors to consider when determining whether or not furniture is “for domestic purposes”.

“For domestic purposes”

5. For purposes of this memorandum, the term “for domestic purposes” as it appears in headings 94.01 and 94.03 means goods primarily intended for use in a domestic setting, i.e. in and around the home (e.g., a single family house, an apartment, a condominium, a cottage or motorhome). For greater certainty “for domestic purposes” does not include goods primarily for business or commercial purposes nor goods primarily intended for any purpose away from the home, e.g. camping, sporting, performances or other recreational events.

6. The tariff items “for domestic purposes” are paired with residual “other” tariff items for furniture that is not primarily intended “for domestic purposes”. Classification of furniture in the “other” tariff items is restricted to goods that are not “for domestic purposes”. Such goods are either equally intended for domestic and other purposes or primarily intended for non-domestic purposes.

7. Examples of settings that are not considered “domestic” include: hospitals, care homes, schools, universities, libraries, religious institutions, offices, factories and workshops, retail stores, warehouses and storage facilities, hotels, bars, restaurants, theatres (movie, stage and musical), arenas and stadiums, bus and train stations, and airports.

8. The fact that furniture is used in non-domestic settings does not disqualify it from being considered “for domestic purposes”. Because the term does not create an “end use” provision, the actual use of the furniture does not have to be primarily in or around domiciles for it to be considered “for domestic purposes”. It is the intended, not the actual use of the furniture that matters.

Furniture Equally Intended for Domestic and Other Purposes

9. The Tribunal has established that when furniture is equally intended for both domestic and non-domestic purposes, it is not classified under the “for domestic purposes” tariff items.

10. Such furniture must have been intentionally designed for both domestic and non-domestic purposes for classification in the “other” tariff provisions as opposed to the “for domestic purposes” tariff items.

11. The CBSA requires evidence which clearly demonstrates that the designer, manufacturer or vendor of the goods deliberately intended the dual purpose. Evidence to support a conclusion of dual purposes can take several forms, including business plans, supplier and vendor correspondences or meetings, marketing materials, design documents, financial and sales records, or other relevant contemporaneous documentation.

Tariff Classification Guidance

12. It is the responsibility of the importer to provide complete and accurate information (with no misstatements or omissions of material facts) that establishes that a claim under “other” tariff items is correct.

13. Any evidence that furniture is intended for use in a domestic setting creates a presumption in favour of its classification under “for domestic purposes” tariff items. Importers must refute this presumption for classification of such furniture in “other” tariff items.

14. The CBSA will consider all objective and verifiable forms of evidence about the intended purpose of the furniture (such as the examples listed in paragraph 11).

15. The CBSA will only consider statements that refer to the motivation behind the furniture design if they originate from individuals with direct personal knowledge of the intended use of the furniture (e.g., the designer, the manufacturer or the retail buyer responsible for selecting furniture to be purchased). This demonstrable direct personal knowledge of the furniture’s intended use may arise from the individual’s personal involvement in the design of the furniture, and their relevant corporate responsibilities and professional experience.

Factors to Consider

16. If an importer claims that furniture is not classified in a “for domestic purposes” tariff item, they must provide information that specifies aspects of the design, characteristics, marketing and pricing that support the conclusion that the furniture is equally intended for domestic and other purposes or primarily intended for non-domestic purposes.

17. No single factor is individually decisive as to whether the primary intended purpose is not domestic. The final determination depends on an overall assessment of factors that takes into account all the information.

18. The following factors must be considered to determine the intended purpose of a particular article of furniture, and therefore its classification as either “for domestic purposes” or “other”.

A) Design and Characteristics of the Furniture

19. Design is the planning of the characteristics of the furniture and the incorporation of any related specifications.

20. Characteristics are the prominent attributes of the furniture.

21. A specification is a requirement about the necessary functional attributes of the furniture.

22. Durability, strength, stability, dimensions/size, maintenance requirements, weight, portability, comfort, ergonomics, appearance, style and function are aspects of the design and characteristics of furniture.

B) Marketing and Sales

23. A claim that furniture is equally or primarily marketed to the non-domestic market must be compared with the marketing efforts directed at domestic consumers.

24. Marketing directed to the non-domestic market must be demonstrated over a period of time and a sequence of marketing activities, not in isolation or as a single occurrence.

25. While the “for domestic purposes” and “other” tariff items are not “end use” provisions, the non-domestic market must be more than merely potential, incidental or occasional for classification in the “other” tariff items.

26. Sales reports to substantiate that sales to non-domestic consumers are significant relative to sales to domestic consumers must be provided to the CBSA upon request.

C) Pricing

27. Pricing at the low end of the comparative scale is evidence of personal, domestic and residential pricing, not commercial, institutional, office or hospitality pricing.

28. In order for higher pricing to be accepted as evidence that furniture is not “for domestic purposes”, it must be associated with conformity to the specifications, the standards and/or the requirements of non-domestic purposes.

29. Higher pricing is not indicative of tariff classification when it reflects the furniture’s quality (i.e. whether it is free of defects, and the degree of excellence or superiority of its features).

D) Standards

30. “Standards” are design and construction requirements that are either: established and/or approved by a recognized body and expressed in documents establishing rules, procedures, specifications and guidelines; required by law in a given jurisdiction; or, de facto industry norms.

31. Proof that furniture meets specific domestic or residential standards is evidence that it is “for domestic purposes”.

32. Proof that furniture meets commercial, institutional, office or hospitality standards is evidence that it is not “for domestic purposes”.

33. Proof that furniture meets general standards when considered alone is evidence of product quality, safety etc., or value or worthiness for money, not evidence of intended purpose.

34. A statement that furniture meets domestic or general standards to appeal to non-domestic consumers can only be evidence that the furniture is not “for domestic purposes” if the statement originates from an individual with direct personal knowledge of the furniture.

E) Warranties

35. A warranty available to the domestic wholesalers, distributors, retailers or consumers that excludes or omits commercial, institutional, industrial, office, hospitality or any other non-domestic use is evidence the furniture is “for domestic purposes”.

Additional Information

36. Importers may request an Advance Ruling should there be any uncertainty in regards to the tariff classification of a good to be imported. Information on how to obtain an Advance Ruling may be found in Memorandum D11-11-3, Advance Rulings for Tariff Classification.

37. For more information on CBSA programs, within Canada call the Border Information Service at 1-800-461-9999. From outside Canada call 204-983-3500 or 506-636-5064. Long distance charges will apply. Agents are available Monday to Friday (08:00 – 16:00 local time / except holidays). TTY is also available within Canada: 1-866-335-3237.

Appendix

CITT Appeal: AP-2017-052 Jardin de Ville v. President of the Canada Border Services Agency

CITT Appeal: AP-2017-004, Nouveau Americana DBA Nuevo Americana v. President of Canada Border Services Agency

CITT Appeal: AP-2016-005, Canac Marquis Grenier Ltée v. President of the Canada Border Services Agency

CITT Appeal: AP-2013-021, AP 2013-022, AP-2013-023 and AP-2013-024, Stylus Sofas Inc., Stylus Atlantic, Stylus Ltd. And Terravest (Sf Subco) Limited Partnership v. President of Canada Border Services Agency

CITT Appeal: AP-2013-053, Ikea Supply AG v. President of Canada Border Services Agency

CITT Appeal: AP-2010-068, 6572243 Canada Ltd. O/A Kwality Imports v. President of Canada Border Services Agency

CITT Appeal: AP-2009-049, Evenflo Canada Inc. v. President of Canada Border Services Agency

CITT Appeal: AP-2003-020, Alliance Ro-Na Home Inc. v. Commissioner of the Canada Customs And Revenue Agency

CITT Appeal: AP-2001-065, Alliance Ro-Na Home Inc. v. Commissioner of the Canada Customs And Revenue Agency

CITT Appeal: AP-2000-015, Costco Canada Inc. v. Commissioner of the Canada Customs And Revenue Agency

References

Issuing office
Trade Policy Division
Trade and Anti-dumping Programs Directorate
Commercial and Trade Branch
Headquarters file
 
Legislative references
Customs Tariff
Other references
 D11-11-3
Superseded memorandum D
N/A
Date modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

Meubles « pour usages domestiques »
Mémorandum D10-15-30

ISSN 2369-2405

Ottawa, le 14 avril 2021

Ce document est disponible en format PDF (231 Ko) [aide sur les fichiers PDF]

En résumé

  • Le présent mémorandum a été révisé pour clarifier la politique administrative concernant l’interprétation que l’Agence des services frontaliers du Canada fait de l’expression « pour usages domestiques », laquelle est employée dans plusieurs numéros tarifaires des positions 94.01 et 94.03 du Tarif des douanes.

Le présent mémorandum explique l’interprétation que l’Agence des services frontaliers du Canada (ASFC) fait de l’expression « pour usages domestiques », laquelle est employée dans plusieurs numéros tarifaires des positions 94.01 et 94.03 du Tarif des douanes.

Législation

Tarif des douanes
94.01
94.03

Lignes directrices et renseignements généraux

Contexte

1. Le présent mémorandum fourni une orientation sur le classement tarifaire des meubles dans les numéros tarifaires des positions 94.01 et 94.03 contenant l’expression « pour usages domestiques ». Il découle des décisions rendues par le Tribunal canadien du commerce extérieur (le Tribunal) qui donnent des directives spécifiques sur le classement de telles marchandises. Voir l’annexe du présent mémorandum pour une liste des décisions du Tribunal.

2. L’expression « pour usages domestiques » n’est pas définie dans le Tarif des douanes ou dans les Notes explicatives des positions 94.01 et 94.03 du Système harmonisé (SH).

3. Le Tribunal a établi que c’est l’usage prévu d’un meuble, par opposition à son usage réel, qui détermine si celui-ci se classe dans les numéros tarifaires « pour usages domestiques ». Le Tribunal a aussi établi que, en ce qui concerne l’expression « pour usages domestiques », il convient d’accorder « une portée suffisamment large pour qu’elle englobe les produits qui servent surtout dans un cadre domestique ».

4. Le Tribunal a par ailleurs précisé que la conception, les caractéristiques, la commercialisation et le prix sont tous des facteurs à prendre en compte au moment de déterminer si un meuble est « pour usages domestiques ».

« Pour usages domestiques »

5. Aux fins du présent mémorandum, l’expression « pour usages domestiques », telle qu’elle figure dans les positions 94.01 et 94.03, s’entend d’une marchandise dont l’usage prévu est principalement pour servir dans un cadre domestique, c’est-à-dire dans un domicile et ses environs immédiats (p. ex. une maison unifamiliale, un appartement, un condominium, un chalet ou une autocaravane). Il est entendu que l’expression « pour usages domestiques » ne comprend pas les marchandises dont l’usage est principalement à des fins professionnelles ou commerciales, ni aux marchandises dont l’usage prévu est principalement à toute fin loin du domicile, par exemple le camping, les sports, les activités culturelles ou d’autres activités récréatives.

6. Les numéros tarifaires « pour usages domestiques » sont jumelés à des numéros tarifaires résiduels « autres » pour les meubles qui ne sont pas surtout prévus « pour usages domestiques ». Le classement des meubles dans les numéros tarifaires « autres » se limite aux marchandises qui ne sont pas « pour usages domestiques ». Ces marchandises sont, soit prévues également pour usages domestiques et autres, soit prévues principalement pour usages non domestiques.

7. Des exemples de cadres qui ne sont pas considérés comme étant « domestiques » comprennent les hôpitaux, centres de soins, écoles, universités, bibliothèques, établissements religieux, bureaux, usines et ateliers, commerces de détail, entrepôts et installations de stockage, hôtels, bars, restaurants, théâtres, cinémas, salles de concert, arénas et stades, gares de train et d’autobus, et aéroports.

8. Le fait qu’un meuble puisse servir dans un cadre non domestique ne l’empêche pas d’être considéré comme étant « pour usages domestiques ». Puisque l’expression ne crée pas de disposition sur l’« utilisation ultime », il n’est pas nécessaire que l’usage réel se fasse principalement dans un domicile ou dans ses environs immédiats pour que le meuble soit considéré comme étant « pour usages domestiques ». C’est l’usage prévu et non l’usage réel du meuble qui importe.

Meubles prévus également pour usages domestiques et autres

9. Le Tribunal a établi que, lorsqu’un meuble est prévu également pour usages domestiques et non domestiques, il ne se classe pas dans les numéros tarifaires « pour usages domestiques ».

10. Il faut que le meuble ait été intentionnellement conçu pour usages à la fois domestiques et non domestiques pour être classé dans les dispositions tarifaires « autres » par opposition aux numéros tarifaires « pour usages domestiques ».

11. L’ASFC exige des éléments de preuve qui démontrent clairement que le concepteur, le fabricant ou le vendeur avait consciemment prévu le double usage. Les preuves appuyant une conclusion de double usage peuvent prendre plusieurs formes, y compris des plans d’affaires, des communications entre le fournisseur et le vendeur ou des compte rendus de leurs rencontres, du matériel de commercialisation, des documents de conception, des documents financiers ou des registres des ventes, ou d’autres documents contemporains pertinents.

Orientation en matière de classement tarifaire

12. Il incombe à l’importateur de fournir des renseignements complets et exacts (de ne pas faire de déclarations inexactes ou d’omettre des faits importants) en vue de l’établissement du bien-fondé d’une demande au titre des numéros tarifaires « autres ».

13. Selon la politique de l’ASFC, toute preuve que le meuble est prévu pour usage dans un cadre domestique crée une présomption en faveur de son classement dans les numéros tarifaires « pour usages domestiques ». Les importateurs doivent avoir des preuves que les meubles sont prévus pour usages non domestiques pour classer de tels meubles dans les numéros tarifaires « autres ».

14. L’ASFC tiendra compte de toutes les formes de preuves objectives et vérifiables de l’usage prévu du meuble (comme les exemples énumérés au paragraphe 11).

15. L’ASFC tiendra compte des déclarations concernant la motivation à l’origine de la conception des meubles qui proviennent de personnes ayant une connaissance directe et personnelle de l’usage prévu des meubles (p. ex. le fabricant, le concepteur, le détaillant-acheteur sélectionnant les marchandises à acheter). La connaissance directe et personnelle peut apporter un degré d’objectivité permettant d’établir que des marchandises sont en fait prévues pour un double usage.

Facteurs à considérer

16. L’importateur qui affirme que son meuble ne se classe pas dans les numéros tarifaires « pour usages domestiques » doit fournir des renseignements précisant les aspects de la conception, des caractéristiques, de la commercialisation et du prix qui appuient la conclusion que le meuble est prévu de manière égale pour usages domestiques et autres ou est prévu principalement pour usages non domestiques.

17. Cependant, aucun facteur ne permet à lui seul de déterminer que l’usage principal prévu n’est pas domestique. La décision définitive dépend d’une évaluation globale des facteurs qui prend en compte tous les renseignements.

18. Les facteurs ci-dessous doivent être considérés pour déterminer l’usage prévu d’un meuble donné, et donc son classement comme « pour usages domestiques » ou « autres ».

A) Conception et caractéristiques du meuble

19. La conception s’entend de la planification des caractéristiques du meuble, et l’intégration de toutes spécifications connexes.

20. Les caractéristiques s’entend des attributs notables du meuble.

21. Une spécification s’entend d’une exigence concernant les attributs fonctionnels nécessaires du meuble.

22. La durabilité, la robustesse, la stabilité, les dimensions, les besoins d’entretien, le poids, la portabilité, le confort, l’ergonomie, l’apparence, le style et la fonction sont des caractéristiques de conception d’un meuble.

B) Commercialisation et ventes

23. Une affirmation indiquant que les meubles sont également ou principalement commercialisés auprès de consommateurs « non domestiques » doit être comparée aux efforts de commercialisation auprès des consommateurs « domestiques ».

24. Les efforts de commercialisation auprès des consommateurs « non domestiques » doivent être démontrés sur une période de temps, et non pas isolément ou basé sur une seule instance.

25. Quoique les numéros tarifaires « pour usages domestiques » et « autres » ne soient pas des dispositions sur l’« utilisation ultime », pour être classés comme « autres », les meubles qui ne sont pas « pour usages domestiques » doivent avoir un marché « non-domestique » qui n’est pas simplement potentiel, accidentel ou occasionnel.

26. Des rapports de vente pour corroborer que les ventes à des consommateurs « non domestiques » sont importantes relativement aux ventes aux consommateurs « domestiques » doivent être fournies à la demande de l’ASFC.

C) Prix

27. En l’absence de preuve du contraire, les prix d’entrée de gamme dans la fourchette de prix sont indicateurs d’un usage personnel, domestique et résidentiel, et non pas d’un usage dans les commerces, les institutions, les bureaux ou les établissements du tourisme d’accueil.

28. Pour prouver qu’un meuble n’est pas « pour usages domestiques », le prix supérieur doit être associé au respect des normes, des spécifications et (ou) des exigences imputables à des usages non domestiques.

29. Les prix haut de gamme dans la fourchette de prix peuvent être le reflet de meubles de grande qualité.

D) Normes

30. Les « normes » sont des exigences en matière de conception et de construction qui : soit prennent la forme de documents énonçant des règles, des procédures, des lignes directrices et des spécifications établies et/ou approuvées par un organisme reconnu; soit sont imposées par une loi d’une autorité donnée; soit constituent de fait l’usage dans l’industrie.

31. Le fait qu’un meuble est conçu pour se conformer à des normes pour les meubles à usages domestiques ou résidentiels constitue une preuve qu’il est prévu « pour usages domestiques ».

32. Le fait qu’un meuble répond à des normes de commerces, d’institutions, de bureaux ou d’établissements du tourisme d’accueil constitue une preuve qu’il n’est pas « pour usages domestiques ».

33. Pris isolément, le fait qu’un meuble répond à des normes générales constitue une preuve de qualité, de sécurité, de valeur ou de rapport qualité-prix, etc., et non pas une preuve d’usage prévu du produit.

34. Une déclaration selon laquelle le meuble répond à des normes domestiques ou générales pour attirer des consommateurs « non domestiques » peut seulement être une preuve que le meuble n’est pas « pour usages domestiques » si elle provient d’une personne ayant une connaissance directe et personnelle du meuble.

35. Les meubles de grande qualité constituent une norme des consommateurs « domestiques » et « non domestiques » (commerces, institutions, bureaux ou établissements du tourisme d’accueil).

E) Garanties

36. Le fait qu’une garantie s’adresse aux grossistes, aux distributeurs, aux détaillants ou aux consommateurs du cadre « domestique », tout en excluant ou omettant les usages non domestiques (dans les commerces, les institutions, les industries, les bureaux, les établissements du tourisme d’accueil, etc.), est à considérer comme une preuve que les meubles correspondants sont « pour usages domestiques ».

Renseignements supplémentaires

37. Les importateurs qui veulent s’assurer du classement tarifaire d’une marchandise peuvent demander une décision anticipée sur le classement tarifaire. Des renseignements sur la façon d’obtenir une décision anticipée se trouvent dans le Mémorandum D11-11-3, Décisions anticipées en matière de classement tarifaire.

38. Pour plus de renseignements, communiquez avec le Service d'information sur la frontière de l’ASFC (SIF) :
Appels du Canada et des États-Unis (sans frais) : 1-800-461-9999
Appels de l'extérieur du Canada et des États-Unis (des frais d'interurbain s'appliquent) :
1-204-983-3550 ou 1-506-636-5064

ATS : 1-866-335-3237

Communiquer avec nous en ligne (formulaire web)
Communiquer avec l'ASFC du site Web de l’ASFC

Annexe

Appel au TCCE  : AP-2019-006, Ratana International Ltd. c. Président de l’Agence des services frontaliers du Canada

Appel au TCCE : AP-2017-052 Jardin de Ville c. Président de l’Agence des services frontaliers du Canada

Appel au TCCE : AP-2017-004, Nouveau Americana DBA Nuevo Americana c. Président de l’Agence des services frontaliers du Canada

Appel au TCCE : AP-2016-005, Canac Marquis Grenier Ltée c. Président de l’Agence des services frontaliers du Canada

Appel au TCCE : AP-2013-021, AP 2013-022, AP-2013-023 and AP-2013-024, Stylus Sofas Inc., Stylus Atlantic, Stylus Ltd. et Terravest (Sf Subco) Limited Partnership c. Président de l’Agence des services frontaliers du Canada

Appel au TCCE : AP-2013-053, Ikea Supply AG c. Président de l’Agence des services frontaliers du Canada

Appel au TCCE : AP-2010-068, 6572243 Canada Ltd. O/A Kwality Imports c. Président de l’Agence des services frontaliers du Canada

Appel au TCCE : AP-2009-049, Evenflo Canada Inc. c. Président de l’Agence des services frontaliers du Canada

Appel au TCCE : AP-2003-020, Alliance Ro-Na Home Inc. c. Commissaire de l’Agence des douanes et du revenu du Canada

Appel au TCCE : AP-2001-065, Alliance Ro-Na Home Inc. c. Commissaire de l’Agence des douanes et du revenu du Canada

Appel au TCCE : AP-2000-015, Costco Canada Inc. c. Commissaire de l’Agence des douanes et du revenu du Canada

Références

Bureau de diffusion
Division de la politique commerciale
Direction des programmes commerciaux et antidumping
Direction générale du secteur commercial et des échanges commerciaux
Dossier de l’Administration centrale
 
Références légales
Tarif des douanes
Autres références
 D11-11-3
En remplacement des mémorandums D
D10-15-30 en date du 25 juin 2020
Signaler un problème sur cette page

Cette adresse courriel sert à signaler un problème ou une erreur sur la page. Les pourriels et les commentaires de nature injurieux seront signalées ou supprimées. Pour obtenir de l'aide au sujet d'un programme ou sur les services de l'Agence des services frontaliers du Canada (ASFC), veuillez communiquer avec le service d'information sur la frontière.

Signaler un problème par courriel
Date de modification :