Importation of certain poultry and egg products and the Import Control List (ICL)
Memorandum D10-18-8

ISSN 2369-2391

Ottawa, June 30, 2009

This document is also available in PDF (456 Kb) [help with PDF files]

In brief

1. This new D-Memorandum is a revision to the information pertaining to poultry and egg products found in D10-18-4 on the Importation of Certain Agricultural products and the Import Control List (ICL), dated , which is cancelled by the publication of this new D-memorandum.

2. Information on dairy products as they relate to the Import Control List can now be found in the memorandum D10-18-7, Importation of Certain Dairy Products and the Import Control List (ICL).

3. This memorandum has also been updated to reflect the changes to Supplementary Note 1 to Chapter 16 as a result of the coming into force of the Canada United States Mexico Agreement as of .

This memorandum addresses the importation of poultry and egg products that are included on the Import Control List (ICL).

Legislation

Customs Tariff
Customs Tariff Act
Export and Import Permits Act
Import Control List

Guidelines and general information

1. Agricultural goods on the Import Control List (ICL) are provided for under one of two types of tariff items: “within access commitment” or “over access commitment.” Each item enumerated on the ICL has a dual tariff item reflecting this.

2. Pursuant to section 10(2) of the Customs Tariff Act, agricultural products included on the ICL, "…shall not be classified under a tariff item that contains the phrase 'within access commitment' unless the goods are imported under the authority of a permit issued under section 8.3 of the Export and Import Permits Act and in compliance with the conditions of the permit".

3. Global Affairs Canada (GAC) is the Department responsible for establishing the import access levels, allocating quota and issuing import permits.

4. Poultry and egg products enumerated on the ICL may only be classified under a “within access commitment” tariff item when a specific import permit for the goods is obtained from GAC, and all its terms and conditions are fulfilled. Without a specific import permit, goods will be entered under a General Import Permit (GIP) number 100 – Eligible Agricultural Products, and will be classified under an “over access commitment” tariff item.

5. Sections 7(1) to 11 of the Export and Import Permits Act is the legislation that governs the issuance of import permits referred to in section 10(2) of the Customs Tariff Act. For information on permits and quota applications, importers are advised to consult GAC’s Export and import controls webpage and to refer to the Notice to importers series.

6. Import permits are not required to be submitted to the Canada Border Services Agency (CBSA) to obtain the release of the goods. However, they are required at the time of accounting and must be available during any CBSA compliance verification activity.

7. The issuance of an allocation or a permit by GAC does not constitute a tariff classification ruling.

8. D10-18-1, Tariff Rate Quotas provides a general overview of the Tariff Rate Quota (TRQ) system.

Classification information

Poultry Products – Definitions and guidelines

9. Definitions

10. Information on the classification of live poultry and chicks can be found in memorandum D10-14-63, Tariff Classification of Live Chicks of the Species Gallus Domesticus.

Flours and Edible Flours of Heading 02.10

11. Flours of meat or meat offal and edible flours made from cooked meat such as chicken, turkey, or beef etc., or from edible meat offal are classified under tariff item 0210.99.90. Flours of meat or meat offal unfit for human consumption (e.g., for feeding animals) are excluded (heading 23.01).

“Specially Defined Mixtures” – Definition and Guidelines

12. All goods classified in Chapter 16, including specially defined mixtures, must first meet the terms of Chapter Note 2 to Chapter 16 which reads:

13. Goods meeting the 20% minimum content outlined in the above Chapter Note must also meet the terms of heading 16.02, as provided below, before the good can be considered as a “specially defined mixture”.

14. At the subheading level, products meeting the terms of heading 16.02, as provided above are classified in accordance to the type of meat in those products:

15. At the tariff item level, Supplementary Note 1 “specially defined mixtures” applies. It is defined in the Customs Tariff as follows:

16. The determination of whether a good is a “specially defined mixture” is based on the ingredient list and manufacturing processes of the product. Importers will need to clearly demonstrate, through the manufacturing process or additional production specifications of the product, how the product is produced in order to determine its eligibility. Additional information may be requested by the CBSA in order to further determine eligibility. This information is required by the CBSA for the issuance of an advanced ruling and for any CBSA compliance verification activity.

17. For examples of goods that qualify and do not qualify as specially defined mixtures, see Appendix A.

Eggs:

18. Eggs are classified in headings 04.07, 04.08, and 21.06.

19. Eggs classified in heading 04.07 are in their shell and are fresh, preserved or cooked.

20. “Hatching eggs” are provided for in heading 04.07 and are fertile eggs to be placed into incubators with the intention of producing live birds. Importations of hatching eggs, from the United States, must be accompanied by a U.S. Department of Agriculture Certificate for Poultry or Hatching Eggs for Export.

21. Fresh eggs for consumption (i.e. retail eggs or for breaking), imported from the United States, must be accompanied by a U.S. Department of Agriculture Certificate Poultry Products Grading Certificate.

22. Eggs which are not in their shell, that are fresh, cooked, dried, in parts, and may or may not contain sweetening matter are classified in heading 04.08.

23. Dried whole eggs containing a small amount of colorant which are not suitable for human consumption but are destined for animal consumption, generally referred to as “denatured eggs”, are provided for by heading 04.08. The Explanatory Notes to this heading indicate that eggs for use as food or industrial purposes (e.g., in tanning) are provided for by the heading.

24. Eggs of heading 04.07 are identified by species, eggs of heading 04.08 are not identified by species and therefore all eggs regardless of species, meeting the terms of the heading, are classified in the appropriate subheading. As such, in order to classify an egg product under a “within access” tariff item of heading 04.08, a specific import permit must be obtained from GAC.

25. Egg preparations of tariff item 2106.90.51 (within access) or 2106.90.52 (over access) are egg preparations which have been further processed into preparations containing 50% or more by weight of eggs. These goods also contain other ingredients, such as seasoning, spices and other additives, which are not permissible in heading 04.08.

Other Classification Information

26. In accordance with the General Interpretive Rule 3(b), gift baskets or gift boxes made up of a selection of food stuffs are not considered to be a “set for retail sale”. As such, each component of gift baskets or boxes must be classified individually and any food stuffs that are included on the ICL must have a specific import permit for the goods from GAC to be classified under a “within access commitment” tariff item (i.e., to obtain a lower rate of duty).

27. For further guidelines on tariff classification, consult memorandum D10-13-1, Tariff Classification of Goods.

Additional information

28. To obtain an application for an import permit or additional information on import permits, please contact the Export and import controls, GAC.

29. For certainty regarding the tariff classification of a product, importers may request an advance ruling. Details on how to make such a request are found in memorandum D11-11-3, Advance Rulings for Tariff Classification.

30. For more information, within Canada call the Border Information Service at 1-800-461-9999. From outside Canada call 204-983-3500 or 506-636-5064. Long distance charges will apply. Agents are available Monday to Friday (08:00 – 16:00 local time / except holidays). TTY is also available within Canada: 1-866-335-3237.

Appendix A

The following show examples of chicken and turkey preparations that qualify as “specially defined mixtures” and two preparations that do not. For the purposes of these examples, Note 2 to Chapter 16 is assumed to have been met.

Example 1: "Chicken wings with sauce"
Ingredient Portion
Fully cooked chicken wings 74.00%
Sauce packet 14.00%
Seasoning 2.00%
Water 1.00%

According to the definition of specially defined mixtures, the sauce and water are considered to be part of the chicken portion. Since the non-chicken portion is not greater than 13%, this product cannot be considered to be a specially defined mixture.

Example 2: "Uncooked, frozen chicken breasts with sauce"
Ingredient Portion
Chicken 75.00%
Sweet and sour sauce 24.00%
White pepper 1.00%

According to the definition of specially defined mixtures, the sauce cannot be considered to be part of the non-chicken portion. Since the non-chicken portion is not greater than 13%, this product cannot be considered to be a specially defined mixture. Additionally, the meat portion does not meet the definition of a specially defined mixture since it has not been partially or completely cooked.

Example 3: “Turkey burger patties”
Ingredient Portion
Par-fried, turkey 78.00%
Water 5.00%
Roasted peppers 5.50%
Roasted mushrooms 4.50%
Roasted zucchini 3.00%
Oats 3.00%
Chopped Cilantro 1.00%

According to the definition of specially defined mixture, the non-turkey portion (chopped cilantro, peppers, mushrooms, zucchini and oats) is greater than 13% and the meat portion has been partially cooked (par-fried); therefore this product qualifies as a specially defined mixture.

Example 4: “Cranberry almond chicken salad”
Ingredient Portion
Fully cooked chicken strips 38.00%
Spinach 30.00%
Balsamic vinaigrette 10.00%
Cranberries 8.00%
Almonds 7.00%
Celery 4.00%
Onions 3.00%

According to the definition of specially defined mixture, the non-chicken portion (spinach, cranberries, almonds, celery and onions) is greater than 13% and the chicken portion has been fully cooked; this product qualifies as a specially defined mixture. Vinaigrette meets the definition of sauce, and even though it was removed from the calculation, the good still qualified as a specially defined mixture.

References

Issuing office
Trade and Anti-dumping Programs Directorate
Trade Policy Division
Headquarters file
N/A
Legislative references
Customs Tariff
Customs Tariff Act
Export and Import Permits Act
Import Control List
Other references
 D10-13-1, D10-14-63, D10-18-1, D11-11-3
Export and import controls
CFIA labelling requirements
Notice to importers
Superseded memorandum D
D10-18-4 dated
Date modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

Importation de produits de volaille et d’œufs et Liste des marchandises d’importation contrôlée (LMIC)
Mémorandum D10-18-8

ISSN 2369-2405

Ottawa, le 30 juin 2020

Ce document est disponible en format PDF (491 Ko) [aide sur les fichiers PDF]

En résumé

1. Le présent nouveau mémorandum D est une révision des éléments concernant la volaille et les œufs de l’ancien mémorandum D10-18-4, Importation de certains produits agricoles et Liste des marchandises d’importation contrôlée (LMIC), du , qui est annulé par la publication du présent mémorandum D.

2. Les renseignements sur les produits laitiers en ce qui a trait à la Liste des marchandises d’importation contrôlée sont maintenant inclus dans le mémorandum D10-18-7, Importation de produits de volaille et d’œufs et liste des marchandises d’importation contrôlée (LMIC).

3. Le présent mémorandum a été mis à jour afin de tenir compte des changements apportés à la Note supplémentaire 1 du Chapitre 16 suite à l’entrée en vigueur de l’Accord de libre-échange Canada-États-Unis-Mexique, lequel prend effet le .

Le présent mémorandum porte sur l’importation de produits de volaille et d’œufs qui figurent sur la Liste des marchandises d’importation contrôlée (LMIC)

Législation

Tarif des douanes(Tarif)
Tariff des douanes
Loi sur les licences d’exportation et d’importation
Liste des marchandises d’importation contrôlée

Lignes directrices et renseignements généraux

1. Les produits agricoles figurant sur la Liste des marchandises d’importation contrôlée (LMIC) sont visés par une de deux catégories de numéros tarifaires : « dans les limites de l’engagement d’accès » ou « au-dessus de l’engagement d’accès ». C’est pourquoi chaque article énuméré sur la LMIC a un double numéro tarifaire.

2. En vertu du paragraphe 10(2) du Tarif des douanes , les produits agricoles inclus sur la LMIC « […] ne peuvent être classé[e]s dans un numéro tarifaire comportant la mention "dans les limites de l’engagement d’accès" que dans le cas où leur importation procède d’une licence délivrée en vertu de l’article 8.3 de la Loi sur les licences d’exportation et d’importation et en respecte les conditions  ».

3. Affaires mondiales Canada (AMC) a la responsabilité de fixer les niveaux d’accès aux importations, d’attribuer les contingents et de délivrer les licences d’importation.

4. Les produits de volaille et d’œufs énumérés sur la LMIC peuvent uniquement être classés sous un numéro tarifaire « dans les limites de l’engagement d’accès » quand une licence d’importation spécifique est obtenue auprès d’AMC et que toutes les conditions en sont respectées. Sans licence d’importation spécifique, les produits sont déclarés au moyen d’une Licence générale d’importation (LGI) numéro 100 – Produits agricoles admissibles, et sont classés sous un numéro tarifaire « au-dessus de l’engagement d’accès ».

5. Le paragraphe 7(1) de l’article 11 de la Loi sur les licences d’exportation et d’importation est la législation qui régit la délivrance des licences d’importation dont il est question au paragraphe 10(2) du Tarif des douanes . Il est conseillé aux importateurs de consulter la page Web Contrôles à l’exportation et importation ainsi que la série des Avis aux importateurs d’AMC pour obtenir des renseignements sur les licences et les demandes de contingents.

6. Des licences d’importation n’ont pas à être présentées à l’Agence des services frontaliers du Canada (ASFC) pour obtenir la mainlevée des marchandises. Cependant, elles sont requises au moment de la déclaration en détail et doivent être mises à disposition lors de toute activité de vérification de l’observation de l’ASFC.

7. L’attribution d’un contingent ou la délivrance d’une licence par AMC ne constitue pas une décision en matière de classement tarifaire.

8. Le mémorandum D10-18-1, Contingents tarifaires donne un aperçu général du système de contingents tarifaires.

Renseignements sur le classement

Produits de volaille – Définitions et lignes directrices

9. Définitions :

10. Le mémorandum D10-14-63, Classement tarifaire de poulets vivants de l’espèce domestique , contient des renseignements sur le classement de poulets et de poussins vivants.

Farines et farines comestibles de la position 02.10

11. Les farines de viande ou d’abats et les farines comestibles faites de viandes cuites, telles que le poulet, le dindon ou le bœuf, ou d’abats comestibles sont classées dans le numéro tarifaire 0210.99.90. Les farines de viande ou d’abats impropres à l’alimentation humaine (p. ex. les farines servant d’aliments pour animaux) sont exclues (position 23.01).

« Mélanges définis de spécialité » – Définition et lignes directrices

12. Toutes les marchandises classées dans le Chapitre 16, y compris les mélanges définis de spécialité, doivent d’abord respecter les termes de la Note 2 du Chapitre 16, qui se lit comme suit :

13. Les produits respectant le critère minimal des 20 % du contenu, énoncé dans la note de chapitre précédente, doivent aussi respecter les termes de la position 16.02, fournis ci-dessous, pour être considérés comme des « mélanges définis de spécialité » :

14. Au niveau de la sous-position, les produits respectant les termes de la position 16.02 ci-dessus sont classés en fonction du type de viande qu’ils contiennent :

15. Au niveau du numéro tarifaire, la Note supplémentaire 1 pour les « mélanges définis de spécialité » s’applique. Elle donne la définition suivante :

16. Pour déterminer si un produit est un « mélange défini de spécialité », on s’appuie sur la liste des ingrédients et les procédés de fabrication du produit. Les importateurs doivent montrer clairement, par le procédé de fabrication ou des spécifications de production supplémentaires, comment le produit est fabriqué. L’ASFC pourra demander des renseignements supplémentaires pour déterminer l’admissibilité du produit. Elle a besoin de ces renseignements pour pouvoir rendre une décision anticipée et accomplir toute activité de vérification de l’observation.

17. L’ annexe A donne des exemples de produits qui correspondent et ne correspondent pas à la définition de mélanges définis de spécialité.

Œufs

18. Les œufs sont classés dans les positions 04.07, 04.08 et 21.06.

19. Les œufs de la position 04.07 sont en coquilles, frais, conservés ou cuits.

20. Les « œufs d’incubation » sont compris dans la position 04.07. Ce sont des œufs fertilisés que l’on place dans des incubateurs pour la reproduction d’oiseaux vivants. Les importations d’œufs d’incubation des États-Unis doivent être accompagnées d’un certificat du ministère de l’Agriculture des États-Unis intitulé Certificate for Poultry or Hatching Eggs for Export.

21. Les œufs frais destinés à la consommation (c.-à-d. destinés au commerce de détail ou à être cassés) qui sont importés des États-Unis doivent être accompagnés d’un certificat du ministère de l’Agriculture des États-Unis intitulé Poultry Products Grading Certificate.

22. Les œufs dépourvus de leurs coquilles, frais, séchés, cuits, même additionnés d’édulcorants, sont classés dans la position 04.08.

23. Les œufs entiers séchés contenant une petite quantité de colorant qui ne sont pas propres à la consommation humaine, mais sont destinés à la consommation animale, généralement appelés « œufs dénaturés », sont compris dans la position 04.08. Les Notes explicatives de la position indiquent que celle-ci comprend les œufs destinés à être utilisés à des fins alimentaires ou industrielles (p. ex. pour le tannage).

24. Puisque les œufs de la position 04.07 sont désignés en fonction de l’espèce, et que ceux de la position 04.08 ne le sont pas, tous les œufs, quelle que soit l’espèce, qui respectent les termes de la position sont classés dans la sous-position appropriée. Ainsi, pour classer des produits d’œufs sous un numéro tarifaire « dans les limites de l’engagement d’accès » de la position 04.08, il faut une licence d’importation spécifique d’AMC.

25. Les préparations d’œufs des numéros tarifaires 2106.90.51 (dans les limites de l’engagement d’accès) ou 2106.90.52 (au-dessus de l’engagement d’accès) ont été transformées en préparations contenant 50 % ou plus en poids d’œufs. Ces produits contiennent aussi d’autres ingrédients, tels que des assaisonnements, des épices et d’autres additifs, qui ne sont pas permis dans la position 04.08.

Autres renseignements sur le classement

26. Conformément à la Règle générale d’interprétation 3b), les paniers et les boîtes cadeaux contenant une sélection de produits alimentaires ne sont pas considérés comme des « assortiments conditionnés pour la vente au détail ». Ainsi, chaque article dans les paniers ou les boîtes cadeaux doit être classé séparément, et pour tout produit figurant sur la LMIC , il faut une licence d’importation spécifique d’AMC aux fins de classement sous un numéro tarifaire « dans les limites de l’engagement d’accès » (et aussi offrant un taux de droit réduit).

27. Pour de plus amples renseignements sur le classement tarifaire, consultez le mémorandum D10-13-1, Classement tarifaire des marchandises. .

Renseignements supplémentaires

28. Pour obtenir une demande de licence d’importation ou des renseignements supplémentaires sur les licences d’importation, veuillez communiquer avec Contrôles à l’exportation et l’importation d’AMC.

29. Les importateurs qui veulent s’assurer du classement tarifaire d’un produit peuvent demander une décision anticipée. Les détails sur la façon de présenter une telle demande se trouvent dans le mémorandum D11-11-3, Décisions anticipées en matière de classement tarifaire .

30. Pour plus de renseignements, communiquez avec le Service d'information sur la frontière de l’ASFC (SIF) :
Appels du Canada et des États-Unis (sans frais) : 1-800-461-9999
Appels de l'extérieur du Canada et des États-Unis (des frais d'interurbain s'appliquent) :
1-204-983-3550 ou 1-506-636-5064

ATS : 1-866-335-3237

Communiquer avec nous en ligne (formulaire web)
Communiquer avec l'ASFC du site Web de l’ASFC

Annexe A

Les exemples ci-dessous présentent deux préparations de poulet et de dindon qui sont admissibles comme « mélanges définis de spécialité » et deux qui ne le sont pas. Nous partons du principe que les produits remplissent les critères de la Note 2 du Chapitre 16.

Exemple 1 : « Ailes de poulet avec sauce »
Ingrédient Produit
Ailes de poulet complètement cuites 74,00 %
Sachet de sauce 14,00 %
Assaisonnements 2,00 %
Eau 1,00 %

Selon la définition de mélanges définis de spécialité, la sauce et l’eau sont considérées comme faisant partie de la portion de poulet. Étant donné que la portion qui n’est pas du poulet n’est pas supérieure à 13 %, ce produit ne peut pas être considéré comme un mélange défini de spécialité.

Exemple 2 : « Poitrines de poulet congelées non cuites avec sauce »
Ingrédient Produit
Poulet 75,00 %
Sauce aigre-douce 24,00 %
Poivre blanc 1,00 %

Selon la définition de mélanges définis de spécialité, la sauce ne peut pas être considérée comme faisant partie de la portion qui n’est pas du poulet. Étant donné que la portion qui n’est pas du poulet n’est pas supérieure à 13 %, ce produit ne peut pas être considéré comme un mélange défini de spécialité. De plus, la portion de viande ne correspond pas à la définition de mélanges définis de spécialité puisqu’elle n’a pas été partiellement ou complètement cuite.

Exemple 3 : « Galettes de burger à la dinde »
Ingrédient Produit
Dinde partiellement frite 78,00 %
Eau 5,00 %
Poivrons rôtis 5,50 %
Champignons rôtis 4,50 %
Courgettes rôties 3,00 %
Avoine 3,00 %
Coriandre hachée 1,00 %

Selon la définition de mélanges définis de spécialité, la portion qui n’est pas de la dinde (coriandre hachée, poivrons, champignons, courgettes et avoine) est supérieure à 13 % et la portion de viande a été partiellement cuite (partiellement frite); ce produit se qualifie donc à tire de mélange défini de spécialité.

Exemple 4 : « Salade de poulet aux amandes et aux canneberges »
Ingrédient Produit
Lanières de poulet complètement cuites 38,00 %
Épinards 30,00 %
Vinaigrette balsamique 10,00 %
Canneberges 8,00 %
Amandes 7,00 %
Céleri 4,00 %
Oignons 3,00 %

Selon la définition de mélanges définis de spécialité, la portion qui n’est pas du poulet (épinards, canneberges, amandes, céleri et oignons) est supérieure à 13 % et la portion de poulet a été complètement cuite; ce produit se qualifie donc à titre de mélange défini de spécialité. La vinaigrette correspond à la définition de sauce, et bien qu’elle ait été éliminée du calcul, le produit se qualifie toujours à titre de mélange défini de spécialité.

Références

Bureau de diffusion
Direction des programmes commerciaux et antidumping
Division de la politique commerciale
Dossier de l’administration centrale
 
Références légales
Tarif des douanes(Tarif)
Tariff des douanes
Loi sur les licences d’exportation et d’importation
Liste des marchandises d’importation contrôlée
Autres références
 D10-13-1, D10-14-63, D10-18-1, D11-11-3,
Contrôles à l’exportation et l’importation
Exigences en matière d’étiquetage de l’ ACIA
Avis aux importateurs
Ceci annule le mémorandum D
D10-18-4, du
Signaler un problème sur cette page

Cette adresse courriel sert à signaler un problème ou une erreur sur la page. Les pourriels et les commentaires de nature injurieux seront signalées ou supprimées. Pour obtenir de l'aide au sujet d'un programme ou sur les services de l'Agence des services frontaliers du Canada (ASFC), veuillez communiquer avec le service d'information sur la frontière.

Signaler un problème par courriel
Date de modification :