Import and export a firearm or weapon into Canada

As of July 7, 2021, certain provisions of Bill C-71, An Act to amend certain Acts and Regulations in relation to firearms, came into force.

Canada's firearms laws help make Canada safer for residents and visitors.

Procedures for individuals importing firearms

Declare all firearms to a border services officer when you arrive at the border, provide any documents required (as listed below), and answer all questions truthfully. The border services officer must be satisfied that you have a valid reason for bringing the firearm into Canada, and may check to ensure that you have stored your firearm properly for transportation. The border services officer will also review your documents and may verify that the firearm you have matches the one described on the documents.

If you have declared a firearm but cannot meet the import requirements, or you do not have the proper documents, the border services officer, at his or her discretion, may allow you to export the firearm from Canada. Alternatively, the border services officer may detain the firearm, issue you a receipt and allow you a reasonable amount of time to present the correct documents to the CBSA.

If you have not been truthful, or if the officer believes that you should not bring the firearm into Canada, the CBSA can detain it. If you did not declare the firearm, the CBSA will seize it, and you may face criminal charges.

If you need information about importing a specific firearm or weapon, contact the Canadian Firearms Program or the Border Information Service.

Import regulations

Different regulations apply if you are importing firearms as a visitor or Canadian resident. However, anyone importing a firearm to Canada must be at least 18 years of age.

Note: Persons under 18 years of age cannot import firearms, but may be eligible for a Minor's Possession Licence.

Visitors to Canada

To import firearms into Canada you must have a valid purpose. Valid purposes can include (but are not limited to) the following:

Non-restricted firearms

If you are importing non-restricted firearms and you hold a valid Canadian Firearms licence, you will need to show the valid Canadian firearms licence to a border services officer.

If you do not hold a valid Canadian firearms licence, you must:

Once confirmed by a border services officer, the declaration has the same effect as a temporary licence for the firearms for up to 60 days.

Restricted firearms

Visitors who do not hold a valid Canadian firearms licence or registration certificate for their restricted firearm must:

Once confirmed by a border services officer, the form acts as the licence and as the temporary registration certificate for the firearms.

Visitors who hold a valid Canadian firearm licence but do not have a registration certificate for their restricted firearms must:

Once confirmed by a border services officer, the declaration has the same effect as a temporary registration certificate for the firearms for up to 60 days.

To import restricted firearms you also need an authorization to transport (ATT). You can get one by following these steps:

If you arrive at the border without an ATT for the restricted firearm, the CBSA may hold the firearm for 14 days while you apply and present the form to us.

Prohibited firearms, devices and weapons

Visitors to Canada cannot, under any circumstances, import prohibited firearms, prohibited devices or prohibited weapons. A listing of these items may be found in the Regulations Prescribing Certain Firearms and Other Weapons, Components and Parts of Weapons, Accessories, Cartridge Magazines, Ammunition and Projectiles as Prohibited or Restricted.

For more information on declarations by visitors, please call the Canadian Firearms Program at 1-800-731-4000, or review their frequently asked questions.

Documentation – Visitors to Canada without a canadian firearms licence
Type of Firearm Form RCMP 5589 + Can$25 Authorization to Transport
non-restricted required not required
restricted required required
prohibited importation prohibited importation prohibited
Documentation – Visitors to Canada with a canadian firearms licence
Type of Firearm Possession and Acquisition Licence Canadian Firearm Registration Certificate OR
Form RCMP 5589 + Can$25
Authorization to Transport
non-restricted required not required not required
restricted required requiredFootnote 1 required
prohibited importation prohibited importation prohibited importation prohibited

Canadian residents

Prohibited firearms

Canadian residents cannot, under any circumstances, import prohibited firearms newly acquired outside Canada. A listing of these items may be found in the Regulations Prescribing Certain Firearms and Other Weapons, Components and Parts of Weapons, Accessories, Cartridge Magazines, Ammunition and Projectiles as Prohibited or Restricted.

If you are importing grandfathered prohibited firearms that you previously temporarily exported from Canada, you have to provide the CBSA with:

Previously exported firearms

If you are importing firearms that were previously exported from Canada, it is a good idea to carry proof that you purchased the firearm in Canada, or that duty was paid when you imported it. You can ask CBSA staff to document your firearm on Form BSF407, Identification of Articles for Temporary Exportation, before you leave the country or provide a copy of the export permit under which the firearm was exported. Please note that Form BSF407, Identification of Articles for Temporary Exportation, is only available at a CBSA office.

Documentation – Canadian residents importing newly acquired firearms
Type of Firearm Possession and Acquisition Licence Firearm Registration Certificate Authorization to Transport
non-restricted required not required not required
restricted required required required
prohibited importation prohibited importation prohibited importation prohibited
Documentation – Canadian residents re-importing firearms previously exported from Canada
Type of Firearm Possession and Acquisition Licence Firearm Registration Certificate Authorization to Transport Import Permit
non-restricted required not required not required not required
restricted required required required not required
grandfathered prohibited required required required required

Ammunition, primers and powders

As per the Explosives Regulations, 2013, Section 45, a person may import, export or transport in transit explosives without a permit if the following conditions are met:

Within the prescribed limits, non-residents can import 200 rounds duty free for hunting purposes, or up to 1,500 rounds duty free for use at a recognized competition.

Information on permits to import personal quantities of explosives in excess of those outlined in the Explosives Regulations, 2013 or on importation for commercial purposes can be found in Memorandum D19-6-1, Administration of the Explosives Act, or by contacting Natural Resources Canada.

Procedures for individuals exporting firearms

Exporting firearms to the United States

If you are exporting non-restricted or restricted firearms from Canada to the United States, you do not have to stop at a CBSA office when you leave the country. However, the United States requires an import permit. The Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco and Firearms (ATF) issue the required import permit. Applicable forms are available on the ATF website.

If you are exporting prohibited firearms from Canada to the United States you need a PAL, registration certificate, paper ATT and an export permit from Global Affairs Canada.

Exporting firearms to countries other than the United States

If you are exporting any class of firearm to countries other than the United States an export permit is required from Global Affairs Canada. In addition, you need to present a PAL and dependent on the classification of the firearm a registration certificate and a paper ATT.

Before exporting these goods, check with customs officials of the country you intend to enter for their requirements.

You must also advise the Canadian Firearms Program of any permanent exportation of a restricted or prohibited firearm from Canada. This makes it possible for officials there to update the information contained in the Canadian Firearms Registry. For more information, please call the Canadian Firearms Program at 1-800-731-4000, or review their frequently asked questions.

Hunting requirements

Firearms are forbidden in many of Canada's national and provincial parks, game reserves and adjacent areas. Hunting in Canada is governed by federal, provincial and territorial laws. If you hunt in Canada, you must have a hunting licence from each province or territory you plan to hunt in. If you need more information about parks and hunting regulations, contact the appropriate provincial or territorial tourism information office or hunting licence authority.

Please note that only non-restricted firearms can be used for hunting purposes and protection against wildlife in remote areas. Use of firearms for personal protection, or protection of property is not deemed a valid purpose to import firearms into Canada.

Transporting firearms

Canadian law states that you have to transport all firearms, including antique firearms, unloaded. If you are transporting them in a vehicle, they must be kept out of sight in a part of a vehicle that is kept locked (the trunk, if there is one), unless the vehicle is supervised by an adult. You have to transport restricted and prohibited firearms in a locked case and equip them with locked safety devices to prevent firing. Antique handguns do not require a secure locking device, although all other transportation provisions apply.

If you are flying, please visit Canadian Air Transport Security Authority's website for information concerning the transportation of firearms and/or ammunition by air.

Foreign requirements

Importers are reminded that foreign countries, including the United States, have different legal requirements that apply to the purchase, possession, transportation and exportation of firearms, ammunition, weapons and related items. It is recommended that you contact the appropriate authorities in the country you are visiting, to determine if any requirements apply to your situation.

Date modified:

Importer et exporter une arme à feu ou une arme au Canada

Le 7 juillet 2021, certaines dispositions du projet de loi C-71, Loi modifiant certaines lois et certains règlements relatifs aux armes à feu, sont entrées en vigueur.

La législation du Canada en matière d'armes à feu aide à assurer la sécurité des résidents et des visiteurs au pays.

Procédures d'importation des armes à feu pour les particuliers

Lorsque vous arrivez à la frontière, vous devez déclarer votre arme à feu à l'agent des services frontaliers, fournir tout document requis (voir ci-après) et répondre à toutes les questions véridiquement. L'agent des services frontaliers doit être convaincu que vous avez une raison valable d'importer l'arme à feu et il peut vérifier si vous avez mis l'arme à feu dans un endroit sûr en vue de son transport. L'agent examinera aussi vos documents et déterminera si l'arme à feu que vous avez correspond à celle décrite dans les documents.

Si vous avez déclaré une arme à feu, mais ne pouvez pas respecter les exigences de l'importation ou n'avez pas les documents appropriés, l'agent des services frontaliers peut vous autoriser à exporter l'arme à feu du Canada. L'agent des services frontaliers peut, à sa discrétion, décider de retenir l'arme à feu, vous remettre un reçu et vous accorder un délai raisonnable pour vous permettre de présenter les documents appropriés à l'ASFC.

Si vous n'avez pas répondu véridiquement aux questions ou si l'agent estime que vous ne devriez pas importer l'arme à feu au Canada, nous pouvons la retenir. Si vous n'avez pas déclaré l'arme à feu, nous la saisirons et vous pourrez être passible d'accusations au criminel.

Si vous avez besoin de renseignements sur l'importation d'une arme à feu ou d'une arme particulière, veuillez communiquer avec le Programme canadien des armes à feu ou avec le Service d'information sur la frontière.

Règlements sur les importations

Différents règlements entrent en jeu lorsque vous importez des armes à feu en tant que visiteur ou en tant que résident au Canada. Toutefois, quiconque importe une arme à feu au Canada doit être âgé d'au moins 18 ans.

Remarque : Les personnes âgées de moins de 18 ans ne peuvent pas importer d'armes à feu, mais peuvent obtenir un permis de possession de mineur.

Visiteurs au Canada

Vous devez avoir un motif valable pour importer des armes à feu au Canada. Ces motifs peuvent notamment comprendre ce qui suit :

Armes à feu sans restrictions

Si vous importez des armes à feu sans restriction et êtes titulaire d'un permis d'armes à feu canadien valide, vous devrez présenter ce permis à un agent des services frontaliers.

Si vous n'êtes pas titulaire d'un permis d'arme à feu canadien valide, vous devez :

Une fois confirmée par l'agent des services frontaliers, la déclaration a le même effet qu'un permis d'armes à feu et il est valide pour 60 jours.

Armes à feu à autorisation restreinte

Les visiteurs qui ne sont pas titulaires d'un permis d'armes à feu canadien valide ou d'un certificat d'enregistrement, dans le cas d'armes à feu à autorisation restreinte, doivent :

Une fois confirmé par l'agent des services frontaliers, le formulaire sert de permis et de certificat d'enregistrement temporaire pour les armes à feu.

Les visiteurs qui sont titulaires d'un permis d'armes à feu canadien, mais qui ne possèdent pas de certificat d'enregistrement, dans le cas d'armes à feu à autorisation restreinte, doivent :

Une fois confirmée par l'agent des services frontaliers, la déclaration a le même effet qu'un certificat d'enregistrement temporaire, et il est valide pour 60 jours.

Pour importer des armes à feu à autorisation restreinte, vous avez aussi besoin d'une autorisation de transport (AT). Pour obtenir une AT, suivez les étapes suivantes :

Si vous arrivez à la frontière sans AT pour une arme à feu à autorisation restreinte, l'ASFC peut retenir l'arme à feu pendant 14 jours, jusqu'à ce que vous puissiez demander et nous présenter le formulaire.

Armes à feu, dispositifs et autres armes prohibés

Les visiteurs au Canada ne peuvent, en aucun cas, importer d'armes à feu, de dispositifs ou d'autres armes prohibés. Une liste de ces articles figure dans le Règlement désignant des armes à feu, armes, éléments ou pièces d'armes, accessoires, chargeurs, munitions et projectiles comme étant prohibés ou à autorisation restreinte.

Pour de plus amples renseignements sur les déclarations faites par les visiteurs, veuillez appeler le Programme canadien des armes à feu, au 1-800-731-4000, ou consultez la foire aux questions sur leur site Web.

Documents – Visiteurs au Canada sans permis d'armes à feu canadien
Type d'arme à feu Formulaire GRC 5589 + 25 $ CA Autorisation de transport
sans restrictions requis non requis
restreinte requis requis
prohibée importation prohibée importation prohibée
Documents – Visiteurs au Canada titulaires d'un permis d'armes à feu canadien
Type d'arme à feu Permis de possession et d'acquisition Certificat d'enregistrement d'arme à feu canadien OU Formulaire GRC 5589 + 25 $ CA Autorisation de transport
sans restrictions requis non requis non requis
restreinte requis requisNote de bas de page 1 requis
prohibée importation prohibée importation prohibée importation prohibée

Résidents canadiens

Armes à feu prohibées

Les résidents canadiens ne peuvent en aucun cas importer d'armes à feu prohibées nouvellement acquises à l'extérieur du Canada. Une liste de ces articles figure dans le Règlement désignant des armes à feu, armes, éléments ou pièces d'armes, accessoires, chargeurs, munitions et projectiles comme étant prohibés ou à autorisation restreinte.

Si vous importez des armes à feu prohibées visées par des droits acquis que vous avez exportées temporairement auparavant du Canada, vous devez fournir à l'ASFC les documents suivants :

Armes à feu exportées auparavant du Canada

Si vous importez des armes à feu qui ont été exportées auparavant du Canada, il serait bon d'avoir, au moment de leur importation, une preuve de leur achat au Canada ou de l'acquittement des droits sur celles-ci. Vous pouvez demander au personnel de l'ASFC de consigner votre arme à feu sur un formulaire BSF407, Description d'articles exportés temporairement, avant votre départ du Canada ou fournir une copie de la licence d'exportation en vertu de laquelle l'arme à feu a été exportée. Veuillez noter que le formulaire BSF407, Description d'articles exportés temporairement, n'est disponible que dans les bureaux de l'ASFC.

Documents – Résidents canadiens qui importent des armes à feu nouvellement acquises
Type d'arme à feu Permis de possession et d'acquisition Certificat d'enregistrement d'arme à feu Autorisation de transport
sans restrictions requis non requis non requis
restreinte requis requis requis
prohibée importation prohibée importation prohibée importation prohibée
Documents – Résidents du Canada qui réimportent des armes à feu exportées auparavant du Canada
Type d'arme à feu Permis de possession et d'acquisition Certificat d'enregistrement d'arme à feu Autorisation de transport Licence d'importation
sans restrictions requis non requis non requis non requis
restreinte requis requis requis non requis
prohibée visée par des droits acquis requis requis requisNote de bas de page 2 requis

Munitions, amorces et poudres

En vertu de l'article 45 du Règlement de 2013 sur les explosifs, une personne peut importer, exporter ou transporter en transit des explosifs sans permis si les conditions suivantes sont respectées :

Dans les limites établies, les non-résidents peuvent importer en franchise de droits 200 cartouches pour la chasse ou jusqu'à 1 500 cartouches en franchise de droits dans le cadre d'une compétition reconnue.

Pour obtenir des renseignements sur les permis d'importation de quantités personnelles d'explosifs supérieures à celles qui sont indiquées dans le Règlement de 2013 sur les explosifs ou sur l'importation à des fins commerciales, veuillez consulter le Mémorandum D19-6-1, Application de la Loi sur les explosifs ou communiquer avec Ressources naturelles Canada.

Procédures d'exportation des armes à feu

Exportation d'armes à feu aux États-Unis

À l'heure actuelle, si vous exportez du Canada aux États-Unis des armes à feu sans restrictions ou à autorisation restreinte, vous n'êtes pas tenu de vous arrêter à un bureau de l'ASFC lorsque vous quittez le Canada. Toutefois, les États-Unis exigent une licence d'importation, qui peut être obtenue du Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco and Firearms. Les formulaires applicables sont disponibles sur le site Web de l'ATF.

Si vous exportez des armes à feu prohibées du Canada vers les États-Unis, vous avez besoin d'un permis de possession et d'acquisition (PPA), d'un certificat d'enregistrement, d'un AT papier et d'un permis d'exportation d’Affaires mondiales Canada.

Exportation d'armes à feu vers des pays autres que les États-Unis

Si vous exportez une catégorie d'armes à feu vers des pays autres que les États-Unis, un permis d'exportation est requis d'Affaires mondiales Canada. De plus, vous devez présenter un PPA et selon la classification de l'arme à feu un certificat d'enregistrement et un AT papier.

Veuillez vous renseigner aussi auprès des agents des douanes du pays où vous avez l'intention de vous rendre avant d'exporter ces marchandises afin de connaître leurs exigences.

Quand vous exportez de telles marchandises, vous devez aussi aviser le Programme canadien des armes à feu de toute exportation permanente d'une arme à feu à autorisation restreinte ou prohibée du Canada. Ceci permettra aux agents du Programme de mettre à jour les renseignements contenus dans le Registre canadien des armes à feu. Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, veuillez communiquer avec le Programme canadien des armes à feu au 1-800-731-4000 ou consulter sa foire aux questions.

Exigences touchant la chasse

Les armes à feu sont interdites dans de nombreux parcs, réserves de chasse et zones attenantes de compétence fédérale, provinciale ou territoriale au Canada. La chasse au Canada est régie par la législation fédérale, provinciale et territoriale. Si vous chassez au Canada, vous devez avoir un permis de chasse provenant de chaque province ou territoire où vous avez l'intention de chasser. Si vous avez besoin de plus de renseignements sur les parcs et les règlements sur la chasse, veuillez communiquer avec le bureau d'information touristique provincial ou territorial concerné ou consulter les liens voués aux permis de chasse.

Veuillez noter que seules les armes à feu sans restrictions peuvent être utilisées pour la chasse et la protection contre la faune dans les régions éloignées. L'utilisation des armes à feu pour assurer sa protection personnelle ou celle des biens n'est pas considérée comme un motif valable pour importer des armes à feu au Canada.

Transport des armes à feu

La législation canadienne exige que toutes les armes à feu que vous transportez ne soient pas chargées, y compris les armes à feu historiques. Si vous les transportez dans un véhicule, elles doivent être gardées hors de la vue, dans une partie du véhicule qui est verrouillée (le coffre, s'il y en a un), à moins que le véhicule ne soit sous la surveillance d'un adulte. Vous devez transporter les armes à feu à autorisation restreinte et prohibées dans un étui verrouillé et les munir d'un dispositif de sécurité verrouillé qui empêche le tir. Les armes à feu historiques n'ont pas besoin d'un dispositif de verrouillage sécuritaire, même si toutes les autres dispositions régissant le transport s'appliquent.

Si vous voyagez à bord d'un aéronef, veuillez consulter le site Web de l'Administration canadienne de la sûreté du transport aérien pour obtenir des renseignements concernant le transport d'armes à feu et/ou de munitions par mode aérien.

Exigences étrangères

Les importateurs doivent noter que les pays étrangers, y compris les États-Unis, ont différentes obligations législatives s'appliquant à l'achat, à la possession, au transport et à l'exportation d'armes à feu, de munitions, d'armes et d'articles connexes. Nous vous recommandons de communiquer avec les autorités concernées dans le pays que vous visitez afin de déterminer si les obligations s'appliquent à votre situation.

Date de modification :