Language selection

Search

Importing by mail

Warning: Scams and fraud

Protect yourself against fraud

Importing goods by courier

If your goods are for personal use, your courier company may take care of the customs details for you. Verify the shipping and handling fees that may apply prior to completing your purchase.

The Canada Border Services Agency (CBSA) screens all goods coming into Canada, always keeping the safety of Canadians in mind. When we process your mail items, we are looking to ensure the goods do not cause harm and if we suspect they will, we will examine these packages more closely.

On this page

Our role at the border

We facilitate legitimate imports, while evaluating any goods that could threaten the safety and security of Canada.

There are various reasons why we screen mail, including:

More information

Cannabis and the border

Declaration of goods

When mailing goods to Canada from abroad, the sender completes a customs declaration form which outlines the information found within Appendix A of D5-1-1, Canada Border Services Agency International Mail Processing System.

Did you know? A proper declaration must be made on any items being imported by mail. This not only allows us to correctly assess the imported goods, but it also helps speed up the clearance process for the package.

Processing times

Times for mail items to clear customs vary on a case-by-case basis. We release most parcels, packages and letters after initial inspection. This means that it can take less than a day from the time the item is presented to us to the time it is released to Canada Post for delivery.

However, we will refer an item for further inspection if we have concerns that it:

You may experience delays receiving your mail items if they are referred for additional processing.

Depending on the nature of the item, we will conduct a secondary inspection or we will involve another government department or agency (for example, Health Canada or the Canadian Food Inspection Agency) before we allow it to continue in the postal process.

In cases where prohibited goods are detected, we will take the appropriate enforcement action.

If one of our officers determines that your mail item is not high-risk or prohibited from entering Canada and is not subject to duties and taxes, we will release the item to Canada Post for delivery.

Duties and taxes

We collect duty and taxes on imported items (including all online shopping), on behalf of the Government of Canada.

Duties and taxes apply to all international goods imported by mail that exceed the $20 exemption. If you owe duty and/or tax, it will be indicated on Form E14, CBSA Postal Import Form, which will be attached to your mail item when it is delivered.

Note: Canada Post charges a handling fee to process goods imported by mail that are subject to duty and/or tax. If the item is duty-free and tax exempt, no amount is charged.

More information

Tracking your mail items

We are unable to provide a precise tracking of any mail items (packages or letters) being processed. The agency works to clear all packages as quickly as possible. Delays can occur due to the package itself, its documentation or volumes at customs. Your item may also be under the inspection of another government department.

Volumes during peak periods

We regularly monitor our operations and will adjust our staffing levels based on changes like increases in e-commerce (online shopping) and seasonal volume fluctuations.

Process for international mail and packages (Canada Post)

  1. Step 1 Mail items presented by Canada Post
  2. Step 2 Primary inspection
  3. Step 3 Secondary inspection or package released
  4. Step 4 Enforcement action / seizure or package released

Detailed diagram

Step 1

Mail items presented by Canada Post

Upon arrival in Canada, all international mail items are presented by Canada Post to the CBSA for processing (6 days a week from to (local time)). CBSA mail processing centres are located in Vancouver, Toronto and Montreal.

Step 2

Primary inspection

Border Services Officers (BSOs) examine mail to determine admissibility and identify goods subject to duties or taxes. BSOs select items that are potentially high-risk and require a more in-depth examination based on indicators.

Step 3

Package cleared

If the BSO determines that a mail item is not high-risk or prohibited from entering Canada and is not subject to duties or taxes, the item is released to Canada Post for delivery.

Most parcels/letters are released after initial inspection.

OR

Secondary inspection

If there are concerns that the item may be inadmissible, wrongly labeled or contain contraband it will be referred for further inspection. Depending on the nature of the item, this secondary inspection will either be conducted by the CBSA or by another government department or agency (Health Canada, CFIA, etc.) before it can continue in the postal process.

Step 4

Package cleared

If after secondary examination a good is found to be admissible and once the appropriate duties and taxes are applied, it will be released to Canada Post for delivery.

OR

Enforcement action / seizure

In cases where prohibited goods are detected, the CBSA will take appropriate enforcement action.

Report a problem on this page

This email is to report problems or inaccuracies on a page. Spam and comments containing offensive language will be reported or deleted. For help with Canada Border Services Agency (CBSA) programs or services, contact border information services.

Report a problem by email
Date modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

Importation par la poste

Attention : arnaques et fraude

Protégez vous contre la fraude

Importation de marchandises par messagerie

Si les marchandises que vous expédiez sont destinées à un usage personnel, l'entreprise de messagerie peut s'occuper des détails relatifs aux douanes pour vous. Vérifiez les frais de manutention et d'expédition qui peuvent s'appliquer lorsque vous effectuez votre achat.

L'Agence des services frontaliers du Canada (ASFC) examine toutes les marchandises qui entrent au Canada, en gardant toujours à l'esprit la sécurité des Canadiens. Lorsque nous traitons vos envois postaux, nous cherchons à nous assurer que les marchandises ne causent pas de dommage et, si nous soupçonnons qu'elles pourraient en causer, nous les examinons de plus près.

Sur cette page

Notre rôle à la frontière

Nous facilitons les importations légitimes, tout en évaluant les marchandises qui pourraient menacer la sûreté et la sécurité du Canada.

Il y a différentes raisons pour lesquelles nous examinons le courrier, notamment :

D'autres renseignements

Le cannabis et les frontières

Déclaration des marchandises

Lorsque vous envoyez des marchandises au Canada de l'étranger, vous devez remplir un formulaire de déclaration des douanes qui contient l'information figurant à l'Annexe A du mémorandum D5-1-1 sur le système de traitement du courrier international de l'Agence des services frontaliers du Canada.

Le saviez-vous? Une déclaration en bonne et due forme doit être effectuée pour tout article importé par la poste. Cela nous permet non seulement d'évaluer correctement les marchandises importées, mais aussi d'accélérer le processus de contrôle du colis.

Délais de traitement

Les délais de dédouanement des articles de courrier varient au cas par cas. Nous libérons la plupart des colis et des lettres après une inspection initiale. Cela signifie qu'il peut s'écouler moins d'une journée entre le moment où l'article nous est présenté et le moment où il est remis à Postes Canada pour livraison.

Toutefois, nous soumettrons un article à une inspection plus approfondie si nous craignons qu'il :

Il se pourrait qu'il y ait des retards dans la réception de vos articles de courrier s'ils sont renvoyés pour un traitement supplémentaire.

Selon la nature de l'article, nous effectuerons une inspection secondaire ou nous ferons intervenir un autre ministère ou organisme gouvernemental (par exemple Santé Canada ou l'Agence canadienne d'inspection des aliments) avant de l'autoriser à poursuivre le processus postal.

Dans les cas où des marchandises interdites sont détectées, nous prendrons les mesures d'exécution de la loi appropriées.

Si l'un de nos agents détermine que votre article de courrier n'est pas à haut risque ou interdit d'entrée au Canada, et qu'il n'est pas assujetti à des droits et à des taxes, nous remettrons l'article à Postes Canada pour qu'il vous soit livré.

Droits et taxes

Nous percevons des droits et des taxes sur les articles importés (y compris tous les achats en ligne), au nom du gouvernement du Canada.

Les droits et les taxes s'appliquent à toutes les marchandises internationales importées par la poste qui dépassent l'exemption de 20 $. Si vous devez des droits et/ou des taxes, cela sera indiqué sur le formulaire E14, Formulaire douanier des importations postales de l'ASFC, qui sera annexé à votre article de courrier au moment de sa livraison.

Nota : Postes Canada facture des frais de manutention pour traiter les marchandises importées par la poste qui sont assujetties à des droits et/ou à des taxes. Si l'article est exempt de droits et de taxes, aucun montant n'est facturé.

D'autres renseignements

Suivi de vos envois

Nous ne sommes pas en mesure de fournir un suivi précis des envois (colis ou lettres) en cours de traitement. L'agence s'efforce de dédouaner tous les colis aussi rapidement que possible. Des retards peuvent survenir en raison du colis lui-même, des documents qui l'accompagnent ou des volumes aux douanes. Votre article peut également faire l'objet d'une inspection par un autre service gouvernemental.

Volumes en période de pointe

Nous effectuons un suivi régulier de nos opérations et ajustons nos effectifs en fonction de changements, tels que l'augmentation du commerce électronique (achats en ligne) et les fluctuations saisonnières des volumes.

Processus de traitement du courrier et des colis internationaux (Postes Canada)

  1. Étape 1 Envois postaux soumis par Postes Canada
  2. Étape 2 Inspection primaire
  3. Étape 3 Inspection secondaire ou colis dédouané
  4. Étape 4 Mesure d'exécution de la loi / saisie ou colis dédouané

Diagramme détaillé

Étape 1

Envois postaux soumis par Postes Canada

À leur arrivée au Canada, tous les envois postaux internationaux sont remis à l'ASFC par Postes Canada aux fins de traitement (six jours par semaine, de à (heure locale)). Les centres internationaux de traitement du courrier de l'ASFC sont situés à Vancouver, Toronto et Montréal.

Étape 2

Inspection primaire

Les agents des services frontaliers (ASF) examinent chaque colis afin d'en confirmer l'admissibilité au pays et de déterminer s'il est assujetti à des droits ou à des taxes. Suivant certains indicateurs, les ASF sélectionnent les envois qui pourraient présenter un risque élevé et nécessitent un examen plus approfondi.

Étape 3

Colis dédouané

Si les ASF déterminent qu'un envoi postal n'est pas interdit d'entrée au Canada, ne présente pas de risque élevé et n'est pas assujetti à des droits ou à des taxes, il est remis à Postes Canada pour livraison.

La plupart des colis ou lettres sont remis à Postes Canada après l'inspection primaire.

OU

Inspection secondaire

Si on soupçonne que le colis est inadmissible, incorrectement étiqueté ou qu'il contient des marchandises de contrebande, il sera renvoyé en vue d'une inspection plus approfondie. Selon sa nature, l'article fera l'objet d'une inspection secondaire menée par l'ASFC ou un autre ministère ou organisme gouvernemental avant de pouvoir réintégrer le processus des services postaux.

Étape 4

Colis dédouané

Si, après l'examen secondaire, le colis s'avère admissible et que les droits et taxes exigibles sont appliqués, il sera remis à Postes Canada pour livraison.

OU

Mesure d'exécution de la loi / saisie

Si on détecte des marchandises prohibées, l'ASFC prendra les mesures d'exécution de la loi qui s'imposent.

Signaler un problème sur cette page

Cette adresse courriel sert à signaler un problème ou une erreur sur la page. Les pourriels et les commentaires de nature injurieux seront signalées ou supprimées. Pour obtenir de l'aide au sujet d'un programme ou sur les services de l'Agence des services frontaliers du Canada (ASFC), veuillez communiquer avec le service d'information sur la frontière.

Signaler un problème par courriel
Date de modification :