Certain Large Line Pipe
Dumping (China and Japan) & Subsidizing (China)

Product Information

Product Definition

The subject goods are defined as:

“Welded large diameter carbon and alloy steel line pipe originating in or exported from the People’s Republic of China and Japan with an outside diameter greater than 24 inches (609.6 mm), and less than or equal to 60 inches (1524 mm), regardless of wall thickness, length, surface finish (coated or uncoated), end finish (plain end or beveled end), or stenciling and certification (including multiple-stenciled/multiple-certified line pipe for oil and gas transmission and other applications).”

For greater certainty, the product definition includes:

  1. line pipe produced to American Petroleum Institute (“API”) specification 5L, in Grades A25, A, B and X grades up to and including X100, or equivalent specifications and grades, including specification CSA Z245.1 up to and including Grade 690;
  2. unfinished line pipe (including pipe that may or may not already be tested, inspected, and/or certified to line pipe specifications) originating in China and Japan, and imported for use in the production or finishing of line pipe meeting final specifications, including outside diameter, grade, wall-thickness, length, end finish, or surface finish; and
  3. non-prime and secondary pipes (“limited service products”).

Exclusions

The Canadian International Trade Tribunal (CITT) excludes the following products from its finding:

  • ASME SA 672 or ASME SA 691 electric-fusion welded steel pipe as certified under the ASME “Boiler and Pressure Vessel Code” rules (and stencilled with at least one of the aforementioned standards), of a length not to exceed 15 feet (4.572 m), for use other than in a CSA Z-662 pipeline application and imported with authorized inspection certificates and applicable ASME Partial Data Reports;
  • line pipe, regardless of grade, outside diameter and wall thickness, single stenciled as “DNV-OS-F101” for exclusive use in offshore applications and marked “For Offshore Applications Only”;
  • submerged arc longitudinal welded line pipe, regardless of grade, outside diameter and wall thickness, in lengths of 60 feet (18.288 m) with no girth welds for exclusive use in slurry or tailings piping systems in oil sands projects and marked “For Use as Slurry/Tailings Pipe Only”; for greater certainty, use in a pipeline meeting CSA Z-662 or as pressure piping meeting CSA B51 Code is not permitted under this exclusion; and
  • submerged arc longitudinal welded line pipe, regardless of outside diameter, wall thickness and length, for exclusive use in high-temperature steam distribution pipelines and marked “For Steam Distribution Only”, certified to meet the requirements of CSA Z662-15 Clause 14 and/or Annex I and certified to have proven fatigue/creep test properties as provided in sections I.2.3.2 and I.3.2.1 of CSA Z662-15 as established by means of a creep test of no less than 10,000 hours carried out in accordance with ASTM E139.

Additional Product Information

Large line pipe is used in the oil and gas sector primarily in pipelines for the transmission of oil and natural gas products over long distances, but also in a variety of mining applications, including as slurry pipe in oil sands operations.

The Canadian market for large line pipe is governed by applicable line pipe specifications including Canadian Standards Association (CSA) specification Z245.1 for line pipe used in pipeline applications. Oil and gas transmission pipelines must, in turn, for example, conform to CSA Z662 (Oil and Gas Pipeline Systems). Nevertheless, international trade in line pipe is governed primarily by API specification 5L. For example, CSA Z245.1 Grade 448 pipe is considered to be equivalent to API 5L Grade X65. The API 5L X grade numbers define the minimum yield strength required of the grade in kilopounds per square inch. This equivalency applies to other specifications, including International Organization for Standardization (ISO), which means that a particular line pipe may be certified and stenciled as complying with multiple standards if all the requirements of each standard/grade are met (leading to dual-, triple-, and further multiple stenciled line pipe). It is common practice to certify multiple grades of pipe on a Mill Test Report. It is also common practice to substitute grades other than that initially requested by a customer with an equivalent grade. Mill Test Reports are provided to show that the properties of the supplied pipe meet the requirements of the actual grade ordered.

The complainant manufactures or is capable of manufacturing line pipe to API 5L specifications in grades up to and including X100 and to all equivalent grades under CSA Z245.1, and in all outside diameter sizes covered by the product definition.

The product definition covers all large line pipe meeting or supplied to meet the above specifications and grades, as well as equivalent specifications and grades, regardless of whether the line pipe has been multiple stenciled to indicate that it meets or is supplied to meet additional end use specifications. For purposes of greater clarity, all large line pipe stenciled or otherwise marked as meeting or supplied to meet API 5L (or equivalent specifications) for use as oil and gas pipelines are included in the product definition regardless of whether the pipe is marked as meeting any other end-uses or is supplied to meet any other end-uses. Line pipe that is manufactured and tested to meet higher API specifications (or equivalent CSA and ISO specifications) automatically conforms to lower specifications and may therefore have multiple stencils identifying additional end uses, such as American Society for Testing and Materials (“ASTM”), and equivalent specifications for end use as standard pipe (for low-pressure conveyance of steam, water, natural gas, air and other liquids in plumbing and heating applications), piling pipe, and other such end uses.

Large line pipe has notable product characteristics that distinguish it from other pipe products. These include being more resistant to highly corrosive (“sour”) environments, which is accomplished by a secondary refining process in the production of the steel to increase the purity of the steel, thereby making it more resistant to corrosion from sour gas. The grain size of the steel plate used as an input into the production of large line pipe is also more refined, which affects the low temperature toughness of the steel. Large line pipe also typically is sold in API grades of X70 or greater, which speaks to higher strengths of steel. Finally, large line pipe is characterized by higher deformability and higher pressure crushing properties.

Investigation Information

The dates of the investigative proceedings and findings concerning this case are:

Action Date
Initiation of Investigation March 24, 2016
Preliminary Determination Notice June 22, 2016
Final Determination September 20, 2016
Canadian International Trade Tribunal's Finding October 20, 2016
Initiation of Normal Value Review: Sumitomo Corporation October 22, 2019
Conclusion of Normal Value Review: Sumitomo Corporation February 13, 2020
Tariff Classification Numbers

Prior to January 1, 2019, the subject goods were usually classified under the following tariff classification numbers:

  • 7305.11.00.10
  • 7305.11.00.20
  • 7305.12.00.10
  • 7305.19.00.10
  • 7305.19.00.20

Beginning January 1, 2019, under the revised customs tariff schedule, subject goods are normally classified under the following tariff classification numbers:

  • 7305.11.00.22
  • 7305.11.00.23
  • 7305.11.00.24
  • 7305.11.00.25
  • 7305.12.00.21
  • 7305.12.00.22
  • 7305.19.00.22
  • 7305.19.00.23
  • 7305.19.00.24
  • 7305.19.00.25

Please note that these tariff classification numbers may apply to goods which are not subject to SIMA measures, may change because of amendments to the Departmental Consolidation of the Customs Tariff, or the subject goods may be imported under tariff classification numbers that are not listed. Refer to the product definition for the authoritative details regarding the subject goods.

For more information on the tariff classification numbers, please refer to the CBSA's Harmonized Commodity Description and Coding System website.

Duty Liability
(Anti-dumping duties)

Country of Origin or Export: China & Japan

Information regarding the normal values of subject goods should be obtained from the exporter. The following table identifies the exporters who currently have been issued normal values:

Country Exporter Cooperative Since Last Revised
Japan Marubeni Itochu Steel Inc. 2016-09 2016-10
Metal One Corporation 2016-09 2016-10

For importations of subject goods for which the exporter has not been issued normal values, the anti-dumping duty is equal to 95.0% of the export price.

Duty Liability
(Countervailing duties)

Country of Origin or Export: China

Effective on imports of subject goods released by the CBSA on or after 2016-10-21:

No exporters in China currently have a specific amount of subsidy. For importations of subject goods from China, the countervailing duty is equal to 1,657.11 Renminbi per metric ton.

Disclosure of Normal Values and Amounts of Subsidy

The liability for anti-dumping and countervailing duty results from the proceedings conducted under SIMA and from the finding of the CITT. Information regarding the normal value and amount of subsidy of the subject goods in question and the amount of anti-dumping and countervailing duty payable should be obtained from the exporter. Related information may be made available to importers on a need-to-know basis in accordance with the provisions of Memorandum D14-1-2, Disclosure of Normal Values, Export Prices, and Amounts of Subsidy Established Under the Special Import Measures Act.

For information on duty assessment, refer to the Guide for self-assessing SIMA duties.

Information Required on Customs Documents

The import documentation should include the information listed below. Failure to provide this information may result in the application of penalties to the importer, pursuant to the Administrative Monetary Penalty System (AMPS).

The import documentation should clearly indicate the following:

  • Confirmation whether the product is subject to provisional duties
  • Name and address of producer/manufacturer
  • Location of plant/mill of production
  • Place from which direct shipment to Canada began
  • Name and address of vendor (if different from the producer)
  • Country of origin
  • Country of export
  • Canadian customer's name and address
  • Canadian importer's name and address (if different from the customer)
  • full product description of the goods, including:
    • product type
    • grade
    • outside diameter (O.D.)
    • nominal wall thickness
    • end finish
    • coating/surface finish
    • other relevant characteristics
  • Date of sale, date of shipment
  • Quantity (state unit of measure)
  • Unit selling price and total selling price to importer in Canada
  • Currency of settlement used (e.g. US$, CDN$, etc.)
  • Terms and conditions of sale (e.g. FOB, CIF, etc.)
  • All costs, expenses, and charges incurred by the exporter and vendor in the shipment of the subject goods to Canada (includes inland and ocean freight, insurance, duties, port and handling charges, etc.) and,
  • The amount of any export taxes applicable to the goods
Appeal Decisions Relating to Subjectivity

Summaries of appeal decisions made by the CBSA respecting whether an imported good is subject to this measure in force can be found on the SIMA Appeals page.

Email for Duty Assessment Questions

Trade_Programs-Programmes_commerciaux@cbsa-asfc.gc.ca

CBSA Reference number(s)
  • LLP 2016 IN
  • LLP 2019 UP1
CITT Reference number(s)
  • NQ-2016-001
Date modified:

Certains gros tubes de canalisation
Dumping (Chine et Japon) & subventionnement (Chine)

Renseignements sur le produit

Définition du produit

Les marchandises en cause sont définies comme suit :

« Tubes de canalisation soudés à gros diamètre en acier au carbone et en acier allié, originaires ou exportés de la République populaire de Chine et du Japon, dont le diamètre extérieur est supérieur à 24 po (609,6 mm), mais ne dépasse pas 60 po (1 524 mm), peu importe l’épaisseur de la paroi, la longueur, le traitement de la surface (recouverte ou non), la finition des extrémités (lisses ou biseautées), la présence ou non de marques au pochoir, et les attestations (y compris les marques ou les attestations multiples applicables à des utilisations comme le transport du pétrole et du gaz). »

Pour plus de clarté, la définition du produit englobe tout ce qui suit :

  1. les tubes de canalisation conformes à la spécification 5L de l’American Petroleum Institute (API) dans les nuances A25, A, B et X jusques et y compris X100, ou bien conformes à des spécifications équivalentes dans des nuances équivalentes, telle la spécification CSA Z245.1 jusques et y compris la nuance 690;
  2. les tubes de canalisation non finis (même s’ils n’ont pas encore été mis à l’essai, inspectés, ou attestés comme conformes aux spécifications), originaires de la Chine et du Japon, et importés pour servir à la production ou à la finition de tubes de canalisations conformes aux spécifications finales, y compris pour le diamètre extérieur, la nuance, l’épaisseur de la paroi, la longueur, la finition des extrémités ou le traitement de la surface; et
  3. les tubes secondaires (« produits à service limité »).

Exclusions

  • tubes en acier soudés à l’arc ASME SA 672 ou ASME SA 691 homologués selon les règles du « Boiler and Pressure Vessel Code » (code sur les chaudières et cuves sous pression) de l’ASME (et comportant au moins un de ces marquages), d’une longueur n’excédant pas 15 pieds (4,572 m), pour une utilisation autre que celle des tubes de conduite satisfaisant à la norme CSA Z-662 et importés avec les certificats d’inspection autorisés et les rapports de données partiels de l’ASME applicables;
  • tubes de canalisation, indépendamment de la nuance, du diamètre extérieur et de l’épaisseur de la paroi, comportant un marquage unique « DNV-OS-F101 » pour utilisation exclusive offshore et désignés « For Offshore Applications Only » (pour les utilisations en mer seulement);
  • tubes de canalisation soudés longitudinalement à l’arc immergé, indépendamment de la nuance, du diamètre extérieur et de l’épaisseur de la paroi, d’une longueur de 60 pieds (18,288 m), sans soudure sur la circonférence, pour utilisation exclusive dans les systèmes d’évacuation des boues ou des résidus dans l’exploitation des sables bitumineux et désignés « For Use as Slurry/Tailings Pipe Only » (à être utilisé en tant que tubes pour pipelines à boues seulement); pour plus de précision, l’utilisation comme tube de conduite satisfaisant à la norme CSA Z-662 ou comme tube sous pression satisfaisant au code CSA B51 n’est pas permise aux termes de la présente exclusion;
  • tubes de canalisation soudés longitudinalement à l’arc immergé, indépendamment du diamètre extérieur, de l’épaisseur de la paroi et de la longueur, pour utilisation exclusive comme conduites de distribution à température et pression élevées et désignés « For Steam Distribution Only » (pour conduites de distribution à haute pression seulement), homologués pour satisfaire à la norme CSA Z662-15 chapitre 14 et/ou à l’annexe I et résistant à la fatigue et au fluage selon les sections I.2.3.2 et I.3.2.1 de la norme CSA Z662-15 tel qu’établi par un essai d’au moins 10 000 heures effectué conformément à la norme ASTM E139.

Complément d’information

Les gros tubes de canalisation servent dans les secteurs pétrolier et gazier surtout pour le transport du pétrole et du gaz naturel sur de longues distances, mais aussi pour de multiples usages dans l’exploitation minière, notamment comme pipelines à solides dans l’industrie des sables bitumineux.

Le marché canadien des gros tubes de canalisation est régi par les spécifications pertinentes, dont la Z245.1 de l’Association canadienne de normalisation (CSA) pour les tubes de canalisation utilisés comme pipelines. Oléoducs et gazoducs doivent à leur tour respecter la norme CSA Z662 (Réseaux de canalisations de pétrole et de gaz). Cela dit, au niveau international, c’est surtout la spécification API 5L qui s’applique : par exemple, les tubes CSA Z245.1 de nuance 448 sont considérés comme l’équivalent des tubes API 5L de nuance X65, la nuance étant exprimée par un X suivi de la limite d’élasticité conventionnelle minimale correspondante (en kip par pouce carré). Cette équivalence s’applique aussi aux autres spécifications, dont celles de l’Organisation internationale de normalisation (ISO); autrement dit, un tube de canalisation donné peut être certifié et marqué comme conforme à des normes multiples s’il remplit tous les critères de chaque norme/nuance (ce qui explique que certains tubes portent deux marques, trois, ou plus). Il n’est pas rare dans les faits que plusieurs nuances de tubes soient certifiées sur un même rapport d’essai d’usine, ni que le client, au lieu de la nuance qu’il a expressément demandée, reçoive une nuance équivalente. Les rapports d’essai d’usines servent à montrer que les tubes vendus présentent les caractéristiques exigibles pour leur nuance effective.

La partie plaignante fabrique, ou est capable de fabriquer, des tubes de canalisation conformes aux spécifications API 5L dans les nuances jusques et y compris X100, dans toutes les nuances correspondantes au sens de la norme CSA Z245.1, et de tous les diamètres extérieurs visés par la définition des produits.

La définition des produits comprend tous les gros tubes de canalisation conformes ou appelés à se conformer aux nuances et spécifications ci-dessus de même qu’aux nuances et spécifications équivalentes, peu importe s’ils portent plusieurs marques indiquant qu’ils sont conformes ou appelés à se conformer à des spécifications pour d’autres emplois finaux. Il est entendu que tous les gros tubes de canalisation marqués (au pochoir ou autrement) comme conformes ou appelés à se conformer aux spécifications API 5L ou à leurs équivalents pour servir d’oléoducs ou de gazoducs sont visés par la définition des produits même si, d’après leurs marques, ils sont conformes ou appelés à se conformer pour d’autres emplois finaux. Les tubes de canalisation fabriqués d’après les spécifications API supérieures (ou leurs équivalents CSA ou ISO) et dûment testés comme tels, puisqu’ils respectent automatiquement les spécifications inférieures, peuvent très bien porter des marques multiples indiquant d’autres emplois finaux, telles les spécifications de l’American Society for Testing and Materials (ASTM) et leurs équivalents pour emploi final comme tubes standard (pour le transport à basse pression de vapeur, d’eau, de gaz naturel, d’air et d’autres fluides en plomberie et en chauffage), tubes pour pilotis, etc.

Les gros tubes de canalisation se démarquent nettement des autres tubes, notamment par une résistance supérieure aux milieux très corrosifs (gaz sulfureux), obtenue pendant la production de l’acier par un affinage secondaire qui augmente la pureté. Le calibre de grain des plaques d’acier utilisées comme intrants est aussi plus fin pour les gros tubes de canalisation que pour les autres tubes, ce qui influence la ténacité à basse température du métal. Les gros tubes de canalisation se vendent généralement à partir de la nuance API X70, ce qui témoigne d’une résistance élevée. Finalement, les gros tubes de canalisation se distinguent favorablement par leur déformabilité et leur résistance à l’écrasement.

Renseignements relatifs à l'enquête

Les dates des procédures et des conclusions relatives à l'enquête pour ce cas sont :

Action Date
Ouverture d'enquête 24 mars 2016
Avis de décision provisoire 22 juin 2016
Décision définitive 20 septembre 2016
Conclusion du Tribunal canadien du commerce extérieur 20 octobre 2016
Début de la révision des valeurs normales – Sumitomo Corporation 22 octobre 2019
Conclusion de la révision des valeurs normales et des prix à l’exportation 13 février 2020
Numéros de classement tarifaire

Avant le 1 janvier 2019, les marchandises en cause étaient classées sous les numéros de classement tarifaires suivants :

  • 7305.11.00.10
  • 7305.11.00.20
  • 7305.12.00.10
  • 7305.19.00.10
  • 7305.19.00.20

À partir du 1 janvier 2019, sous le tarif des douanes révisé, les marchandises en cause sont présentement classés sous les numéros de classement tarifaires suivants :

  • 7305.11.00.22
  • 7305.11.00.23
  • 7305.11.00.24
  • 7305.11.00.25
  • 7305.12.00.21
  • 7305.12.00.22
  • 7305.19.00.22
  • 7305.19.00.23
  • 7305.19.00.24
  • 7305.19.00.25

Veuillez prendre note que des marchandises autres que les marchandises assujetties à la LMSI peuvent être déclarées sous ces numéros. Les marchandises assujetties aux mesures de la LMSI peuvent aussi être importées sous d'autres numéros de classification n'étant pas listés ci-dessus. De même, les numéros de classement servant à la déclaration de marchandises en cause peuvent changer suite à des modifications apportées à la Codification ministérielle du Tarif des douanes. Veuillez consulter la définition du produit pour les détails faisant autorité à l'égard des marchandises en cause.

Pour plus d'information concernant le Système harmonisé, veuillez consulter le site Web de l'ASFC de l'observation du Système harmonisé.

Exigibilité des droits (Droits antidumping)

Pays d'origine ou d'exportation : Chine et Japon

Les renseignements relatifs aux valeurs normales des marchandises devraient être obtenus auprès de l'exportateur. Pour une liste des exportateurs pour lesquels les valeurs normales spécifiques ont été établies, veuillez consulter le tableau suivant :

Pays Exportateur Coopératif depuis Dernière révision
Japon Marubeni Itochu Steel Inc. 2016-09 2016-10
Metal One Corporation 2016-09 2016-10

Pour les importations de marchandises en cause pour lesquelles l'exportateur n'a pas de valeurs normales spécifiques, le montant des droits antidumping est égal à 95,0 % du prix à l'exportation.

Exigibilité des droits (Droits compensateurs)

Pays d'origine ou d'exportation : Chine

S'applique aux importations de marchandises en cause dédouanées par l'ASFC à compter du 2016-10-21.

Il y a aucuns exportateurs de la Chine auxquels des montants de subvention spécifiques ont été établis. Pour les importations de marchandises en cause originaires ou exportées de la Chine, le montant des droits compensateurs est égal à 1 657,11 Renminbi par tonne.

Divulgation des valeurs normales et des montants de subvention

L'obligation de payer des droits antidumping et compensateurs découle d'une procédure menée en vertu de la LMSI et des conclusions du TCCE. Les renseignements relatifs aux valeurs normales et aux montants de subvention des marchandises en cause et au montant des droits antidumping et compensateurs exigibles devraient être obtenus auprès de l'exportateur. Des renseignements connexes peuvent être communiqués aux importateurs, au besoin, en vertu des dispositions du Mémorandum D14-1-2, Divulgation des valeurs normales, des prix à l'exportation, et des montants de subvention établis en vertu de la Loi sur les mesures spéciales d'importation.

Pour plus d'information concernant l'application des droits, veuillez-vous référer au Guide d'autocotisation des droits de la LMSI.

Renseignements exigés sur les documents douaniers

Les documents d'importation doivent inclure l'information ci-dessous. Veuillez noter que toute omission de présenter les renseignements suivants peut donner lieu à l'imposition de sanctions à l'importateur en vertu du Régime de sanctions administratives pécuniaires (RSAP).

Les renseignements suivants doivent être clairement indiqués dans les documents d'importation :

  • Confirmation que le produit est assujetti ou non à des droits provisoires
  • Nom et adresse du producteur/fabricant
  • Location of plant/mill of production
  • Emplacement de l'usine de production
  • Nom et adresse du vendeur (s'il est différent du producteur)
  • Pays d'origine
  • Pays d'exportation
  • Nom et adresse du client
  • Nom et adresse de l'importateur canadien (s'il est différent du client)
  • Description complète du produit, y compris :
    • type de produit
    • nuance
    • diamètre extérieur (ø ext.)
    • épaisseur nominale des parois
    • finition des extrémités
    • traitement de la surface
    • autres caractéristiques pertinentes
  • Date de la vente, date de l'expédition
  • Quantité (y compris l'unité de mesure)
  • Prix de vente unitaire, prix de vente total à l'importateur au Canada
  • Devise utilisée pour la facturation (p. ex. $US, $CAN, etc.)
  • Termes et conditions de vente (p. ex. FAB, CAF, etc.)
  • Total des coûts, des frais et des dépenses engagés par l'exportateur et le vendeur afin d'expédier les marchandises en cause au Canada depuis le point d'expédition directe (y compris le transport intérieur et le transport maritime, l'assurance, etc.)
  • le montant de toute taxe à l'exportation imposé aux marchandises.
Appels en vertu de la LMSI sur des questions d'assujettissement

Sont résumées sur la page des appels en vertu de la LMSI les décisions prises par l'ASFC en réponse à des appels sur l'assujettissement de telles ou telles marchandises importées à la mesure en vigueur qui nous intéresse ici.

Courriel pour les questions de droits de douane

Trade_Programs-Programmes_commerciaux@cbsa-asfc.gc.ca

Numéro(s) de référence de l'ASFC
  • LLP 2016 IN
  • LLP 2019 UP1
Numéro(s) de référence du TCCE
  • NQ-2016-001
Date de modification :